You are here: HomeSports2016 08 07Article 461060

Meet the team representing Ghana at the Olympics

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Osarfo 7 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU ALL

• POW@Watch Phobia 2016 7 years ago

The times of these athletes don't look good at all for a modern day Olympics. Apart from the boxers, judo girl and weight lifters, I don't have any confidence at all in these "nyati nyati" swimmers, track and field athletes. ...

• We can get results 7 years ago

Good Luck Team Ghana. There has to be a major overhaul and inquiry however into the sports sector. THere is no reason why Ghana has not wona medal since 1960s. The talent in Ghana is huge. The problem is not even the mone ...

• FUTURE 7 years ago

Money money money and good management does many things when its comes to sport in general . Government support most of the athletes when they were young in school . African leaders has no funds to pay enough athletes coaches ...

No it's not about the money but also about good management of resns than Ghana with even less funding do better because the systemin Ghana is really poisoned. There is no open selection procedure. The ministry of sport and y ...

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

When you have corrupt people in charge of a government, instead of money going into sports, it is diverted into their personal accounts. The result is consistent under performance. But all is not lost, Mahama will soon embar ...

• kwame 7 years ago

They had the country over a barrel and basically took the country hostage. If the government didn't give them the money it would have been a huge embarrassment on the international stage. so I don't thhink you can blame the p ...

• Seaman 7 years ago

OUR FIRST EVER OLYMPIC MEDAL IS WON FOR US BY A WHITE WOMAN.STUPID BIG TALKERS WHO COULDN'T EVEN QUALIFY FOR FOOTBALL.#4 IS THE ONLY ONE I AM ROOTING FOR.

• Effo Ben - Lome 7 years ago

These Ghanaians knows no disgrace, seriously what are they going to Rio for. Please dont bring zika if you found no medal

• American 7 years ago

Please do not post offensive comments please!!!

• him 7 years ago

Did you labelled that offensive? Dont mess up with the reality. I will rather say use your brain and face the reality.

• him 7 years ago

You are right. Let the stupid emotional ghanaians go to hell. Welcome ZIKA VIRuS

• BIBIII 7 years ago

YES WOODEN TOKEN SEF THEY WON'T BRING BACK. THESE DAYS, YOU CAN'T JUST WAKE UP FROM YOU HOUSE AND THINK YOU GET MEDALS FROM A WORLD COMPETITION. IT CALLS FOR TRAINING, GOOD NUTRITION AMONG OTHERS. KENKEY,BANKU, OILY ZOMI THI ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Ahahahahahaha...@oily zomi

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

My friend u don't no jamaicans eat almost every food we eat we are with them here in europe they mostly eats in african restaurant

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

Your mother! You forgot to add your fufu to the list of things that they eat. Who said the Jamaicans eat better food than Ghanaians do? It is training that makes the difference. Idiot! Athletic training is a core curriculum i ...

• kwame 7 years ago

yes but they also have a huge sense of pride in sports. Athletes are considered national heroes. In Ghana, the athletes are considered poor people who are running or doing whatever because they have to and grateful for a lit ...

• Nana Kwesi 7 years ago

Where is Martha Bessi? The young middle runner who won the only olympic gold for mother Ghana. Are we leaving growning her or leaving her to rot?
    We are waiting for another country to snatch her so that we beginning calling ...

• we can get results 7 years ago

An absolute disgrace that she was not selected for Rio and raises HUGE doubt over the professionalism and competence of the whole system. That is why there has to be an open inquiry. There is no reason why Ghana has not wo ...

• John 7 years ago

why is that we

• Priscilla Nana Adu 7 years ago

God be with you all and grant you all more strength...

• Bozo 7 years ago

4x100, they show 4 women in the picture, but they list 5 names!!

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Ei, now we also have obroni turning up for Ghana at Olympic games.

Eye asem sebe!!

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

It is time to see the winners of gold, silver and bronze. It is time to see the strong and talented ones. This time it is happening in Rio de Janeiro, South America. Blessed are those who happen to be there. Do you speak Span ...

• Patrick 7 years ago

Brazil is in South America but they speak Portuguese, not Spanish.

Ghana won Beonze in soccer when the Olympic games were held in the USA...in 1984

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

1."Brazil is in South America but they speak Portuguese, not Spanish". TRUE.

Michael can't distinguish between the Iberians, as their lingua francas sometimes overlap in appearance, spelling and sound.

2. "Ghana won Beo ...

• yaw, mpraeso 7 years ago

i watched beatrice gyamah run at ucc and i'm prety sure she's faster than every armed robber in this country.

• Adam asmah 7 years ago

Ghanaian Players should be win maddels in Olympics

• kojo 7 years ago

the white one is ghanaian?? lool

• kojo 7 years ago

Yeah just like Africans can be British, or French or Italian. It's the 21st Century didn't you notice?

• goodman 7 years ago

You are coming home with silver and gold in Jesus christ name. AMEN. Fight harder. Make history.

• kwame 7 years ago

Prayer without good works is just words. You can't expect them to win medals with the sort of administrative fiasco that goes on. I want to know how many people went out as part of the delegation. 15 athletes but how many h ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

Good luck folks. Bring back some medals.