You are here: HomeSports2014 03 09Article 302849

TRAGEDY: Referee dies days after suffering severe beating

Read Comments Comments (59)

• AAA 10 years ago

What a shame and a lesson to both!. Kyei Andoh RIP.

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• OZA 10 years ago

How can we do this to our own citizens and blame foreign store owners for mistreating shoplifters. They learn from what we do. What a country!

• WISE-TALK, UK 10 years ago

in the jungle nation like ghana what do u expect to read?baby thiefty in they hospitals and killing,upon all this evils acts ghanains will eat they stinking kenkey,stinking bankwu and fufuo and drink apateshi and after all th ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

IN GHANA WE BLIEVE IN EVIL,ME I AM BUSSY FUCKING MAD WOMEN AROUND ME DAY AND NIGHT.

• WOFA WAHOO 10 years ago

me i use baby blood for my break fast with ashantehene every morning.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HOW MANY TIMES HVE WE SEEN/HEARD OF SUCH ATROCITIES METTED OUT TO REFS, MEDIA PPL, FANS ETC? BLAME THE INEFFICIENCIES OF THE PLB/GFA. THEY R PRIMITIVELY INCOMPETENT. WHY MUST U WAIT FOR DISASTER TO HAPPEN BEFORE COMING UP WIT ...

THE REFS MUST GO ON STRIKE UNTIL THE FF IS SETTLED. KYEI ANDOH FAMILY MUST SUE THE PLB/GFA FOR FAILURE TO PROTECT THEIR BOY, FAILING TO PROVIDE THE NECESSARY SECURITY APPARATUS TO ENSURE HIS SAFETY.
    THE GH REFS MUST DEMAND A ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

I will be surprised if it is somewhere else.

May he RIP

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The story happened in the Western Region. When will you leave Ashantis to mind their business? Hatred won't take you anywhere. The article says that the match was between Bordie Gold stars and Naajoe United.

• osu klottey 10 years ago

we are still living in the bush

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

And it actually happened in the bush!!

• Nana 10 years ago

Waht a waste of precious l;ife.

• TK 10 years ago

RIP

• Eric NY 10 years ago

Very Sad for this young man, GFA please step

• Prince Kay.(London) 10 years ago

Africa (Ghana) all this and people are still chatting rubbish about the Black man can manage his own affairs...Tweaakai

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Prince, all the uncivilised behaviour occurs in only one region. Things are normal in the rest of Ghana.

Sorry, it occurred in Western Region not Volta Region!

• Paul Smith 10 years ago

Ghana FA if you cannot produce security or make football lovers aware of the law. Do not hold these games at all, as this is not fair. Make laws out of this. Look at England Hooliganism has stopped. Let the offenders pay, fo ...

HOW DO U FIND THE PERPETRATORS OF THIS HEINOUS ASSAULT? IMPOSSIBLE! THE BLAME GOES TO THE GFA/PLB. THE GH REFS MUST GO ON STRIKE ASAP UNTIL A KYEI ANDAO LAW IS ENACTED. Y3NBO BIOM!~

• sphere 10 years ago

I am sad he is dead but Ghana referees must learn from this. Same incident nearly happened yesterday when Asokwa Depotivo played against Red Lions . these officials deliberately gave penalties for the home team to win 4-1 ...

IF A CLUB FEELS/THINKS IT HAS BEEN CHEATED. THERE R CHANNELS TO AIR OUT UR GRIEVANCES THRU THE GFA/PLB. U DONT ENTICE UR FANS TO CHARGE ON THE REF AND ASSAULT HIM/HER. WAT IF THE REF WAS A FEMALE? IF KYEI ANDOH WAS BIASED. TA ...

• Divine 10 years ago

They must be punished

• Wuofei 10 years ago

What kind of call is worth killing for? This is post may 9th and the very things that led to over 100 people losing their lives are still lingering. This is a proof that the main issues surrounding the may 9 disaster were no ...

• Akamai 10 years ago

How about criminal charges and jail time for anyone deemed to have touched him? Manslaughter charges...10 to 15 years without parole rather than putting banana thieves in prison for 10 years .. IDIOTS!

• Concerned Patriot 10 years ago

Was there no Police presence? If no Police presence, did nobody care to call the Police or report the case? Did this referee not think he needed a Medical check up or treatment after the incidence? We just waste our precious ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

This is very unfortunate .The supporters and fans who were involved in beaten the refferee to death,must made to face the law.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

My heart bleeds for young Kyei Andoh. Football is a game of entertainment and never a do-or-die affair.

A precious life has been lost due to the animalistic instincts of some fellow humans who decided to behave like animal ...

• Mikee 10 years ago

Whoever did this should be arrested and face the law it's unaceptattable if this was Europe uk or us the whole fa would be under enquiry and some one would have to answer for this why is the law in Ghana so soft I feel so sor ...

• opoku nti 10 years ago

all they need to do is investigate
    and arrest one or two people the rest
    will follow suit

THERE WERE NO CAMERAS N THE REF IS DEAD SO HE CANT EVEN IDENTIFY THE PPL WHO ASAULTED HIM. THE FAMILY OF KYEI SHOULD GET A LAWYER N SUE THE PLB/GFA ASAP. FIOR FAILING TO PROVIDE ADEQUATE SECURITY FOR A CERTIFIED LICENSED REF. ...

• Akamai 10 years ago

Any beating contributed to death and no pre- existing conditions. Does Ghana have that expertise?

• Atongo 10 years ago

GFA please close the stadium, ban the team for life from playing in the Ghana soccer leagues, find the culprits and have them all jailed for lengthy periods of time.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

For my decision, there will be no longer a team for these people. Its as simple as that. NO soccer team for them.

READING THE COMMENTS ON HERE. NO SINGLE PERSON HAVE GIVEN A CLEAR CUT SOLUTION GOING FORWARD. HOW MANY POLICE/ARMY PPL WERE PRESENT AT THIS GAME? DID THEY OFFER PROTECTION TO THE REFS? DID THEY CALL FOR REINFORCEMNTS? WHERE W ...

• Malik 10 years ago

The death of the young referee must not be swept under carpet. Very serious investigation must be conducted and those found guilty punished according to the law. This is the only we can move forward as a soccer loving people.

• Benny 10 years ago

Footballing is a game of fun and entertainment and not a game of hunting. Those that cause t be brought to booking and punish.this episode mus

• Benny 10 years ago

Footballing is a game of fun and entertainment and not a game of hunting. Those that cause this episode be brought to booking and be punished.

• Appiah Kubi 10 years ago

Those thick - headed perpetrators should be brought to justice. The team should be made to pay a heavy fine and or banned for life.

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Ghana is a failed state

• Kofican 10 years ago

People .... it's just a game.

Why should somebody die?
    Ghana is becoming more lawless more and more. Armed robberies are rampant and now football hooliganism leading to death.

Shame unto those who killed someone's s ...

WAT WILL HAPPEN IN GH IF WE HVE NO SECURITY? WAT WILL HAPPEN AT BOARDING SCH DINNING HALL IF THE DINNING HALL PEE/SENIORS ARE NOT PRESENT TO INSTILL ORDER? THERE WERE NO SECURITY APPARATUS, POLICE TO PROTECT THE REF FROM THES ...

• Aba 10 years ago

Give him a state funeral

NO, HE DOSENT DESERVE A STATE FUNERAL. BE SERIOUS N STOP UR STUPIDITY. SOMEONE IS DEAD HERE

• Kwame (USA) 10 years ago

Symptoms of lawlessness. Someway, somehow, arrested development crept into the psyche of some jungle apes. For God sake, it is only a game.....only possible to enjoy if you have opponents and a referee. How do u tame these ba ...

• kkk 10 years ago

Fans and spectators still beat referees? Tweaa, we haven't "grown up" at all.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

GFA Should give Referees in Ghana Police Protection,before,during,and after every game in Ghana.

• Wiasi y3 Foken 10 years ago

Awirehuw as3m paa nie!
    Nantiw yie onua.

• koffie 10 years ago

Mmmm free

• daniel moise 10 years ago

In as much as we condenm FA for not providing maximum security to safeguard the life of his employee (ie the referee in question)I think that the decease referee should have sought for medical treatment in the first place aft ...

WEN U INJURE URSELF AT WORK. DOES UR WORKPLACE/BOSS MAKE SURE U ATTEND A HOSPITAL/PHYSICIAN? OR DO THEY LEAVE THAT UP TO YOU? GFA/PLB FAILED THE REFS IN GH AND THIS REF IN PARTICULAR. THE REFS/KYEI MUST FILE A CLASS ACTION LA ...

• Kofican 10 years ago

Daniel,

Be serious.

Should there have been any beating at all, in the first place?

It was just a game for Christ's sake.

Football hooliganism has even been banned in Europe where it all started.

So people shou ...

• Pro Ethnic Purity. 10 years ago

Take note the uneducated SGT from the number 9 region does not know where the incident occurred.Your hate for Ashantis will fall flat.Let somebody read the story to you before you react.We shall for ever remain the richest an ...

CITIZENS ARREST.....LOL
    KYEI ANDOH FAMILY, PLUS REF ASSOCIATION MUST SUE GFA/PLB FOR NEGLECT. THEY TOO DUMB

• Polo 10 years ago

May God punish the criminals!

• isa 10 years ago

MY CONDOLENCE GOES TO THE BEREAVED FAMILY.IF THIS INCIDENT WERE TO HAPPEN IN THE NORTH, ONE COULD NOT HAVE IMAGINE THE KIND OF SENSATIONALISM THE REPORTAGE WOULD HAVE BEEN,FOLLOWED BY INSULTING COMMENTS BY UNINFORMED IDIOTS.A ...

• Akoo London 10 years ago

I presume that as a referee whenever an incident happen on the field you need to report honestly and fairly. If the referee had reported this incident he would have been compelled by the legal issues to attend to a clinic or ...

• Bush 10 years ago

How come the referee didn't go to hospital If the supposed beating was so severe. We always behave as if there's nothing at stake. Clearly the match commissioner should have exercised his powers to send him to the hospital.

• DAN 10 years ago

a NBA or college basket ball team was charge huge fine this week in usa when fans stepped on court after the game!