You are here: HomeSports2014 01 06Article 297014

Essien set to join Gyan at Al Ain

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Mikee 10 years ago

This is not good for our worldcupchances playing football in the Arab world is ok for the money but it not good for the profession

• JACK 10 years ago

Mikee..if only Essien will get more play time,it will help us (Ghana) in the world cup so hi have to go

• JACK 10 years ago

Mikee..if only Essien will get more playing time,it will help us (Ghana) in the world cup so hi have to go

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

The life of a footballer's legs is very short, sometimes. I am sure you see what numerous injuries have done to you at Chelsea. Please go to Al Ain and chop the $200,000 per week NOW. You are a good player and I dont think yo ...

• Wells 10 years ago

This your opportunity to have some play time and make some money for your future. As said already the legs of a footballer will not last forever and at your age think twice. European soccer is good but think of your future a ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

If Essien goes to exhibit the same kind of sluggishness as at Chelsea, he will soon be definitely heading for home.

In effect when you watch other players and compare Essien's movement to them, it's as if he is lazy. All ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

It's confidence. Essien lacks confidence. Didn't u see him wen he played for gh? Essien will be a new player at ac Milan. U will see

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What confidence are you talking about? Confidence in who? If you are talking about confidence in Morhino then you are right but Essien is not new in the Premier League to lack confidence in himself. The only reason why Essien ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

I TOLD YOU TO DO A FEW THINGS EACH MORNING..LIKE STAND INFRON OF THE MIRROR N RECITE..I AM A FOOL 200TIMES EACH MORNING. GO N DO THAT N COME BACK.
    IF U BENCH A PLAYER, AUTOMATICALLY THEY BEGIN TO LOSE CONFIDENCE IN THEIR ABI ...

I've promised not to insult you again because I now know you are a joke. Yes, we all know that this Al-Ain thing is a rumour at the moment because we are used to that here on Ghanaweb. Essien is an adult and will not lose con ...

• Ayarega 10 years ago

I like the way you called this idiot to his place without calling him names.Well I have not made any promises not to call you names,so Ghfou,stop being an idiotic fool.

KWASIA, UR NAME IS AYARIGA. NUFF SAID! GO N CHEW BISI/KOLA NUT. EVEN IF OSEI TAWIAH WERE TO CRUCIFY HIMSELF LIKE JESUS. HIS INATE STUPIDITY WILL NEVER BE WASHED AWAY, EVER! GYIMIE PROFIT!

• Ayarega P 10 years ago

GHFUO THE FAGGOT ,CUNT LICKER ,SON OF A BITCH ,GUN ,SUFFERHEAD ,ILLEGAL IMMIGRANT HIDING BEHIND THE COMPUTER WITH A FUNNY NAME IS IMMUNE TO INSULTS SO FOLKS LEAVE THE SICK BASTARD LONER ALONE .

WAT DO U KNOW ABOUT SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY? DONT U KNOW THAT CONFIDENCE IS THE NUMBER 1 INGREDIENT FOR SUCCESS, ESP AS AN ATHLETE? LET THE CONFIDENCE OF MESSI, RONALDO, LEBRON JAMES, ETC TAKE A DIVE AND U WILL SEE IT IN THEIR PERF ...

• kofi 10 years ago

I think it is time for him to leave. He knows he is good but the problem is that the new crop of players at Chelsea do not like him, they try to make him look bad by playing around him most of the time. Esien is by far more s ...

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

That is the only reason why he's a little bit cautious these days. Just observe how he goes into tackles now and during the Mourinho first era - starkling difference. Brother Mike, play the smart game and do not get injured e ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

I pray that this comes to pass. I know some of you guys will be thinking about Ghana instead but I'll call such people selfish. Essien's life comes first before nation. Ghana will not feed Essien when he's broke. Money first, ...

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor. 10 years ago

Sorry Busumuru POW, my hand just slipped when I was typing the comments. Lol. Any way Happy birthday to you.

Thanks mom. I guess you gave birth to me? Lol

• The Stallion 10 years ago

I wonder why some people are trying to discourage Essien from such a move, and are talking of Ghana. How many old players have the nation helped? If you die for Ghana, you die for nothing!

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I am like Rick Blaine, the cynical owner of Rick's Café Americain in the Casablanca movie when it come to Ghana football and Ghana in General.

Like Rick Blaine " I stick my neck out for nobody" my homeboy is too smart he ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Of late you have become stubborn, and I think When I have you flogged very well on your hard buttocks, you will change.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Na you sabi money. Lak I dey near you I go hamma ur head well well.I am not going to work with you and Mr.N when I am become the GFA boss,because You don't have the interest of Ghana at heart. Nkrumah will be turning in his g ...

• The Stallion 10 years ago

Did you answer the question I asked in my comment above before calling it "selfish comments"?
    You sef.

I sabi money well well. Give me 1 million dollars now, and you will see how I will ron from this wahala wey I dey insi ...

Nkrumah can somersault in his grave, who cares? Former Black Stars captain, the late Emmanuel Quarshie suffered before our very eyes and eventually died. He was even misdiagnosed etc etc. If he'd made enough money during his ...

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

What a fantastic comment Pow!!

• Anansethevillageboy 10 years ago

Essien is not our hope for WC; indeed he is one of Ghana’s Finest but sitting on the bench would not help his career or Ghana Black Stars. Our Captain and super striker play for Al Anin by the way. And if there is one pos ...

• papa 10 years ago

Please dont take ghanaweb's article seriously. they make up stories that never happen or even come close to happening. just stick to giving us information that is already proven and not speculations that havent even being tho ...

• ME-LONDON 10 years ago

I have personally lost trust in this web so i just read and forget about it.

• Di Carlo 10 years ago

just go for it,I dont think any top european team will gurantee you a first palec in team neither the salary you looking for when you are not at your prime,so just get the deal.

Essien is going to accept Milan to help them beat athletico Madrid.

• jimmy 10 years ago

When are going to start your post as black stars technical director.

I've already started

Hahahaha, Ghanaweb Black Star remote technical director. You are the funniest guy on earth. Sorry I used to insult you. Now I know I wasted my time. I will never insult you again, I promise.

I DEADED POW. I WILL DEAD U N UR SIDEKICK WATCHDOGG. MARK IT RIGHT HERE. I LEAVE NO PRISONERS

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

This is the best thing Essien can do as I suggested on the sports forum a few days ago. He should try and make extra money for the future as he's often injury-prone.

• CLEMENTHO 10 years ago

I will advice Essien to consider the clubs in Europe where competitive football is played and reject this offer. We need players who are regular and play a competitive football to face USA,German and Portugal in Brazil 2014

• NiiBi 10 years ago

what is wrong with doing what u luv doing and getting paid mega bucks?

i will jump at this in a heart beat.

• Londoner 10 years ago

Essien's age may not allow him to play competitive football anymore, he is not young anymore that's fact,
    (? 36-40 years)

I would rather consider Arab league for money or Turkish league.

Essien's current form may not ...

• Eric 10 years ago

I think Essien should ruuuuuuun to UAE and not look back if, they are willing to pay him that amount..... He played his best football at Lyon and even better at Chelsea...At his age he should be thinking about a retirement an ...

• Batigo 10 years ago

Master you are right, i side with you 100%, he should run and not look back. it will help the nation,his own mental development and can always move after the world cup

U think Essien needs money? He wants a challenge. Look at story and Drogba? Too many fools on ghweb.

• nii 10 years ago

do you need a Malaysia visa for only 400gh.waste no time call 0245886343 for details.

• warehouse 10 years ago

There are mixed feelings about this move, I always say , you need to work at where you will get sound mind and

enough support financially to do your best. if these element are good he should go. if not he should stay.

He is going to ac Milan, then Wcup. Then he will retire from gh bstar. N play in the Gulf or mls....

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

Do not give small money a chance Please join Al Ain be active for Brazil

• KOFI SEI 10 years ago

My advice to my younger brother is to go to the UAE and forget about the hustle and bustle of the Europee football you've had enough ,there is nothing more to achieve playing in Europe and take this if Gyan is staying at Al A ...

• HASSAN IBRAHIM 10 years ago

Mourihno gave a vivid insight into Micheal Essien's current form, eventhough he refrained from mentioning names. He granted an interview after Chelsea's FA cup encounter with Derby County; he told the press he needed more int ...

• Isaac Mensah 10 years ago

Good news. Charlie,its time to chop oil money. You are old and prone to injuries. Enjoy before you retire

• KOFI SEI 10 years ago

WELL DONE ASAMOAH GYAN ,YOU'RE A FRIEND INDEED . BABY JET 'SAA NA OPE'

THIS GUY WANTS TO PUT HIMSELF IN THE BEST PHYSICAL REGIMENT, EXERCISE BEFORE BRASIL N U WAN THIM TO GO N JOIN THAT AZONTO DANCER IN THE GULF? GYAN WENT TO AFCON 12, 13 N SCORED 1 GOAL IN EACH TOURNAMNT. U CALL THIS A STRIKER ...

• Daniel 10 years ago

If more playing time b a factor,then he does 2 leave for the benefitial of himself and the nation (Ghana)

• Chester 10 years ago

Pleaaaase essien run ,you r 31 years .think about UR retirement .run the fastest u can.oil money here I come.thanx Asamoah Gyan.

• BJ 10 years ago

Essien salary is the major factor. I'm a Nigerian but a crazy Essien fan, I want to see Essien playing regular football. Essien is not a bench player. He needs to be playing regularly. Italy or France will be better but if no ...

• foi kofi 10 years ago

grab it fast , prove your worth in UAE and chelsea will come back running after you with a bigger offer.

• Wanlov 10 years ago

It's B'ness. Get that money. You've played in EPL, FL, and La Liga. Now go and make that money. I will be glad

• karim 10 years ago

i think Essien can only join Asamoah if he wants to retire from international football.

• GYAN KANURO ALEX 10 years ago

I disagree. please braa Essien, is good you find a club at England to play. Because English league is the best to test yours performance in the world cup.

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

Nigerians will kill us.

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

GO GET THE MONEY DUDE, FA CUP ,PREMIER.LA LIGA.LIG 1.CHAMPIONSHIP..FUCK EUROPE AND MAKE 200.000 A WEEK FOR THE NEXT 4 YEARS..THAT'S A LOT OF MONEY TO BUY YO KE GARI

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

Oooo POOR GUY ,ELEVEN WISE SEF BOR YOU....BALGA STAR..

• moses 10 years ago

good deal dont let this go my man

• Angel 10 years ago

If this is true it bodes we'll. more play time in healthy hot weather, good for the body, acclimatises him to hot weather before brazil and him and gyan get to become fluent with each other's play. Perfect!

• Marty 10 years ago

Go get that money before you aged out Essien.

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

My caption here says it all - grab the money and ran. If you didn't know, now you know - go ask Asamoah Gyan.

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

With the CV you have, no need to prove anything to anyone again. Go get the money, bro.

• ALEXOO 10 years ago

Is great bt not yet