Toe injury forces Essien out of Ghana training

Read Comments Comments (66)

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA. 9 years ago

GAME OVER FOR GHANA

• abdul 9 years ago

This guy is old.

• Ras 9 years ago

And what's happen when you played with a young team? you hate him because of what he has achieved and you are not getting any.
    We want to watch the best soccer players not the younger players.

• Ghfuo, 30seconds WC history! 9 years ago

You are right.

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA. 9 years ago

THE END OF GHANA

• JACK MENSAH 9 years ago

KWASI APPIAH IS THE MOST INEXPERIENCE COACH IN THE WORLD

• GHFUO, heaven is not for fools!! 9 years ago

AA ONTIMIOOOO. PRESSURE BI WAT?AA IS ALLERGIC TO COMPUTER!
    MY DOG BRUNO CAN COACH BETTER THAN AA. I SAW HIS INEFFICIENCIES AS COACH RIGHT AFTER GH LOST TO ZAMBIA IN THE AWAY WCUP QUALIFIER. IF A TEAM LIKE GH CAN ONLY MANAGE ...

• Ghfuo, 30seconds WC history! 9 years ago

WHO WILL WIN? YOUR GUESS IS AS GOOD AS MINE.

• DAAVI 9 years ago

KWARASE IN THE POST? GHANA SHOULD PACK UP

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

Stop using my moniker, idiot!

• Kwame 9 years ago

On any given day, a good coach will never leave this Afriyie Acquah guy on the bench. Strong in midfield and in front of the defense.

• Cynthia 9 years ago

Asaasawa joints

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

May be crazy clue will do the tricks and pump him up with Advil or Aleve or any pain killer for 90 mins. Hahaha

No time to waste, ampa!

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU!! 9 years ago

STAY WITH EACH PLAY/MARK THE GERMAN PLAYER UNTIL U HEAR A WHISTLE!
    WE NEED SUMAILA AND MENSAH TO START. ALONG WITH OPARE AND AFFUL. I CANT STRESS HOW IMPORTANT THESE DEFENDERS NEED TO BE DISCIPLINED N PLAY WITH A SENSE OF UR ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

GH VS.GERMANY
    IF THE BOYS ARE READY TO DO SOMETHING THEY HVE NEVER DONE BEFORE. THEN GH CAN BEAT GERMANY.

1.GH MUST PLAY WITH URGENCY, BE AGGRESSIVE VS GERMANY. NO COMPLACENCY AND STAY WITH EVERY PLAY FOR 90 MINUTES! TRU ...

• tegare 9 years ago

Better we don't really need Essien, too old too slow

• Kwami Eto 9 years ago

Give it up. Today its your hips, tomorrow its your waist.

Next week its your toe, the week after it would be your nails. Hey you cannot beat age. Give it up before we start collecting your pieces and following you around ...

• Boss 9 years ago

Hey man, why are you jealous of him? Just wish him well and stop being cruel.

• No, Boss 9 years ago

Foolish boy, where's the jealousy?
    The guy can't comment on Essien's frequent injuries?
    Jealous of what?

Too many fools here like you misuse the word "jealous" without understanding it.

Kwasea, Essien is done.
    How is ...

• Ras 9 years ago

Oh another fool, you hate what is good and like what is bad, ha ha ha-a ! ghanaman that is why ghana is the bottom of every thing because your mindset, love what you have and cherish them so one day someone also will do the s ...

• tegare 9 years ago

What jealousy, the guy is finished !

• Abugri 9 years ago

Oh Kwami Eto! Michael Essien is a young man. He's just 48 years old so please stop it.

• Ern # Brasil 2014 - Kick off!! 9 years ago

Eto, who are you to be pointing fingers...... you yourself are old! Even Mourinho has said that you are not 28 as you claim to be........ so leave our Essien who is a mere 26 alone! We don't want trouble!

• end 9 years ago

if essien cannot play replaced him with afiriyie acquah.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

When was the last time Ghana won the African cup? The decades plus 4 years ago. It's not even worth mentioning for this story.

• Abuabi wohor 9 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha...... Joe Turkey! You are too much and i love that. Make them make we hear word plus this nonsense of four time. Supporting the national team can kill u of a heart attack. Team Italy for life

• kojo, USA 9 years ago

Agyeman Badu can do the job. I dont understand why AA doesnot use him. He is even better than Essien. Acquah can also do the job...

• Joojo, Sask, Canada 9 years ago

The Black Stars have to start playing team defence just like the winning teams-- Costa Rica, Mexico, Croatia, Chile, etc did. The strikers & attacking midfielders have to shoot the ball accurately & with some power & more co ...

• PHISCUS 9 years ago

HOW DO U BEAT GERMANY WHEN YOU CAN'T PASS OR CROSS A BALL DECENTLY FOR YOUR PLAYER?WHEN YOU CAN'T MAINTAIN CONCENTRATION,WHEN YOU LEAVE YOUR MARKER FOR AFREE FREE HEADER,WHEN YOUR KEEPER CAN'T SAVE SITUATIONS AND THROWS HANDS ...

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

ALL YOU FLOKS CALLING THE HEAD OF THE COACH FOR NOT STARTING ESSIEN AND KPB, THERE YOU HAVE IT. THEY COULD NOT EVEN PLAY 30 MINUTES. THEY ARE OLD AND NOT MUCH OF A HELP. KPB CAME IN AND DID NOT HELP THE TEAM WIN. SO I DONT GE ...

• Effo Kudzo 9 years ago

Essien's appearance motivated the boys to secure that goal if u don't know. How do u expect them to kill themselves for this useless cheap coach after disrespecting them. Are u serious?

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Is it not absurd to read comments like that? Toe injury and the Kofi-USA thinks Essien is too old not to start the game or play more than 30 mins.

Probably, if AA had started with them, the players would have scored earlie ...

• Effo Kudzo 9 years ago

Thank you brother Nyansasem!

• Onwanwa 9 years ago

It will be hard but not impossible to beat a tough,determined German side who have not been beaten by us before,but football knows no logic.Just go out there and play,you have nothing to lose.Go out there and kick some German ...

• kojo, USA 9 years ago

I like your mentality. I think we can beat Germany with the right approach. WE have to play like the Chileans did today--fearless,flawless and confident.

God bless Ghana!

• kman usa 9 years ago

to beat the germans, in addition to grace from God, our team must be hungry enough to aggressively contest each ball and pace. Don't allow the germans to settle into their game. Don't give them the space. See how Chile police ...

• paapa mozato 9 years ago

signs of old age

• Kwame Poison 9 years ago

When AA decided to risk starting Jordan in preference to KPB,for goodness sake and in the interest of Ghana,Jordan must have rejected this.But players are selfish.The selection was a shock to all and AA himself was not clever ...

• tegare 9 years ago

But I think Jordan is probably better than asamoah gyan

• Kwabena--Minnesota 9 years ago

I am convinced Akwesi Appiah sold the game to the US. We should be wondering what bank account we are not aware of. May be they paid him to save face in their 3rd encounter.

• GHFUO, heaven is not for fools!! 9 years ago

GOVT OF GH WAS INVOLVED. IT WAS SOLD TO GH FOR OVER 9MILLION DOLLARS.

• Mars 9 years ago

I want every Ghanaians to know that we hv no players like essien in our team, his 30 tell me a lot I'm our last match, such experience player cam not be sideline on world cup at all, experience need in world cup than anything ...

• tegare 9 years ago

A player does not become good cos another player is. Essien as of now is useless.

• Emma 9 years ago

Akwasi u better forget it is too late u and your boys need to come home ASAP thx

• BORBOR 9 years ago

"Coach Kwesi Appiah’s side will be hoping to beat powerhouse Germany to keep their hopes alive at the World Cup".

UNQUOTE.

EVEN BEATING PORTUGAL WILL BE A TALL ORDER, LET ALONE GERMANY.

PRETTY MUCH LIKE AN ...

• yakubu kobo 9 years ago

People should stop using the word powerhouse for the German team ,the team is not ruling the World in football ,not even in Europe .Ghana have to play aggressive just like the Germans and see what happens .Watch how Mexico p ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Guys your essien got finished 3 years ago. he warmed chelsea bench until he was rescued by Monhrino to Real Madrid. At real what did we see of him? Nothing! His so called Daddy (Monhrino)rejected him when he came back to chel ...

• TOOTOU 9 years ago

THIS IS THE MOST SENSIBLE, LOGICAL AND OBJECTIVE COMMENT I HAVE EVER READ ON THIS GHANAWEB.I COLDNT HAVE AGREED WITH ANYBODY BETTER THAN YOU . THIS ESSIEN GUY IS A TOKE. HE SHOULD GO INTO HISTORY AND TELL US WHAT HE HAS DONE ...

• DDKT 9 years ago

Small thing then he is hurt. he is too old

• papa kofi 9 years ago

Stop those stories about Essien who is diminished in value.He was born to play active at Chelsea and killed himself there to rot.Blame GFA for giving black stars coach to Akwasi Appiah , district inter secondary schools spo ...

• tegare 9 years ago

Stop what stories, the guy is asking for 100000 usd. He must deserve it

• KK 9 years ago

GHANA VS NIGERIA for final HAHAHA....

• Lol 9 years ago

Lol!!!!!

• A concerned citizen......222222222 9 years ago

Black Stars can arise and shine..If I were in the shoes of coach AA, this will be my selection and tactics against Germany.[ 4-4-2 formation with variations]
    [1] Kwarasey
    [2] Inkoom [4] ...

• A cool guy 9 years ago

Good selection right there..GSN forward this to Akwasi Appiah.

• tegare 9 years ago

Good selection, but not asamoah gyan, he's useless. Better warrior.

• A concerned citizen......222222222 9 years ago

I saw a US player stamping his toes during the match..I suspect monrhino who secretly told them that he has a toe problem so they should do that

• Diagnose Junior 9 years ago

Muntari is very slow on the ball sometimes and I'm not sure about our goalkeeper, i don't think hes up to scratch. Essien is finished.

• tegare 9 years ago

Don't forget asamoah gyan, he's completely finished too!

• Lawyer 9 years ago

Why "AC Milan midfielder"? This is the world cup. Think team unity, leave their club teams alone and write "Black Stars Midfielder".

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 9 years ago

THE WHOLE GHANA DONT HAVE CONFIDENCE IN YOU APPIAH ANYMORE SO BETTER STOP NOW AND BOOK THE NEXT FLIGHT.

• Ibrahim Young 9 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is a disaster!!!!!!.

• Darko 9 years ago

Essien is the best to start, i believe in micheal Essien, thrust Ghana will be at the semi final stage.

• tegare 9 years ago

You believe in essien ? Wow the guy is old slow and finished

• K. Frimpong 9 years ago

Please fellow Ghanaians what the Black Stars need is Prayers and fasting if we want them to win against Germany. I am pasking all of us if possible to fast tomorrow Friday for our National Team.
    Quotations for the Prayers & ...

• A cool guy 9 years ago

I support your move for prayers