You are here: HomeSports2013 02 19Article 265367

Ex-Black Stars player dies

Read Comments Comments (46)

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

RIP

• KWAME DANSO AYESU 11 years ago

Rest in Peace, captain of the Ho Technical Institute football team. I remember when you played for Togo against Black Stars, after you were sidelined by Ghana for reasons best known to the officials. We were 2nd year pre-tech ...

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

What? Only partly true!!! We at Mawuli School BEAT Ho Tech football team most of the time. We had late Pascal Mawugbe in the Goal post!!! Pascal is another RIP. (Died 3 years ago. Late President Atta Mills even at his funer ...

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

Most of you may not know who Pascal Mawugbe is. As a drama and performing arts Lecturer, he was winner of the BBC's International Radio Playwriting Competition 2009 with his play, The Prison Graduates. His play was selected o ...

• SHEMALE MAHAMA THIEF THIEF 11 years ago

HE PLAYED FOR THE TOGOLEESE NATIONAL TEAM,WAS HE A GHANAIAN AGAIN?

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Rest in peace Lugu

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Come on guys Amexo should be about 75. When I saw Amexo, he was the captain of Tema Cargo Handling team, with coach Walter Nyankah as their head coach in 1977. Their camping ground was about 200 yards from my home at site 17, ...

• Champ, Billings, MT. 11 years ago

This Guy featured for Togo in the 1971 debacle at the Accra Sports Stadium. I was 19 and he would have been 27 years old then. If you think he was 35 in 1971 and good enough to run with 20 year olds you have to be mistaken.

Why would any one age cheat back then? There were no Junior Teams not even the Satellites!!!!!!

• MB 11 years ago

RIP

• KK 11 years ago

May his soul R.I.P.

• Sir Kofi Mumui 11 years ago

Memorable days of Seth. RIP.

• Rabon Zee 11 years ago

He was five feet nine inches tall, little copper -coloured, small gap between his front teeth, looked as robust like Robert Koufie, has a dare-devil face and always had a mischievous smile. The fans called him Lugu, Nsiah, ...

• KWAME DANSO AYESU 11 years ago

Are you a past student of HOTECH? If so, which year and dept?

• Rabon Zee 11 years ago

Hello my brother ,I am not a past student of great HOLLAND TECH.

• owusu boaheng 11 years ago

may his soul RIP

• kwasi oyinasky 11 years ago

was he togolese or ghanaian? when it suits them they are togolese and when it suits them they are ghanaians. DAMN EWES!

• I & I 11 years ago

They are never loyal to Ghana. And for the record, Amexo never played for the Black Stars.

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

Cant you put Politics and Tribalisim aside?
    Did I not hear an Ashanti man playing for Ivory Coast and another playing for Burkina Faso?
    Have some decency at least for once!!!

• Kojo T 11 years ago

What of the one playing for Niger?

• KWAKU AFRIFA 11 years ago

For the benefit of the mourning of a great HOTOSAN, I am going to be light on you as a tribute to Seth Amexo. As a student from the Asante Region, I used pronounced his name Ame-xo, not Ame-ho, to the annoyance of my mates. I ...

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

You talking about 1972? Hahahaha The Mawuli School version of events is we sprayed acid on some of you:) Remember we have THE NUMBERS. Mawuli was over 1000 students with the 6th Forms. You guys were just 200 students. And ...

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

You think there are no Ashantis doing that same thing?

• I & I 11 years ago

Hey Mr. !!!!!Why so you think every Akan is Ashanti? The Ashantis must be your worse nightmare.

• ZORLKLALI 11 years ago

And why do you think every Ewe must be anti-Ashanti?
    The Ewes are your worst nightmare since you feel it is your birthright to DOMINATE Ghana.

• Africanus 11 years ago

Not everyone with Akan name is an Ashanti. Just in the same way people who call themselves John or David are not necessarily Europeans or even Jewish. In the same way people who call themselves Mohamed or Ali may not necessar ...

• ZORKLALI 11 years ago

There were NO issues to begin with. The Individuals ATTACKING Ewes here ARE the ISSUES!! I can name many "Ghanaians" who chose to play for other countries.

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

You guys must wise up. We live in the twenty first century, Asanteni, Ayigbeni, Nkrani, Hausani, where does tribalism it take us? You guys cannot have a descent platform of connecting for once as civilized people. Poor ignora ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

Correction:
    must read "where does tribalism take us." Sorry for typo.

• ZORLKLALI 11 years ago

But direct your questions to Ashantis who feel THEY must insult Ewes at any time.

• Bright Soul 11 years ago

R I P Amexo

• ANIM 11 years ago

IT WAS A RAINY DAY AT THE ACCRA SPORTS STADIUM TAHT SATURDAY AFTERNOON, I THINK IN 1971, AND IN THE DYING MINUTES OF THE GAME. EYES WERE RED, AS TOGO LED GHANA BY ONE GOAL FROM CAPTAIN APETI KAOLO. SKIPPER IBRAHIM SUNDAY OF G ...

• Sumanguru Kante 11 years ago

You know your football history! Togo had two goalkeepers all called Sylvester. One was 'Sammy' and he I think is the one you are talking about here. May the fallen brother rest in peace!

• Al Haj AAA RASHIID (OH. USA) 11 years ago

Sumanguru, was the Togolese goal stopper, not called Tony Sylvester?...OMG! Those were the days, football meant a lot to the average Ghanaian, with radio commentators like Joe Lartey....lol

• Al Haj AAA RASHIID (OH. USA) 11 years ago

Anim,I do remember that episode, but in your line up you stated KUKU Yawson as a player, but I think any KUKU that ever played for the Black Stars was KUUKU DADZIE, who was a central defender from Hassacas who finally ended u ...

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

But Kuuku Dadzie rather moved from Hassacas to Kotoko and came back years later, while Nketsia Yawson was also another product of Hassacas who later joined Phobia. Hope that settles well for you.

I remember this match very well as I was one of the shocked Ghanaians in the stands that fateful day.

• Joe 11 years ago

Yes I remember that match. The black stars for some reason could not raise their game. We were in shock!!

• Kojo 11 years ago

Efo Seth RIP. However your history remains as the only player in the world to play for two National Teams.

• Kofi 11 years ago

R I P

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

i hope the gfa are going to send delegaties to attend this mans funeral. he's done his job for his country .

• jb 11 years ago

It is an appropriate moment for GFA to honor a former Black Star player. In fact, GFA should support the family in the funeral arrangement and expenditure. This will make sense.
    However what Stephen Appiah is asking for suc ...

• CHARLES YEBOAH OBENG.USA 11 years ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace.I wish he lived a little longer. I hate to hear someone pass but I faithfully believe that it is appointed unto man once to die and after death,judgment.I pray that Seth knew his SAVIOUR bef ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

amen amen amen

• Joe 11 years ago

May he rest in peace. I have such good memories of this player of blessed memory.

• Richmond (Abigi) 11 years ago

Isn't he a Togolese? Ah ah ah......so if Adebayor dies what will happen?