You are here: HomeSports2015 09 05Article 379914

Asante kotoko should appeal against the ‘galamsey’ verdict

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Pele 8 years ago

Wait until end of season. If you are facing relegation , then try your luck in appeals.If you don't face relegation, then this is all mute and unimportant.

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

CONTRARY TO WHAT MANY INCLUDING KOTOKO LAWYERS DONT KNOW GFA MET IN MARCH 2015 TO AMEND IT RULES TO INCLUDE THE ELITE CUP AS PART OF THE OFFICIAL CALENDER. THE AMENDED RULE IS ARTICLE 39 SECTION 8(a) WHICH STIPULATES THAT ANY ...

• John Barnes Rush 8 years ago

I have stated it elsewhere that this ruling is likely to be overturned. The GFA's own statement to the clubs about the Elite Cup made it official.

• GOD SAVE GHANA. 8 years ago

Pele wake up and wash your face.NO WONDER GHANA IS BEEB RULED BY THESE INCOMPETENT GANG.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Hearts actually filed an illegal . protest. GFA Rule 39(5) states clearly that a Player should be suspended after accruing three yellow cards and sit out the next official match. What official match did Kotoko play after Obe ...

• Gambo 8 years ago

One does not have to be a genius to understand this analysis.What were the Heart disguised constituted disciplinary committee thinking? smoking?

• Konongo kaya Yo 8 years ago

I am amazed at how the whole fabric of Ghana has been corrupted by these government officials. Even shoes are corrupted but this one "paa de3", no way! Blood will ooze from peoples asses

• kofi 8 years ago

well written and thoughtful argument. kotoko is indeed not king faisal

• Kwabena - NY 8 years ago

This writer is an idiot, if you ant to make a point go ahead and don't bring politics and insults into this. There is appeals committee, the court system that can interpret the rules. Just talking trash and insult here will n ...

• otwen bin 8 years ago

Did you understand the writer? Or you are one of the kayayei who has access to modern tech. Let people who can reason comment, not chickens like you.

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Togbe has paid off members of the gfa dc to fiend kokaosa means to keep Hearts in the lg. The elite cup was commissioned without a rule informing the clubs on whether elite cup games ought to be considered as "sanctioned" or ...

• Kwabena - NY 8 years ago

If Kotoko think they are right, then they should go ahead and field Obed in their match against Hasaacas. If they do not field him, then that answers it all.

• rizzi 8 years ago

I see that you don't know the FA rules, as we speak the player Obed has still not served his suspension ie if he plays against Hassacas on Sunday there will be another protest. AK are damn lucky Ash Gold pulled out their Prot ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

HOW CAN A SANCTIONED TEAM STILL BE LIABLE NOT TO FIELD A PLAYER?

• John Barnes Rush 8 years ago

With the verdict and punishment given out, though I think it will be overturned, it is a clean slate for Obed Owusu, so he can play in the Hasaacas game, without a protest.

• Adomako Frobour 8 years ago

Pele, don't agree with u. Sorry. We want justice and truth to prevail. Hearts must not be given points they don't deserve so they can avoid relegation. It

• Golash Pocket-Lawyer 8 years ago

At the time Kotoko played Hearts, Obed had still not serve the band. Which means all the teams he played against had the right for redress or bring action against Kotoko. The next game clause means the ban takes effect rather ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

If what u are saying is true. The gfa should just prevent kotoko from playing the remaining 2 games. Let all the clubs who played against Kotoko featuring obed owusu also come out and protest. This will automatically send kot ...

• Foreigner 8 years ago

This is a useless article and the argument you tried to create is pointless. Kotoko lost those points because Obed Owusu is unqualified to feature any match he plays until he serves his suspension. This is simple rule. Since ...

• Marrouke Kofi Gane 8 years ago

Does it matter who appeals? If someone commits a crime in society it is the onus of any law abiding citizen to report this to the authority. You don't say because the chickens belong to Mr John Mahama I will sit unconcerned. ...

• Simply George. 8 years ago

Interestingly I see your argument as unfathomable as you,ve already confessed that Kumasi Asante Kotoko cheated by using the player in question to play against Berekum Chelsea.What is the difference between an armed robber an ...

• Konongo kaya Yo 8 years ago

Albeit very stupid argument smack down to komey k3 shito empty doldrums. This blatant Hearts stealing anytime NDC is in power has been going on for a very longtime creating a molly mountain for Hearts only to crumble because ...

• Francis adjei kojo amo 8 years ago

In all things give thanks to God. Kotoko all the way.

• kwame kofi 8 years ago

why must we be subjected to this kind of ridicules ??useless and confused article from low level thinking writter..must ghanaweb post every article here??even from lunatics??what a useless ignorant writter

• phobia phobia 8 years ago

This writer has only advertised his ignorance because his perception lacks the legal quality.Even a first year law student understands the circumstances in which courts of law or a body with judicial functions would put aside ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

But Hearts filed an illegal protest when they did not have any right to do so since Ashgold who played Kotoko before Hearts had already filed a protest then.

The rule states a team has 72 hours to file a protest and if it ...

• Friday 8 years ago

A good piece with cogent points! I cannot see Kotoko losing the case in the long run

• Azpilicueta 8 years ago

If we put our club affiliations aside and look at the issue objectively, the FA DC verdict passed on Tuesday will overturned. There are 2 or 3 main questionable points.

1. The statement made by GFA President Kwesi Nyantaky ...

• Joseph Ganyobi 8 years ago

FOOTBALL RULES. WERE MADE IN TWI LANGUAGE SO PLEASE WITH YOUR IGNORANT READ IT. ..BUSH KUMASI LAWLESS PEOPLE LAWLESS SUPPORTERS BUSH PEOPLE

• emma 8 years ago

what has this got to do with bush people and lawless people...behave urslef in public...

• sarfo 8 years ago

bush man like, idiot

• Adomako Frobour 8 years ago

The article is informative n educative. Hearts don't have any right to protest. It was up to chelsea to protest or not

• Jvasa 8 years ago

Another stupid Ashante talking garbage. .

• Jacob Allen 8 years ago

You have to specifically intemperate the law to the highest level because there are expiration time framed regarding protest and appeals and if you miss the threshold all your claims are going to be denied. And that was very ...

• W.A 8 years ago

I think going by the rules Kotoko must suffer nine points deduction from your analysis since they did not comply with the FA. You have said it all.

• Baba 8 years ago

What fair-minded committee or judge would give such a bad verdict.If the elite cup is not official,how come a team could write to the fa requesting it to postpone it's elite cup match because it has contributed more players t ...

• Zagidibogidi 8 years ago

From the introduction to the way it was administered by the FA, everything showed that the Elite Cup was official.

• ASH 8 years ago

Do we have leaders in our enviable team, Asante Kotoko, it seems our leader are over powered by Hearts of oak leaders. 1 if our technical team or the managing committe knows Obed is on suspension, why should they feed him to ...