You are here: HomeSports2013 02 12Article 264738

Ghana will not qualify to World Cup

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Captain Cob. 11 years ago

Well said man! You have a point.

• jak 11 years ago

I am also thinking the same way. Just imagine what he was able to do with the satelites?

• Alugu 11 years ago

I have the impression our players and their technical handlers believe more in the use of Mallams, Juju and those kind of things more than using their talent and skill to win matches. It is obvious that one cannot find reason ...

• deberu christopher 11 years ago

Ghana will perform where we do not have hope gh. and AA wil surprise the doubtin Thomases.

• kosh 11 years ago

can u shut the fuck up,this man is a fool,he even looks like a fool,we need someone to command respect in the dressin room,.s.one the players can look up to,someone not only ghana can look up to but the whole world looks up t ...

• LUCKY DUBE 11 years ago

SELAS TETTEH IS THE CORRECT MAN FIT FOR THE JOB.

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Leave the coach alone!!!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Raymond Yeboah next time you are going to write one of your nonsense do us all the favor by doing a better research Akwesi Appiah was no assistant to Milovan when we tasted defeat with Zambia. Milovan was long gone.

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WA BOB..HE SMELLS PASS KWAME VI'S ARMPITS. WA BON PASS MECHANIC ARMPITS......TWEAAAA. WATS THE POINT OF QUALIFYING TO WCUP N SPENDING ALL THIS MONEY WE DONT EVEN HAVE? WE SHOULD STAY HOME AND WATCH IT ON TV. GH WILL LEARN SOM ...

• The Insider 11 years ago

Check your record well, Akwesi Appiah was the assistant coach during the AFCON 2012 when Zambia first beat Ghana and beat Ghana against during the world cup qualification when Appiah was the coach

• Fulani Nima 11 years ago

Ghana may not even qualify for any games in this world unless there is a big change from GFA TO THE COACH, PERIOD.

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Is for you to change your mind!!

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinim 11 years ago

It's not always about Kwesi Appiah, those Ghanaian football dancers and their funny hair styles are one of the major factors . Their sole mission is to go to international arena and demonstrate how best they can dance on socc ...

• sammy 11 years ago

the Acan and kotoko black stars.

• ROCKET 11 years ago

He will qualify us!!!

• Ama Sekan Kesseh 11 years ago

Well , Well, Well - Mr.Raymond Yeboah ,Ur assessment critical might be correct yet u know Coaches do not win matches by facial gesture -- it's technical conditioning & strategy on the field & the ability of the team to perfo ...

• Nii-Acquaye Danquah 11 years ago

BOTH KWESI APPIAH AND MAXWELL KONADU CAN NOT DO THE JOB.THEY HAVE TO GO BACK TO THE BUSH TO TRAP OBISHI LIKE THEY ARE DOING BEFORE

• joe pinto 11 years ago

obishi or bayla, Akwesi Appiah is not a born winner, he has been an assistant coach under 4 foreign coaches, oh Lord the guy is just clueless

• ROCKET 11 years ago

He won the all African games!!!

• Kofi Nkrumah 11 years ago

Yes i agree withu my brother, how can a player we all know can handle ball dribble and run with it like KOJO ASAMOAH be put on number three position whiles we deffenders sitting on bench, how can a coach ch ange his penalty e ...

• Oneneba 11 years ago

Kofi Nkrumah did you know Clothey is the number one Stracker in Africa. African Champion league goal king? Leave Kwasi alone

• kosh 11 years ago

he is right,wot is ur problem,do u think callin all this new players was doin ghana a favour,wiv a ghanaian coach,wiv a local coach its all about how much u got,most of all this new players have got agents in the fa,so he tri ...

• Kofi Nkrumah 11 years ago

Yes i agree withu my brother, how can a player we all know can handle ball dribble and run with it like KOJO ASAMOAH be put on number three position whiles we deffenders sitting on bench, how can a coach ch ange his penalty e ...

• wilson 11 years ago

from the demeanor of kwadwo asamoah on the field it appears he is more comfortable @ the number 3. in fact he has come out to declare that. in my estimation he is more in the game at the 3 position than forward. he hardly han ...

• kosh 11 years ago

would u shut up fool,thats wot footballers do,hes not goin to say hes not happy where he is playin,not wen the tournament is still goin on,every match he played left back we got beaten,wot does that tell u!

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Ultimately, K Asamoah is more comfortable coming up from the overlap as a left back. He exhibits much more confidence. He is a great player but he is not someone who is going to score when the pressure is on. He is more li ...

• wilson 11 years ago

it was obvious

• Samuel Asante 11 years ago

You need to get your facts straight, Sudan lead the group in the World Cup Qualifiers with 4 Points Ghana in second with 3 Points and 6 goals before Zambia in 3rd with 3 points. So cut the crap and report what is real to the ...

• appiah papa 11 years ago

Zambia leads the group with 6 points. Sudan lost the points to Zambia who were awarded 3 points and a 3-0 win.

• ROCKET 11 years ago

We have a bigger goal difference and the last game is at home!!

• Me4U 11 years ago

Samuel Asante, if you do not have REAL and CURRENT FACTS, don't go after anyone. You are now the chicken that got thrown into the crocodile pond.

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

zambia is leading in the group, oga

• appiah papa 11 years ago

Congratulations to the Nigerian Super Eagles for winning the 29th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. Let me also take this opportunity to give credit not only to their coach Stephen Keshi, but the players who did it as the ...

• Fulani Nima 11 years ago

Appiah Papa, you are so wrong, calling for APPIAH to be sacked does not mean calling for a foreign coach. Appiah is not the only local coach, therefore, i am calling for AppIAH TO BE SACKED AND BE REPLACED WITH A MORE CONPETE ...

• Me4U 11 years ago

This is not about getting a local or foreign coach. This is about getting a coach who can really COACH. We need a good, experienced and well-tested coach. In our excuse to get a local coach, the GFA made the rather unpleasant ...

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Go back to your native Niger APE!!!

• ike 11 years ago

i think Mr Appiah can deliver for our country, please give him a chance and trust him. with our support he will make ghana and local coaches proud. 16 teams went to afcon and we were fouth, someone had to win, we did well.

• KOFI - USA 11 years ago

MR YEBOAH YOU HAVE YOUR OWN OPINION AND YOU ARE ENTITLED TO IT. HOWEVER, YOU ARE WRONG THAT WITH APPIAH ON THE HELM GHANA WILL NOT QUALIFY. WE HAD FOREIGN CACHES FOR A LONG TIME YET DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE WORLD CUP. THAT WI ...

• DR. AMPONSAH 11 years ago

I THINK KOFI HAS HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON THE HEAD. YOUR RESPONSE IS PATROITIC AND THESE ARE THE LEADERS OF THE FUTURE NOT THOSE LIKE RAYMOND THAT EVERYTHING IS BAD EXCEPT WITH THEM. WHAT HAS RAYMOND ACHIEVED IN FOOTBALL. KWASI ...

FROM WAT I HAVE SEEN FROM APPIAH. IMSORRY GH WILL NOT QUALIFY TO WCUP. FROM WAT I HAVE SEEN OOO. HW3, AA HAS BEEN DEPUTY FOR 6YRS, NOW LOOK. LOOK AT THE ELEMENTARY MISTAKES HE MADE AS COACH AT AFCON 2013? THE COACH IS RESPONS ...

IM AGAINST GH! WAT AN ABOMINATION! GH IS FINISHED KOFE KOFE KOFE....
    NYANTAKYI N APPIAH MUST LEAVE NOW OR BE ASSASSINATED. EMPOWER TONY BAFFOE FOR GFA HEAD, DESAILLY OR KONADU FOR COACH.
    U 2 IDIOTS HVE NOTHING MORE TO OFFE ...

• blackchild 11 years ago

apioia must be sacked

• wilson 11 years ago

qualifying for the world cup has become a very tall order because zambia has virtually been given 3 points on a silver platter. This means that ghana must win the 4 remaining matches and beat zambia more comprehensively.
    i d ...

• george kumi danquah 11 years ago

kwasi is hungry for money but u and i know that this man cant even coach any team in ghana.i said b4 he was appointed that this black man will destroy the team.he has know charisma and notin.kojo asamoah in number three?

• ROCKET 11 years ago

You are a FOOL!!!!

• iddris issahaq 11 years ago

Well said my brother i fully support that change of position lets put maxwell as head coach kwasi to assist him coz maxwell is coach who will always play the right players n win no matter how much pressure u give him

• denn 11 years ago

not until we desist from age cheating, the national team(BS) can never win any crucial tournament.My point is.1.most of our players are smaller than average because of our practices of age cheating. we take an older individua ...

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Mali, Niger, and Chad are tall Ghanaians are midget... I am 6 foot 3 and not many Ghanaians are as tall as me!!

DO U REALISE HOW STUPID UR COMMENTS SOUND? ARE U GH? U MAY NOT HVE SEEN TALL GHPPL THEN. U ARE A NAIVE FOOL. I KNOW MANY NAIJA PPL WHO R BELOW 5FT....WAT IS HEIGHT WITHOUT COMMON SENSE OR MONEY? HOW TALL WAS GEORGE BUSH? HOW ...

• wilson 11 years ago

not until we desist from age cheating, the national team(BS) can never win any crucial tournament.My point is.1.most of our players are smaller than average because of our practices of age cheating. we take an older individua ...

• Ismo 11 years ago

À word to à wise is enough

• Selasi 11 years ago

I agree with you 100%. This guy doesnt seem to learn from past errors. After watching the match against Cape Verde, I thought he would make personnel and tactical changes against B Faso. Rather, he repeated the same mistake, ...

• one man soldier 11 years ago

If the W/Cup is played by mouth, i think BS will be winning it every 4 years. BS is too mouthy, boasful and arrogant. For God sake which Team still dances after a goal (dancing after a goal scored is no longer in vogue in Soc ...

• ben 11 years ago

You have a point, AA has been given so much chance than any young Ghana coach. He has been assistant for a number of years and was at prestigious tourneys and yet...nothing to show by way of his coaching decisions.

• tjboat 11 years ago

mate you are 300% right and you know the game ,its a an old fashion coach, and you can tell when he wear the suit on the touchline, GFA please remove him

• ROCKET 11 years ago

APE!!!!!!

• Kwaku Spain 11 years ago

I strongly believe Kwesi Appiah is not fit for the job and his holding on to it means Ghana can not qualify to go to Brazil or will get no where even if Ghana qualifies.

• DR. AMPONSAH 11 years ago

Dear Raymond,

I think Kwesi must be credited for making some good decisions as well. A semi-finalist in a tournament with 10 debutants is no mean an achievement. Kwesi made some mistakes no doubt but at the given circumsta ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Reaching the semi-final in any competition by itself is not a failure. The writer makes it to look like there is a pattern: Losing to Mali twice doesn't make it a pattern; in other words, twice does not make a pattern. You ca ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

...3 points Zambia got on a silver platter...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

The fact is we did not to South Africa to play for third place we went there to win the cup and failing to win the cup took the wind out of our sail. I am for results and I am ready to sign off on Akwesi Appiah's second chanc ...

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

NancyTex,
    You do no such thing!!!!
    Listen to your self speak.
    "We did not go to SA to play third place but to win the cup.

Did SA host the game in favour of losing in the group stage?

How about Drogba and his men? A ...

Dis na nyansa talk paa.
    "A seed of disunity" culled.
    "manson bO kuro"

Can we have some more to diffuse mind as to how and why, OOPS! even though the Governor had banned Vodka in the AFCON transaction, a Stallion has secr ...

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Just go kill your self fool!!!

• william 11 years ago

I gree to this Akwasi should step aside for Maxwell

• OYaw, USA 11 years ago

For all the analysis you gave about the not-googd-enough technical skills of the head coach K. Appiah were worth for food-for-thought. However, it seems to me that you lack technical observation skill after all. The reason be ...

• Ga 11 years ago

GFA have to give this national team to Mohammed Polo ..He is a good coach....

• francis 11 years ago

it seems the stars are more serious to comic events than the actual purpose to which they are sent to any tournament,example david dontoh use to organise a program called agro fie where the stars enjoy themselves which makes ...

• lexxy 11 years ago

good thoughts, i hav as well been checking on Gh's chances of making it to the world cup, i really dont see Kwasi's tactics, Zambia has defeated us twice n so is Mali, this cant continue.. i think Kwasi is not strong tactical ...

• Podo 11 years ago

get kwasi appiah out from there

• Tom Bulu Kuuku 11 years ago

Ghana is NO 1 in juju but anytime we lose a game we blame the opponent for using juju. Instead let,s admit that our coach is inexperience and our players sub-standard

• IBRAHIM YOUNG 11 years ago

You talked well. A.A must be confined to the dust bin.

• aziz 11 years ago

the person who wrote this thing is mad

• Tax man 11 years ago

Yes yes yes yes

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

merci beaucoup

• Jetmoney 11 years ago

yes then i truly support ur thoughts

APPIAH IS A MOMONI/KOOBI COACH. WA BON!
    WA BON!..HE SMELLS PASS KWAME VI'S ARMPITS. WA BON PASS MECHANIC ARMPITS......TWEAAAA. WATS THE POINT OF QUALIFYING TO WCUP N SPENDING ALL
    THIS MONEY WE DONT EVEN HAVE? WE SHOULD STA ...

• Jack 11 years ago

You seem to make some sense but you are very wrong to suggest Konadu as a temporal caretaker, he is even worse! I suggset the whole GFA set up must be reorganised else we should be ready to welcome countless of failures, peri ...

• MODIBO 11 years ago

THE COACH IS DOING A FINE JOB!!
    IT IS THE PLAYERS ATTITUDE AND MENTALITY THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE!!!
    GHANA PLAYERS MUST PLAY 90 MINS OF SOCCER AND SHARPENED THEIR FINISHES!!
    GHANAIAN PLAYERS SHOULD HAVE THE KILLER MENTALITY OF ...

• Babs 11 years ago

Who is in charge to see to that positive mentality development of payers,please let take asecond look at your coach attitude towards some players in the team .very poor, he can't manage ayaw brothers but they are bad boy of f ...

• Richie 11 years ago

why cant we qualify,we will by all means,we all think our black coaches are incapable,what again to u want to see in appia b4 u get to know he can do the job,Raymond come for the job if u are the one that can qualify Ghana.

• ASEMPA 11 years ago

IF GHANA DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR THE 2014 WORLD CUP IN BRAZIL, THAT WILL NOT BE THE FIRST TIME IN THE COUNTRY'S HISTORY. THE WORLD CUP STARTED IN THE 1930s?, AND WITH GREAT GHANAIAN FOOTBALLERS LIKE AGGREY FYNN, CK CYAMFI, OSEI ...

• RIBERY 11 years ago

yOU PROMISE TO WIN A TOURNAMENT TROPHY AND YOU DO NOT.WHAT DO YOU DO?IS IT NOT RESIGNING BECAUSE THE GOAL YOU SET YOURSELF YOU WERE NOT ABLE TO ACCOMPLISH. I FEAR FOR THE STARS UNTIL APPIAH IS TAKEN OUT AS COACH.

• kowiase 11 years ago

u spot on

• George 11 years ago

Ghana; are we saying that we can't have a players who got structure like Polo, mama Acquah,, ANNAS, Yaw Sam Asamoah G This days?

• Emmanuel COLEMAN 11 years ago

He must be sacked you are right

• KWAME 11 years ago

It is for the authorities to do logical, scientific and factual analysis in the current debate going on in relation to the job of the current coach continuing as the head coach of the National team, the Blackstars.
    I have al ...

"It is a bonus if a team has individual gifted players to break down strong barriers mounted against them."

Do we have such men to counteract?
    Can you give me just one player in the current set up that has skills to outpl ...

• macho 11 years ago

akwesi is not a Good coach GFA wake up and sack that man.

• paul tetteh Usa 11 years ago

what coach appiah need now is muhammed gago kind of strikers to add, that will make the blacks stars team complete.remember the italia '90 fifa u17 squad and learn from there.

• na me tork am 11 years ago

u want maxwell konadu to coach the black stars??? some of u people are plain stupid!!!!

• Kwame 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah will qualify us to the W/Cup and all his critics will vanish from this site.Ghana has such a huge goal difference and it will be hard for the other teams to catch us.AA you're a good coach n all you need is our s ...

• JOE ATL 11 years ago

Ghana need a good team,Ghana don't have a team,Ghana always play with new faces all the time. Appia is not the problem.Ghana need players who want to play and keep them for a long time.

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 11 years ago

HEY RAYMOND,YOU ARE THE HEAD COACH TO ALL THE ENEMIES OF GHANA FOOTBALL. WHY DO YOU WANT TO CRITICISE EVERY BODY?FROM CUBEEGE WHO IS A SPORTS PRESENTER AND NOW TO KWASI APPIAH THE HEAD COACH.YOU ARE A TEACHER AS I WAS SO HOW ...

• YAW YAW 11 years ago

WAKEUP GFA,THE MAN IS A COCOA FARM,NOT FB COACH,GFA LISTEN TO ME.SEND THE MOTHERFUCKER BACK TO BA.

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

PRECIOUS PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, OF A TRUTH "AND IT CAME TO PASS"; HENCE, THE AFCON 2013 IS OVER AND ALL NATIONAL TEAMS OF AFRICA WHICH -"OCCUPIED" WERE FULLY ...