You are here: HomeSports2014 03 05Article 302477

Essien captains Ghana against Montenegro

Read Comments Comments (162)

• Jack 10 years ago

That is a nice move to reboot the guy's confidence.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Michael Kobina A. Essien has all the confidence it take he only had been given the Captain band because he is the most senior player to start.

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

1. Player positioning on the field: adopt the barca triangular player positioning. When aplayer gets the ball. 2 gh players must position themselves next to the player with the ball in a triangular fashion/style.
    2. Dump the ...

• Akamai 10 years ago

When I player gets the ball there is no positioning by team mate to receive ball in good position... And this is due to formation! Days of traditional right back and winger are long gone! A kwasi appiah is a PE COACH!

• BJ 10 years ago

He's better than some of these so-called strikers.

• Nokwasem, Bronx NY 10 years ago

Which website can we watch the game, please help.

The penalty vs gh was unfair. Too early to.Give such a penalty! A penalty like this must be given innthe heat of the game when a win is needed to go home and grab the 3 pts. Not in the first minute. Shameful on the ref....

• BJ 10 years ago

It was a ffair decision.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

We lost this match because of him. Bad placement, and hot tempered. Lucky not to ave been sent off.

• Bob USA 10 years ago

Funnu this Addy guy never been BS quality yet he keeps getting calls. What's wrong with these coaches?

• anokwale 10 years ago

It was a fair game. The early mistake cost us. It is just a learning experience.

• ??? 10 years ago

NEVER CHANGE YOUR NAME MR.,ANOKWALE.PENALTY CAN BE A SECOND IN THE FIRST HALF IS A PENALTY.I WONDER WHY OTHERS ARE SAYING THAT IS TOO EARLY.DID YOU WATCH BELGIUM AND ICOAST?TOO INTERESTING AND I REALLY ENJOYED IT.GOD BLESS

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

David Addy should be reprimanded for such un-sportsmanship.

You can not under any circumstances punch an opponent and get away with it.

If he is allowed to get away, I am afraid he will repeat it at a sensitive day.

• anokwale 10 years ago

Akaminko punched the guy.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

IF YOU ARE RIGHT, THEN IT IS HIM WHO NEEDS TO BE PUNISHED. WE CAN NOT HAVE SUCH INDISCIPLINE AT THE WC.
    THEY ARE THE STARS AND MEANT TO SHINE NOT DISGRACE GHANA.

• Mighty 10 years ago

Wow good bench.

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

Mighty power!

• muntari 10 years ago

bench Essien and start Aboagye the under-20 player and lets see what happens cos Aboagye is in form, plus he's younger and have something to give to Ghana.

• Asempa 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah, your head is empty. It seems you want to experiment. That is OK. You have the right experiment for the back, the left fullback especially. What about the right wing? Why is Adomah on the bench and Jordan Ayew o ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

Do you know football idiot , Adoma is good player but Jordan need to be try wether he deserve world cup list

• Asempa 10 years ago

Paa Joe, it is OK you call me kwasea. You are a moron just like the coach. The right wing is where experimentation is needed, not at the striking position. Warris, Boateng and Gyan are the strikers. Tell me who plays right wi ...

• Ghanaboii 10 years ago

Atsu is the right winger? Can't you see that they're playing 442?

• Asempa 10 years ago

I see from the selection that Astu is the right winger and I am saying the coach is wrong because he is trying to get around the right wing problem. I am telling the coach to find the real solution, which is Adomah. Astu is a ...

• pk 10 years ago

That may be the coach realized already that Adoma is right in that position but looking for a backup? Look at the first team and the bench, if you are good thinker you will see that the coach is testing most of the players in ...

• Asempa 10 years ago

If what you are saying is what the coach is thinking then I will eat my own words when he proves he has a real solution for the right wing position. I doubt that though. You know the coach always calls Adomah but has used him ...

• salinsa 10 years ago

THIS ATSU WINGER THING IS A PAIN. THE CHAP IS NOW BEING USED AS AN INSIDE LEFT AND RIGHTLY SO........

Why didn't aa start adomah over atsu? Aa should have used atsu on the left, adomah on the right.

These 2 players can play right wing better than adomah and atsu. Trust me...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

You only come here and run your mouth but you don't know nothing. Appiah is an expert and let him do his job. Hope you watched this match live? What do you say about your Addy?

• Benjamin Nyatanyahu 10 years ago

Asempa, I think your head is upside down. How can you say this , are you mad? You must just give advice but not to insult the coach.Where from you, there or here?

• Asempa 10 years ago

Yes I am mad. I am mad because people in positions in Ghana are dumb. For $20M to go to waste? Sorry, for my outburst but is it right the coach is fielding Jordan Ayew while it is obvious the team needs a right winger and a t ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

You are 100% right the problem with Akwesi Appiah he is afraid to offend The Ayews he is trying everything to justify their inclusion. The reason you play this friendly is to find solution to areas that you need to correct. H ...

Gfa, can't you adopt a v neck style.for.this jersey with the kente pattern? Wat is this horrible design? Is this a male or female jersey? Unisex jersey wei?

• kwabee 10 years ago

Waris has avery poor first touch for a pro! But
    Very pacey can be used as sub on the right to face tired defenders for the last 20 mins of matches.
    watch the match!!!!!!!

Jordan is trying to play warris role on the pitch. Hence the confusion...warris is roaming, Jordan is also roaming....he'll nah...warris must roam. Jordan must play the 9 and keep in and around the 18 to shoot to strike and s ...

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

Hahahaha

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

We should have played South Africa

• Zaphenat Pioneer 10 years ago

Playmaker needed,seriously.Teams such as Montenegro,Serbia etc.are all about defence.Find a way to unlock such a stubborn defence.

• MARK 10 years ago

GHFUO, WHAT ID YOUR TAKE?

Aa is adomah's school fada. He is protecting the guy from criticisms. Why isn't adomah starting this game?

• onipa y3 10 years ago

Very healthy bench .Bravo !!!!!

• AKOKO DARKO(USA) 10 years ago

For God's sake can we as a nation for once give Akwesi Appiah the benefit of the doubt? This is a trial much. Let's stop the unwarranted insults.

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

Ghana will win the world cup

• Uncle Sam White House 10 years ago

Why are we fielding irregulars while Brazil are playing with regular against SA? Black Stars need to play together and practice and practice. Anyway, this is my opinion.

• GeoJo 10 years ago

This is just our first trial match, lets wait for this match to be used to assess the not-too-sure players then we see in the next friendly if his #1 will still be left out

• Africanus 10 years ago

We do not have to copy what Brazil does. What happen to doing what is best for us, instead of what is best for Brazil?

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

Knowing the USA Coache's win-at-all-cost spirit against Ghana the Montenegroe player may be paid to do a dirty job on one of our key players. Appiah is not stupid. He is going to study how it goes before he fields his real sq ...

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

I thought you had some brains in your head, but look at the most stupid comments you have posted.

There were so many altercations in this so-called friendly. Imagine what they would have done to any of our regulars at the first half. It was unfortunate that we came out short and couldn't catch up.
    But sir, you came heav ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Let them know that you are Ghana's best striker!!

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, TO THE -BLACKS ATARS OF GHANA- I SAY; GO TO THE GLORIOUS GATHERING; BRAZIL 2014 IN THE NAME OF THE LORD. PRECIOUS ONES, "IT IS ...

• the truth 10 years ago

as soon as i read your caption, i knew that you had nothing important to say!

• Readi 2 dye 10 years ago

Fuck dan opare....not good...inkoom makes less mistakes

• salinsa 10 years ago

model nkoom getting timid, less adventurous and poor crosses. i still put him number 2 to opare.

• fantastic boy 10 years ago

is it being shown any where ?
    any link that i can try?

• Ghanaboii 10 years ago

You can watch it on feed2all from 5pm

• ERIC 10 years ago

WRONG DECISION COS ESSIEN IS A DEAD MAN NOW

• Exgee 10 years ago

Tweaaaa not the line up
    Line up is tweaa but I like the coach's thinking!!

• MARK 10 years ago

ANY COMMENTS GHFUO?

• moyo 1 10 years ago

we pray them well oooh,go black star.....go Ghana

• Sports Fan 10 years ago

I never realised Ghana had a full squad of two international teams until I looked at the line-up for today's friendly. And when I I reflect on the names on the squad sheet, I nearly choke with tears of joyful anticipation for ...

• R. Bobby 10 years ago

Good line up. God take them through.

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

We are down by a goal within 5 minutes

• Kobina Mark 10 years ago

Good start with Adam,the goal keeper.

• lott 10 years ago

am in the US.. where can i watch this game online or tv ? please any ideas ?

• cofie 10 years ago

go to goATD.Net

• hack man 10 years ago

www.wiziwig.tv you can watch the match live there all over the world

Watch Ghana vs Montenegro live at 5pm local or 1pm EST

• Suame Magazine 10 years ago

I went on the site because of the comment that we can watch the game and now I have all sorts of problems with my computer. Stay away from that site.

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 10 years ago

GHANA WE ARE GOING TO WIN BY THE GRACE
    OF GOD AMEN. LET US PRAY FOR THEM

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

Where is Richmond Boakye Yiadom Instead of Jordan??

AA knows that but he is under pressure from Abedi Pele

• Mark 10 years ago

Give the kids a chance. Tomorrow, when your first team players are too old, you will be looking for the Ayews, who will then be at their prime. It's just a trial match, so give Jordan a chance. What if he scores?

• kwabee 10 years ago

watch the match

The boy is technically not sound for top level competition. he has the mentality of a satellite player...

• kwabee 10 years ago

Waris for centre forward is not working the ball cant stick to play off him. Use him as an attacker on the right like lennon for england. for world keep the ball as to stick to an attacker to help keep the ball.
    we dont nee ...

Don't mind some of these guys I wonder what they look at watching matches.

If he thinks he can play. Then he should suit up. We rnot going to take Jordan to Wcup becos his last name is ayew, but bcos of his performance. Foolishness! Abwdi should go n force Jordan on marseilles rather...

• Watchdog 10 years ago

Hei Gyimifuo, did you not go and consult the Psychiatrist who offered to give you free mental health treatment. Or have you forgotten the free offer? I will remind you not to let this opportunity pass for your own interest an ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

ASEMPA,SHOW SOME RESPECT TO OUR COACH ,WHY,THIS IS TRYING GAME,THE COACH WILL SUBTITUE THE PLAYERS SO THAT EVERY ONE WILL PLAY TO SEE THOSE WHO WILL FIT TO BRASIL.DONT TALK LIKE THAT

• Agbey 10 years ago

You have all the materials, coach just get the best out of them. Remember Coach, the Ghana Black Stars are in your hand, we need good results at all time. God be with you.

• warehouse 10 years ago

THE SELECTION IS GOOD, IDEA IS GOOD AND MENTALITY IS GOOD. BUT RABUI MUST
    GO TO THE WORLD CUP.

• Kojo 10 years ago

I hope Akwasi Appiah will delegate from his technical staff to monitor USA vs Ukraine today or record the game for subsequent analysis.

• TONY ITALY 10 years ago

WE MAIGHT NOT WIN THIS GAME, THE LINE UP IS TOOO WEAK....

• Atsu Acolatse 10 years ago

This Coach has shown his dislike for Adambathia Kwarasey time and time again.Anytime he supposedly gives him A CHANCETO PROVE HIMSELF, he chooses the weakest team to support him. Adam is the BEST GOALKEEPER we have now and th ...

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

We are down in less than 5 mintes

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

There is nothing like weakest team for a goal keeper. Infact that should rather bring out the best in the goalie.
    All the Fatau Dauda haters should brace up, for they have a lot to prove.

• the truth 10 years ago

You are wrong!!

• TONY ITALY 10 years ago

THE LINE UP IS TOO POOR, WHATY ARE DEY DOING, AYEW AND INCOOM ON THE BURNCH?

• dada 10 years ago

any link folks

• onipa y3 10 years ago

We may even bring the cup to Africa

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

The cup is already here. We have the best players in this tournament.

• UNCLE BERNARD ARISTOTLE 10 years ago

GHANA WILL DISMANTLE MONTENEGRO BY DEFEATING THEM 3 GOALS.

• franky 10 years ago

You have a striker like Richmond boakye yiadom plying is trade in a Spanish la liga and you AA, you leave him out and call shit strikers. Tweaaaa

• dread 10 years ago

fools like essien and co. who are rather warming benches have creeped their way into the national team after others have suffered to get Ghana there.
    I salute all the players who played every single mathch to get Ghana to t ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Just so we remind ourselves, it is perfectly possible to get our points strongly across without being verbally abusive. Can Ghanaians ever be civil and respect one another even when we disagree? Than is the right thing to do. ...

• Naziru 10 years ago

Ghana 0:1 in less than 5 mins, hahahahah

• Akamai 10 years ago

Or strategy....AA DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING!

• Isaac Owusu 10 years ago

Great start

• Goal 10 years ago

Ghana is doesn't look like it's ready for the world cup. The boys and the coach need to step up their game.

• kwabee 10 years ago

should be used as a sub to face tired defenders.

• owusu..nj 10 years ago

the truth hurts!am sorry but i have to say it.Ghana cant make it out their group in this world cup..our defence and forwards is horrible compared to the likes of portugal and the germans ! the coach has alot to do.if we will ...

• dk 10 years ago

That's the truth, this coach is stupid and he doesn't know what to do..damn, how can we have such an idiot as coach ?

and incompetent

• Daniel 10 years ago

coach have alot to learn OOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

• Master P 10 years ago

jersey looks ugly ao!

unisex performance......

• Yaa Yaa 10 years ago

I am watching the game and I think Ghana is playing good despite the early 1-0 down.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

The penalty kick was the difference. Ghana were the better side by a mile but goal win games. We still should have won the game though. Kwarassey was good today and should regain his no 1 status for the Stars.

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

Some of you just write rubbish here without understanding what soccer is. We fumble against a team like Montenegro and you are happy.Even Brazil that just beat South Africa are still not satisfied.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Dont know what part of the world you come from but obviously not from the civilized part. This is a mass forum and I am entitled as an elite Ghanaian to express my views, and you call me dumb. Who tutored you about the word d ...

Few works need to be corrected in our defense and offensive set up. Essien still got some mojo. A very worthy friendly. I guess our technical men have noted all the problems they encountered to correct them later? Kwarasey wa ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

He came out aggressively in some critical situations and he had one great save. I think he is the starter.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Do you still consider or call Essien a The Deer or he is still "The Bison".?

2nd there is nothing like "we still should have won this match today". We failed to win period and Akwesi Appiah should get work and stop runni ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

I think we learned something here. Kwarsey has to start in goal. Jordan and Addy cannot be on the team. Maybe in the future. Prince, Gyan and Warris have to be on the field together. Here is the starting line up.

GK: ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

He was given a chance but I simply think he is a good player who is not quite ready..Than is how it goes sometimes.

• Goal 10 years ago

Why are the boys moving the ball all the way from the D of the opponent across the center line into our half? We need a play maker and need to keep the ball in the D of the opponent and push and take the game to them instead ...

• Fifa 10 years ago

The work rate is good, but the boys need to get enterprising upfront. Shooting ability on target needs to improve, stringing of passes need to be precise and accurate.

• Goal 10 years ago

The boys need to take their chances and increase their conversion rate upfront to at least a minimum of 95%. That is the only way they can advance in the mundial.
    The Montenegro team was not a walk over by any chance, and i ...

HE IS NOT WORLD CUP COACH

• Chester 10 years ago

Ghana lost nil

• ow 10 years ago

Whiles the likes of Ivory coast are playing Sweden,Nigeria playing mexico,Cameroon playing Portugal,Ghana is playing a team with no world cup.with just less than 100 days to go!we are playing around with montenegro!when are o ...

• Nun 10 years ago

Those who have supported Appiah, you judge if you like how we played. Sack Kwesi Appiah, he doesn't understand the game. Poorest coach ever.

• dk 10 years ago

This coach is dump, fucking sack him before it's too late, Motherfucka doesn't know what to do..can't read simple game again Montenegro and u expect to win a match in brazil ? No fucking way, u dump fuck!!!

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

APPIAH YOU NEED TO POLISH YOUR MEN OOO..OR ELSE DISGRACE BE THE WORD...POUCH NA POUCH ...

• nana sweden 10 years ago

useless ghana team, atju joking with goal, daniel opare useless defender plus kwasi appiah can't read any game as a coach

• Suame Magazine 10 years ago

This match is a practice match. He didn't even start with our first team. He also gave some players a chance to justify their conclusion. Give the coach some space.

From now I am sure he will begin to use his first team ...

• kwabee 10 years ago

Waris is industrious but not starter and should play on right when on as a sub!
    Jordan is not ready and may not make the team .
    David addy not ready PLAY KWADWO ASAMOAH AT LEFT BACK HE DOES IT WEEK AND WWEK OUT AT HIS CLUB! ...

• Mark 10 years ago

I have always wondered why the coach doesn't want to try Kwadwo Asamoah at left back. We have lots of midfielders, so we can afford to move Kwadwo Asamoah to the left back position, where our real problem is. The back four sh ...

• muntari 10 years ago

hello

• The truth 10 years ago

Most of u criticizing appiah are plain idiots.AA is a very intelligent guy so stop with the insults. This is a friendly folks, by definition a friendly is like a trial session for some players to justify their call ups. If ap ...

• dk 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up, wtf do your ugly ass know about football ? Dump ass!!

• The truth 10 years ago

I sure know more than a dumb mutherfucker like you. Go educate your simple mind before you come on here to spill you ignorance fool

• dk 10 years ago

I will educate your mama's ass Motherfucka !

• The truth 10 years ago

Oh yeah? I doubt you even have a penis you faggot. If you had any, you would face me like a man instead of cowering like the bitch that you are. You are lucky your hiding behind your PC or else I would have slapped you with ...

• dk 10 years ago

Slap me ? Lol bitch nigga, I wish a Motherfucka would, too bad I'm not and if I was a faggot, your dad will be my personal bitch..monkey ass nigro!!

• The truth 10 years ago

Stop denying what you are homo. Yeah you read it right, I will bitch slap you with my dick. That's how I treat faggots like you. Bitch my feces is even prettier than you. I would talk about ur mom but I won't, because givi ...

• dk 10 years ago

Don't u get it ? Ask your pap he's the one getting my dick all day long..son of a bitch..lol the monkey thinks he's pretty..suck my dick with ya pretty face dump ass!

• The truth 10 years ago

So u telling me you love it when a guy sucks your penis? Yet you deny being a homosexual hahahaha are you dumb or just stupid??? Oh my goodness you are an idiot haha. Sorry ugly but u are a trumu lover. I guess being rejec ...

• Kwame Nti 10 years ago

You don't know anything about soccer. Brazil will Montenegro with their team F .Ask your Appiah if he has ever won a match against the whites, be it Asia or Europe.

• The truth 10 years ago

Another fool, now winning a soccer game is all about race? I won't even bother with you because you are too stupid to understand common sense.

• anokwale 10 years ago

Too many panicky Ghanaians. This team is good. Certain players are not ready for prime time but we found that out today. This is part of the process.

• The truth 10 years ago

Thank you, i am glad that there are Ghanaian footballer fans like you with who understands the game

• Sankofa 10 years ago

We have a lot of work to do between now and the World Cup.

Montenegro are not the strongest side in the world. They are ranked 52, while we are ranked 37 by FIFA.

We have lost this friendly, and were unable to score a g ...

• good citizen 10 years ago

BOAKYE yiadom will be very very important in the striking department.ghs are fools, the chap is playing in the Spanish La liga and you guys are not mentioning is name.

• good citizen 10 years ago

You call Jordan ayew ahead of boakye yiadom, are you serious? And I'm surprised Ghs are not saying anything abt that. Boakye yiadom is playing in the Spanish LA liga and scored against real Madrid, also played 90 minutes agai ...

• AI 10 years ago

It was a poor performance collectively, however this can now address areas for improvement, whats with the vilification and negative criticism? Do you think there will be serious precautions taken had we beaten Montenegro, no ...

• Mikee 10 years ago

If we can't beatmontenegro I'm a basic friendly then we have lots of pronls how on earth can we beat Portugal and henany we don't have good strikers we have serious problems going in the World Cup sack kwesi Appiah now before ...

• dk 10 years ago

Exactly, we need to replace this dump coach asap..

• SUAME MAGAZINE 10 years ago

Ukraine is outplaying USA. Their coach did the same as Kwasi Appiah and did not field a lot of their key players.

• The truth 10 years ago

Germany is doing the same thing too

• anokwale 10 years ago

I hope that other Ghanaians are as sensible as you are and understand the preparatory aspect of these games.

• "truth" 10 years ago

I commend Kwarasey's quick instinct and judgement. The scores could have been 2-0. Coming out from his block to intercept a counter attack at almost the centre of the field was good judgement!! It could have easily been a sec ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

He showed confidence today. That was the best aspect of this friendly. But for the mistake in the beginning, it would have been a 0-0 draw.

• Nokwarehene 10 years ago

His outstanding judgments kept us in the game, but the defense were too porous.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

Now the Coach Appiah have seen his boys good and bad,they say Addy is very bad to face GERMANS,USA,PORTUGAL,we need a good defenders

• DAVID OSEI 10 years ago

second minute penalty condemned Ghana to a 1-0 defeat in a World Cup preparatory match against Montenegro.

Fatos Beqiraj coolly converted the penalty after an untimed tackle from David Addy in the vital area and the men fr ...

• Mark 10 years ago

GK: Stephen Adams
    RB: Jonathan Mensah
    LB: Kwadwo Asamoah
    CD: John Boye, Akaminko or (Vorsah?)
    Midfield: Essien, Kevin, Sulley
    Forwards: Andre, Gyan, Warris

I would really love to see how this formation works, with pos ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

Kwarasey showed nothing extraordinary that no any other Black Stars’ goal keeper has never done in a competitive match. He would have proved to be ready if he had saved the penalty kick.
    Above all, the opponents did not cr ...

• Nokwar 10 years ago

Your own assertion condemns your conclusion. You mentioned that “Above all, the opponents did not critically try him that much to test his readiness.” This means he didn’t lose the trust that was given him (above all si ...

• Message Delivered From "God" Almighty 10 years ago

Ghana Black Stars 2014 World Cup: GOALKEEPERS

• Adam Kwarasey (6 feet 3' Tall + Good Shot Stopper + Good Reflexes + Good Shot Stopper against any of the best football players in the World)

• Steven Adams (6 feet 1' ...

• ??? 10 years ago

THE MOST THRILLED OF ALL THE FRIENDLY MATCHES WAS BELGUIM V IVORY COAST.WHICH ENDS2-2.THE TENSION WAS TOO MUCH.IT WAS REAL SOCCER AND NOT THAT OF GH-MONT.

THE PLAYERS SHOULD NOTE:
    Talent wins games, but teamwork and intel ...