You are here: HomeSports2014 02 21Article 301417

13 Ghana players refused US visas

Read Comments Comments (94)

• kodjo 10 years ago

americans have denied some black maiden players visas what would they do to the black stars?

• Yoyo 10 years ago

Wow, sad to hear this but they only can get to Costa Rica through the US? Is there any other alternative?

• BIN LARDEN 10 years ago

Is good that way. These are connection bound players. Is a shame that, Ghanaians are still doing this things. Thanks to U S for doing that. Shame on to Ghanaians.

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

Thank you my brother. Do we have money to send under 17 girls team to go and train in USA? Visa connection and the Americans are not having it. If the tournament is in Costa Rica, why are we going to USA for training? Waste ...

• Bob USA 10 years ago

Do not trust these ghanasoccernet writers. I seen that they will write before they think. Plus, corrupt GFA always trying to camp at these expensive places.. What's the reason? What's in the U.S., other than money lol, that w ...

Facilities. You don't have even the facilities junior high schools have. G

• KWADWO DIASEMPA 10 years ago

We don't have the reasons for the visa refusals but, already, some of us have drawn conclusions...ei, Ghanafo kasa!!

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

I wonder why Ghana had to camp in the US. what do they have? They did not even qualify for the tournament.

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

They prolly missed the deadline, incomplete application, missing info etc.I'm very sure bcos most ghppl don't pay attention to detail. Butu Butu, buga buga nkoaa. No planning. Just look at any city in gh. Being in that enviro ...

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

Just look at how Spintex Road stalls at intersection near the Accra Mall. The roads join one another from different direction leaving the motorist to guess which way to turn after meandering his way around rocks and debris, a ...

Greater accra Regional transport minister must answer to this road mess on spintex.

• Thinker 10 years ago

Yes, they are economical with the truth; they are not telling us how many players they submitted for the visa; I know my Ghanaians and I can predict that they sent over 30 players and about 50 officials.

If you are going t ...

• muni 10 years ago

united states is not stupid. they are all connection bound and i doubt if any would return.could not they have chosen zny other country other than the states? a whole member of parliament sneaked cocaine and heroine into the ...

• DANJUMA 10 years ago

JAMAICA, CANADA, CUBA, COLOMBIA, TRINIDAD, VENEZUELA AND MANY MORE

• True Patriot 10 years ago

Why everything U>s>, U.S.?/
    Mexico, Ecuador or Uruguay is a Football loving nation and Ghana, could have gone there to train..
    It would be also cheaper.

• KANE 10 years ago

Ghana leaders do not usually go through this shit so would they reciprocate? A huge NO!

That's why ordinary Ghanaians will continue to be taken for a bumpy ride by these racist Western foreign missions in Ghana.

• TUNDE 10 years ago

NA WAAA.
    POOR GHANA PEOPLE DON DEY UGLY WELL WELL....HEYYYYY

• Baron Obuoba Boadu 10 years ago

Have you taken a look at your Naija transvestites you call girls? Now that is proper ugliness! They are built like men with their horse hair weave-ons looking like ugly chimps!

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Yarr mama head way I be like olumo rock way I dey for abeuokuta

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

NIGERIAN WOMEN ARE NOT BY ANY MEANS THE BEST LOOKING GIRLS IN IN AFRICA, THEY ARE UGLY AS HELL, WITH THEIR POUNDED YAM FACE AND "K" LEG.

• bedrock 10 years ago

luuk at dis dirty,moron pig.ar u better dan ghanaians or more handsom dan ghanaians.dis site is for football issues not an insult site,idiot

.......like korle lagoon. Armpit scent big wat?...lol naija body odour no size!

• Amada 10 years ago

HOWEVER UGLY GHANA BOYS AND GIRLS MAY BE, THEY ARE SURELY PHYSICALLY AND, ESPECIALLY, MORALLY BETTER THAN BOKO HARAM AND 419 NIGERIANS.

• muni 10 years ago

YOUR TELLS IT ALL ABOUT YOU. GHANAIANS AND NIGERIANS WHO UGLY? NIGERIANS HAVE STRONG BODY ODOR EVERY WHERE IN THE UNIVERSE ESPECIALLY THE YORUBAS. FAT LIPS AND SWEATY SKIN.

• Akua Anorbiaa 10 years ago

What was the reason! Ghana should do same to them as Brazilian do. In the case they will respect us.

• TNT 10 years ago

Why do they have to go to the US for preparations? We can prepare in Ghana, better than going to waste resources in the USA for the sake of name.

Sometimes we fail to condemn our actions for future failures so we're bound ...

• Nimdee2k 10 years ago

Well put. I concur with you. The team does not need to travel to the USA for training sessions. They can give that money to the players in the form of bonus.
    Unless the players have no intention on traveling to Costa Rica ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Folks, they need to acclimatize some where before going in for the tournament.If they need the visas, then ugly Nyantakyie must kneel down and beg me, before I will get them the visas

Costa Rica has the same tropical climate like Ghana and not like USA at this time where even states like Texas, Florida and Arizona are under cold attack so the acclimatization excuse was rejected.

• Constable.Rasheed. 10 years ago

Rasheed will never engage in any gangrenous activities. I am going to be the next GFA boss, don't you know?.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

We are crying about dollars had limited amount of dollars you can take from your own account and you are send players to USA are they going to spend Cedis there.

How many people did apply for the visa any way.

When you ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

You don't have a problem Mr.N, because you will be my right-hand man. My problem is how to get the right people who are not corrupt to help me succeed..

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

How can a fool or fools pull this fast one,they are rather competent bunch of self seeking thieves,only the fool who reported this story fail to find out how many names were submitted for visa.

• gg 10 years ago

Failed not fail.t

• bedrock 10 years ago

are ur families better dan nyantakyi,son of an inbecile

• Asuo-Amponsah 10 years ago

Are neck-deep in this disgracefull conduct! The Min of Youth & Sports should veto this travel plan,and have the team train elsewhere! You see, you can fool some of these Consular Officials some of the time,but not all the tim ...

• african 10 years ago

You nailed it ! The team won't get any better by training in the US. Common sense dictates that when you train hard, the actual test or game becomes easier. But Africans have this believe that if they train soft, they will pe ...

Hahaha, some of you talk without engaging your brains. It is not like the US citizena are dying to come to Ghana like Ghanaians are dying to go to USA. The government even beg Americans to come to Ghana as tourists so that th ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Your comments are laudable but your heading is rather too harsh. I believe It is due to lack of knowledge that you find some unfortunate comments on Ghanaweb. You are fortunate to be in America and know what is going on. Don' ...

Sheriffs don't use euphemisms when the people you are dealing with hardly understand plain language. Euphemisms will task their brains to craziness.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Akua Anorbiaa used Brazilian as an example so she is knowledgeable what she did not tell you is what kind of investment American companies has in Brazil. How many Brazilian come to USA and do not go back.

Some people the o ...

• BERLINER 10 years ago

Kasa, Kasa, Akua.
    But where are we going to find the "leaders" in Slave Coast to do the same?

They're all weaklings who cannot even go a day without stealing a DOLLAR.
    Fools who have no respect for their own currency. DO ...

• Cool 10 years ago

Do we have any contingency plan for the Black Stars if this should happening.

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

is it bcos we win them all the time?

• Balderash 10 years ago

One of the most mischievous people. Nyantakyi is one of those Ghanaians who think the Yanks play by the rules. They don't if they believe it is not going to favour them.

• Obideeaba, Belgium 10 years ago

Come what may Ghana will beat USA again in Brazil.

• joseph 10 years ago

Why use USA for the preparation.Won't it be expensive? Cuba will be cheaper.

• Yaovi 10 years ago

Visa connection men contracted by crooks in the GFA would make no profit going to Cuba.

• warehouse 10 years ago

WHY ALWAYS U.S FOR EVERY TEAM ?

• agyayaw 10 years ago

I BET YOU MAJORITY OF THESE PLAYERS HAS APPLIED FOR THE US VISA WITH THE DIFFERENT NAME BEFORE

• IKEDUMAGU 10 years ago

Ghana as a country is light weight yet they want to use football to rub souldier with the big boys on the continent. It has to take USA to put Ghana where they belong; refused Black Maiden Visa delibrately and there's nothing ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

If 13 were denied that means 10 were accepted... What did the 13 do wrong??

• Adjoa 10 years ago

LETS GIVE THE US EMBASSY THE BREAK! WE DON'T KNOW THE REASONS YET OR DO WE? DID THE FA DO THEIR HOME WORK WELL? THE TEAM'S CAMPING IN THE US WILL BRING SOME MONEY TO THE US ECONOMY NO MATTER HOW SMALL. THE EMBASSY WILL NOT DE ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

As usual...we are not given the full story. Something is wrong somewhere.

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

Yes, Adjoa you are right on that. What are the reason(s) for being denied? Lazy reporter, wrote this article without doing any investigation. This is all part of cutting corners.

• JH New York 10 years ago

The question is,what has Nyantakyi seen in the US, so far as football(soccer)is concerned to always prefer to send the team to North America for preparing. Nyantakyi,please tell us what's going on.

• paa kofi 10 years ago

bad news though, well if these western guys travel to Africa to pick their visa at entry point at the airport, what do you think, not even a high class Ghanaian will be allowed to pick a visa at entry poit in these western w ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Ugly Nyantakyie should kneel down and beg me, before I will get visas for those hard girls.

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

Na lie, you know from the bottom of your heart that you love Nyantakyie till death "dza gbele" so begging can never happen.

• KOFI MUMUI 10 years ago

Why were they denied visas?

• OBRA 10 years ago

But Ghanaians will give VISA to even an American goat to visit and pillage Ghana.

Because you need the goat dollars but they don't need your cedis. If you look at the statistics and it says 100,000 Americans visit Ghana every year, realise 90% of these Americans are naturalized Ghanaians coming home for vi ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

You're exact on points. Lol

But for the 17 players that were refused, I suspect a bulk of them might not be real players but some connection staff. Onipa y3 bad.

Been owith this team,have visas and entry stamps at various ports of entry to identify them as such! Besides, these naive and corrupt officials dont realize the US State Dept has the weight to cross-check with a world sports ...

The information I am getting is that, these Players couldn't even name the position they play. When asked what position she likes best, one of the players said, DOGGY STLYE and you want the Americans to grant her visa to come ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I hope you are not making this up but I can tell people are so stupid and greed that they would even prepare fakers.

The whole idea sound stupid I believe they said we are going to camp in New York to acclimatize to enable ...

• Koby 10 years ago

Why US before Costa Rica? Flight time from Ghana to Costa Rica is about 12hrs. Why not training in Ghana to save money? Do they know how expensive to train in the States? American's are not fool to denied those people visa. S ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

There is no permanent friendship in international relations. Can we move the program from USA to Canada or Cuba with equal proximity to Costa Rica?

• Daniel 10 years ago

It is strange. Did the US Embassy tell you the reason for the denial of the visa of entry? You must find out if they are planning to run away from the team, because they may have relatives in the US? Is it possible that that ...

• MIKEY 10 years ago

What a stupid name. If a white country names its team 'White Masters' or 'White Bosses' there will be an uproar about racism. Why do we give our girls such an uncouth name? -Balck Maidens.

• Albert K, Kansas, USA. 10 years ago

“Maiden” means an unmarried girl or an unmarried lady, or a virgin. Similarly, a “maiden name” means a woman’s family name before marriage.
    Don’t criticize something, which you are unknowledgeable about.

• Obrefo 10 years ago

I bet the names are loaded with connections that has nothing to do with soccer.

To generate unnecessary tensions with their 'connection business', when there is abosolutely no need to do so!
    Btw, how many players are on the team?
    No wonder many of these contries do not take us seriously in our dealing ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA,-"TWEAAAAAAA!!! LAUGH.
    DIGNIFIED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, IN -SOCHI- ARE WE TO ACCOMPLISH -THE MISSION- TO THE JOY ...

• nana b 10 years ago

Fellow Citizens,
    I think We should be asking why the girls were denied visas not whose fault it was.

• DANJUMA 10 years ago

THERE ARE MANY COUNTRIES IN NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICA SO WHY ONLY U.S? MANY GHANAIANS IN NORTH AMERICA AND CARIBBEAN WOULD BE HAPPY, IF THE GIRLS CAMP IN JAMAICA, BRAZIL, PANAMA, TRINIDAD AND MANY MORE.

I KNOW FOR SURE THAT ...

• GHANA IS SHIT 10 years ago

Oooh! What a country.

• Felix 10 years ago

I am confused, The people in the picture above, are they really females? kw3333333

• nana 10 years ago

donkey.where is your cousin?

• atta 10 years ago

Group visa may be helpful.

• Close Observer 10 years ago

It is a good thing that they have been refused their entry visas. If there is anybody attached to the team or in the team who has collected money from anyone, he/she must return it immediately. The consulate has learned a lot ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Then let's forget about the tournament altogether.

• Jojo 10 years ago

WHY USA,THEY CAN TRAIN IN BAHAMAS OR TRINIDAD TOBAGO.

• KAKAPEAKA K K 10 years ago

GIVE US THE REASIONS FOR THE REFUSAL. THIS IS AN UNCOMPLETED REPORT.

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

THESE GIRLS HAVE BEEN TREATED UNFAIRLY.
    THIS CAOULD BREAK THEIR SPIRITS TO WIN THE GAMES. I HOPE THEY DWIN THE APPEAL

• muni 10 years ago

AMERICANS ARE BEING DENIED GHANA VISA ALL THE TIME AND WE TAKE IT LIGHTLY. IAM A GHANAIAN BORN US CITIZEN BUT WAS DENIED VISA TO GHANA ONCE IN 1999. ASK YOUR GOVT WHAST THEY DID WRONG RATHER THAN DRAWING CONCLUSIONS FOR ALL W ...

• Bobostone 10 years ago

I don't know why the US consulates are full of such unprofessional people who have little regard for the blacks. Is there no diplomatic relationship between the two countries? Are you sure if US were to play a game in Ghana, ...

• Joe 10 years ago

The tournament is not taking place in the US. Why would they want to use the place for their preparations when there are cheaper alternative venues such as Cuba and Jamaica? The US consulate smells something fishy.

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 10 years ago

TRY CUBA

• Canada 10 years ago

Go to Pakistan

• GYIMI NATION 10 years ago

YOU ARE PLAYING IN BRAZIL, YOU WANNA CAMP IN THE USA.
    YOU ARE PLAYING IN COSTA RICA, GO CAMP IN BRAZIL.

• Tolamanan 10 years ago

These embassies now know all the tricks to acquire visas chiefs and Queens have all turned themselves into visa mecca with all kinds of letterheads from the central house chiefs for connection.Folks also go there each day wit ...

• Vivian 10 years ago

the reason for the refusal of the said number of contingent is that some of them don't have any traveling experience also some of the players have not traveled beyond African soil before hence the refusal of visas,21 players, ...

Can't the girls prepare here in Ghana? Why the USA? Is this some visa racket scheme or regular scheme to siphon monies?

The GFA are becoming a disgrace?