Display options Mobile website
  • IboBoxing

I wanted to set all the records in boxing, but… – Azumah

Our Champs
D.K. Poison won the world featherweight title in 1975 in Los Angeles
Azumah 'Zoom Zoom' Nelson won his titles on 8th December, 1984 in San Joan Puerto Rico, defeating Wilfredo Gomez in the 11th round. He was also to win in another weight category, the Super featherweight.
Marvellous Nana Yaw Konadu won world title in Mexico in 1990
Ike "Bazooka" Quartey won the wold middleweight title in 1994 in France.
Alfred "Cobra" Kotey won the world title in 1995 in Britain.
In 2001, in Accra, Joseph King Kong Agbeko won a WBF title. In 2007 won IFB Bantamweight title
April 1958, Roy Ankrah aka 'The Black Flash' won the British Commonwealth Title

Azumah Nelson Legend Former WBC Super Featherweight champion, Azumah Nelson has expressed disappointment at his inability to become the first Ghanaian to win an Olympic medal during his illustrious boxing career. As an amateur, the international boxing hall of famer won most titles in the sport except an Olympic medal, as Ghana boycotted the 1980 Games when he was favored to win. Azumah Nelson won the medal at the 1978 Commonwealth Games and secured the WBC Featherweight and Super Featherweight World titles. “I feel so bad, very bad because I wanted to » Read More

Oct 23
Samir wants to challenge Bukom Banku
Take my name off the Kaneshie Sports Complex – Azumah
Oct 21
20 more talented young boxers selected at Korle Gonno
Golden Boy Akaba loses second time in USA
Turning the refuse dump to a modern boxing gym
Oct 18
Korle Gonno set for Juvenile boxing talent hunt
Oct 16
I’m fired up – Akaba
Oct 15
Isaac Quaye demolishes Nortey to win WABU title
Oct 14
Lokko: Gov’t should save ailing boxing gyms
Oct 12
Fredrick Lawson defeats Ray Narh in all Ghanaian clash in US
» More Boxing News