You are here: HomeSports2013 02 09Article 264564

Gyan should have taken part in penalty shootout - Appiah

Read Comments Comments (58)

• Chiga 11 years ago

We call a player who missed training due to injury concerns (wether true or not) indisciplined and a player who can choose to perform a function required of him for the team disciplined and worthy of the captains bad...

• xkase 11 years ago

MOST OF THE BOYS WERE JUST LACKING MATCHFITNESS. THE 9O MINS WAS LIKE AN UPHILL TASK FOR THEM WHILE THE EXTRA TIME WAS JUST HELL FOR THEM.

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 11 years ago

EVEN IF WE HAVE WON THE CUP I WILL STILL BE UNHAPPY;SIMPLE BECOURSE WE DID NOT DESERVED ::LETS ALL FACE THE FACT AND STOP PLACING OUR SELVES WHERE GOD DID NOT PLACE US:::THE COACH IS BAD;IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE WINNIG O ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WHO PICKED THE PENALTY KICKERS? AA DID, SO IF THEY FAILED, AA MUST GET THE BLAME. AFTERALL, U HAD ALL THIS TIME TO TRAIN AND ASSESS THE PLAYERS IN PENALTY KICK SITUATIONS SO WHEN THE TIME COMES, U KNOW WHO TO SELECT.
    GYAN H ...

• KK 11 years ago

God bless you, Akwasi will have a lot to answer, if a player can chose not to take a penalty and a coach has appointed him to lead or captain a team this is fake leader let us be sincere

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

What do you think Ghanaians will do if Asamoah Gyan had missed another penalty? I have a firm belief that this Stephen Appiah has something against the Black Stars management team, Asamoah Gyan or the GFA. Ghanaians should st ...

LISTEN, I HAVE READ MOST OF UR COMMENTS ON HERE AND I DONT KNOW IF U ARE BEING SERIOUS OR MERELY JOKING. UR COMMENTS ARE VERY UNWARRANTED AND DUMB, OK. IM SORRY....

AFTER 7 YRS WITH GBSTAR UNDER MILO, AND PLAVI,AA STILL CA ...

Did you read my comments very well or you're just acting on impulse? I know you hate Kwasi Appiah because you've been against him from the initial stages. Kwasi Appiah is less than one year on the job, so if you fire him and ...

• the truth 11 years ago

when ghanaians would have treat the players well even if they miss a penalty,i think then non of the player will be afraid to shoot a penalty,then maybe we would have won the game against burkina faso,so don't blame the coach ...

• One Love 11 years ago

I don't have any personal qualms with your opinions but to insinuate Stephen Appiah has an axe to grind with Asamoah Gyan, GFA or BS Management Team to me is misplaced and borderline irresponsible. If you're a TRUE player and ...

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

Is Appiah a coach? Whos selected the penalty takers? Did he ever prepare the team for penalty taking decision making during a normal game and for a shoot out when a match travels that far?
    Reading what he is reported to have ...

• MR. (Z) MAN 11 years ago

PENALTY KICKS ARE FOR THOSE WHO SCARIFIES TO PLAY AND NOT DIRECT CHOICE BY THE COACH OR EVEN IF THE COACH MIGHT HAVE TO MAKE A CHOICE, HE MAY HAVE TO MAKE IT AN OPTIONAL TO THE PLAYERS. TO ME THE PLAYERS ARE GOOD BUT MORE ROO ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Gyan should not have been giving the captains armband in the first place because he lacks the unmistakable inspirational leadership qualities which stephen Appiah had. I forewarn that Gyan does not understand what the sacrifi ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

IS BETTER HE DID NOT TAKE PART OF THIS.

• xkase 11 years ago

GYAN WAS JUST WALKING ABOUT ON THE FIELD LOOKING BEHIND AND THROWING HIS HANDS IN THE AIR. A WASTE OF SPACE.

• Me 11 years ago

What would have happen if Gyan had taken the penalty and lost. Ghanaians crucified Gyan for missing penalties and many wanted Gyan not to take penalties anymore and yes he did that.

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

"I know most of the boys and those who are good penalty takers were not amongst those who took the kicks." Appiah clarified.

So now my question to Appiah is who set-up the numbers before the players decided to take the pen ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Gyan should have taken the penalty. For where-333 again? The tournament is ended!
    Had I known is always at...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

There you go again with all your wide goose statement. This statement of your is very wrong just read what you wrote here: What else can he do if he asked but a player beg him not to let him take it? He couldn't have done any ...

• Cofie 11 years ago

slimzay,who asked him to choose new crop of players?when andre,jordan etc are available?

• Me 11 years ago

Do not rely on Asamoah Gyan again as your striker. He is no more what he used to be. The Arab league has affected him. How can he miss these four chances that came his way. See how Nigeria and Burkina Fasso players fared.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

LEAVE GYAN ALONE BECAUSE GHANAIANS THINKING IS VERT SHALLOW AND ONE SIDED

• Pap kwesi 11 years ago

Leave Gyan alone. Ungrateful people. The boys were good, but Burkina was more hungry. Ghanaians always call some players old. Burkina, Ivory Coast, Mali, Angola had players who were of the same age as Appiah, Essien Murtari, ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

GYAN KEEP YOURSELF COOL BECAUSE GHANAIANS EASILY FORGET THEIR GOOD DAYS

• Tom Bulu Kuuku 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah just like most Asantes is Tribalistic. He hates the Abedis and was looking for a flimsy excuse to exclude them. Anyway he is not a coach but a security man.

• Agbeko 11 years ago

Hahahahahaha

• Tom Bulu Kuuku 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah has no coaching credentials. The Asantefo Nkye Ndi GFA led by his corrupt friend Nyantakyi

• paa 11 years ago

he did not take part in the penalty shootout for ghanaians to see how useless Mr A A is. G F A pls kick that idoit A A b4 it is too late

• member-Y 11 years ago

“It was not a bad performance by us at all. The boys did well, but Burkina Faso was the better side. They were hungrier and wanted the victory more than us.”

• mind-u 11 years ago

we have rookie coach captain who dont want to be part of penalty kicks all these is nonsense they lack condition

• Agonaba 11 years ago

"It's not only Issaka who has rushes on his butt,Sulemana,Yakubu,Kofi and Yaw too have it".Gyan is not born to always score penalties.
    'Kosi enkosi,koda enkoda'.what do we want from Gyan?

• Koffman 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan does not deserve to be the captain. I agree with captain Appiah 100%.He left his men out there to dry.
    Where is the (Captainship)or Leadership
    qualities of Gyan. GFA should reasses this quality before making de ...

• GEORGE EXCOBA,NIGERIA 11 years ago

whether he[GYAN]has taken the penalty or not it will not change anything.The squad for this yr Afcon was not the best.Gyan has no leadership quality to lead the BLACK STARS.He and Kwesi Appiah shld be sacked.

• stupid assistant coach and stupid ap 11 years ago

kwasi appiah is mad. in d sense that asamoah gyan initialy said he wil not take penalty kicks but he went on and gave d captain band to him.and also someone who can support asamoah gyan in the person of kojo ...

• master philip u s 11 years ago

Appiah's submissions is totally on loud speaker,as a leader u must always have a good conscience that is in a time where it matters most.Kudos to Ex-captain Appiah

• Osabarima Darko 11 years ago

After poor performance, married with awful passes,weak dribbling, uncultured manners, and horrible culture, that do not depict a Ghanaian, on the field of international display, you have the nerve to say, "Gyan should have .. ...

• KOO NIMOH 11 years ago

Yes Stephen Appiah Gyan lacks leadership skills he's abit silly. The boys were busy dying their hair blonde and making funny scruffy hairstyles

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

Stephen Appiah is right,the boys did their best but not enough to get us to the grand final.We must thank God that we were beaten on penalties,the game could have ended without extra time.The Black Stars is a strong team with ...

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

Is A Appiah willing to accept the blame if I may Ask thank U

• Ebo Cobbs-Amsterdam 11 years ago

Koo Nimoh hit it just right...how come a whole capito will dye his hair as if he was on stage dancing...village skuul boys...a capito exhibits qualities when the going gets tuff....i dont AA...kwesi Nyantakyi must go.He,s bee ...

• JETMONET 11 years ago

IM NOT GYAN FUN OR AGAINST HIM,HE IS A LUCKY PLAYER SOMETIMES BUT IS GYAN THE ONLY PLAYER ON THE FIELD GOSH GHANA......THIS IS SAD.FOOTBALL IS TEAM WORK NOT NOT INDIVIDUALISM::::TODAY GYAN,YESTERDAY GYAN,TOMORROW GYAN...HE D ...

• jp 11 years ago

leave gyan alone he did the right thing fools, u guys don't even know how to kick a fucking ball only to run that big bad mouth

• Ebo Cobbs-Amsterdam 11 years ago

Koo Nimoh hit it just right...how come a whole capito will dye his hair as if he was on stage dancing...village skuul boys...a capito exhibits qualities when the going gets tuff....i dont blame AA...kwesi Nyantakyi must go.He ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Thank you so much for stressing this point! It is the job of a coach to get his team prepared for tense situations. I expected him to have prepared his captain to take either the first or the second kick though there are seve ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago-USA 11 years ago

Can asamoah gyan ever be a good leader?Yes he should have taken part in the penalties to once again show his stupidity.No serious contry will ever make this guy captain.

• kapo papapaaa 11 years ago

Ei Ghana, so in penalty taking too you people are blaming the coach ? Ei so you people still dont want to grow up ? It is time to accept that the guys did well ... Borkina did not beat us it was penalties and that i think is ...

WEN THE GOLING GETS TOUGH U EXPECT YOUR CAPTAIN TO BE THE FIRST IN LINE. WHERE WAS GYAN WEN PENALTY SHOOTOUT HERE. YOUR CAPTAIN IS RUNNING AWAY...LOL
    AA/QQ, GYAN, NYANTAKYI U WILL COME N MEET US HERE IN GH...

Start using your brains now, Massa. Would you take the first penalty if you were Asamoah Gyan? Hypocrisy will always kill you Ghanaians.

• Sam 11 years ago

The truth of the matter is that Ghanaians sometimes talk and criticise toooo much.Drogba scored an own goal but nobody criticised,he missed a couple of penalty kicks but no critics because folks understand that all world clas ...

• focus 11 years ago

We should encourage our players at all times instead of cursing them when they miss penalties. Also, Gyan must start to humble himself and he will succeed. Perhaps moving to a better league could help him improve his game too ...

• OWUSU BEMPAH,STUTTGART GERMANY. 11 years ago

Ghana should try Appiah once again,but he has to call the Ayews back into the squad and drop Clottey&CO.

• adowa 11 years ago

he has shown he is incompetent. what is wrong with you guys??

• Ansapore 11 years ago

But why didn't Appiah say it and waited till its over before saying.

• kwame Gyebi 11 years ago

Coach Appiah Derek boateng Asamoah Gyan old players need to step down

• J.O 11 years ago

Ghanaians are behaving as if thier players are better than all the other players in Africa. We seem to be dreaming. Where are our Essiens, Kingstons, John Mensahs, Stephen Appias etc. They just faded away and since this is ou ...

• George Yeboah 11 years ago

I totally agree with our former captain Stephen Appiah cus having ex-players at tournaments will help boost the moral of our current side, and why does it seem to me that all our players play well till the crucial games and g ...

• Paapagyamfi 11 years ago

thank you Appiah. this is my point Gyan should have showed more leadership by taking the first kick. a leader who does not show leadership for fear of criticism is not a leader and i did not understant why he has to stay on t ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

So whose job is it to select and encourage the best penalty takers in the team to fulfill their roles? Is that not part of the coach's responsibilities? It surely is. Every coach worth the salt will know who his best spot kic ...