You are here: HomeSports2014 09 12Article 325581

Sports minister backs decision to sack Kwesi Appiah

Read Comments Comments (92)

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

What does this Minister know about Soccer? If the Minister claims the GFA is a private entity, then his endorsement, or otherwise, of the GFA's decision to sack the Coach should not be registered in Public.

The WC failure ...

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Pepeni will always be a slave

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Your comment is uncalled for. Criticize maturely and in civility.

• Jake 9 years ago

What did Milo Do for Ghana? How did he perform elsewhere when he left Ghana? Is he the only person the FA can find? I smell a rat. Bunch if these contracts are just dubious, including AA renewal. Twwweeeaaaaaa

• Native Ghanaian!! USA!!! 9 years ago

I guess your grand fathers never told you about all the Ashanti Mothers fucked by Pepenis that built your so called Ashanti tribe!! What an Ass!!

• Native Ghanaian!! USA!!! 9 years ago

It's from the Pepe-Belt that starts from Senegal to Kenya [the non Coastal/interior Africans only] that you get the original Africans. The closer you get to the coast, the inferior the watered down African blood. Ashantis t ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi must go ASAP! 9 years ago

...NOT MILO...FUCK MILO. NYATAKYI MUST GO!

• KWAKU MANU 9 years ago

The man who said that is not an Ashanti. Most probably an NDC STOOGE who is trying hard to drive a wedge between Ashanti's/Akans and Northerners. Ignore his remarks. Every true Ashanti appreciates all tribes

• Moses 9 years ago

Your Language shows that you are are not well trained or you are very rural in your make up. In this day and age you still think that labels matter. It is only people who hide behind labels that do not tackle the subject matt ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

OYIWA !THIS IS AN ACT OF DESPERATION ON THE PART OF NDC TO USE FOOTBALL AS POLITICAL CAPITAL IN 2016 ELECTIONS.YAMIN AND NDC MUST TAKE POLITICS OUT OF SPORTS BEFORE IT'S TOOO LATE.AKWASI DO YOU SEE,HOW THE NDC HAVE USED YOU.W ...

• moyo 9 years ago

Ghana National team perfomance is below average under pseudo coach Appiah's administration. He should have been sacked ages ago.

• OKUKUSEKU 9 years ago

I FULLY SUPPORT THE SACKING OF KWESI APPIAH BUT TO GO FOR MILO IS WRONG. WAS THIS NOT THE SAME GUY WHO ABANDONED US AFTER 2010 WORLD CUP? HAVE WE FORGOTTEN THAT SO SOON?

• Patriot 9 years ago

gstupidity is a common trait in Ghana.

• Pepeni 9 years ago

May God curse your useless family.Amen

• Kwame Bediako 9 years ago

My brother, don't waste your energy on people who demand to show the world that they were born to be stupid.

• dok 9 years ago

The best decision.What has Appiah acheived?I supported him 1st but he is good for nothing.He had the gots 2 say he wont leave the stars wen he had acheived notin.

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Who are you Ayariga?

• Pepeni 9 years ago

Stupid and cursed boy

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

NDC planning to fire Nyantakyi but afraid of what FIFA will do

• Asem Beba. 9 years ago

Why can't Ghanaians and for that matter Africans believe in themselves. This is shameful. Kwesi was doing a good job if the politicians had taken their bribery and dirty chop chop attitude off his court. What exactly can Milo ...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Asem Beba, maybe we are talking about two different people. AA was doing a good job? He took to the WC, the only team that put FEAR into the Germans and only came home with one (1) lousy point. That is a good job?

Well, ...

• Schalke Fan 9 years ago

The only team Jörgi kept talking about before the start of the games in our group was BS,he said, every team must very careful when you come against a team comprising of, A Gyan,K Asa,Dede A,Sulley M,M Essien and KPB.
    His ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

If there is no respect for the coach then he cannot do his job well. On the one side he has a disorganized GFA and on the other side, he has disorganized players. He was placed in a bad position.

• Schalke Fan 9 years ago

I fully support what you`ve just said but Akwasi made a big mistake so far as the team is concerned,he failed horribly to unity the team, and that as trainer is fatal. Instead of holding the team as the leader of a fightin ...

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 9 years ago

The whole GFA must be dissolved including mahama ayari COUGH .IT IS TIME GHANIANS MUST TAKE OUR DESTINY INTO OUR OWN HANDS WE ARE SICK AND TIRED OF SO CALLED WHITE MEN

• kwami 9 years ago

What is ur point??

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Ayariga masterminded the sacking of Appiah? He must be stupid then to have masterminded it and brought in a whiteman and a Serbian into the bargain.Bringing a whiteman to coach the national team shows that we are always showi ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Stop speaking and writing in English, stop taking the white man's medication, drive the cars he manufactures. So your point is a blackman who is not doing hiss job very well should forever be retained and not held accountabl ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

THIS IS THE REASON WHY PREZ.JDM AND NDC INCOMPETENT PARTY MUST BE REPLACE NOW,BECAUSE THE P/NDC CAN NEVER BE PART OF WORLD BEST 32 GOV'T.IN OVER 30 YEARS IN POWER,IN GHANA'S HISTORY.

• OBIBINI 9 years ago

Are you sure Kwasi Appiah is not doing his work well? Which white coach has won a trophy for Ghana? You are just a puppet of the whiteman.You are one of those who feel always inferior to the whiteman.To hell with you and all ...

• KWESI 9 years ago

A FEW PEOPLE ARE NEEDED TO WORK URGENTLY IN QATAR ON A 2 YEAR CONTRACT WHICH CAN BE RENEWED.
    WE NEED DRIVERS AND PEOPLE WHO ARE READY TO WORK AS SECURITY PERSONNEL.
    THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST QATAR PACKAGE EVER,BECAUSE TH ...

• ASHMAN 9 years ago

Big Time scam419.

• Pepes 9 years ago

You should be first to go!

• PHILIP .O. USA. 9 years ago

None,Is happy about this but the best for the team,the only thing every Nation wont is to win world cup,or Nations Cup OR ANY CUP,SO if He is going NO ONE SHOULD WORRY,IF MILOVAN,DID NOT DO WELL. HE WILL GO.

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

All NDC are killing Gh

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

NDC asked for 10% from AA and he said you crazy

• kakape 9 years ago

Bringing back this kote botor Sabain coach to the black is a mess to Ghana and shame.

• MILO TAKE APPIAH AS YOUR ASSISTANT 9 years ago

GFA, Combining both Coach Milovan and Coach Appiah like before will bring success to the Ghana national team because they have been together before to manage this same team and they have learned from their mistakes very well.

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

NDC bad for Gh

• Kwasi Ghanaba 9 years ago

After reading this article, I felt pity for my beloved country, Ghana not because coach Appiah lost his job. Here is my reason. One would think that GHANAsoccer.net as an institution will have its articles properly edited b ...

• Dick 9 years ago

Ghana journalists should be careful how they write English because it's very shameful to read such mistakes on the media. I am thankful that you have pointed out this fact. If I were a journalist I'll be careful any script I' ...

• Asafo Kwame Sowah 9 years ago

My bro, are you only now seeing this? Most Ghanaian publications tow the same line. Journalism which used to be the mark of the educated few has now fallen to the dogs. Every Tom, Dick and Harry calls himself “journalist” ...

Very well spoken. Today, Ghanaians hate anybody who speaks good English. They brand such people as "too known". Ghanaians have forgotten that the world is a "Global Village" and this unfortunate mindset is gradually destroyin ...

• me 9 years ago

have seen several articles on Reuters originating from ghanaians revised by foreigners due to grammatical errors, wrong word choices and incoherent story boarding

• Osibisa 9 years ago

Although I did not like Kwesi's dislikeness for Kevin, Sulley, Micheal and Adam, I had indicated on this platform that the assignment of Milo to support Kwesi was a coup in the making.
    I am not a fun of Kwesi but bringing in ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

AKWASI KEEP IT TO YOURSELF AND LET GHANAIAN VOTES,IF THEY WANT VOTE NDC OUT OR KEEP THEM IN POWER TO DESTORY THE NATION.

• Eisner 9 years ago

AA has done what he could for us, and we have also compensated him well. If you even look at his recent photos, he has put on a bit of weight - these are all signs of the good living he's been able to afford the last two year ...

Rubbish

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 9 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH WAS HIRED TO BUILD A FUTURE TEAM FOR THE BLACK STARS AND IF PRESIDENT MAHAMA AND HIS TEAM WANT TO REPLACE HIM WITH A NORTHNER,SO BE IT.

• DAVI 9 years ago

A TEAM IS NOT BUILD IN OVER NIGHT.P/NDC HAVE BEEN IN POWER FOR OVER 30YEARS AND WHAT IS THE SITUATION IN GHANA.WHAT A SHAME.

• Walewale Mampru Do 9 years ago

very useless! Always seeing thing in pepeni and ashanti. Hopeless idiot! Get educated!

• Fi 9 years ago

The coach is gone, according to BBC

• smart 9 years ago

Appiah is the best Ghana has. simple as that

• Daniel 9 years ago

Mr. Mahama Ayariga, does not know anything about football, and the responsibility/the part that the government of Ghana plays in it. Ghana Football Association is not a private business, it is a government orgarnization under ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

LET US WAIT AND SEE AYARIGA'S MAGIC WAND. THIS ONE "TOO-KNOWING" MINISTER WILL OCCUPY ALL THE MINISTRIES BEFOR HE RETIRES IN 2016.

• Ekua 9 years ago

If that is the case then l don't think bringing the serb. is a good idea,if ghana want a foreing coach they should have gone for somebody new instead of this traiter,he will betray us again.

• Patrick Kwao 9 years ago

I was vry shock when I head the incident.To me Patrick, l therefore not blame James Kwesi Appiah but rather GFA.This decision could have been making long time ago when the team returnded from Brazil.It is a great new to Ghana ...

• Jupiter 9 years ago

I have play this game called soccer or football. My experience tells me that a coach should have full control over his team and his team should have confidence in him. The above mention two is very important for a coach to bu ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

APPIAH HADE MISTAKES BUT,HOWEVER HE NEEDS TO BE CONGRATULATED FOR THE EXCELLENT FOOTBALLL MATCH BETWEEN THE BLACK STARS AND GERMANY AT THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES IN BRAZIL:

OPAYIN APPIAH, YOU WILL ALWAYS BE REMEBERED FOR ...

• Brobbsnet 9 years ago

We Ghanians need to make a shift in thinking and come to understand that FAILURE is not something to be rewarded.The purpose of the tournament was to win a world-cup NOT Play a good game against Germany.

• I weep for Ghana 9 years ago

Stupid decision. I weep for Ghana.

• TUGAR TUKO 9 years ago

MAY GOD BLESS GFA AND THE SPORTS MINISTER WHO HELP TO SACK THIS MUMU COACH AKWASI APPEAH. THANKS TO YOU ALL.

• Kiss my arse! 9 years ago

“We believe that the Ghana Football Association is a private organization and not a government agency,” Ayariga told Starr FM.

Look what a SPORTS MINISTER IS SAYING.
    WAS NYANTAKYI EMPLOYED BY FIFA? WHAT NONSENSE IS AY ...

• OBIBINI 9 years ago

Ayariga is just a fool.A whiteman's lackey.

• Osibisa 9 years ago

Wasn't this same coach, Milo that did not celebrate with Ghanaians when BS beat Serbia at WC 2000?

• the truth 9 years ago

and the same one that went behind out back to sign a contract with the arabs despite us begging him. We know no shame and i wish we do not qualify for afcon and the wc. Until GFA is disbanded and this serbian coach is fired i ...

• Patrick Kwao 9 years ago

This is a mavilous new to ghanaians.This decision should have been taking for long time.I therefore don't blame James Kwesi Appiah but rather give it to GFA association for not making earlier decision.I think milovan rajeavac ...

• Kobina 9 years ago

Gfa wasted time in making this decision, he should have been sack for a long time. I think is the mentality of Africans. Power, money and friendship.

• Di Wo Fei Asem 9 years ago

All those who advocated for Ghanaian or a black coach should bow down their heads in shame. Football is an international sport and we should always look for competent coaches to do the job for us.The colour of somebody's skin ...

• BIG JAY 9 years ago

Mahama Ayariga, the FA and the Serbian coach are all incompetent in their various roles. They all conspired to remove the Ghanaian coach because they all stand to gain from employing the Serbian as the national coach.
    Ayari ...

• Tony S. 9 years ago

You renew his contract after a very poor performance at the World Cup only to fire him later and pay a huge severance package to him. Where is the sense in this type of management?? Ghana truly is suffering from INCOMPETENT L ...

• Kweku 9 years ago

THE PROBLEM IS THE GFA!WHY SACK THE MESENGER?BLACK STARS WILL GET NO WHERE WITH MILO THIS TIME AROUND.WATCH THIS SPACE

• kiki 9 years ago

you call yourselves BLACK STARS,but stil believe in White Supremacy,Shame and hipocrite Ghanians.Are they going to bring this Serbian?.Go to Belgrade as a Blackman and youwill understand me.Give Konadu a Chance

• Awal 9 years ago

One thing is for sure in every society. Those who came from a civilized and good homes always shows and likewise those from bad homes. I can swear that your father or grandfather is Pepeni. U coward hiding behind internet. Wh ...

• Akamai 9 years ago

Players! We need our best team with UNITY!

• JJ RAWLINGS- USA 9 years ago

Please can someone tell me who pays the coach? government or gfa?

• ERIC 9 years ago

THIS IS UNFAIR AND FIRE BURN THEM ALL FOR THESE THINGS.

• Whatever 9 years ago

It was just a miracle that he survived that long. Just look at the uninspiring see-saw results he was getting with an incredibly talented squad. I think he has done his best and should be left alone to recover his energies in ...

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

i c

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

i c it makes sense, but not without a face. There must be a face.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Since the debacle of WC 2014, I believed the FA had lost focus and needed to go. Why did they offer AA a new contract only to fire him after 4 months? This is financial loss to the State

• Allround 9 years ago

Akwasi, do not get worried. Let those goats sack you and go for a white useless coach. They have soon forgotten what this stupid guy did to us. Akwasi, God will never let you go hungry. Give the team to them to manage and sta ...

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

Appiah,s commitment to duty, his strategies and performance is by far better than any coach and NDC members from their president to the least in position.Should AA go,why are we keeping Mahama,Ayariga and the entire NDC as G ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

WHICH PART OF THIS PIECE SUPPORT THE CAPTION. GOVT SHOULD KEEP OUT OF GFA ISSUES. AND THAT'S WHAT HE SAID

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

IS ALL WELL AND GOOD TO SACK HIM BUT MY QUESTION IS THAT WHY IS THIS GUY GOING TO BE PAID $50,000.00. WE DONT EVEN PAY OUR SURGEONS IN GHANA THAT KIND OF MONEY. WE ARE GOING OT PAY THIS GUY WHO CAN NOT EVEN EXPRESS HIMSELF I ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Kwasea; any asshole can be a Minister under a useless NDC Government

• GAB 9 years ago

Wow the reason is there is too much dictation,of what the coach should do,that lead to our disgrace in Brazil.They should find another white-man to replace Mahama,since the black-man is incapable of managing his house.

• ALL CHOP BE CHOP 9 years ago

THIS IS NOT A COACHING ISSUE, IT'S MANAGEMENT ISSUE. THE MINISTER IS THE ONE TO RESIGN, AS WELL AS THE ENTIRE SPORTS BOARD. WHAT IDIOT WILL HAND OVER MILLIONS OF CASH TO A LOOSING TEAM. SHAME ON THEM, THEY ARE WORSE THAN ARME ...

• kodjo 9 years ago

fifa owns gfa

• George Opoku-Agyemang 9 years ago

ayarega trust me your time will soon come you will pay dearly for what you have done to Akwasi Appiah what ever you soul you will reap

• J. O 9 years ago

GFA and the ministry of sports are just using him as a scapegoat.