You are here: HomeSports2013 06 28Article 278186

GFA defends decision to play Zambia on a Friday

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Mohammed Awuni 10 years ago

"...play a friendly before the final playoffs"

what if u lose to Zambia

• Alan Pee 10 years ago

What if we don't lose? This is what I call advance planning. We shd rather support a good decision to take advantage of all the days available for us.

Nothing should distract us from the Zambia game. That's more important than some useless friendly

• Slimzay **The Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

Read the article well Sir. "Ghana arranged to play Zambia on Friday, 6th September 2013, before taking on the Japanese four days later in a friendly game on Tokyo...."

This means Ghana plays Zambia on the 4th then takes on ...

• Slimzay **The Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

Actually the dates are supposed to be 6th and 10th but not 8th. thanks

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

we are moving the days up 2 days, which means 2 days less for practice

• The Stallion 10 years ago

At least in the Zambia game we are leading the table, that gives us a better chance. How do we know the result of the Japan game will help us in the seeding? A loss can drop us rather. However, without the Japan game, we can ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

It is only crooks like ugly Nyantakyie who think and behave like that. I bet you people that we will never qualify for the world cup!

Why do you blaspheme like this, my brethren? Do you expect Zambia to come and beat us here?
    And in the play-off, which of the unseeded countries do you think can prevent us from going?
    They are coming to open up here, and w ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Don't you know Rasheed anymore? Take it form me, The Stallion,we are not going to Brazil.Mark my words.

• sidder 10 years ago

rasheed I don't agree with u....not this time.when all our needed to qualify players are available.... shit Zambia.brasil here we come...GHANA!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This guy called Rasheed and the other idiot called GHFUO have no self confidence. They always try to transport their low self esteem to other people on this forum.

• KENNY A 10 years ago

GFA'S REASONS FOR THE LONG HAUL TRIP TO TOKYO TO PLAY JAPAN "IN A FRIENDLY" HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH FIFA WORLD RANKINGS BEFORE BRAZIL.

KWESI APPIAH AND NYANTAKYI (TYPICAL FREELOADING AKANS) JUST WANT A FREEBIE TRAVEL TO JAP ...

• POW@One goal project is over 10 years ago

FIFA will not take Ghana/Japan's friendly into account at all in the seeding. Stop the lies kwraaa ços they don't hold any water aba. FIFA from time past uses matches played in previous months to seed not matches played just ...

• Ama 10 years ago

That is the lamest excuse you can come up with, that is not the time to fine tune players, it is a time to recuperate.

How many players will be willing to travel to Japan after a difficult game with Zambia when pre season ...

• Ananga J 10 years ago

You are right my brother. We are behaving like were are already through to the play off stage. What good would it serve us if we lose to Zambia and clamor to play Japan? If Zambia were still leading I bet we would have backed ...

There is no way Ghana will not be seeded. learn how the FIFA rankings work before spilling this nonsense:

With the match against Japan coming just two days before FIFA makes its 12 September 2013 ranking public, Sannie Daa ...

• Samuel Adjei 10 years ago

Awuni do you know if we will plummet in the ranking? Have you witnessed how the raking swings? What about also the opportunity to give Appiah the chance to play friendly before the playoff? You just come on the internet and s ...

Even if we lose 10-0 to Japan, that will not in anyway drop us from 2nd in Africa to 6th

It's a friendly carrying very little weight.

• Kwesi 10 years ago

We're not saying Ghana should not play the friendly against Japan. But don't bring up some lame excuse about Fifa rankings. Ghana is currently ranked no. 2 in Africa, and 23 in the world. Algeria is ranked no. 5 in Africa, an ...

No one is against the game with Japan, but the argument about the rankings. People have forgotten that the world rankings boils down to the African ranking like you rightly said. Currently, we are second and September is just ...

• OGYAM 10 years ago

what we need at the moment is to qualify for the world cup,it doesn't matter if we are no.50 on fifa 's list.

FIFA has revealed that it will use its monthly ranking to be released on 12 September 2013 to decide which countries will be seeded for the playoffs. With the match against Japan coming just two days before FIFA makes its 12 ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WE HVE URUGUAY, MEXICO, HOLLAND, GERMANY, ARGENTINA, BRASIL, FRANCE, .....QUALITY TEAMS. WHY CHINA, JAPAN? WAT DO WE STAND TO BENEFIT FROM PLAYING SUCH TEAMS? SOMETIMES I DONT UNDERSTAND THE LOGIC OF THESE GFA PPL...

If we are serious, we will play an African team because our opponets in the playoff will not be from Asia

GFA takes us for fools

Awuni dummy! African countries will be playing in the World Cup qualifiers. Japan are already thru to the World Cup.

Africans will be playing in the qualifiers. Japan already thru to the World Cup.

According to GFA, we are playing Japan to prepare for the qualifier against an African team

why should we play an Asian side? we could have played a friendly against, say, south Africa

Do the countries you want Ghana to play keen on playing us? Japan are already thru to the 2014 World Cup. This shows you dont even know your onions

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

NAIJA JUST PLAYED MEXICO LESS THAN A MONTH AGO. WHO SAYS THESE NATIONS I MENTIONED ARE NOT KEEN IN PLAYING US? OFCOURSE THEY ARE. THE GFA HAVE TIMID BRAINS. IF WE R PREPPING FOR ZAMBIA, WAT IS THE SENSE IN PLAYING JAPAN? THEY ...

• Emmanuel Nyarko 10 years ago

I am Emmanuel Nyarko I think Akwasi Appiah to look when Ghana played Zambia the mistake they did and correct them before the match and I think Ghana will win if they do that.

• Opoku 10 years ago

Theyz no way we can lose to a #8 ranked team in Africa....we're the second best from CIV.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

JAPAN FRIENDLY IS NOT NECESSARY, ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE IS JUST A FEW WEEKS BETWEEN THE ZAMBIAN MATCH AND THE PLAYOFFS. AND JAPAN IS A LONG AIR TRAVEL FROM GHANA. IS JAPAN GOING TO PAY GHANA 100 MILLION USDOLLARS? WHAT A SHAME ...

Are you reading well. The match with Japan is after the Zambia match. The Japan friendly is the only match coach Kwesi Appiah can have to assess players before the playoffs which will be played in October and November. With n ...

• jb 10 years ago

You need to qualify first...Zambia can still beat ghana in Ghana... one game at a time... people...ok?

• jb 10 years ago

no competent manager makes such assumption... this is a critical qualifier and you thinking about and prioritizing friendlies...ITS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY.. WE KNOW THAT, GFA...BEAR IN MIND GHANA GAVE YOU THE OPPORTUNITY.. GHANA ...

WHat if you reach the playoffs and you are not prepared? Think deep

• jb 10 years ago

that playing japan is the only way to prepare black stars for friendlies... you are disappointing...

• Yamus 10 years ago

We need to focus on this match against Zambia. We shouldn't behave as if the game against Zambia is won already. The reason given for this friendly is dubious.

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 10 years ago

It appears the GFA's PRO is playing with words. Sannie must cite good reasons to rationalise this Japan friendly. He ought to know better. Fifa take only matches played in the previous month into account when deciding the ran ...

..and besides, a FRIENDLY with Japan will have minimal effect on our rankings, if we lose

we are 2nd in Africa and one match (even competive ones) will never drop us to sixth place

The spokesman for the GFA says the match against the Asians will offer coach Kwesi Appiah the only chance to play a friendly before the final playoffs to qualify for the World Cup.

Ibrahim Sannie Daara added that the match ...

Why travel 1000 miles to go play a friendly against an ASIAN side, while you can play under similar conditions that the qualifier will be played and play against an opposition with a simlar style, i.e. an African side in Afr ...

• Yamus 10 years ago

Awuni Japan is about 8,500miles away from Ghana

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 10 years ago

Mister Adjei, I am surprised by your assertions. I hope you are not counting your chickens before they hatch as brother Awuni is trying to make you aware. We are all praying that Ghana will qualify for Brazil 2014. But it wil ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Kudos for your comments bro. Some Ghanaians think Zambia is like playing Lesotho. I know Appiah is having sleepless nights because of that important match. This is a country that has beaten us twice and they a hard nut to cra ...

• Ruftop 10 years ago

How on earth could we conclude that we have beaten Zambia already? I thought AA said we will be planning/taken one match at a time. This is shocking to be thinking of the playoff when we have Zambia--former African Champions ...

So if you qualify for the playoffs and you are caught pants down whats the point for reaching the playoffs? The most important achievers are the ones who plan well no only for today but for the future too as well

• Kwasi 10 years ago

I am missing the logic in the reasoning of the GFA. The Black Stars need to qualify for the Play-Offs! That should be the only match they should be thinking of, not a friendly match to boost their FIFA ranking and possible se ...

• Ruftop 10 years ago

If lose to Zambia--which is possible what use will the rating be to us. Beside I do not think the friendly with Japan--even if we win will add any significant point to make any difference to our ratings. This is crazy and unb ...

• Yamus 10 years ago

These are the type of leaders we have and that is part of the reason why we are not making any progress. They make decisions with hidden and selfish agenda and try to convince us that it is in our interest. How can you cite b ...

• banana 10 years ago

Ghana, especially the GFA, is already counting her eggs before they are even hatched...and they have already started writing Zambia off, with the usual Ghanaian arrogance..."oh we'll beat them"...How does the GFA know that th ...

• jb 10 years ago

HE does not really care about the black stars or ghana...he has his personal budget planned..and needs the hard dollars....make sense

• ghanaman 10 years ago

AND IF GHANA LOST HEAVLY TO JAPAN WHERE WILL WE BE ON THE FIFA RANKING ON SEPTEMBER 12 ? ? ? ? ?

it will not move a needle. we will still be 2nd in Africa

1) Sept matches will not count in the rankings
    2) Friendly matches count for very few points

• charles 10 years ago

So if Ghana lose to japan and does not drop us in the ranking, how does a win going to raise our ranking?

• Whatever 10 years ago

Why is the GFA being forced to defend these noises about change in kick-off day. We should rather be interested in hitting 5 past that too-known Zambian goalkeeper and not dates. We should focus on the important thing

• MP 10 years ago

Count your eggs before your chicken . Common sense

• NORTHERNER 10 years ago

WETHER FRENDLY OR NO FRIENDLY MATCHES GHANA MUST BEAT ZAMBIA PERIOT

• Osei Kofi 10 years ago

The Zambia match is not cut and dry so why are we worrying about playoffs?. First, make sure you qualify before making plans for playoffs. Why does a million dollar organization like GFA act this childish.

• Dangerous! Terrritory!!!! 10 years ago

You already know desperate Zambia will protest for the points after the lose a Friday match. Unbelievable !!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

I agree with you to some extent. It sounds stupid to play this match on a Friday. But I still don't understand your point. Is it illegal for a match to be played on a Friday?

• savio 10 years ago

God have mercy on Ghana kwesi n his corrupt media man sannie will mess us up soon. g

• allotey 10 years ago

This mobe to play the japanese has complacency written all over it. How do we know we're going to the playoff?

• Paa Pee 10 years ago

How about if Japan beats them will that not affect their seeding too

• MP 10 years ago

So if Ghana does not win against Zambia, what importance is of the friendly against Japan let alone the play off. Common sense.

• Paa Pee 10 years ago

Everything is now luck and juju for Ghana Soccer. The fetish gods operate on Friday in Kumasi as oppose to Christianity on Sundays.

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

DEAD MAN NEVER STAND. A CROOK WILL ALWAYS BE A CROOK...JAPAN BRING HIMSELF WE FOR CHOP AM.....PS ...GFA, IF WE CAN'T BEAT ZAMBIA ,THE TEAM MUST WALK TO JAPAN FOR THE FRIENDLY NO FLIGHT FOR THEM....

• Ekow ,New Takoradi 10 years ago

Stupid Rasheed,what do you know about Ghana soccer.Nyantakyi is smart and better looking than all your fucking retarded family.

• Yaw Obiri 10 years ago

A second string team will do the job. Send K.Prince-Boateng, Dede, Jordan Essien, John Mensah, Pimpong and co. to justify their inclusion and at the same time make some cash for the FA.

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

What makes the GFA think that our beloved BS will beat Japan?

• Cromwell Yrami Azilah 10 years ago

As for me cromwell i suggest that the black star team must make sure to win the match between the Zambian. I wish black star good lock

• Kpakpo shito 10 years ago

We get more Points by Winning Zambia than Japo. Japo is no. 32 on FIFA. Plus a friendly Game. If we want Points we Must Beat Zambia in wc qualifiers then play a European Team which gives more Points because of FIFA Rating sys ...

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 10 years ago

YEYE DIE EHIA ANSA NA YAYE DIE FATA,JAPAN CAN WIN 10-0 WE DONT CARE BUT NOT THE JUJU ZAMBIANS NEVER EVER ON THIS PLANET,OTUMFUO AND PREZ MAHAMA WILL PLAY AGEINST ZANMBIAN, ULAI TALAI.ASEM ...

• Tutulapato....Obokor 10 years ago

Is the useless Gfa not going to say anything about the under 20s?After losing to France and Spain, we were told a good score against USA will qualify us.Now its Japan that will give us a good world ranking....Owo(cash)is what ...

• SAA-RA MENSA 10 years ago

THAT we will avoid tough nations when we play with Japan? Ghana, is toughest. Don't put the cart before the horse.

• GHANA 10 years ago

GHANA QUALIGY UNDER 20

• banana 10 years ago

Ghana has escaped elimination and will now face Portugal in the quarter finals.

• Mr talk true talk 10 years ago

That guy is the reason the level of soccer in Ghana has declined big time. Why would any FA plan a Japan friendly at such a crucial time in our qualifiers? Is ittoget some Japanese yen? The president of Ghana must send an aud ...

• Owuo 10 years ago

If you lose to Zambia, and then what is the value of the Fifa rank ,you are talking about? Foolish man.

• Asem Pa Asa 10 years ago

Why is the GFA assumming that Ghana will beat Japan and improve Ghana's ranking? Japan's team is not a walk-over. Moreover, in this modern age, it's foolhardy to under-estimate any country when it comes to soccer. Have we so ...

• Pintosh 10 years ago

Great strategy playing Japan after the Zambia game. It gives the coach the chance to assess how the returnees (aka Ayew, Ayew, Essien, and KPB)fit into the team for the playoffs if we qualify.Please try to see the positives r ...

• SIR EVANS 10 years ago

Should we loose to Japan will it boost our FIFA ranking?

• Uncle Sam 10 years ago

With this, how does one criticize our political leadership when they take unwise decisions. When judgment debt payment is authorised in autocratic fashion we complain. We're informed the FA boss made a one-man or at best two- ...

• TRUE GHANAIAN 10 years ago

ITS RISKY PLAYING ON A FRIDAY,A WORKING DAY ,THAT MEANS,PLAYING UNDER FLOOD LIGHT,THE LIGHT CAN GO OFF-IMAGINE THE CONSEQUENCE.DO WE LEARN AT ALL?

• Joseph 10 years ago

The Match is vry crucial for both the chipolopolo & da black stars of which a prediction cnt prevail.