You are here: HomeSports2013 12 22Article 295951

4 Ghanaian players who could handle Ronaldo

Read Comments Comments (56)

• zebra 10 years ago

When was the last time inkoom played club football? We need essien in midfield

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THESE 2 ARE THE ONLY ONES WHO HAVE A CHANCE OF DEFENDING RONALDO. U HVE TO PLAY ZONE AGAINST CRO7. U HVE TO GET INTO HIS HEAD TO THROW HIM OFF HISGAME. THESE 2 MUST BE DONE. CRO7 IS FAST N MENTALLY TOUGH. HOWEVER, IF U CAN GE ...

• Alugu 10 years ago

Our defense should be solid. They must be able to outrun Ronaldo that's all. If he can run faster than our defense then we shall have a problem. That is why I keep emphasizing on stamina!

• Nokwarehene 10 years ago

Undoubtedly, no one person can handle this task alone but Akaminko seems to be the best we have.

• Alugu 10 years ago

Does he play left full back?

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Only a player with enough pace and energy can handle Ronaldo and for that Essien is out and Inkoom is too short and weak. Boye and Vorsah are my choices. Akaminko is good but I am not too sure about his pace. As for Opare, he ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

CRO7 WILL BE OPERATED PRIMARILY ON THE LEFT FLANK. SO GH NEEDS A CREDIBLE RIGHT BACK. IN MY OPINION, THE ONLY PLAYERS WHO CAN HANDLE HIM ARE OPARE, JONATHAN MENSAH AND ESSIEN. IF AA CAN USE THESE 3 AS RIGHT FULL BACKS AGAINST ...

• agosta 10 years ago

Whoever keeps writing this foolish article should stop this. This because ronaldo is not the only player on the pitch to be worried of,even if all the tactic will be elaborate around ronaldo. Ghanaian should rather think to f ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

I agree, very stupid article

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

Hunger can make one do anything stupid to survive.

• rard Kotanko Germany 10 years ago

Stop this nonsens and advice the player to stop interviews about WC.
    Better train hard a. be serious

• afrikan 10 years ago

Your analysis are good but we are NOT going to play against ronaldo alone. Also, he is NOT going to feature in all the teams we will meet on our way. Curtailing ronaldo alone will not guarantee we will win the match. He is ju ...

• IMPANIMFUO USA 10 years ago

how many cups did he win. if ivory coast were able to hold Portugal to a goaless draw at 2010 world cup , why not Ghana.am tired and sick of this shit mennn!

• Akamai 10 years ago

Essien is slow and old

• S. F. 10 years ago

I agree, Essien too old and too slow mark man to man. He should only be used as the last result.

• Kofi Babone 10 years ago

Na true true talk be that. Even when Essien was at his peak during his first spell at Chelsea, he struggled anytime he came up against Ronaldo playing for Manchester United. Now that Essien is much older and much slower, Rona ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

I would say that Essien is good to have for experience but he is certainly not a 90 minute guy for the World Cup. He should be a super sub. We need the energy of Rabiu Mohammed.

• Akamai 10 years ago

Essien is slow and old

• Skillful 10 years ago

Agosta God bless u!!

• Paul 10 years ago

Every footballer of clot in Ghana is old, haba! Let's concern ourselves of their performance and stop this age thing. In sports, the younger ones are there, but the older ones are still performing, even in boxing!

• Proud Ashanti 10 years ago

Gyan is equally dangerous. Thanks for looking at our strengths

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

Wharever the Black Stars do they must be very wary of Ronaldo and his childish pranks...simulation and faking/feigning serious injury when tackled by opponents to win a referee blowing for a sympathetic foul or penalty. Not e ...

• de do 10 years ago

t

• sas 10 years ago

I trump Opare and Afful either of them can handle him, we can win.

• Sundiate Kurumanguru 10 years ago

Inkoom sucks. He has caused Ghana three Championships.

CHAN2009 (DR Congo picked on him to score twice), AFCON 2010 (Gedo walked past him and Lee Addy to score the winner), AFCON 2012 (He gave the ball to the Zambians to ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

We might need big people in the back. Normal center backs might have to be moved to lateral defense. For instance, J. Mensah at RB. Center backs Vorsah and Boye. Left back Akaminko.

• ekomdeboy 10 years ago

I wonder if Ghanaian journalist can really write? Is okey to quotes from ones work but I find most articles here copy and paste from goal.com

• DANSO 10 years ago

I think Michael Essien and Harrison Afful will do for christiana Ronaldo. We can also try Daniel Opare, but I am not of Samuel Inkoom. Please let's be carful!

• Fiifi 10 years ago

John Mensah,Boye,Afful or Opare/Inkoom are my choices to man Any dangerous player we may face not just Ronaldo.

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

Ronaldo is only human. As long as a defender, (I don't care who) does not kick him down for a free kick or a spot kick, he can be handled.

• Adongo Johnson Kukurubini 10 years ago

Yes my brother,that`s surely going to be the problem! The guy is super fast and that`s why Essien can`t handle him. Any other assigned to him should be extra careful or else he is only going to be kicking him for a number of ...

• MOKO BELLY 10 years ago

FUCK RONALDO

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

Essien,Afful yes but others can't cope

• THEWHO 10 years ago

BOATENG can handly that

• Jiggy jiggy 10 years ago

Essien is by far our best Right Back. Opare is a red-card magnet, just see how this young kid Neymar had him sent off after 40 minutes. Then Inkoom is a benchwarmer in Ukraine, so don't expect magic from him either. And then ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

4 to 1 ? then you guys have a long way to go.

• pop 10 years ago

learn to comprehend dawg....they want ONE player out of these for to mark him. They never said all should damn. Loosing is part of the game so wassup

• ckaddai 10 years ago

Daniel Opare can never put Ronaldo in captivity.Essien would do.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Ghana Black Stars Should not Forcus or pay too much attention to Cristiano Ronaldo.
    Black Stars Should Prepare well and Play good football in Brazil,so that other Team in their Good will scare of Playing against Them.Black S ...

• kwame agyei 10 years ago

Could someone tell me how many goals has Ronaldo scored in world cups as compared to Asamoah gyan

• Sundiate Kurumanguru 10 years ago

You all have forgetting the European Champions League final Manchester United against Chelsea in Moscow a few years ago. Ronaldo easily beat and out-jumped Michael Essien for the fist goal for Manchester United.

Inkoom su ...

• Him 10 years ago

Did you call inkoom a player? Look for something else to write.

• Charles Amoakohene 10 years ago

Let's wait until May 2014 and see players who are available to choose one to do the work for us.

• lazy player inkoom 10 years ago

INKOOM IS WASTE

• osman 10 years ago

HARRISON AFFUL – Esperance is the best man to handle Cristiano Ronaldo.

• osman 10 years ago

HARRISON AFFUL – Esperance is the best man to handle Cristiano Ronaldo.

• kwasi Kakraba 10 years ago

it look as if we are afraid of Ronaldo. almost every day we talk of him why?

• Oswald 10 years ago

John mensah,john boye,jonathan mensah and inkoom can do dis if fully fit

• Skains 10 years ago

As usual, Ghanaians and talk and talk and talk. Instead of leaving the issue of Ronaldo to Kwasi Appiah and his technical handlers, Ghanaians have already starting talking more than is necessary - as if they're coaches thems ...

• lord 10 years ago

do you need a malaysia visa.waste no time call 0245886343 for details.fee is 400gh cedis

• Alhaji Pope 10 years ago

Tweeh pii...toh. To do what in this kyirewiah country of muslims?

• Naija 10 years ago

Joke of the month.

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Foolish. Is he the only player to watch?
    Ghana should go in cool, collected, train harder, focus a lot, and keep clam then all the matches shall be winning game. This a prophesy

• Norbert Nkrumah 10 years ago

It will really be cumbersome for ghana to handle c ro, but he will be beaten by ghana no mata wat. Thanks man. I dey your back. Essien can do the job perfectly.

• KELVIN 10 years ago

GUYS CHECKOUT 4 ESSIEN

• Reagan 10 years ago

Ronaldo's selfish ambition in his team that has been criticized by nani and some team mates sometime ago still persist and Ghana is gonna beat them.