You are here: HomeSports2014 03 03Article 302296

Appiah: Dauda still first-choice keeper

Read Comments Comments (101)

• pato 10 years ago

This is ridiculous!!!!! I think this is disrespectful to Adam for all he has done and still doing and only one outcome EARLY home coming from the world cup

• Ghana 10 years ago

I agree.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Can someone tell Akwesi Appiah to stop talking foolishness he is better off keeping his got dame mouth shut before we expose him.

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

I hope Kwesi Appiah is kidding here. He is losing my respect everyday that goes by. He is the same person that said any player who does not feature for his club will not haveany place in Blackstars team.

Now Dauda who has ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

What Appiah said was only players that have clubs and are fit will feature in his team.

In Dauda's case, I can understand your frustrations but let's mellow "kakraa" for now. The question we need to ask ourselves is beside ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

I cannot blieve the coach supposely said was was printed,if he really said that then he is not a smart man.Coach fact of the matter is this is a time to pick the best only if not ghanaian would castrate you,a word is enough

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I can say with every being in me that Kwarasey was toppled Fatau Dauda did pay his way from the comment of the goalkeeper trainer and all the events surrounding Fatau Dauda. Fatau Dauda is not good if he was he would be playi ...

• Appletus 10 years ago

I agree with you. Appiah is so stupid to be messing around with quality players like Kwarasey. Indeed , he could have been Norway number 1 keeper, but opted for Ghana. He is good. He is a quality player. He is captain of his ...

Until we find any goalkeeper reliable to play in Ghan shit without fears, Dauda is still the number one. This same Kwrasey everybody seem to be talking about was the same who we entertained fear each time he kept in Ghana pos ...

• kwaku new york 10 years ago

kwasi appiah only played for kotoko and when it comes to international levels he is clueless. how on earth could choose dauda over kwarasey? its all about favoritism..mark it on the wall we are going to loose to the united st ...

• NANA 10 years ago

COACH A A WILL NEVER SAY THIS, I BELIEVE HE SAID SOMETHING TO SHUT THE JOUNALIST , I DO NOT THINK HE WILL SAY THESE AND STILL EXPECT GOOD WORLD CUP AND EXPECT MORE FROM THE PLAYERS, MANNY OF THE THINGS THAT COME OUT ARE NOT T ...

• Harrison 10 years ago

AA still has not got a team for the WC yet. If the players do not fair well in this first trial match. He should be given a boot and immediately. Please, get a foreign coach on stand-by.

• KO 10 years ago

Still monitoring goalkeepers at this late stage ...“I am still monitoring the likes of Daniel Agyei, Razak Braimah and some other goalkeepers who in one way or the other can help push the dream of the team or the nation f ...

• Lato Of New York 10 years ago

America has one of the best goalkeepers in the world in Tim Howard, where as Ghana's number one goalie is a bench warmer in lower South African league. Kwesi Appiah does this make sense to you? I watched you during your Kotok ...

• ??? 10 years ago

THE WORLD BEST KEEPER CANT STOP THE GERMANS AND THE PORTUGEES.GOODLUCK

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

DAUDA'S MENTALITY IS WEAK. HE HASNT WON A TROPHY AT ANY LEVEL, ABI? HAS HE EVEN WON A LEAGUE TITLE? KWARASAY, ADJEI AND ADAMS HVE ALL WON TROPHIES. THIS IS A PLUS TO THEIR MENTALITY. AA, TAKE PLAYERS WHO HVE WON TROPHIES TO T ...

• KG 10 years ago

I have often doupted AA's tactical ability. I hope for our sakes he proves me wrong, that is if he remains the coach.

• ??? 10 years ago

Pele once said,i will and never ever be a coach.Brazil Pele and not Afrcan Pele.

2 ALL THE COACHES;
    You have to accept the challenges of the game and you'll continue to find that winning is the spirit of it.

Never let ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

All I can say, is that it is up to Kwarsey to really play well on Wednesday. I feel that Kwarsey should be starting but maybe there is something we are not seeing that the coach has seen.

• pato 10 years ago

how can he when the coaches have no confidence in him?

• ranky 10 years ago

FOREIGN COACHES DONT KNOW OUR STLYLE OF PLAY.HE WIL USE EUROPE TOOL ONLY,WE NEED BOTH AGAINST THEM

• pato 10 years ago

What style of play? football is one language wherever you go with different dialects, meaning different formations it does not matter where you come from especially at the world stage.

• jJahbless 10 years ago

Appiah Is the most stupid and senseless coach ever....simple

• NIPA 10 years ago

Now the other two goalkeepers will think that working hard and impressing will not yield them the stopper position, why try is Dauda with less than 0.000001% club action is still no.1. AA is a full for that......

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Even Polo is coaching

• POLO 10 years ago

I am better than your whole useless family.

• Honsen 10 years ago

He shouldn't have said that.

• Dago Romain 10 years ago

This statement by your is more proof that Kwasi Appiah must be replaced before the W.C.

• Dago Romain 10 years ago

This statement by your coach is more proof that Kwasi Appiah must be replaced before the W.C.

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Kwarasey cannot win as long as AA remains coach. he should try and play for norway..wasting time with AA and ghana..

Appiah's statement above is right. We shouldn't just judge by what's on paper but what's practically right. Until another goalkeeper takes the number one role, Dauda is still the first choice. You guys should at least see how ...

• HE IS GOOD 10 years ago

He is the BEST for now

• pato 10 years ago

HOWWWW... give us the reasons.

• agosta 10 years ago

Dear listeners let give a serious lessons to AA before is time. To those think is not a nepotism this is a time to watch him well. In even in great nation football like Spain , France ,England even Germany and among others wh ...

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

Why do you choose to contradict yourself Akwasi? Dauda is your no1, why didn't you call him? If by the end of april Dauda is still on the bench you can forget about him. He's got two hands just like the others.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Kwarasey was no.1 before he was removed by Dauda. Now Kwarasey has the chance to remove Dauda and become no. 1 again. If he fails to perform well in the trial matches, he will have to stay at no.2 or even worse, he will be se ...

• pato 10 years ago

How can he have the chance when by the sound of it all the coaches have no confidence in him? I have never believe in Dauda as goalkeeper even when he was playing regularly not alone sitting on the bench. Ghana will definitel ...

• Martin Asare 10 years ago

THis is what nepotism does. Clearly, Dauda has not seen enough action to be our first choice however AA insists he is contrary to what even a blind man can see. This shows how prejudiced people can get. THis is not a morale b ...

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

AA do you stand by your merit statements etc,etc?????

• ??? 10 years ago

WELL I DONT KNOW WHERE AA IS HEADING.

A man doesn't begin to attain wisdom until he recognizes he is no longer indispensable.

• Kokroko 10 years ago

Yes the keeper that is not fit for a low league is ruling our post. Sad story. Dauda is not playing cuz......

• Stoway 10 years ago

Ignorance will kill some people like you. You give Orlando Pirates Kwarasey and see if they will not trash him and always select Dauda over him. Kwarasey will not even pass their test.

• GHANA IS SHIT 10 years ago

GhFuo is right.

It is time to sack Appiah. It is not too late to hire a foreign coach, or to get a foreign technical director.

Appiah is crazy. Sack him now.

GHANA IS REALLY SHITTY COUNTRY.

• henry 10 years ago

Your still drinking that inferiority foreign coach complex Mr ghfuo,so sad.

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

YOU ARE NOT LISTENING ,IF YOU COME HOME VERY EARLY (NOT PASSING GROUP STAGE ) I WILL SPLASH YOUR FACE WITH GLASS OF OGOGLO...
    WELL DAUDA DON'T LET APPIAH DOWN .PROVE YOUR HATERS WRONG..MYSELF INCLUDED ...

• ja 10 years ago

Go away dauda,kwarasey is best

• Stoway 10 years ago

Dauda is the best so far and Appiah and intelligent analysts know that.
    Kwarasey is not consistently good. Dauda is a great goalie and even our former expatriate coach knew that when he made him third choice behind Kingson a ...

• pato 10 years ago

maybe in Africa but not at world stage he will flop at every single aerial ball, not safe at all. Kwarasey has better safe of hands.

I think AA should have played Dauda on Wednesday to expose him

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

Ghana first, not friendship or family ties. This guy is not cut for the job at the world cup level. You will be sorry for not keeping an open mind.

• Ghanaboii 10 years ago

Football wise, it looks like I'm going to have a terrible year. Man Utd have fallen disgracefully and now Appiah wants to play with my emotions and make Dauda our #1. We are DOOMED!!!
    I know there's a stupid mistake waiting ...

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

if u put fatau dauda in post for world cup then coach start packing ur luggage home u wont qualify for group stages

• Joe Ali 10 years ago

This is ridiculous for this coach at this crucial time to tell Ghanaians that he still has Dauda as his number one stopper. Dauda is not a world cup material even compared to Stephen Adams. His defective height and untimely r ...

• Meman Nti 10 years ago

What are all these insults on AA for? You guys got to be smart,until eligible 23 players being selected comes out,no coach will point out who is going or not going or this person is guarantee to be there or my doors are close ...

• kodjo 10 years ago

bochun disaster in the offing, my heart don't follow this team now until somebody do the right thing

• woodini 10 years ago

If dauda is still yur number one, why didn't yu at least invite him and boost the morale of the other two goalies even if he is not gonna play. Remember, you have only 3 trial games to play and this is the time yu should conc ...

• ??? 10 years ago

A good point.
    The way a team plays as a whole determines its success. You may have the greatest bunch of individual stars in the world, but if they don't play together, the club won't be worth a dime.
    A good coach will make ...

• Nokwarehene 10 years ago

It's uncalled for; shouldn't have made this comment.

• ranky 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT AFRICAN FOOTBALL MAN.WE NEED WISDOM AND EXPERIENCE.WATCH KWARASAY AGAINST BRAZIL.

• Jojo Turkson, Boise, Idaho 10 years ago

Now, I am certain we must get a foreign coach because our local coaches don't play fair, and this is very detrimental to our progress.

• peter 10 years ago

i think Ghana don't have a good coach koraaaa'''

• Chairman 10 years ago

Dauda is really our hope for Brazil!

• ??? 10 years ago

SOME OF THE GUYS HERE SAID HE (kWARASEY)IS THE BEST AMONG THEM BECOUSE HE IS THE CAPTAIN OF HIS CLUB.

The quality of a leader is reflected in the standards they set for themselves.This is a keeper who is fighting 2 b numbe ...

• BILLY OCEAN 10 years ago

Aaaaaa.....Akwasi Appiah, I thought you were a sensible chap .

• Nana Kwame 10 years ago

this man is not serious

• PASTOR 10 years ago

I said it before and some idiots think differently. They have the right.
    Montenegro should not be the country to sharpen our team.
    They have half a million population.
    They have no chance at the world cup
    They are a secon ...

• Agyemang 10 years ago

Why on Earth should Dauda be our first choice keeper when Kwarasey is playing more regularly, and putting on amazing performances while Dauda, warms the bench in South Africa? This is foolishness. I try not to criticize App ...

• kwame 10 years ago

i don't like to talk much / against the ghana black star but when it comes to world cup,only international players who are expose to international style of play understand their opponent kindna game.give the kwarasey the fir ...

• Jonny Nash 10 years ago

Dauda can't be in the polls against even USA, he is not a keep for world cup! Not at all. Appiah need to sleep over this.

• crazy maputo 10 years ago

stop talking bullshit kwasi Appiah only you know why u keep playing this Dauda(he suck)u pissing me off as a matter of fact the Black stars would have qualified with od without you.

• crazy maputo 10 years ago

"se wagye ne sika fa na die ko ma no"

• Akamai 10 years ago

To his father and played for NORWAY INSTEAD!

• jones lartey 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah will be fired after the world cup, mark my words. Just like Dauda was a disaster in Cairo, he would a disaster in Brazil and spell the end of Kwasi Appiah's career as black stars. As much as I like Kwasi Appiah a ...

• Frimans 10 years ago

I used to admire Appiah’s humility in the early part of his appointment as the head coach of the Black Stars. But he has been exhibiting signs of arrogance and ignorance in the aftermath of Ghana’s qualification for the w ...

• Jimmy kwaateng 10 years ago

Such a coach useless person without foresight and impervious to advice and innovation should not be made a coach for Black stars. He should know that if Dauda was No. 1 when he was actively playing, he is not still No.1 now t ...

• Akamai 10 years ago

because of individual talent of the players...we never played as a team even in the 6-1 win over Egypt. that is what most people don't understand.

• KO 10 years ago

Given that this guy has not been playing regularly, why not play him in this friendly for all to see (judge) if he still has it... Coach needs to be careful.

• edwino pepe 10 years ago

GHANA WILL BE HOME SOON IF DAUDA MANS THAT GOAL. DAUDA IS NOT FIT FOR EVEN A THIRD DIVISION TEAM. OMG, WHAT'S APPIAH SMOKING? BRAINS ON CRACK..

• K Pee 10 years ago

This's nonsense for Kwasi Appiah to choose Dauda over Kwarsey. No good coach will make that stupid choice. If Duada is Ghana's first-choice keeper for Brazil ,then we're just going to visit. Kwasi Appiah really don't know wh ...

• Stevoo-USA 10 years ago

I don't understand why all these insults against coach Appiah for saying that. My understanding is, since Ghana or AA has not announced his team for the world cup, Dauda still remains #1 period. Until AA anounces, Asamoah Gya ...

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

Well....whatever! We'll wait to see the results in Brazil.

• Nii ankrah 10 years ago

What message is he sending to the other goalkeepers by making this silly declaration? This is an informed declaration paa. Kwesi appiah needs to be schooled on public relations and management in general. Kwarasry's confidence ...

• amin 10 years ago

home used japan type, new type nissan march for sale full air condition price 10,000 gh cedis, pls call 0242567688 for more imfo.

• agosta 10 years ago

Dear listeners let give a serious lessons to AA before is time. To those think is not a nepotism this is a time to watch him well. In even in great nation football like Spain , France ,England even Germany and among others wh ...

• stevoo 10 years ago

I don't understand why all these insults against coach Appiah for saying that. My understanding is, since Ghana or AA has not announced his team for the world cup, Dauda still remains #1 period. Until AA anounces, Asamoah Gya ...

• stevoo 10 years ago

• amin 10 years ago

home used japan type, new type nissan march for sale full air condition price 10,000 gh cedis, pls call 0242567688 for more imfo.

• agosta 10 years ago

• Mr amin 10 years ago

• Tetteh de Great 10 years ago

Tweiaaaaaa, first choice indeed.

• Tetteh de Great 10 years ago

NUMBER ONE COACH

• GeoJo 10 years ago

Akwesi Appiah should better keep quiet if he doesn't have any sensible thing to say especially about Fatau. If 1st choice keeper is warming bench the whole season and you still leave him out of our friendly match and insist h ...

• GeoJo 10 years ago

If so then why was Olele left out from the BS. Reasons no team or playing time and making petty mistakes in friendly matches. How different is Dauda's case. May be AA has special arrangement with Dauda else will not not be sa ...

• MR. NO BULLSHIT. 10 years ago

Appiah, you cannot compare Ghana soccer to European soccer. That was why you came to England to get coaching lessons. Ghanaians abroad who watches European soccer will tell you Appiah that, you are a fool and laugh at you to ...

• king tone 10 years ago

kwarasey should retire from black stars.this is very insulting

• THE CONSULTANT 10 years ago

GHANA IS IN THE HANDS OF ANIMALS

• Zack, Ghananian Japanese 10 years ago

Go Dauda go the Nation is proud of you 4 what u have done for Ghana, u will still b the No. 1 goalkeeper