You are here: HomeSports2014 03 13Article 303261

Brazil 2014: Blacks Stars demand $100,000 appearance fee

Read Comments Comments (71)

• sphere 10 years ago

tweeaaaaaaaaaaaa how must is the spanish ,german players even getting ? you that break hearts with over the bar .

• BB 10 years ago

Pls Kwasi let use the appearance fee for all the players to fix our bad roads, water and Hospitals and the players can go to hell. F all of them

• Rawlings Daughter 10 years ago

Fucking weed smokers, 100,000 USD your fucking ass, animals

• GHANAian 10 years ago

THE POPULATION OF GHANA IS MORETHAN 24 MILLION. IF IT TRUE THAT THE STARS ARE DEMANDING TO BE PAID IN DOLLARS INSTEAD OF CEDIS. FIRST THIS FLOUTING OF THE COUNTRY'S LAWS AND THERE IS NOBODY ABOVE THE LAW. SECOND IF THEY GFA T ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

I am trying to understand this. The Players want GFA or Ghana to pay them this money per match? That is 2.3 million per match for 23 players not counting the winning bonus.

As much as I like watching Blackstars playing in ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

What happen to love for a country? Most players would love to and even pay their way to go to World Cup .

Please take all local players pay anyone nothing if they do not want to go send POW, Governor KojoLee, Sammy the Sh ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

TAKE CHAN TEAM TO BRASIL N USE RHE MONEY TO HIRE A WORLD CLASS COACH LIKE RIJKAARD TO HELP AA, KONADU. THEY WILL MAKE GH PROUD. GOING FORWARD, THESE GBSTAR PLAYERS MUST BE PAID IN CEDIS. THIS WILL BE TAXED N THE MONEY DEPOSIT ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

If the country has to spend that much on players while the masses are suffering in, I personally suggest, Ghana do not go to the World Cup. Not going to the World Cup in Brazil will not change any in the ordinary Ghanaian's l ...

• Hammond 10 years ago

No wonder everybody including grandpas are trying to make the team.

• oluwele 10 years ago

Greedy bastards. We should send our local players to represent Ghana, after all these GREEDY FOOLS will not bring the cup home any way. They should all go to HELL.

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

I don't blame the players too much. It is the Officials who even paid them anything in the first place in 2006. Send only players willing to play without this incentive. I don't even think Spain and Germany players get any a ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

That's a good suggestion. I thought they will be crying over their loss to Montengro

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

It was surprising that the $100,000 appearance fee was on their mind during the Montenegro game. This could partially explain their lack-lustre performance.

The Blacks Stars are not a band of mercenaries who play for the d ...

• Proudly Pepeni, USA !! 10 years ago

This is a fraction of money that is going to come to the GFA from FIFA!!!!

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

"This is a fraction of money that is going to come to the GFA from FIFA!!!!".

It does not matter.
    Guaranteed money upfront promotes laziness.
    These guys lose too many games to "small" football countries.

Pay per win, ...

• HENRY 10 years ago

I think its Outrageous. Playing for the National Team helps most players to get Clubs to play. This fee I heard is minus bonus and per diem. Government must rescind this proposal. Because of Black stars, Government pays no at ...

• moyo 10 years ago

The govt and people of Ghana can't afford to pay that lot and those who are prepared to sacrifice for the country should be selected to play for the country. After all, we are spending $20,000 on a coach who knows nothing.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THESE PLAYERS ARE HIGH OFF CRACK...U HVNT EVEN WON A PIN FOR GH N LOK AT THE AMT U ARE QUOTING? MBOA..WAT SHOULD WE GIVE THE U20 BOYS WHO MADE HISTORY? GIVE GH TO THEM? FAGGOTS...DONT GIVE THEM A PENNY UNTIL THE TOURNAMNT IS ...

• oluwele 10 years ago

What nonsence? Do these fools earn that money per appearance in their respective clubs? They know very well they will not get anywhere in their group so they are demanding that huge amount to take home. tweeaaaaaaaaaaaa
    The ...

• Truth Hurts 10 years ago

every player on the field must run and hold on to the ball well to merit these demands. Cape Verde plays that kind of football. We can incorporate that into our winning mentality.

• Kwesi, USA 10 years ago

If we have to give them that much, we the tax payers must set the expectation, like minimum stage , finals or we do not pay anything. Kwaseafo, what will we get from paying them that and getting kicked out.

• bam 10 years ago

Rightly said. When we even give them $1m they cannot bring us a used teacup from the hotel stolen or sorvenoir. Watching will take productive working time of workers away as they sneak out to watch at home, joints, office cor ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

We shall see whether Mahama will agree to this preposterous demand by these bunch of unpatriotic players. I dare say that, it was a well calculated plot between the players and handlers of the team to take such a stupid decis ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

I personally don't have any qualms about our Black Stars players demanding such high appearance fees. Make no mistakes: These players can get HURT in these games and kiss their lucrative foreign-based playing careers good bye ...

• bam 10 years ago

when they play at brazil and they get agents to recruit them for lucrative contracts will they pay some% to the FA?

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

I think Ghana gets at least $4.2 million from FIFA for the three group games on top of free accommodation in the hotels.

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

you are a fool....... How on earth?

• bam 10 years ago

Not a fool his thoughts.
    Ghana gets $ for foreign transfers we should also give it to tourism, western region gets oil give to them so on and see what you will get.

• dadwene 10 years ago

Can someone tell me if cost benefit analysis has been done on the huge money we spend on soccer?
    Or it is another inefficient way the Govt spends money to allow some to steal from the country.

We should seriously priotize ...

• Slimzee 10 years ago

Look. We are a developing country and soccer is supposed to aid with the development but it seems to rather be running the country at a debt. if we are getting 4.2Mil from fifa for the group games and the budgeted amount is $ ...

• Kata 10 years ago

The average Ghanaian is opportunist, greedy, selfish and unpatriotic. What do you expect from them if politicians are staeling like crazy? They just want to demand their "portion".

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

Call to duty. How much do we pay our surgeons who perform critical operation in our poor hospitals as gratuity? How about our soldiers who protect us at the peril of their lives? Goovt shd not pay.

• Kokodi 10 years ago

Mr. President, pls dissolve this b/stars and let send the Kotoko/Hearts and other local players to the world cup. Them want $100,000.00 just to break our hearts. You the Pres says they shd be paid in GHc and them are telling ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

These players are inviting unnecessary upon themselves. Why not wait for the final list to be out before making demands?
    Why talk about increment without committing to doing something at least equal to the records set alread ...

• ODEIBI ODAI 10 years ago

I can't believe my eyes and ears, are this people normal at all? this is unbelievable mr. president arrest them all they are thief's. nonsense GFA.

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

RASHEED,POW,MR N GHFOU AND COS GET READY FOR CALL UPS..
    WAIT A MINUTE ..,,FIFA IS PAYING GHANA SO I THINK THEY ARE VERY RIGHT FOR DEMAND THAT..
    SO IS THE APPEARANCE FEE DIFFERENT FROM BONUS......NO WE NO GO SIT DOWN...WE ...

• GC/USA 10 years ago

DRUNK DRIVERS. SEND THE MIXED U20 AND THE LOCAL BLACK STARS. NOW I UNDERSTAND WHY THE 20 MILLIONS BUDGET. IF NOT BECAUSE OF FOOTBALL MOST OF THESE GUYS WOULD HAVE BEEN TROTRO DRIVERS, DRIVERS MATES OR WORKING AT THE MINITRIES ...

• Tony- US. 10 years ago

in the States if you don't have SSS Certificates you'll not be eligible to participate in any form of sports. So count yourself lucky. I think the government should introduce this POLICY in the country.

• PLAYER 10 years ago

WOYOME GOT $20 MILLION PLUS FOR NO WORK DONE !!!!!!! GHANA IS FOR ALL OF US ............. WAKE UP IF YOU ARE SLEEPING !!!!!!!!!

• KOFI 10 years ago

This demand is unreasonable and must not be honoured

• aky 10 years ago

Any professional player invited to play for the national team should see the invitation as f***ing honor. Do any of them really think they're going to become rich playing for the national team?

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

free

• John KAY 10 years ago

A bunch of Jss/WASSCE dropouts holding the nation to ransom. To hell with them

• Baba 10 years ago

These guys never love mother Ghana. When you don the national jersey, you are like solder defending and protecting the good name Ghana. Tell me how you can proclaim to die for Ghana when you don't even respect your own curren ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Tweaaaa. Over my dead body. They will come home very early. Greedy footballer. What is football. Just an act of kicking a leather filled with air.

• Papa Dey 10 years ago

Do these kids really know the importance of wearing the national colors of your country?It is priceless.No amount of money can reciprocate the national color you are wearing.

• Kwasi Owusu 10 years ago

Kwasiaffour you will come home on the first round. You can take ur passport and leave the country.

• Kwasi Owusu 10 years ago

You can stop playingand no one wil pamper you.

• Musah 10 years ago

Some European player once commented that African players are indisciplined that's why they don't go far at the World cup. This is a good example of indiscipline among African players.

• francis 10 years ago

nonsense, if they don't want to play who cares!

• NIPA 10 years ago

I told you guys when an article came out that PKB, Muntari, KASA and Essien charted a flight to Montenegro and Ghanaians were praising them for their patriotism. I told you so.......I commented that, this is not a sign of pat ...

• Papa USA 10 years ago

foools, what sort of nonsense is this....make I go support USA. Then they will not play...nonsense how much greedy can these players be...USA which have more isn't paying their players that much....lol

• Tony- US. 10 years ago

Pay them in pennies and if they win the cup then in pesewas.

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

if you are demanding such an amount then you must bring the Cup or we will also demand your blood.

KWASI NYANTAKYI IS BEHIND THIS PLOT.

you would be paid your winning bonuses in cedis if you dont want the Country you a ...

• papa alajo 10 years ago

If they can get to the finals.

• kwabena 10 years ago

DO ANY OF YOU ASK HOW MUCH THEY GIVE TO EACH TEAM APPEARANCE AT THE WORLD CUP? GHANA SO CALL GFA IS THE ONE WHO TAKE IT ALL WHILE THEY SUFFER FOR NOTHING. SO THEY HAVE THE RIGHT TO DEMAND THIS TIME. NEVER INSULTS THEM AS A WO ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

"The Blacks Stars of Ghana are asking to be paid $100,000".

"The fee is a 25% raise on the $75,000 paid in 2010".

So an increase of 25,000 from 75,000 to 100,000 is 25%?

A simple 25/75 = .33 = 33% cannot be calculat ...

• Sir. Richard- USA 10 years ago

This is a SHAMEFUL act and an insult to the whole Country. Where is our patriotism? Yes, it is absolutely understandable that the're to be paid for their services but to the tune of $100,000 per player, the team need to be de ...

• Nii 10 years ago

What about the officials, ? Tweets it's a plan, once you pay them you equally pay the officials

• Mendez 10 years ago

The black star players know in their minds they cannot win a single match to earn a winning bonus so the demand for huge appearance fee.

• Nii 10 years ago

With hair cuts like this and girl friends and wives smarter than them, what do you expect,

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Oh, yeah, Appiah should demand respectable haircuts before we go in there.

His own is a good example.
    The players must emulate him and stop dirtying their hair to look "good", an irony.

• PAY THEM 10 years ago

US$100,000.00 PER PLAYER IS NOTHING COMPARED TO THE HUNDREDS OF MILLION STOLLEN BY OUR POLITICIANS. IF WOYOME ALONE COULD BE PAID OVER US$20MILLION K3K3 FOR NO WORK DONE, WHY IS US$100,000.00 PER PLAYER FOR GOOD ENTERTAINMENT ...

• ffonky 10 years ago

Everything is business in this country now.Even our politicians has turn politics into business.
    Football is no more sports but business.Very sad, gone are the days where one kills himself for his country. They are for busin ...

• PLAYER 10 years ago

Somebody did not spend Cedis during his Christmas vacation in Dubai. He spent Dollars. So pay our bonuses in dollars. The call to sacrifice must be for all, not for some !!!!!

• MKB 10 years ago

Weren't they paid bonuses for the various qualification matches? What kind of mboasem be dat?if they won't play, field the local players who are craving for exposure.Na football we chop after the world cup?

• pokie 10 years ago

I SHOCK SEF ITS TOO MUCH
    Y re we spending too much on these guys...GFA ahiaaa what aa are the boys goin to do that they need this whooping sums....There are other pressing needs in the country as well as other sports in the ...

• Agyemang 10 years ago

No one should be paid in anything but Ghana Cedis. Furthermore, these fools ask for 100,000 USD to appear for their nation!? They ask for 100,000 USD after losing to Montenegro? What have they done to earn anything of that ...