You are here: HomeSports2014 06 21Article 313807

Appiah: Ghana wanted the win

Read Comments Comments (151)

• Osee Ghana 9 years ago

Good job black stars

• Sammythe Sheriff 9 years ago

I think Jordan has played his last game in this tournament. He is too selfish. This is not colts football. The guy needs to grow mentally. At this stage of his football career, he is not a Blackstar material.

The three go ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

AA punished KPB by not starting him in the GHA-USA match due to KPB's abandonment of the Black Stars after the 2010 world cup to lunch his career big time.
    A lot of Ghanaians got mad at AA for benching KPB. So AA started KP ...

• Ghana Lover 9 years ago

With his abysmal performance in the past two games, KB should never wear Ghanaian jerseys again. This guy in the game is probably worse than Black Starts with a 10-man team. For crying out loud, this dude was only taking up s ...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

Papa Arko, Laryea Kingston and now Kevin Prince Boateng. Wee is not good for footballers. In fact he did not even know where he was during the game.

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 9 years ago

Now we know who's the real number one. Two goalkeepers, one catch's with his legs and the other with his hands. The long and shot of the matter is, Nasim our goalkeepers coach has been proven right. The South African bench wa ...

• Askantwi 9 years ago

Kwarassey and Dauda conceded 2 goals each. So how can Dauda be better than him?

• Tie is not enough 9 years ago

Dauda is what we need not Adam, ghanaians only support him cause hes half breed

I totally agree. Kwarassey was a nervous wreck. He has the confidence, poise and leadership qualities to help this team win games. I wish he would have played the first game as well.
    I am sure his stock will move up after t ...

• Kofai 9 years ago

I agree. Kwarassey was nervous. Dauda seemed more confident and inspiring.

• Sarskoberta 9 years ago

By my own conservative and non-psychological opinion, both the DRAA
    Law, and KwaraState have one common aptitude. They are of a timid nature, very much the introvert type.
    Such people, as my 'nyansa and suahunu' suggest,

• FIRST GAME? 9 years ago

"I wish he would have played the first game as well".

What first game, Ghana lover?
    Kwarasey was the one who played our first game against USA.

• Quao Kuranchie 9 years ago

True SARS, Kwarasey and coach Appiah may be good at what they do but lach the little things that make them complete. But how long can Ghana wait?
    I guess they need more time to shine.

SARS, this is a personal one: Did you ...

• ??? 9 years ago

Bcos is the captain in his club.we never heard of him, he ghfuo

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

Adam collects 2 goals vs usa and everyone says sub him. Dauda also collects 2 goals from Germany and no one ks saying anything? A goalkeeper is as good as the defenders infront of him. The first goal vs Ghana. Was boye ' faul ...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Jordan has never been a Black Star material but our wimp of a coach is probably afraid of Abedi so he keeps putting him in the matches. A gutless coach is just like having no coach.

Yes, he 'robbed' us of a chance to cele ...

• tegare 9 years ago

We had several chances but failed to utiliser them . . . Problem was asamoah gyan

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

Your are the problem not Gyan; Fool

• TRUE 9 years ago

Great game, Dauda.
    Your self-assuredness came thru.

Kwarasey is not bad.
    He just needs to keep his eyes on aerial balls and LEARN TO JUMP AND PUNCH OUT!!!!! like Olele and Dauda.

both have conceded two successive goals
    in a loss.
    Who therefore betters who?
    KwaraState is a captain of his team. Has led his side to a league championship. He has the WC height and command a personality quite akin to a ...

• roy , usa 9 years ago

He has cost ghana a lot

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

None of you guys is talking about tactics to win a game. When Ghana shot ahead, why did the coach not change tactic to play defensive and leave Gyan alone to ponce on volley balls at the front? We could have held the ball mor ...

• the truth 9 years ago

try playing a defensive game and they would have scored us more goals. we had a chance to win the game but we didnt utilize it well. The coach did a great job inserting Dauda and afful in the lineup. I hope he brings in wari ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

I am looking forward to see Waris team up with Gyan.

• tegare 9 years ago

Why gyan ..? He wastes more chances than any of our players

• RIGHT 9 years ago

Afful's consistent African Champions League experiences with Esperance came through.
    He was very good.

• Patrick 9 years ago

listen you idiot, if you know anything about football you should know that playing defense doesn't pay especially when you play against a great team like Germany, they will snatch the ball away from you and score eventually. ...

• RIGHT 9 years ago

Patrick, you are right, Kwasi Asante is wrong.
    How could he recommend defensive play against a powerful, all-attacking German team?
    What's a one-goal lead?

They would have bled us to death, and then he himself, Kwasi Asa ...

• Nana 9 years ago

God remains glorious, he'll see ghana thro'

• Kojo 9 years ago

Certainly true. Ghana would be celebrating a brilliant win had he just passed the ball on for Gyan to tap into an empty net. Ghanaian players need to play and win as a team not just for individual glorification. This is Wo ...

• nana 9 years ago

what was he thinkin. beatin nuer with that baby shot? must think again.

• NBA 9 years ago

selfish idiot jordan ayew,with this kind of mentality,how can ghana move foward?

• wise 9 years ago

i don't know why we allow this selfish called jordan to destroy ghana football like this. we have many player better than him.

• 0hene 9 years ago

my Brother u have taken words out of my mouth,the match would ve been 3-1 if jordan wasn.t selfish and there,s no way German woould ve come back again

• tegare 9 years ago

Jordan created that chance himself, asamoah gyan wastes chances created by others.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

We would have won the match if Warris had played even as a sub for KPB...why Jordan after his weak performance in game 1 is beyond me. I know money explains a lot of things.

• NaBello 9 years ago

Bravo Black Stars! For God sake and for the sake of love let us all appreciate the performance our boys put up today against Germany. No other african team @ the world cup could've played the Germans like the Black Stars did. ...

• shamsu deen 9 years ago

Coach your change was effective today. Keep it up. We gonna miss Sule Muntari against Portugal. who gonna replace him?

• The truth 9 years ago

He might insert wakaso or badu to replace sulley.

• Papa Dey 9 years ago

I think jordan caused us to win the game.Kwasi Appiah should learn his lessons second time not to play him anymore.too selfish.

• Alan CASH esq, 9 years ago

l agree with you,man...

Oh no! The guy played his heart out today. I think I have seen his best performance ever today.

Why is Sully not playing next match ? carded ?

• Kofai 9 years ago

Yap, carded. He got a yellow in the first game and another in the second. Suley will be missed in the next game. He works relentlessly and fights to the very end.

• kkkkk 9 years ago

This is the first time Sule has proven his worth without Essien. Master class. He silenced Bradley and today he silenced Lahm.

• SUSPENSIONS 9 years ago

Every time a key Ghanaian player is suspended in a key game, we get knocked out - Abedi, Afcon 1992 (Ivory Coast); Essien, World Cup 2006 (Brazil); John Mensah, Afcon 2008 (Cameroon).

I know it happened at Afcon 2010 and W ...

• Leeeee 9 years ago

he is too selfish. he never listens to anybody. his coach at Marseilles used to say it. the one at schaux said it too and the 24 million ghanaian coaches have been saying it. he is seeking self glorification

• SEIDU JOHNSON 9 years ago

JORDAN IS THE PROBLEM FOR GHANA SQUARD HE IS TOO SELFISH TO PLAY FOR GHANA. GHANA COULD HAVE WON THIS GAME

• ??? 9 years ago

What do you mean by selfish?

• Diffenrent Regions, One People- Ashbo 9 years ago

If anybody want everyone to see him humble, he would eventual end up arrogant to everybody. If Coach Akwasi Appiah wants to save his image for the rest of the games, he better off bench that selfish Jordan. A humble person ...

• ??? 9 years ago

What do you mean?gyan miss a penalty.he.

• tegare 9 years ago

How many times has anyone seen gyan make those runs Jordan made

• J.O 9 years ago

Give constructive criticism and suggestions. Insults is the enemy of civilization.

• J.O 9 years ago

Give constructive criticism and suggestions. Insults is the enemy of civilization.

• J.O 9 years ago

• Don Shata 9 years ago

we are out already....pack and come home

• Ghana 9 years ago

Shame on you. Cheer for Ghana

• Nana 9 years ago

Never give up fellow Ghanaians, god works mysteriously

"Ghana Wanted the win" The DRAA Law.

Were you referring the above assertion to the US match or that of the Germans?

Bow down your head in shame for parading a 'photocopy'- line up against the US.
    Did you take a bribe? ...

• Me 9 years ago

Jordan is very selfish..yes..but please judge him and leave is dad alone...Haba..Ghanafuor 3buuu hweeee

• Staph 9 years ago

Like father like son,this is what happens to people who want everyone to Say they the best.This is Why is having problem in maseile

• mubarak 9 years ago

I don't think is normal for some people to comment, that due to Jordan selfishnes and his father .....................?ok what abt his senior bro, who score the opener.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Ghana should have won this game convincingly had it not been Jordan's selfishness and stupidity. Asamoah Djan was at the right spot with hands open to collect a pass but this wanabe Jordan imitating his father's go-solo atti ...

• KOFI - USA 9 years ago

I DONT KNOW THE REASON WHY THEY KEEP PLAYING JORDAN AYEW. HE IS VERY SELFISH, IMMATURE, EGOTISTIC AND COST US THE GAME THIS TIME. INSTEAD OF PASSING HE WANTED TO BE THE HERO AND IN THE END BE A GOAT.

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

Hmmmmm..you mean,he failed to be a hero and finaly became zero & a goat?na true true you talk...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

Because of Warris injury problem Ghan had not choice but to bribg Jordan asa a decoy striker. In fach had Warris been fit he would have led the line as Asamoah Gyan drifts in and out as in our game against Egypt

• ??? 9 years ago

Silly fools

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 9 years ago

JORDAN FOOLISH AYEW CAUSED US THE MATCH. THE FUCKING GUY SHOULD HAVE JUST PASSED THE DARN BALL TO GYAN. JORDAN AYEW BETTER REDEEM HIMSELF THE LAST MATCH AGAINST PORTUGAL HOPING THAT U.S.A DOESNT WIN TOMORROW. WHAT FOOLISH BOY ...

• Lewis Asante W. 9 years ago

First of Ghana did very well today and with the chance Jordan Ayew had, he could have pass the ball to Gyan to score. it is team play for Ghana to win, Not one man football play.

• tegare 9 years ago

Asamoah gyan was even worse

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

Your only comment Gyan, are you a fool or hate

• Kofi Wusu Dallas,USA 9 years ago

AA please tell tour players to stop the un-necessary victory dance which tends to distract attention and concentration

• Yaw P, USA 9 years ago

I agree with you, bro. I just don't understand Asamoah Gyan. He needs to be talked to about that 'silly' dance. He should be a leader not a dancer. He can dance quickly with every goal scored but to the extent of inviting the ...

• Jacob Appiah 9 years ago

Good job Appiah

• mozart 9 years ago

Pls make comments with some respect,when u know nothing about football don't make disrespectful comments,the player's and the coaching staff's gave evrything today to mother Ghana,this is sports not drinking bar,support them ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

You are a gentleman, a true son of Ghana

• Ghanafan 9 years ago

Jordan Ayew has more speed and stamina than Kevin Prince Boateng but Boateng is more smarter in soccer mentality than Jordan

• Son of Man 9 years ago

He talked his way into the lineup but contributed zero. Don't play him againt Portugal. He can't run, shoots at will and can't pass or dribble. He is a shell of his normal self but always giving instructions. For the firs ...

Both of them are playing themselves out of Blackstars. KPB in this game was a mere passenger. He has no ball control and the word "tackling" is not in his lexicon.

• the truth 9 years ago

Congrats to the stars especially Boye, afful, and what is wrong with waris? Jordan is the most self centric player mankind ever see. He never learn but always getting opportunity

• mozart 9 years ago

some of you no nothing about football,our attack was better when jorden came on,Gyna could have enough space to do his thing,Jordan play very well when he came on,it was one mistake he made,pls this guy is just trying his bes ...

Sorry, he cost us this game. We could have gone up 3-1 if not for his selfishness. Maybe you are right he is young and has no business in this team.

• Douglas Enninful, USA. 9 years ago

Hey fella, wh3 Ghana fo yani abere paa. We eat and breathe soccer. Black Stars is not a joke, it's huge. Jordan messed up big and we're giving vent to our feelings. Your attempt to defend him with your lousy English is making ...

• Germany 9 years ago

Great Coach and super Black Stars. You rock !

• Avuduli Korli 9 years ago

Let us give praises to our Keeper he has done a good job by positioning himself well. Again good job

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

all i know iz he who laugh last laugh bezt and the viktoriouz black ztarz did a tremendous job thiz afternoon and their zaving the bezt for lazt after pounding portugal. USA will zurely fall tomorrow ooh no no we would not al ...

• ??? 9 years ago

You think football is 1+1.you predicted germo 3 Gh 1.come out please.,

• SGT.BASA BASA 9 years ago

Leave the crazy bitch alone.He knows too much for his own good....si,WA ma aponkyi akyi,as we say.
    . He will be back tomorrow,telling us how to play against Portugal Sorry for this full of himself guy.

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

I didn't predict a scoreline vs germany. All insakd was gh will win and we should have. Had it not been for aa silly subs. We would have won. This is a must win game. Yet,u bring in second rate subs in Badu, wakes, jordan was ...

• ??? 9 years ago

I think the sixth comment.gh1 germo3.ghfuo 30seconds wc wonders

• GHFUO, heaven is NOT for fools!! 9 years ago

IT WAS THIS ASSHOLE 30 SECONDS WHO PREDICTED THAT GH WILL LOSE, NOT ME. U SEE, 30 SECONDS WANTS TO BE LIKE ME.HE WAS TRYING TO STEAL MY MONIKER(GHFUO) AND IT BACK FIRED. I HOPE HE ROTS IN SHAME AND IN HELL, THAT SON OF A BITC ...

• MARK A. 9 years ago

TOO SELFISH

• kay 9 years ago

NO MORE SELFISH IMMATURED JORDAN AYEW !!!!!!!!!!!

Dauda did a very good job today. With all the hate aside, let's be honest. He was confident, poised and did a great job directing the players and making sure they are at the right spot at the right time. Kwarassey might be a ...

• ??? 9 years ago

He did very well.too much confidences

• KK 9 years ago

He didn't do any exceptional thing. All the saves were direct and straight shots. He did nothing, the 2nd goal! He never asked any defender to man the other post where they scored the goal! US goals were the faults of defen ...

• Adama, Texas 9 years ago

Well said.

• Kwame 9 years ago

What match did you watch? That Dauda man is horrible. He is just not good.

• Samir 9 years ago

Kudos to the Coach,BS,the Tech.team and all the behind the scenes people who made it possible for this gallent play shown today.My friends German and Americans today and were all full of praise to our boys.Johnathan Mensah,Bo ...

• TEX 9 years ago

First off hats off to Ghana BS! They played a PHENOMENAL game against the 2nd best team in the world! And all we can talk about are the mistakes?!!??! Are you serious?! We NEED to be more SUPPORTIVE of our team. Come on guys! ...

Boateng should never play for Ghana again. This guy has no desire for Ghana to win at all. I am at a loss for why Ghanaians are fixated on this guy.
    We watched this game as a group with folks from all corners of this planet ...

• Kwame Odome 9 years ago

I said it last week that this vintage guy knows very little about football at this point in time. I don't know why he is still hanging on. He must be given his allowances and asked to return to Germany and watch the WC on TV. ...

• kkkkk 9 years ago

I said too that KPB was only covering for his lack of form and wastefulness in our game agianst USA.

• ??? 9 years ago

Asamoah gyan miss a penalty.he was not selfish when he was hammering @ the friendlies

• Leeeee 9 years ago

Kwaseaman somebody passed the ball to him to score all those three goals. why cant he pass the ball to others to score too. that is what we refer to as selfish.

• tegare 9 years ago

In this very tournament check how many times gyan has wasted chances. . . .

• Tamad 9 years ago

Our keeper really surprised me I watched the guy very critically and no doubt was very impressed very confident and fearless and kept directing the players.All our guys played that OBIARA NYE OBIARA mantra afterall we are all ...

I agree with you. This game was indeed a thriller. I skipped lunch during the game and afterwards, I felt I have already eaten. That's how much I was fed with satisfaction.

Few advice I would give to the coaching staff:
    1 ...

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

in football there are times a good player with experience will shine and there are times they flop as well that doesn't mean that one should count the player out this afternoon and Monday wasn't in favour of KPB but believe m ...

• TEX 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah did a GREAT job today. This is his FIRST world cup and we need to support him. He's working with the best talent Ghana has to offer and the rest is up to the players to execute. It wasn't Kwesi Appiahs fault that ...

• LONGRACE 9 years ago

BLACK STARS .DID GOOD . this is the best team Ghana has ever had for a very long time. don't know how to put select 11 players to play ,ie putting good players at wrong positions ,wor cup is no joke for exp er ...

• Kwesi Brenu 9 years ago

Until those primitive people stop that their embarrassing dancing and focus on winning , Ghana will never and I say never accomplish anything in the world stage in football.

• KANE 9 years ago

KWASIA!

YOU DO NOT DO WELL BY LOSING ONE MATCH AND DRAWING ONE.

YOU DO WELL BY WINNING MATCHES. WININNG IS THE ULTIMATE OBJECTIVE OF PLAYING WELL, KWASIA "BLACKIE" ALWAYS CONTENT WITH BEING SECOND BEST.

A SERB COACH ...

• Patrick 9 years ago

Shut the help up! you definitely are a house nigger always deferring to the white man and feeling useless without him. you can go on kissing the white man's ass while he's spitting on your face and that of your wife and child ...

• KANE 9 years ago

KWASIA!
    IF A HUMAN BEING CAN WORK FOR ME TO ACHIEVE GREATNESS, I DO NOT CARE WHETHER THAT HUMAN BEING IS ASANTE, AKYIM, SERB, MONGOLIAN, BLACK OR WHITE.

TRIBALISM, RACISM AND LACK OF INTROSPECTION WILL KILL BLACK PEOP ...

• SERB 9 years ago

KANE, WHY DID THE SERB NOT BEAT GERMANY AT THE 20110 WORLD CUP?

• OKOJO 9 years ago

it is your kwasia blackie mentality to think i white coach could do better. You dont believe in your kind, it tells me you have the slave and servant like mentality, the white c**k sucking mentality atrocious to any black dev ...

• OKOJO 9 years ago

it is your kwasia blackie mentality to think i white coach could do better. You dont believe in your kind, it tells me you have the slave and servant like mentality, the white c**k sucking mentality atrocious to any black dev ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

This is the toughest group we ever had and yesterday's game was probably one of the top five Black Stars performances.

• Koo Nkansa 9 years ago

Our coach lacked tactical know how.Why did he change Atsu in the first place?He was the man terrorizing the Germans with his incisive moves and run-ins,and as soon he was replaced the Germans became relieved and started pushi ...

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

Why should substitute players always come on to "put sand in our gari"?
    In the first match with USA substitute Brooks came to seal our doom in a match that we have fought so hard to equalize
    Now again Miroslav Klose came in ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Its because their coaches are good, they see our short falls and they tell the bench exactly how to breakthrough.

• KANE 9 years ago

THE REASON IS THEIR COACHES ARE WHITE PEOPLE WHO KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING.

BLACK MAN AWAYS USES PRAYSERS, JUJU, THEN TRIAL AND ERROR.

WHITE ALWAYS USES HIS BRAIN AND TECHNIQUE TO OUTWIT BLACKMAN NO MATTER HOW CLEVER THE ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Good Job Twinkle twinkle little Stars.
    Go to the pitch with the intention of having fun. Ayew you're a saviour! As dedicated and good as his dad.

• iron man 9 years ago

well done Ghana,but more effort needed

• John Mary-Botswana 9 years ago

We did not win the match because of your selfish and egoistic player J. Ayew, who wanted to get his name on the score sheet by all means because his mature brother and good player A. Ayew has scored. Don't blame anybody blame ...

• Mann 9 years ago

Yes bro you are saying the truth

• tegare 9 years ago

Guys don't be blinded by asamoah gyan s goal without the goal what was his contribution in the match ?

• FA 9 years ago

PEOPLE TALK OF JORDAN FOR A REASON NOT JUST HATE .MILLIONS SAW HOW HE REALLY UNDERSTAND THIS GAME .WHAT IS AMASSING IS GYAN WAS SHOOTING FOR THE BALL BUT LIKE DAD ATTITUDE HE DECIDED SELFISHLY . IT IS HORRIBLE AND TERRIBLE .

• Kanawu 9 years ago

This is not the time to play the blame game. In unity lies strength.

• tegare 9 years ago

We all know gyan most likely would have missed to score. He always wastes 10 chances for each goal he scores

• mann 9 years ago

So Akwasi Appiah has not yet seen that Jordan is not a good player? He is too selfish and with that attitude he can not help any team. He does not know how to play foot ball at all.

• tegare 9 years ago

And Kwasea appiah has not seen that asamoah gyan is not a striker, to score one goal he wastes 15 chances

• Adam 9 years ago

For example, if the U.S. draws Portugal 1-1, loses to Germany 1-0, and Ghana beats Portugal 1-0, then the U.S. and Ghana will have even goal differentials. But Ghana will have four goals scored to the Americans’ three and G ...

• MUNDIAL 9 years ago

This game was phenomenal. The Black Stars really played their hearts out in this game and did exceptionally well. It was a fantastic game and to have had the Germans on the ropes, fighting tooth and nail, to stay in the game, ...

• Sammy Tooga 9 years ago

Well said my brother

• sly 9 years ago

Kwadwo Asamoah was great

• TJ 9 years ago

yeah kwadwo asamoah did very well

• SLIMMART 9 years ago

Sulley Muntari, you were great against the Germans. I would say you made the Germans look ordinary with your wonderful display in midfield.
    I pray we will qualify for the Round of 16 so you could be the midfield dynamo to k ...

• I hate Jordan 9 years ago

You could have score 3 goals if not at the Stupid Greedy Jordan Ayew was Selfish

• tegare 9 years ago

We probably could have score more goals if not those lapses and misses by asamoah gyan. In fact we would have our match with us if gyan had converted just 10% of chances he had.

• Patrick 9 years ago

Jordan Ayew is the microcosm of what's wrong with Africa and Black people throughout the world: no sense of the collective, personal satisfaction is greater than anything else, the big man syndrome!!!!!!!!!!! what an asshole, ...

• Adama, Texas 9 years ago

What are you people smoking? Just like Adam Kwarasey and Ghana's bad defending against set plays, Dauda was equally bad. He was right there, straight in front of old Klose-- just a few feet between the "brazuca" and Klose's s ...

• J.O 9 years ago

The comments this time is better. We should stop, insulting and ridiculing the coach so that he can concentrate better. Give him encouragement and your suggestion but not insults. open-mindness is better than bias, hatredness ...

• Yaw bee 9 years ago

These are the same comments you made soon after the US game,hmmm.We(created) had as many as 17chances in that match and we only took one(1).What are you doing to this problem of not utilizing our chances? You are here talking ...

• Pissed 9 years ago

I don't understand how you coach! You seem not to have tactical plays. I go back to fielding a defence against the US and 1 bad play (Opare) that results in the fastest goal in World Cup history. It seems to me if you are wea ...

• Issifu Mahama Gani 9 years ago

With dis kind of attitude on de part of our players,i dont think we can progress may de Almighty Allah forgive dem bcos back home here we'r finding tins difficult

• Kofi Agyin 9 years ago

If you wanted to win the game against Germany your tactics and player replacements ought to have been different. Why Jordan Ayew after the miskick in the USA which should have tied the heading into recess. For the son of Abed ...