You are here: HomeSports2014 09 12Article 325499

GFA to pay sacked Appiah US$ 876,000 compensation

Read Comments Comments (117)

• Joojo 9 years ago

Waste of tax payer money. Why let him sign a new contract when his performance was below par. Nyantakyi and his cohort must follow suit.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

AA, take that money and go and enjoy yourself without worrying about the 25 million Ghanaian Coaches. You came out tbe lottery winner.

• Haruna, Toronto 9 years ago

That way, you are getting some of the money back, somehow.

• BABA 9 years ago

When it comes to creating, looting and sharing, Ghanaians are really smart. Do that in America and see where you will land. GFA knew long time go they were going to relieve Kwes Appiah of his post but chose to sing his praise ...

• UNCLE KOFI 9 years ago

THEY KNEW HE WAS GOING TO BE SACKED BUT THEY RENEWED HIS CONTRACT. THE REASON? OF COURSE IT WAS ALL PLANNED - "ACCIDENT ACCORDING TO PLAN". A PERCENTAGE WAS WORKED OUT. NA GHANA WE DEY

• AMERICA LOVER 9 years ago

GFA!Please,sack Nyantakyi as well, he's the most criminal,crook in the whole Africa.Accident according to plan indeed.A percentage was worked out as uncle Kofi has just said.

• Cool J. 9 years ago

I said it right on the day his contractbwas renewed. This is a connivance by Nyantakyi and Appiah. Nyantakyi knew Appiah was a useless coach and would eventually be sacked but decided to renew his contract, in order to get a ...

• facts 9 years ago

Let Appiah return to HIS Kotoko, sit quietly for the compensation. Now that he has started showing positive result for the experience he has acquired so far.

• joe 9 years ago

Uncle Kofi, na true ooooh!!! This smells like one of the dubious judgement debts.

• Saf 9 years ago

Of course, it was all planned out!Chai Gh!

• A ghanaian 9 years ago

Oh Ghana,Ghana. I guess not even God can help us,

• joe 9 years ago

Tweeaaaa, my friend, which God? That God will be corrupted by Ghanaians. The way we have learned the chop-chop, massa na too serious. I beg, I don't think there is any cure!!

• woodini 9 years ago

Thank you brother, you hit the nail right on the head. Even my illiterate grandmother knew this is a calculated attempt by this criminals to loot and share.How are we going to develop as a nation where very few individuals s ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

He can refuse to be assistant coach and Ghana cannot do anything about it. He signed the contract as a Coach not assistant coach.

If the Serbian does not want to work under AA, then AA will not work under him.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Appiah is useless but replacing him with Milo is stupid. We should have tried 3 local coaches before handing over to any foreign Coach. This Serbian is as useless as Ghana itself.

• Otsibu Darko 9 years ago

If I were Akwasi Appiah and with that kind of money I will humbly decline the assistant coach job offer you've suggested- once bitten, twice shy- and GFA is lucky Akwasi Appiah didn't sue them, I see Akwasi as a gentleman
    he ...

• wise man 9 years ago

Sadly he is rather part of the creation and looting gang of the GFA. Nyantekyi purposely and criminally increased his package just to enable them siphon this immoral funds for the already known incompetent AA.

• Bona 9 years ago

Its really unfortunate the coach was sack, instead of provide him with all the support, counselling and the logistics. Appiah is a human, not God and by the principle of lifes all humans are are bound to make mistakes or bett ...

No condition is permanent in life... AA give it a shot and he walks with what is due him...a hefty pile of dough. MILO on the other hand, is probably the cheapest coach out there from the pool of white coaches can Ghana affor ...

• K. O. 9 years ago

A clear case of Create Loot and Share

• Stevo 9 years ago

I can't believe my eyes if the amount I'm seeing is right or maybe I need glasses. Ghanaian workers rise up and demand your share of the nation's resources. Ghana is for all not for few people. The leaders of this nation are ...

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

Thanks to the GFA's incompetence, Kwesi Appiah is now fabulously rich. Kwesi is on a contract which the GFA willingly[albeit stupidly],and fraudulently agreed to and approved of. Blame the GFA for this ludicrous pay-off. Who ...

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 9 years ago

Ghanaians leave the man alone. AA is one of the poorest national manager according to our ranking by FIFA. Lazy will not work and they are making noise of this chicken feed!

• Prosper Yao Agbeko-Tema 9 years ago

My Good people of Ghana, why do we pour our badmouth on the coach? I believe our players are not just committed. You can go in for the best coach in the world yet if the players are not committed, this are the very abysmal p ...

• onetiibe 9 years ago

Decisions made by GFA and the government affected the morale and performance of the blackstars. Akwasi Appiah or any coach for that matter can only do so much in the face of incompetence and disorganisation from the sports mi ...

• Landlord 9 years ago

THIS IDIOT OF A COACH HAS HIT THE JACKPOT

• K Ofosuware 9 years ago

Does the GFA as a governing body has a strategy management policy in place?. What made them to give Appiah a new two year contract only to boot him in a month? Who will cough up this lump sum to this failure? I don't see why ...

• K.K 9 years ago

DON'T YOU PEOPLE SEE? ITS CALLED CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE. SIMPLE. NYANTAKYI HAS A SHARE IN THAT BOOTY.

• George Lima 9 years ago

I hope that FIFA is also reading this from the media just as the read from the media the intentions of the govt to set up a presidential commission. FIFA should now begin to see why sometimes national govts feel it is importa ...

• sirry 9 years ago

Well, at lest one down two to go.

• kusasi 9 years ago

it is a plan between nyantakyi and appiah. nyantakyi shouid follow

• Harrison 9 years ago

Why in the first case did Nyantakyi rush to renew AA's contract, when he knew very well that this man was not up to the task? Now that the axe has dropped, Ghanaians want to know the terms and conditions of AA's contract. GFA ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

Loot and share.

Ken

• DEFENDER 9 years ago

GOOD POINT

• DEFENDER 9 years ago

NYANTAKYI SHOULD PAY THAT MONEY, IDIOT

• Breflice 9 years ago

Factual inaccuracy, Ghana beat Togo by 3:2.

• Wuofei 9 years ago

Nyantakyi must go to jail for causing financial loss to the state and Kwasi Appiah should be stripped off any honor accorded him in the past if he takes this money. Now I don't know too much about Ghana's tax laws but this is ...

• STONER KOBYLYNON 9 years ago

This is a bizzare deal by GFA for renewing AA's contract just after returning from his WC poor performance and axing him from his post within weeks later to cough such huge sum of money to him is beyond comprehension. This al ...

• jackpot 9 years ago

if you breach a contract you loose big time.so AA must take them to court and collect his money and then leave the country else GFA will send armed robbers to him for the money.

• Wuofei 9 years ago

are you just learning what breach of contract means? Do you even see the bigger picture

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

KWESI THIS IS A GOOD DEAL AND THERE WILL BE NO MORE HEADACHES AND ABUSES FOR THE PCBLIC. I WILL TAKE THE MONEY AND RUN. YOU WILL BE ABLE TO LIVE ON IT FIR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE WITH NO SWEAT. WE NEED TO KNOW HOW MUCH THIS STU ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER! ! 9 years ago

THIS IS A DRAIN ON GORVMT.WE MUST LOOK FORWARD FOR A NEW FA BOSS TOO..ELSE WE MAY BE TREATING EBOLA WITH WRONG MEDS...

• HUMAN BEIGN 9 years ago

is this a scheme. no schools ,no hospitals, ebola and chorela killing us and don't have a clue what to do but yet u give 1 person $1million for failure. only in Ghana. African minds on display. wow!

• onetiibe 9 years ago

Akwasi is a scape goat for others failures.Government & GFA

• Mars1 9 years ago

Pay the guy and let him go away, something the GFA should have done immediately after the WC, and Appiah should have quit, but no he was waiting for a big pay day, if the GFA took the initiative to let this underachiever simp ...

• wise man 9 years ago

Sensible comments as it better to pay him as a good riddance to bad rubbish.

• Peps 9 years ago

For each of these leeches

• Emmens usa 9 years ago

nyantakyi knew Appiah will be sack that is why they rush to renew his contract so they can chop chop the money together
    Fire burn u all

• Odasanibi 9 years ago

I ask why he was let go shortly after his contract was renewed, is it to cause more default money?. In my opinion, Mr. Akwasi Appiah was doing ok because i do not think any other Ghanaian coach will be able to satisfy the fan ...

• WHAT'S THIS? 9 years ago

"people are just jealous of the money they make, period".

Aponkye Odasanibi, hardly was anybody jealous of what Appiah made.

In fact, if we had any complaints, it was that he was being underpaid compared to his predeces ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Ghana football and the nation suffers. NYANTEKYIE and the 3 stooges that chose Milo are to blame.

• Kakra Sam. USA 9 years ago

If ghana doesn't qualify to 2015 nations cup,what will GFA do to the new coach? sack him and bring Akuffo Addo or OBAMA to take over? thanks Kwesi you've done your part SHAME TO GFA.

• the truth 9 years ago

Exactly, i doubt we will even qualify.

• Concern citizen 9 years ago

We have all these monies in Ghana and yet some communities are without potable drinking water, bad roads, dilapidated school buildings, poor health facilities, lack of funds for research, etc.??

• Kwamina 9 years ago

These crooks are geniuses. In Ghana anything is up for judgement debt scams!!

• mont 9 years ago

we should all be a shame on ourselves
    for mastermind Akwasi Appiah sack from his job, now we are going to give the job to Milo how stupid can we be as a nation

• Peter 9 years ago

This is common sense. The plan is to give him that money and have it distributed among those who put the package together.

GOD help us. We have a long way to go!

• NYANTA GREED 9 years ago

PLAVI SUED THE FA FOOLS AT FIFA FOR $1.5 MILLION WHEN HE WAS TERMINATED.
    WE NEVER HEARD HOW IT WAS SETTLED.

YOU HAVE TO BELIEVE THAT THE SETTLEMENT WAS MADE AND NYANTAKYI GOT HIS SHARE, SINCE HE NEVER TOLD US HOW THE ISSU ...

• apetupre-usa 9 years ago

Its Nyantakyi and his officials who should go and not Appiah

where is Coutryman Zingo? He should come and tell us who are doing the chop-chop in the football administration of Ghana on his program on Asempa.

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

Ye nche ndie - Create loot and share. It smells like a typical Ghanaian style judgement debt orchestrated by Kwesi Nyantekyi and his GFA mafia to loot the state coffers. Kickback galore among themselves, this is what it looks ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

NYANTAKYI MUST GO - MILOVAN MUST NOT COME NEAR TO THE JOB IF WE ARE SERIOUSLY LOKING FOR EXCELLENCY .
    sacking Kwasi Appia IN THE EXCHANGE OF MILO IS A BIG Insult to the whole Nation, looking at the way milo treated ghanaian ...

• Kiss my arse! 9 years ago

A BLACK MAN WILL NEVER BE GIVEN SUCH A SECOND CHANCE IN SERBIA'S NATIONAL TEAM, LET ALONE A FIRST CHANCE.

SERBIANS DO NOT EVEN WANT TO SEE A BLACK PERSON IN THEIR COUNTRY, LET A ALONE GIVE A BLACK PERSON EVEN A CLEANING JO ...

• Bobby 9 years ago

I can't understand why AA was made to extend his contract. This bill should go to Nyantakyi. I will not be surprised to him share this money with AA

• Jake 9 years ago

I call on Captain of ADOM FM to investigate this deal. I know he is good at this issues[INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM]

• OH! MY! GOD! 9 years ago

"after leading the Black Stars to beat Togo 2-1".

THE PEOPLE, WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO GET THEIR NEWS FROM THE MEDIA, ARE BETTER INFORMED THAN THE MEDIA, WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO BE THE CUSTODIANS OF THE INFORMATION BEFORE DISSEMINA ...

The GFA should be blamed for this mess. Why give a senior national team to a trainee coach who has not practiced his skills with even a second division football club?

• Joe canada 9 years ago

A.A, you deserve every penny, at least you worked for it. It wasn't your fault for all those loses. Typical of Ghanaians, some people were waiting anxiously to see your back. But hold you heard high. Thanks for your service a ...

• KKK 9 years ago

Nyantakyi new that Kwasi Appiah could be sacked and that was why he quickly signed a two year contract with Appiah quietly to the surprise of the other executives at the GFA. Am sure he has a secret contract with Appiah to sh ...

How on earth should an FA appoint a head coach and then decide to show him the exit less than two months and decide to pay him such a huge amount?

• Odopo 9 years ago

Like it's been said by some on this forum, "Accident according to Plan"! hehehehehe........

• KKK 9 years ago

We will also disgrace ourselves as Afrcans to the rest of the world if people in leadership positions can not be bold and take decision at the right time. Why should the GFA wait till now,renew Appiah's Contract and pay this ...

• Kwaku Ntawatawa 9 years ago

Gyako all the way to the bank

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

Nyantekyi operates openly as an independent mafia above the law in ghana....

• Owusu 9 years ago

Question Nyantekyi on this

• Brukutu 9 years ago

I have given up on Ghana under pepeni and his NDC. Here was somebody called a coach like the president who is not performing and needed to be sacked after a terrible WC campaign. Suddenly within a week you renewed his contrac ...

• Saf 9 years ago

It is you and others like you that will go war, not our beloved Ghana. Must everything be seen in tribal and ethnic lines? Grow-up, kid!

• Akora Sark 9 years ago

Kwasi we are proud of your sucessful achievement managing the national Team, the Ghana Black Stars.
    You made us proud indeed. Definitely the sudden termination of your contract would have to be . Especially coming after a go ...

• Pablo 9 years ago

Mr. President, I rather encourage you to wake up over this issue. We were made to believe that Milo was coming as a technical director. which in fact we don't even need. We've 4 times won the CAN in the past with local coache ...

• nana kofi 9 years ago

THANK GOD THE IDIOT IS GONE

• BARIMA TOKIAFRE 9 years ago

The moment AKWASI suspended MUNTARI and KEVIN was when I realized he had hung a rock which was going to fall on his own head
    Only a STUPID and an INEXPERIENCED COACH would take such a decision prior to a very important match ...

• TOTO 9 years ago

GFA (KWASI) U AND UR PEOPLE ARE FOOLISH FOOOL..........

• Boboobo 9 years ago

Ghanaians will always remain BLACK AND STUPID, we should be able to help and encourage our own. The white man has fooled and is continue fooling us that we can never succeed without them, it's a shame, all those who contribut ...

• Daniel 9 years ago

There you have it. It is long overdue.

• Kweku 9 years ago

STUPID DECISION.WHEN SHALL WE RID OURSELVES OF SLAVE MENTALITY?THERE IS NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THIS MILO COACH

• IB 9 years ago

You new that you were going to fire him yet you sign a contract with him. So who pay this money now. GFA President or Tax Payers Money. We need an explanation to this.

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

GFA should come out and explain why a couple of days before the world cup they prolonged Akwasi Appiah's contract? Now they 're going to pay this whooping sum to Appiah for breach of contract,with their corruppt attitude the ...

• GYAM KORROWII 9 years ago

Oh blckman WHY! WHY!!! DO WE HAVE BE SLAVE FOREVER? SABBIA COACH Oh my GOD!!!!!

• FOREIGN mp 9 years ago

A well calculated error. E! Ghanaman and chop chop,another trick on Ghanaians to create and share. Anyway "NO OBJECTION" Kwesi Appiah MUST go after all,with a hansome booty.

• Exposure 9 years ago

I can't believe what I am reading! Wow, this is monecracy, indeed! GFA, the Ministry of Sports and Government must sit up and make sure the tax payers money does not go into the drain. A Presidential Commission is required to ...

• ISAAC 9 years ago

Am I dreaming? I said it from the first day AA was choosen that he cannot deliver. after the mess in the WC his contract was renew and that was another stomach pain I got. Finally he has been sacked to obtain a huge amount of ...

• apuuut))) 9 years ago

KWESI APPIAH MUST BE PAID WHAT IS DUE HIM, PER THE STIPULATION OF THE CONTRACT IN CASE OF DEFAULT BY EITHER OF THE PARTYS INVOLVED.

NOW THOSE WHO RESIGNED HIM (FOR ANOTHER 2YRS WHEN IT WAS A KNOWN FACT THAT HIS PERFORMANCE ...

• COULD GHANA FA LISTENS PLS 9 years ago

NONSENSE!!!

• SIYABEA 9 years ago

It is very unfair to fire Appiah at this time and replace him with a "MILO" who was unfaithful to Ghana. If is the Brazil saga, it is GFA who should answer for the player misconduct and not Appiah. SHAME

• Amega 9 years ago

This GFA action is well-planned, believe me! The GFA wanted K Appiah to have substantial money home. This country called Ghana, a day will come.

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

This is appalling. Why extend KA's contract knowing very well that he was pencilled to be sacked? It was so crafted to dupe yet again the sporting populace of Ghana. This in effect would mute KA if he had any grievances or an ...

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

This is appalling. Why extend KA's contract knowing very well that he was pencilled to be sacked? It was so crafted to dupe yet again the sporting populace of Ghana. This in effect would mute KA if he had any grievances or an ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

We see clearly that GFA & other institutions are milking,sabotaging,destroying and killing us but would turn and demonstrate against the President of the land.It is time we turn against GFA,Lazy & Unprofitable Teachers,Doctor ...

• ATOOOO 9 years ago

Ghanaians dont believe GFA and Kwesi appiah. This money is going to be shared. If we look closely at the chronology of events that have taken place it is only a sick organisation will take such a decision and cough up this am ...

• KWAKU POKU 9 years ago

HOW MUCH IS MR KWESI NYANTAKYI TAKING BY WAY OF KICKBACK?

• Kwaku NYU 9 years ago

This whole thing was pre-meditated because the stupid nyantakyie anticipated that in sight and hurriedly renewed and extended his contract thereby making sure his share of the booty was always at stake if the coach was fired. ...

• Alex Boatang 9 years ago

Kwasi make sure you take all your money
    from. GFA even people are crying for white president

• Jato .P 9 years ago

I do not support the GFA's rash action. We have always known that the GFA would always prefer a foreign coach to their own Ghanaian Coach. Soccer imperialism!

• Simingue 9 years ago

Na Ghana money people de chop am nyafunyafu. It is now the turn of inept Akwesi Appiah. It doesn't make any difference when the likes of Alfred Woyome and his gangs are raping Ghana to the core.

• ffonky 9 years ago

So first renewal of Contract and then sacking him.
    Are you people serious at all.
    They all need to be sacked.

• joe 9 years ago

this fool is taking that whopping money.eiii ghana

• Analyst 9 years ago

Sacking coach Appiah is no surprise but what is surprising is the reason for which the GFA claimed he was sacked. This reason is: the coach went public to deny that he requested for a technical adviser. In other words, had Kw ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

that is how they do it. Sign contract that cause financial loss to the state

• Kwesi 9 years ago

I wonder what Milo can do differently that we have to continue wasting our money this way. $50,000 a month? What did they pay coach Kwesi Appiah. Kwame Nkrumah called it Neo-Colonialism

• solomon '''malta island 9 years ago

thanks

• Bright 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah fraudulently took USD100,000 as an appearance fee which he was not entitled to. That is a serious crime and a breach of contract. He should have been sacked for that alone. Thus giving him another USD1m is out of ...

• KHAY 9 years ago

If a Ghanaian coach is not good then a Ghanaian FA membership is also not good. Please advertise for a white FA president, Secretary and other positions. If we loose under a white man and pay higher why is it not possible to ...

• NYANTEKYI MUST GO TOO 9 years ago

NYANTEKYI and cohorts knew this will happen but the signed him on a two year contract. It is all ASHANTI planned corruption coup.

• Owuoba 9 years ago

Nantakyi is the next person to go,infact he should be sack

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Yep, I got it. Instead of waiting for the so-called Presidential Commission to submit it's report, they rushed to renew Kwesi Appiah's contract. The government has always known the useless coach was going to go anyway.

• Jorotara 9 years ago

That was the reason he hurriedly renewed his contract amidst gross incompetence

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

This is causing financial loss to the state. Those who appointed him should be surcharged