You are here: HomeSports2014 02 14Article 300649

Kuffuor: Ghana needs defensive leader to excel at World Cup

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Ostutus 10 years ago

maybe John would be fit enough to take the leadership role.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

We need to select a good replacement for John Mensah, and train him as soon as possible, it's not too late. I hope Kuffour would help train one as soon as possible by constantly visiting Black Stars camp and offer assistance.

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• GHFUO, CHANGE UR MENTALIY! 10 years ago

“Our defense has no leadership and no personality.
    I HATE TO SAY THIS BUT HE IS VERY RIGHT. ITS BETTER TO HAVE DEFENDERS WHO HAVE HAD PRIOR EXPERIENCE AT THE WCUP TO ASSUME THE POSITION OF LEADERSHIP IN THE GH DEFENCE. LE ...

• GHFUO, CHANGE UR MENTALIY! 10 years ago

IN MY OPINION, THEY ARE THE BEST WE HAVE AT THE MOMENT. THEY HAVE PRIOR WCUP EXPERIENCE AND VERY ACTIVE FOR THEIR CLUBS. UNLIKE ERRATIC VORSAH AND BOYE

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

We don't necessarily need that. Our defends is a problem and those we have are all we have. Best thing is to enter each game with the right frame of mind with the players purposing to doe a little harder and we'll make our ma ...

• TUM 10 years ago

WE HAVE NOT SELECTED GOOD LEADRESHIP THAT IS WHY FOR 32 YRS WITHOUT TROPHE. SOME PLAYERS WE SELECT DONT DESERVE TO BE THERE. JUST LIKE AT CHAN , THE DEFENDS WERE EXCELLENT BECAUSE NON WERE SHORT SHORT PLAYERS LIKE AFULL AND I ...

• Rasheed.@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

"And we will make our mark". Are you quoting this out of patriotism or you are being realistic?.. Can our porous defence can handle Messi, Ronaldo and co?.

• mike 10 years ago

the world cup is only 4 months away so head coach kwesi appiah needs to step up his game choose the rigjht players toperform at the world cup this time round its not going to be easy even with usa we have not got any good str ...

• ofosu 10 years ago

yes we need john mensah nd olele for team

• KANAWU 10 years ago

WE DON'T NEED TO "TRIBALIZE" OR POLITICIZE IT. OUR DEFENSE CAN LET US DOWN IF WE DON'T SOLVE THAT PROBLEM BEFORE THE WORLD CUP. IT IS VERY WEAK. WE NEED STRONG TALL MEN WHO ARE FIT AND CAN BE ALERT TO TACKLE AT THE BACK.

• Paa joe 10 years ago

OUR WEAK COACCH CANNOT SEE THIS . OUR PROBLEM WOULD BE SHORT SHORT DEFENDER PLAYERS LIKE AFFUl, INKOOM, ETC. OUR CHAN DEFENDERS WERE TALL AND STRONG GUYS WHICH HELP AND CARRIED US TO FINAL.

• KANAWU 10 years ago

WE DON'T NEED TO "TRIBALIZE" OR POLITICIZE IT. OUR DEFENSE CAN LET US DOWN IF WE DON'T SOLVE THAT PROBLEM BEFORE THE WORLD CUP. IT IS VERY WEAK. WE NEED STRONG TALL MEN WHO ARE FIT AND CAN BE ALERT TO TACKLE AT THE BACK.

• Boss 10 years ago

How do you explain when you say our defence is very weak? How many goals did we conceive during the qualifiers? The topic here is leadership and not a weakness in the defence. I think we have one of the best defence in the wo ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

Haaa Boss, 25m coaches with difference ideas. From strikers problem to centre play-maker, then centre defensive leader as well as who should be our #1 goalie at Brazil?

Na Ghana coaches na waaaooo. The time for experimen ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

• mawuli 10 years ago

my friend stop trying to find touble when there is none; the blackstars will never have tribalism

• Ishaq Fulani (Niger) 10 years ago

NA TRUE WEY U TALK

• Arnold Felix 10 years ago

You are right, we need someone to do dat job, and it will be John Boye

• nii 10 years ago

this is a true statement.

• Zoiks 10 years ago

Good suggestion. I hope GFA will act fast to avert calamity at the world cup. I also hope that John Mensah or John Boye will recover before the tournament!

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

John Boye has fully recovered and featured for his reserve team two weeks ago and then played for the first team just last week. He will play again this week. He will get match fit well before June and will be the man to mars ...

• ab 10 years ago

what did you do in 2006 when given the chance? Pls shut up.

• Boss 10 years ago

Stop being silly my friend. If he was not mature in 2006, allow him to grow in 2014. If he misused his chance in 2006 does it mean he should not advise the young ones today?

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

They become good advisors as well,this is the ghanaian mentality we are suspectible to change therefore no one can change or give good advise becos that person is a failure,

• Ghana ba 10 years ago

You see, when you come on a social platform like this you need to mind your language and communicate intelligently. You need to communicate like an African who drinks soup. This is a place where we share ideas to make us a be ...

Why being so emotional the guy just said his piece as a contribution the fact that he didn't use any foul language is okay with me,you can't expect everyone to reason like you and that does not make him less of a human. there ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

lol

• Quaidoo 10 years ago

Kuffuor is right. We can still find one among the five

Leaders are made not find,the characteristics and qualities of a leadership role cannot be attained in 4 months prior to the world cup.

• Big Jay 10 years ago

I think Sammy Kufour is right. that was a good observation, and I think Kwasi Appiah is listening.

• joeitaliano 10 years ago

Osei Kuffour said it all , we really have problem in our defence. i dont think they can stand pressure from the world's top players .

• JETMONEY 10 years ago

u right man,and also needs a golly who controls the defense

• k.k 10 years ago

True talk!

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

Leave it to the coach, guys. It is the coach's call.

• Kwame Joe 10 years ago

Jerry Akaminko should be the one.

• Hawa Yakubu 10 years ago

Not only the defense position but how to score and penalty kicks. Penalty kicking is a mind game and it seems most Ghanaian players don,t have that mind when they are taking a penalty kick. They should approach each game with ...

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

A soccer nation like Ghana should remember that if John Mensah or any one better(IN SHAPE NOT JUST IN A CLUB) can do the job, go for him on this planet...at sochi Russians brought a retired skating champion to win gold what c ...

• Gigi 10 years ago

Let get our facts and figures right.
    Ghans won 6-1 in Kumasi and Egypt won 2-1 in Cairo, that is an aggregate winning of 7-3, not 7-2 as stated in the report.

• Abio 10 years ago

Well said ,like we see from all over teams both local n national. Command in defense

• t.t 10 years ago

keeper to save area balls too we don´ have

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

yes we do, Kwarassey will do that job with a little bit of support from the technical staff instead of them unreasonably and inexplicably supporting the undeserving Dauda. Kwarassey has the vote of 95% of Ghanaian football fa ...

• kojo Akortiah. 10 years ago

what is this man talking ?look this is a player who commited unforgetable mistakes in front of goal.

• KWEKU 10 years ago

Kuffuor, you are very correct

• Whatever 10 years ago

John Boye must stop running around in the shadows of Asamoah Gyan and step up to the plate. We need a powerful center back with his own focused personality to shoulder the back responsibilities left by John Mensa

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Boy has only played 1 full 90minute game all season. If you think this is all you need for him to be included in the brasil squad then I'm sorry for you. Our best and most experi nced defenders are Jonathan Mensah and lee Add ...

• Gavi 10 years ago

It's not "...step into the plate...," but rather "...step up to the plate..."

• ranky 10 years ago

LIKE U ,WHO SOLD GHANA TO ITALIANS FOR MONEY IN WC 2006.GET OUT

• Amada 10 years ago

Osei Kuffour was forced into the Ghana 2006 Black Star squad against the will of the then Serbian Coach, and he caused on own goal against Ghana in the match against Italy. Now, if Kuffour reallz wants to help Coach Akwasi Ap ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Any Black Stars Player Selected for the World Cup Should be Playing regular Football for his Club.Ghana Black Stars Coach Mr.Kwasi Appiah should select the Best,and Strong Defence,Midfield,and forward Players for the World Cu ...

• nanayawkabul 10 years ago

Keep quiet!
    You were the most experienced player on Germany 2006 and playing infront of your regular supporters.What did u do? First,swerved
    the shot that entered the net for first goal against Italy. I need not talk about ...