You are here: HomeSports2013 02 12Article 264774

Was Coach Appiah In charge?

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Fulani Nima 11 years ago

This guy is not a good coach period. We need someone better to take over.

• moyo 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah was appointed by the firm and they are doing everything necessary to maintain as coach after it is proven that Appiah have no clue what coaching is all about. We shall see how the days ahead will determine our fa ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

When are we going to appreciate what we have and invest in it to be what we want it to be. We have depended so long on foreigners for our development and is high time we develop our own. Rome was not built in a day so we shou ...

• pk 11 years ago

My brother, I understand your point and that is what we all want. But look at this, AA has been an assistant coach for the blackstars for almost 10yrs. 2 world cups, 4 African cups and he said he is now building a team? Then ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA WILL KEEP THE AFCON CUP FOR THE NEXT SEVEN YEARS BEFORE GHANA EVER THINK OF SMELLING IT. WITH YOUR JUJU OR NO JUJU, WE HAVE THE POWER OF HOLY GHOST ON OUR SIDE, AND JESUS IS OUR KEEPER...AND HE WILL KEEP THE AFCON CUP ...

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

you have not even defended it and you are yabbing like this?
    See whether you can pass preliminary stage

• VICE RESSIEN 11 years ago

ghana had many quality players, but due to nonconformity to GFA bribery, there were not selected. simple as that...

which team in africa can do without essien, prince boateng, quincy abeyie, frimpong, mutari, kumordze, adi ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

APPIAH IS NOT INTELLIGENT IN THE LEAST BIT. IF U THINK IM LYING, GO N PLAY CHECKERS OR CHESS WITH THE GUY. U WILL SEE HOW FILTHY DUMB HE IS. HE BELIEVES IN THINGS HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND. HE MAKES EMOTIONAL DECISIONS. HOW CAN ...

• ghanaman 11 years ago

b'cos he is not from your stupid ewe's tribe mad man leave him alone he is better than your former coaches

• mike nugba 11 years ago

Good point, but l believe that good performance shd be the criteria for selection rather than bribe.Who at all can expose this bribery if it exists.
    Someone shd tell Anas Amere Anas to save Ghana football bcos it hurts so mu ...

• kotoko 11 years ago

then start investing in ghana football too

ROME DIDNT USE UNINTELLIGENT PPL TO BUILD ROME. IF THEY HAD, ROME WOULD STILL BE REBUILDING AS WE SPEAK....MARINATE ON DAT...
    AA HAS BEEN DEPUTY COACH FOR ALL THESE YRS. WASNT HE PART OF THIS REBUILDING? CALL A SPADE A SPADE ...

• mr naro 11 years ago

i understand u; but u should kn that u can choose coach from everywhere to coach ur team. wich all the countries do. u shouldnt say we should appreciate appiah for his inexperience coaching cos he is from ghana.

• NANA 11 years ago

Well for once the writer is right in saying that Appiah did not author this letter. The reason being that part of the letter says that " I ordered for him to be contacted over his absence but he said he could not depart from ...

Ghana really did not play well in all of our games under A APPIAH. IS TIME TO CHANGE COURSE FOR BETTER.

• appiah papa 11 years ago

learn to appreciate your own. look at nigeria now. everyone was against Keshi but he produced results. he dropped indisplined players like martins and odemwinge. people condemed him but he delivered. It is good that he has re ...

AT LEAST BEFORE Appiah the black stars performance was great. Appiah has reduced the black stars into an absent team, they play as if there not there.

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

no their performance last time around at Gabon was not great. Just mediocre. The trend will continue until we field our most skillful and bet players, including Muntari, Essien, Q. Abeyie, Jordan Ayew and Andre Dede Ayew, plu ...

• joe pinto 11 years ago

be open minded and realistic, Nigeria were improving game after game, whiles Ghana with all the help from referees and fake penalties we were playing bad, besides Akwesi Appiah has been an assistant coach under 4 foreign coac ...

• pk 11 years ago

Please stop comparing apples and oranges. Take a look at Keshi's CV. the guy invested in himself coached other teams and even in other countries. What has AA done apart from being given blackstars assistant coaching job on a ...

l agree with u that Appiah or a Ghanaian shd be in charge of the team.
    But discipline shd not be selective,it's wrong to make Gyan the captain after self-imposed exile. All players are equal b4 the rules of the game and the ...

• mumu 11 years ago

is seeing my doctor for treatment indiscipline?the experience gained over the years by Dede and an unbiased local coach could have made a difference.Anyway an experienced coach should be able to manager all types of players ...

Congratulations to the Nigerian Super Eagles for winning the 29th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. Let me also take this opportunity to give credit not only to their coach Stephen Keshi, but the players who did it as the ...

You're right. Indiscipline, bribery and corruption is killing Ghana in all spheres of life. But who will bell the cat? Which player will sacrifice himself on the altar of truth and expose the rot-nuts in Ghana football who en ...

Congratulations to the Nigerian Super Eagles for winning the 29th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. Let me also take this opportunity to give credit not only to their coach Stephen Keshi, but the players who did it as the ...

• Ekow Baffou Eburay, California 11 years ago

Hello,
    Appiah Papa, I share your sentiments and certainly do not have any disagreements with your well thought out observations. However, one does not go to war leaving your best generals and big guns at home; likewise you ...

JUST PLAY DAME/CHECKERS WITH HIM AND SEE HOW SMART HE IS. WABON S3 S3K3 ARMPIT....WABON S3 KWAME VI ARMPIT. HOW MANY OF YOU KNOW OF KWAME VI? AT ST JOHNS....

• guru 11 years ago

Ghana vs Congo:
    congo came back from 2 goals down to put us under pressure. Dauda made a terrific stop to a low shot which could have given DRC the win, Ghanaian fans started praying for the 2-2 draw. whew! games ends 2-2.

• blackchild 11 years ago

ghana will soon go relegation

• ABDULAI ABU DAWUDA TAMALE 11 years ago

wuwah yes Appiah in charge b,cos he was incapacitated to use the players in fact how can u remove ur key player from the field n u are expecting to win a match.

• wilson 11 years ago

we don't have quality in depth. compare the capability of nigeria's ambrose at the right full back to either afful or paintsil's output and it will tell you that we didn't have quality in depth. before a team becomes winsome, ...

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

We must have a mixed technical and well experience men to handle the BS.Selection of prayers for each game was Appiah's down fall.

• iddris issahaq 11 years ago

Yaaawa coaach

• Natural Mystic 11 years ago

I could not help laughing when a Nogerian pal of mine observed during our semi-final against Burkina Faso that "eeeeh na waooooooooo so so Ghana dey get free penalty left, fight, centre and forward. Ibi like say for una, no p ...

• schywe 11 years ago

The coach wont be sacked for one reason...GFA is the main problem.....If they sack the guy cans of worms will be opened...so guess what they rather let the under-delivering coach stay to cover up their shame

• ben 11 years ago

Well! well! we did not get all fit players in the BlackStars Camp whiles Dede was rather fit banging in goals on the other end. The Man was not in charge and can never be in charge, period

• ben 11 years ago

I just cannot see how AA will succeed going forward with all these critisms breathing down his neck. We need a fresh coach, AA has retrogressed our football. I have never watch a Ghana team playing with so much gittery and un ...

• jak 11 years ago

The coach said he decided to use only those players who were fit at the time. Tell me what was wrong with Anthony Annan and Boakye Yiadom who didnt take part in the six games?

• charlie 11 years ago

Appiah can do it Rome was not built today

• pk 11 years ago

Yes we know Rome was not built in a day but from the foundation being layed, you can tell if the building will be strong or not. "Agro besoa efri anopa". Ghanaians will not have problem even if they had played decently and lo ...

• NNAA 11 years ago

NO WONDER THEY WANT TO KEEP HIM FOR THE WORLD CUP. ISORRY FO GHANA OO

• YAW 11 years ago

IT´S EQUALLY IMPORTANT TO THAT OF BLACK STAR PLAYERS .THE TOP 3 COACHES PREMIER LEAGUE COACHES MUST BE GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY .ALSO THEIR TEAMS PERFORMANCE IN CAF COMPETITIONS MUST BE CONSIDERED.THIS WAY GHANA SOCCER WILL GO ...

• Kwaku- Ba 11 years ago

I am now convinced that some Ghanaians have poor judgement.
    Akwasi Appiah did not have big stars to take the Black Stars to where we all desire!

• VICE RESSIEN 11 years ago

ghana had many quality players, but due to nonconformity to GFA bribery, they were not selected. simple as that...

which team in africa can do without essien, prince boateng, quincy abeyie, frimpong, mutari, dede ayew, ku ...

• COMMON SENCE 11 years ago

APPIAH HAS BEEN ASSISTANT COACH FOR YEARS. coaching requires intelligence,visions, technical skills,communication skills,competent,and ability to read modern soccer.appiah has NONE.....

• K. Adom 11 years ago

I dont get this 1)Dede was given a deadline and could not meet it and as such AA was 100% right to drop him we want a discipline team and as for Essien he is just not available not that he was dropped frm the team.
    Sunday ol ...

• pk 11 years ago

The problem with AA is that he had always been a local player. He was trying to make a point that local palyers are better than the well known players abroad since that has been one of his problems since his playing days. But ...

• selira 11 years ago

Our Nigerian brothers are telling us the truth but the GFA sticked to keeping appiah.What a shame on GFA

• K.B.HOLLAND 11 years ago

WE DON'T NED YOU AGAIN

• Okoto 11 years ago

I want a local coach to lead Ghana Black Stars all the way to the World Cup, but before we do that we have to change the way we play our system. We have to play 4 5 1 formation. Because the Black Stars team doesn't have strik ...

• J. O 11 years ago

Were Essien, Dede or Kevin Boateng interested in playing? We don't want the Abedi Pele and Tony Yeboh problems anymore. We need peaceful, committed and discipline players in a national team of this nature. One player's bad be ...

• jb 11 years ago

i agree with you people are shortsighted and have short memory...but the only problem with AA was maintaining Gyan as captain...he was underperforming as a striker..if there was one player responsible for ghana's loss it was ...

• Counsellor 11 years ago

Mr or Mrs Author, there is a song in one of the Northern Ghana languages in which part of the words say 'if somebody hates you, even when you are swimming, he will accuse you of throwing sand into his eyes'.

I think the re ...

• Tax man 11 years ago

Please people of Ghana,Appiah is not a good coach.We need a better one not this big fool called coach.

• Obiba 11 years ago

Can we be reasonable and appreciate the man's effort? He got 4th place among the among the many African countries. Some could not even come to South Africa at all. He is paid far less than the foreign coach yet he got this fa ...

U THINK GBSTAR IS A MEDIOCRE TEAM LIKE NIGER OR SUDAN. TO ACCEPT 4TH PLACE 2WICE IN A ROW? ARE U LISTENING TO URSELF? HOW MEDIOCRE ARE YOU? GH GOES TO EVERY AFCON TOURNAMENT TO WIN THE TROPHY, NOTHING ELSE. WHO FORCED AA TO C ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

Whaaaaat? You dont know seventeen? That was his name, Maxell Konadu, the assistant coach of blackstars. Can he do the job? My answer is he needs a lot of courses abroad. Coaching does not mean that a former player can do that ...

U MAKE ME LAFF AFTER READING UR POST. ASK URSELF THE SAME QUESTION BUT WITH AA IN MIND. U DUMB FOOL.U DONT EVEN KNOW WAT TEAM KONADU HAS COACHED, HIS RESUME BUT LOOK AT YOU SHOUTING OFF LIKE A FAT PUSSY PROSTITUTE?!...LOL

• Maestro 11 years ago

There's no way a good for sighted coach will drop an experienced senior player like John Mensah for example, who did his job well in his time for untested new comers like Jerry Akaminko for example. Kwasi got a job that was t ...

IF AFTER 6 YRS AS DEPUTY U CANT HANDLE ANYTHING AS HEAD COACH. THEN WAT SOURCE OF HELP WAS AA TO MILO AND PLAVI AS A DEPUTY? NO WONDER MILO AND PLAVI FAILED MISERABLY. BCOS THEIR RIGHT HAND MANN AKWASIA WAS DUMBER THAN A DOOR ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

Even arriving on Saturday wouldn't have made Dede Ayew 100% fit. So GFA & Coach Appiah were up to something fishy against the guy.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

What Essien is this man Sunddy Oliseh is talking about? Do want to keep yourself happy because Nigeria won the cup, fine. But don't talk about including Essien on the squad of Ghana Black Stars, we are done with Essien play ...

• mumu 11 years ago

you and who?

• EVANS YAOKUMAH 11 years ago

was anthony annan,boakye yiadom and co fit?stop throwing sand in our eyes.do the FA want to tell us that boakye yiadom is better than jordan ayew?stop the jokes GFA.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

So now these against people are willing to use the rumor from Nigerian coach to crimalize Akwasi Appiah!

• jb 11 years ago

GEE...

• jata-nyc 11 years ago

KWESI APPIAH DOES NOT HAVE ANY FOOTBALL CREDENTIAL AND PROFESSIONAL SENSE TO LEADER. Simply,put Kwesi appiah is leaderless

• Fred Clottey 11 years ago

What Kwasi is saying is a lie, because even if the player comes on Monday he would not have train with the team due to the injury. Kwasi has a bad thinking about the Ayew brothers. His selfish nature has course the whole Nati ...

• ben stone 11 years ago

make we send am home pls, he no no anything, you wey dey lead 1. 0 and you go come a defender put midfielder, what cana coach be dat, i bet make we fire am. now we need unknown coach like me ben stone, a nimanian born,ciao vo ...

• ben stone 11 years ago

make we send am home pls, he no no anything, you wey dey lead 1. 0 and you go come a defender put midfielder, what cana coach be dat, i bet make we fire am. now we need unknown coach like me ben stone, a nimanian born,ciao vo ...

• kwame asante 11 years ago

This is not Coach appiah statement.I can see Saani Dara in this statement.The FA must be ashame of themselves for this pertinece and shear enviness.

• Ekow 11 years ago

In line with my vision of taking only fit players for the Africa Cup of Nations, I have decided to work only with the players currently in camp.

But Richmond Boakye Yiadom was also injured but taken to SA.

• ERIC- Akosombo 11 years ago

SHAMEFUL AKWASI APPIAH.INCOMPETENCE AT IT PEAK.WASTEFUL AKWASI APPIAH LEAVE BLACK STARS FOR US. GO GO GO GO GO OUT.

• jb 11 years ago

what was AA to do? blame the ungrateful ghanaians, fucking dede was throwing tantrums because his younger brother was not invited, what was AA to do?

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 11 years ago

i am no longer commenting on my boys.pls.help me kwesi appiah is getting on my nerves thank you.

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

The whole establishment is corrupt.The Black Stars today is tainted with bad politics,influence and bad spirit.There are lobbyist sitting on the sidelines pulling strings on who should be on the team etc.The Black stars of to ...

• Stranded voter. 11 years ago

But AA you still sent unfit players to the tournament. What was Annan doing on the bench?

• Kae 11 years ago

mr.akwasi appiah must stay,he is good lets keep him.you cant blame a coach if someone kick pernaty and spoil it.only people who dont understand the game would do dat.this is his first exp.all is good 4 him to be a better coac ...

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

There was nothing wrong with the players.They all did their best,
    The problem was the technical team at the field They lacked the ability to read the game and make changes that were very necessary
    With poor midfield there w ...

• Edward Ansah-Addo 11 years ago

Akwesi Appiah is the best coach we have had but for the fact that he is a Ghanaian The FA is manipulating him. If they give him the free hand to operate the senior team will be a force to recon with. The other game the FA is ...

• JOEDUSU@YAHOO.COM 11 years ago

HIS BODY LANGUAGE ALONE TELLS YOU HE IS NOT IN CHARGE. HE DOES NOT EXUDE ONE BIT OF CONFIDENCE. JUST TAKE A LOOK AT HIM ON THE TOUCH LINE. PROPER MUMU COACH JUST ENJOYING SALARY. NOTHING MORE. ANY COACH WHO COME TO RELY ON AS ...

• Haruna Mubarak 11 years ago

This coach should be fired without second thoughts.