You are here: HomeSports2013 02 09Article 264515

“Ashanti Stars!” – The Demise of the Black Stars

Read Comments Comments (255)

• Palava 11 years ago

Hello Papa Appiah!So what's your problem? You think that Akwasi appiah is playing the tribal card but you ended up being one doing that. I have never come across a blogger so stupid like you. How did you get the facts you use ...

• ona 11 years ago

Always the non Akan tribes, particularly ewes play tribalism in all aspects of the Ghanaian life. When Akans do it then they complain. Look at the way they vote in Ghana. Naniama !

• vini vidi vici 11 years ago

without asante, who else?

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

I WAS ENJOYING YOUR ARTICLE UNTIL U STARTED USING THE TERM...ASHANTI STARS. PLS, AS MUCH AS I DONT AGREE WITH AA'S TACTICS. I WOULD HATE TO HAVE YOU LABEL HIM AS A TRIBALIST. AA INVITED JORDAN TO AFCON 2012 EVEN WEN HE WASNT ...

• Johnny 11 years ago

The writer disappointed me in the end. Now I believe his real name is not Papa Appiah!

• ASANTE POWER 11 years ago

We have all the best of Ghanaians coming from ashanti: Kofi Anan, Muntarli, Kwasi Appia, Asamoa Gyan, Baba Yara, Nana Konadu, Lumba, Abdu Razak, Kufuor, Darko farms, Despite, ......and all the rich people of Ghana. While some ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 11 years ago

EVEN IF WE HAVE WON THE CUP I WILL STILL BE UNHAPPY;SIMPLE BECOURSE WE DID NOT DESERVED ::LETS ALL FACE THE FACT AND STOP PLACING OUR SELVES WHERE GOD DID NOT PLACE US:::THE COACH IS BAD;IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE WINNIG O ...

• MIlls P 11 years ago

Fatau Dauda,
    Harrison Afful,
    Richard Kissi Boateng,
    John Boye,
    Isaac Vorsah,
    Awal Mohammed,
    Solomon Asante,
    Kwadwo Asamoah,
    Asamoah Gyan,
    Mubarak Wakaso,
    Christian Atsu

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHAT IS HE UP TO? TO FILL THE BLACK STARS WITH EWES SO THAT HE WILL SATISFIED AND SAY THAT AA IS NOT TRIBALIST? AA DID MANY MISTAKES YES BUT YOUR PIECE HERE IS FULL OF CRAPS! I DONT EVEN KNOW WHICH TRIBE YOU REFERE TO AS ASHA ...

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Say it again! I´m really worrying Ghanas posititon today. What kind of people are leading our country? It is so sad to read such an article. You start so nice to analyse your stand point. Then you change your style to bring ...

• Proud to be Asantini 11 years ago

Ghana will never be okay unless fools like u show respect to the almighty Ashantis,tell me if u are more educated, which trbe has dominated Ghana history before the whitemen?which tribe fought wit the whitemwn to defend Ghan ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

AFCOM 2013, NIGERIA NOW KING OF AFRICA.

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

I am deeply disappointed that educated people like you, so called Papa Appiah could use their God given brains to rite such "shitty".

I think Kwasi Appiah made serious mistakes in placement of players to be effective.
    F ...

• VICE RESSIEN 11 years ago

it was right from the beginning that this incompetent bush ashanti coach was going to be the downfall of ghana, A NATION FREED FROM WHITE OPPRESSION BY NKRUMAH, GIVEN STABITLITY BY RAWLINGS, and now meticulously monitored by ...

• Yejia 11 years ago

please killings, suppression and tribalism did not free Ghana under the long rule Ghana - far from that! Please don't bring back sentiments.

• JAILA 11 years ago

RAWLINGS RULE WAS FAR FROM STABILITY. IT WAS THE MOST TRIBALISTIC, DIVISIVE, OPPRESSIVE AND BLOOD SHEDDING RULE. DON'T BRING BACK SENTIMENTS AND FORGOTTEN MEMORIES!

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Am on your side. Friendly fure...!!!! :-)

• Edem 11 years ago

When we need people with brains to move Ghana forward, we get GOATS like u also bleating. Go and bring the original golden stool, the one you foolishly sold to the white man b4 u call ur self 'almighty'. U r few in number.... ...

• Edem 11 years ago

When we need people with brains to move Ghana forward, we get GOATS like u also bleating. Go and bring the original golden stool, the one you foolishly sold to the white man b4 u call ur self 'almighty'. U r few in number.... ...

• Chii 11 years ago

Ashantis did not fight whitemen to defend Ghana. There was nothing like Ghana then. The Ashantis fought to defend their Kingdom and that was a foolish decision.

• JOSEPH 11 years ago

YOU ARE AN IDIOT-WHERE IN THE ARTICLE IS EWE MENTIONED. DID THE WRITER TALK ABOUT AKANS OR ASHANTI? THINK BEFORE YOU WRITE.

• Proud to be Asantini 11 years ago

U ewes are animals simple as that and u are not good people!!! animals animals animals!!!

• Edem 11 years ago

You are an idiot widout a head..... Dat makes it worse. U fool.

• Kondendiara Kakraba 11 years ago

How many of these players are Ashantis, Mr Nincompoop? Kissi Boateng is Kwahu, Vorsah is not Ashanti, neither Fatau, Afful, Boye, Awal, Wakaso and Gyan is half Brong. Besides Kwadwo Asamoah and probably Solomon Asante. Why do ...

• Daavi 11 years ago

this writer needs to go back to class one, he doesnt know what he is talking about

• NANA YAW BAWUAH 11 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL, U ARE A STUPID WRITER AND BESIDES YOU ARE TRIBALISTIC. U HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO.STUPID, FOOLISH WRITER.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

NONSENSE ARTICLE

• Kwaagyebi 11 years ago

Rather unfortunate article. You are pathetic to epitomize. This is the time to search for what went wrong, and you write this stupid article.
    Shame on you.

• koo bgemi 11 years ago

The fact that we all not happy about the performance of the stars doesn't mean that we should turn it into tribalism...
    we all have seen an instances that one team players were made to form black stars and what happen? fool ...

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

There is something wrong with this tribe issues in Ghana ,when this guy is being condemned for raising tribal issues in the Black Stars you're also saying you are the only region with A God sent king ,who the 'fuck' worships ...

• ASANTE POWER 2 11 years ago

We have all the best of Ghanaians coming from ashanti: Kofi Anan, Muntarli, Kwasi Appia, Asamoa Gyan, Baba Yara, Nana Konadu, Lumba, Abdul Razak,Baba Yara,Robert Mensah,Kuku Dadzie,Dan Oppong,Malik,Essel Mensah,J.Botwe,Georg ...

• Bugsungh 11 years ago

Asante Power 2. The wise always know that ETHNOCENTRICISM is the mark of a failing nation. Its about Ghana, not tribe-superiority. Be the wise person you claim to be, and leave the Creator to judge which is a wiser tribe and ...

• AGYA KOW 11 years ago

Seems like you do not know what you are talking about.Half of the people you wrote about only lived in and around Kumasi and are not natives.Some people come to these sites to learn so do not mislead people here,PLEASE

• ATIVOR 11 years ago

ASANTE POWER is alluding to the fact that no matter what your background, in Ashanti, you are given equal opportunity
    to develop into whatever you want to achieve in life. Hence his reference to such people with non-Ashanti ...

• AGYA KOW 11 years ago

Thanx Mr 'Ativor'

• Edem 11 years ago

You are such an idiot. People like you shd be fed to the dogs

• Kenny 11 years ago

I'm disappointed in all of those comments and insults...you will know your true tribe one day when you find only you and the other tribe you just insulted in a foreign land...writing from a far away foreign land, i wonder if ...

• BARIMA AKAN ASANTE 11 years ago

THIS STUPID JOURNALIST WHO WROTE THE ARTICLE IS THE ONE WHO IS A TRIBALIST. KWASI APPIAH FIELDED RABIU, WAKASO, DAUDA, ETC. AND HE FIELDED ATSU, VORSAH, PAINTSIL, AFFUL ETC. SO HERE ARE 7 PLAYERS WHO ARE NOT ASANTES, WHY AND ...

• Cobbs--A-dam 11 years ago

that 9jarian writer in here is a fool...ghanaians are short and black,he stated.Fine...go to Aba in the Iboland,they are like chimpazees, ugly,black,short with flattened noises and cannibals.you can be champions for just the ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

This guy Papa Appiah thinks we cannot read in-between the lines. He thinks those of us who read his articles will not cross-examine his postulations. Emotion is very dangerous if it is not tempered by intellect. What is happe ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

GH VS MALI....
    COACHES NEED TO HVE INTELLIGENCE N HUSTLE MENTALITY. APPIAH DOES NOT HAVE THAT. HE IS A TEXTBOOK COACH, CHEW N POUR COACH.
    CONSTANT REGURGITATING. REAL LIFE GAME SITUATIONS ARE CUMBERSOME, ERRATIC AND UNPRED ...

• maxwell kwame 11 years ago

A.A is not ready to lead our national team yet. He is lacking. If we even qualify from the WCQ group and we come against a half decent team for the 2 nations fixture, we will loose. BUT A.A IS NEVER A TRIBALIST. he should sti ...

• Nana K 11 years ago

You have said it all Mr. Sad for many bloggers to blog this way. We hurt no one but our dear country Ghana.

• JAILA 11 years ago

WELL IF THEY DON'T LIKE THE UNITY, THEY CAN RELINGUISH THEIR NATIONALITY AND JOIN THEIR FORMER NATION. THEY HAVE MORE THAN ENJOYED FROM THE UNITY THAN THE HARDWORKING REGIONS. I DON'T BLAME THEM, THE CAUSE OF THEIR RESENTMENT ...

• Mr Mann 11 years ago

Palava you do not know what you are saying.Fatau Dauda,Rabui,Mubarak,Atsu,Clotey,Paintsil(fanti),Gyan(brong),Afful(fanti), and some others are not Ashantis,Ashantis are not tribalistics, so stop that thinking and be wise. Ple ...

• Palava 11 years ago

Mr Mann you're not making any sense here. Did you understand my rejoinder very well? I didn't mention anything about Ashantis buddy. I only counter attacked him for his allegations that he chose Ashantis over those who are no ...

• Kondendiara Kakraba 11 years ago

Calm down my sensible bro cos i did enjoy your piece. It made a lot of sense and so should we all do. Bravo bro.

• tjboat 11 years ago

i said this in day one , that we are not good enough to win the ultimate cup as an ex footballer, i knew kwasi appiah is not a good coach, and he dnt know what is doing,
    i dnt personally think its todo with tribal any he jus ...

• kojo 11 years ago

Let all be careful the way we comment to such stupid articles.
    Its unnecccessary to insult other tribe just because a foolish writer has said something about your tribe,why dont u rather insult the writer.
    Adomah is bette ...

• Kojo 11 years ago

Thank you,Palava. I was going to write almost the same comments I had in mind. What's this fuss about "Ashantis" in the forums of Ghanaweb. It's a very dangerous trend. When folks start to talk about the Black Stars as As ...

• Moses 11 years ago

why are Ewes so stupid?

• Tito, 11 years ago

Your feeble mind cannot farthom the discussion here. Whatever region of Ghana you come from I do believe your parents did not bring you up to be stupid or insolent.
    How many Ewes do you know? Don't you have stupid people in ...

• BOOTS 11 years ago

Ona, I am inclined to go with you on this one. Though I think Akwasi Appiah should go, I also think Papa Appiah should stop writing. He even gets facts wrong. GHana has been in the semi finals for the past 3 Afcons so what in ...

• Apraku Diawuo 11 years ago

Thank you Palava. This Papa Appiah is a dangerous fool. I am not a fan of Kwasi Appiah but the allegations made against makes me speak for him. He has failed but do not link him to innocent Asantes.
    I am Bono from B/A and I ...

• Mathew 11 years ago

Do you think people have no sight to see what is going on? Do u need to be told that this is a tribal card?He has writen the article on behalf of me just like he was in my mind thinking exactly what I thought.Ghana is blessed ...

• WOFA WOHOO 11 years ago

Calling,Papa Appiah has a right to his own opinion.Yes the coach as a matter of fact made mistakes which we all saw,right now we have to move forward on how to qualify for the world cup and get the right players which thank G ...

• Champ, Denver, USA 11 years ago

I thought I was the only one noticing this!

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

You're all Ashanti haters

• Aduanaba 11 years ago

Folks this anti-Ashanti sentiment is slowly reaching very sickening levels, and needs to be held in check. I challenge this blogger to list the current Black Stars roster for us all to see the excessive Ashanti inclusion.

• MIZZY 11 years ago

IF WE HAVE 23 ASHANTI OR ANY OTHER TRIBE PLAYERS AND WE ALL KNOW THIER GOOD WHY NOT LET THEM PLAY.LOOK AT NIGERIAN TEAM 90 PERCENT OF THE PLAYERS ARE FROM THE EAST OF THE COUNTRY BUT NO BODY COMPLAIN BECAUSE THEY KNOW THIER A ...

• EG/HOLLAND 11 years ago

MORE THAN WHAT YOU THOUGHT ALMOST 95PERCENT FROM THE EAST.THANKS MR.,

• OWASS 11 years ago

Aduanaba,this mentally retarded so called blogger using an akan name has been spewing rubbish on Kwasi Appiah ever since Dede's issue!!ignore him and there's nothing they can do to belittle our GREAT KINGDOM!they will move he ...

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

Totally wrong! Akwasi Appiah, Asamoah Gyan and Agyemang Badu are all from Brong Ahafo. They will actually be offended to be described as Ashantis.

• Aduanaba 11 years ago

Do not miss the point Bro. Most non-Akans see nto difference between Ashantis and other Akans. Unless this blogger makes the clear distinction, I am inclined to believe, he is referring to Akans in the Black Stars.

• Johnny 11 years ago

Referring to Akans in the Black Stars????

• Aduanaba 11 years ago

The Author is making a veiled attempt to blame Akans for Ghana's loss. He is using the anti-Ashanti crusade as a gateway to his larger agenda of getting to the Akans, and also knows very well there is better traction if he me ...

• real ghanaian 11 years ago

its because we're not united. if All akans can come together and say we're forming our own state akanman what will be left of ghana. word of thought. how can every non akan just stand up and be insulting asantes. these non ak ...

• kwasi appiah. 11 years ago

the hatred towards asantes is getting boring now. So, if the blackstars had won the cup, would he had given all the credit to the asantes in the team? And when will all these asantes these, asantes that will ever stop? if som ...

• FREEMAN 11 years ago

Every one rooted for a local coach, see the result. As to whether they are "Ashanti Stars" they are still Ghanaians. may be the coach left out the best players.

• Ajoebye 11 years ago

Kudos on your article. This is an interesting perspective that needs to be considered in the grand scheme of assessing Kwasi Appiah's performance as a team manager.

• tegare 11 years ago

good article, only problem is tribal perspective from which its written.

• King polo 11 years ago

your article was wrong and have no basis and fact,research before you come out with this falacy.Akwasi Appiah is not Ashanti neither Asamoah Gyan,John Paintsil and Agyeman Badu.They all from .....go and research and stop stup ...

• Gucci 11 years ago

Nation wrecker idiot.we're here to unite not to break us apart

• yaw, USA 11 years ago

Don't use this platform to display your anti Ashanti sentiments. check the names of these players and tell me where you got your heading "Ashanti stars"from. just refresh your twisted mind on these names; fatau dauda, john p ...

• Johnny 11 years ago

That's one of the few problems with freedom of speech. Any idiot is allowed to be heared, including "Papa Appiah"

• okujato 11 years ago

from today i am an Ashanti,because people hate them for nothing like the jews,american whites,etc.why? why?...any akan name is Ashanti?it's not surprise, because they value themselves,respect, responsible and proud of where ...

• Sam Sneed 11 years ago

Ei Ghana. Idiots like Papa Appiah have got the chance to express stupid opinion. Pls lock this idiot up so he can play the fool nowhere. What about Dauda, Wakaso, Rabiu Mohammed, Paintsil, Afful,Vorsah, Boye, Mensah, Clottey, ...

• Leeeeee 11 years ago

I knew this guy was waiting to write something stupid like this. Stupid guy...what do you have against Kwabena Agyapong and Kwasi Appiah?? I thought he was been patriotic but today his true colors have come out as a tribalist ...

• Natural Mystic 11 years ago

While I do not share the sentiments of Papa Appiah, I take serious exception to the characterization of the Ewe by the likes of you. Tell me, how was the voting pattern in Ashanti Region in the elections? Most areas in Ash vo ...

• Taliban2 11 years ago

Yes it is true most people in Ashanti voted for NPP however, have you bother to check the margins or the differences between the winners (NPP/NDC) and second place in Ashanti region and Volta region. There is a huge differen ...

• carlton. 11 years ago

Most rubbish piece of work I have ever read. Please stop stoking ethnic fires in Ghana!

• KONKO USA 11 years ago

NO WONDER

• KONKO USA 11 years ago

NO WONDER WE DONT PROGRESS

• Johnny 11 years ago

We don't progres because the BLack Stars is made up of Ashantis only or we have ignorant people amongst us?

• Dr. Appocco 11 years ago

Crap!! Bull! Rubbish! A mind is a terrible thing to waste and just wasted yours on writing a stupid unintelligent, intellectually bankrupt article.

• Kobby 11 years ago

It is pathetic when people like you portray such gross incompetence and naivety in trying to "analyse" matches. Kwasi Appiah is not an Ashanti, pure and simple. He is from B.A.
    What is your beef with Ashantis? Some of the gu ...

• koo sei. Berlin 11 years ago

It´s really sad that modern has given
    nuisance,idiot and insane people like this blogger to have assets to a computer,i advcise you to trace what happened in Tunisia.Fuck you

• koo sei. Berlin 11 years ago

It´s really sad that modern technology has given
    nuisance,idiot and insane people like this blogger to have assets to a computer,i advcise you to trace what happened in Tunisia.Fuck you

• kay 11 years ago

So Kwesi Appiah who gave Jordan his debut despite strong opposition from the likes of this writer is now being accused of tribalism? And please check the number of ashantis in the teanm before making false allegations against ...

• Johnny 11 years ago

I was in tune with the beginning of the article, then came the tribal nonsense whence the writer totally showed lack of credibility! Talk about Akwasi Appiah's incompetence, and I am with those who beleive he lacks what it ta ...

• Ojuku, Netherlands. 11 years ago

They have to ban all ashanty people flyng from accra including [jka too No.] God bless Ayew's Family.

• BARIMA AKAN ASANTE 11 years ago

IDIOT OJUKU, BAN ALL ASANTES? WHY WILL A STUPID NIGERIAN LIKE YOU TRY TO DIVIDE GHANAIANS? YOUR STUPID NAME TELLS IT ALL, OJUKU STARTED THE BIAFRA CIVIL WAR IN NIGERIA WHICH KILLED THOUSANDS DUE TO TRIBALISM, AND HERE YOU ARE ...

• kofi 11 years ago

This is the most STUPID article I have ever read in my entire life. What a waste of mind and space?

• K.Awere 11 years ago

this is a useless article I have ever read in my life. its like a soup without salt.

• KWADWO OSEI 11 years ago

THIS IS STUPID TALK DERECK BOATENG IS A KWAHU NOT ASHANTI, AGYEMAN BADU IS A BRONG AND AHAFO NOT ASHANTI PLS SPARE US THE HIPOCRISY AND BLATANT LIES GHANAIANS ARE NURSING A PAIN NOT LOOSE TALK AND TRIBALISM

• WORST FA IN THE WORLD 11 years ago

The problem is incompetency and favoritism, but not tribalism. THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE between tribalism and favoritism. For instance, a coach could select players based on those who could cover his ass, as against those wh ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Just one quote of the whole rubbish says it all...Wasnt Adomah one of the best players?Article made to promote further division

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 11 years ago

Is Mubarak Wakaso Ashanti? Is Fatau Dauda Ashanti? What about Rabiu, Awal, Atsu, etc. And just because someone has an Akan name doesn't mean they are Ashanti. For instance Agyemang-Badu is from Brong-Ahafo. I was born and rai ...

• Palava 11 years ago

Give it to him Kwame. This idiot doesn't deserve any place in our society. It's rather unfortunate that the so called educated in Ghana are even worse than the illiterates. It's so pathetic for this idiot to call himself a bl ...

• Agyemang 11 years ago

He is just stupid, these are the kind of people who have made the country so polarized, that nobody thinks about the nation any more. Kwame Nkrumah would be turning in his grave

• the truth 11 years ago

so would be happy if no individual from the asante group is selected to fight for the nation? you see you personify stupidity to the highest order. i feel sorry for you, you obviously lack respect for yourself and suffering f ...

• abu sanadi 11 years ago

yes kwasi appiah is jelous about ayew families , l think the black star president is the brain behind all this shite that is wy ghanacan not moving , forward ,lam calling om my ewe people to think that since we discover cru ...

• abu sanadi 11 years ago

the most premitive people in our society any where they are proplem look at the whole EUROPE problem premitives problem it is only ashanti has problem l am calling on the ewes 2yrs to come we must go and VOLTA REPUBLIC.

• CHARLES YEBOAH OBENG.USA 11 years ago

He bears a grudge with ABEDI PELE? Was that the reason Ayew Dede and his baby sibling were kept out of the team? Hmmmm! Never knew.

• Kwaku Abeeku 11 years ago

Until we are sure we have a well tested Ghanaian coach to lead us to the finals of the world cup, we need coach Milo back or any other foreign coach well disciplined like Milo. How can a coach make selection based on dislike ...

• Pancho 11 years ago

This the worse comments ever. We are playing on an African soil. All these players when they come to Ghana for holidays play at Kotobabi park, mamprobi parks where all the rough and gravels are so don't tell me the field didn ...

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

Papa Appiah,
    Would you have written this article if the Black Stars have won the game against Burkina Faso?

• Mark Akwetey 11 years ago

Papa Appiah you have made a good point, but who among the Ghanaian coaches would you suggest should be given the job. You cannot just criticizer and live the problem without any solution.So please come up with a few suggest ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

What an idiot! Just seeking attention! You hate Kwasi Appiah because he is an Asante! Why did not you say such thrash about the white men who took us to the same level! Aboabi ba!

• Agyemang 11 years ago

Why do people who have audience, ususally resort to publish stupid things. So all that you can gather from the tournament is tha the team was an Ashanti team. You are such a stupid analyst. I agree if you say the coach is inc ...

It's about time Ashantes quit playing for the Black Stars b'cos it's for Ghanaians and not the Ashantes.

• Ochere 11 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha

• owura 11 years ago

This is the most foolish and stupid article I have ever read, fine, Appiah has makes mistakes but that thus not guarantee us or any body to tribalis our sports administration, where are we driven our dear nation Ghana to .God ...

• Seth Offei 11 years ago

When I read article I wonder what an idiot you can be,this wakasa man had a good pitch and kicked his penalty to the skies what would he have done on that bad pitch.It is a collective failure and a give credit to about adant ...

• Seth Offei 11 years ago

we might as well play with the local boys?why you may ask.kwadwo asamoah is the only quality player with a top class team the rest ukraine,india,arab rubbish teams

• asaase aban 11 years ago

This cat- eater have a thinking which can only impress the idiot. Check your facts Akwasi Appiah is not an asante ok? the mere fact he played for Kotoko and bear an akan name does not make him one. He is the right man for th ...

• GHADAFFI 11 years ago

infact , i am very sure you really didnt skim through your own article before proceeding to publish. what? i mean what is so tribal about football in Ghana? GO dodge and bow your head in shame

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

You could tell from the bench that they were always doting on little Asante on the right flank.

• Omo naija 11 years ago

Gaynians,y ur players look so short ?and u are toooo dark!.we are the champions of africa.#teamnigeria#

• George 11 years ago

Papa Appiah's article had shared the light as to what is happening in our beloved Black Stars team. We need a foreign coach who will be devoid of all these issues.

• Koffi Alolo 11 years ago

it is very true and very clear, i said this to so many people, many of them are Ashantis, this AKWESI APPIAH was a security man in LONDON so how and hell can a security man sudenly become a national coach, he create tribalism ...

• Koffi Alolo 11 years ago

A glad that a quality players like DEDE AYEW, JORDAN AYEW, M ESIEN, S MUNTARI ETC realise that A APPIAH is not the type of coach to coach them. A. APPIAH simply came to black stars to finish his evil job, He is the one who ca ...

• GIWA 11 years ago

OF A TRUTH WHAT. KWAMINA AHOY ,THE AHOY'S , TSIKATA'S AND THE JJ'S STARTED IS REALLY GETTING ROOTS ,WHAT HAS THIS TO DO WITH BIGOTRY .

• David 11 years ago

Factually correct, sportingly spot on, intellectually good. Kwasi has failed so what is good for the serbians should be equally good for kwasi.

• J.O 11 years ago

Lets hear some sense and objective arguments and stop the hatred for the coach and too much love for the Ayews. You a a foolish guy papa Appia. There Ayews were in the competition previously yet we never won a cup. Wakaso was ...

• PJ Thomas 11 years ago

The coments of the previous writer are very objective and sound. We as a people need to select leader based on abilities an not affiliations. Kwesi Appiah should reflect on why players like the Ayew's with international exper ...

• iddris issahaq 11 years ago

Papa appiah u are an ashanti i guess but u see the truth,am a kotoko fun n will love to see kwasi appiah in the job but hes the wrong guy for that job.u have all the facts about him and i love the way u wrote them bravo

• Rans F 11 years ago

Don't be deceived by the name. He is one of the most notoriously dangerous anti-Akan apostles who spew nothing but garbage on ghanaweb!

• R. Neil, UK 11 years ago

I couldn't have said it any better...

• odindus papas 11 years ago

SACK D COach

We have all the best of Ghanaians coming from ashanti: Kofi Anan, Muntari, Kwasi Appia, Asamoa Gyan, Baba Yara, Nana Konadu, Lumba, Abdul Razak,Baba Yara,Robert Mensah,Kuku Dadzie,Dan Oppong,Malik,Essel Mensah,J.Botwe,George ...

• Edem 11 years ago

It's obvious u r not even educated.... Do u know the tribe of kofi Annan??...... U ignorance will kill u soon. U fool.

• Rans F 11 years ago

This is one of the most useless pieces I have ever read on this forum! The biggest anti-Akan tribal bigot complaining about tribalism? What a shallow-minded bigot! And you have a website? Wow! Like a thief trying to hide his ...

• Kainyah 11 years ago

How many players in total were in the team and how many of them were Ashantis? last year at AFCON we finished 4th with foreign coach and the Ayews in attendance!Why do we always try to wade tribalism into everything? In po ...

• Tic 11 years ago

Shame unto you. You are disgrace to mankind and your family. People like you always want to divide us and send the country to state of confusion. If you don't have anything to offer shout up.

• boom 11 years ago

you are so right PaPa, he has no plans. the Black Stars played without pattern. who should be the next Coach?

• azaglo k michael jnr 11 years ago

papa appiah,i think you have totally lost it. so the least said the better!!! please spare us!!!!!!!!!!!!

• tony 11 years ago

ignorance is a disease as deadly as iliteracy.all these guys who erroneously think that any one bearing an akan name is an ashanti are people who dont deserve to post anything for people to read on the net.for your informatio ...

• kk 11 years ago

and so what???

• Kwame 11 years ago

Useless article filled with hatred!! Ghanaweb to delete it completely. It is not healthy for our beloved nation. Ghana has played worse than this many times, exiting even in the first round. Bogus article, totally bogus

• Yar 11 years ago

I've a number of 'Nos' to points developed in this useless article.
    1. The Burkinabes did not resort to long passes. Rather they passed better and kept better possession of the ball. They used their PHYSIQUE ADVANTAGE to 'i ...

• stone 11 years ago

i am very disappointed with the management and editors of the ghanaweb.com. this is because such articles should not be allowed on this site.this is a medium where ghananians abroad obtain their information concerning the cou ...

• Maestro 11 years ago

Bro Stone, if all Ghanaians (including the website management) would reason like you, such nonsense written by idiots would never appear here to be read thank you

• Maestro 11 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians please let's face our teams' problem and find better ways to solve them! our GFA should be the scape goat because they always proove incompetent when it comes to the matter of coaches' appointments .Let's rev ...

• stone 11 years ago

the author of the article seems intelligent be very ignorant about the tribes and groups of ghana. does anybody who bears akan name an ashanti?get your facts right before posting such an article. it is always tribalism, discr ...

• Katakyie 11 years ago

Stupidity at its best. Who is playing tribal card? Go and advise John Mahama who appointed all Northerners for his cabinet. Stupid guy. Why do you hate Asantes? Shame!

• Wakekaso 11 years ago

Was it not the same Wakaso who was taken off miss that penalty against the Malian side?

• eric collinwood 11 years ago

PAPA APPIAH YOU ARE SO UNGRATEFUL....WO MAAAME TW3 2012!!!
    BETTER STILL PAPA,U CAN APPLY FOR THE POST CANT YOU?...EDEY B K3K3!!!!

• Gbese 11 years ago

any dimwit can sit behind a keyboard and type any non-sense, and it will be printed on Ghanaweb. Asshole

• Kofi 11 years ago

This is by far the most stupid article i have read in my life.

• Sumdom 11 years ago

You people are sick. You see every thing through a tribal lens.

• jamal 11 years ago

in deed this is realty hmmmmmmm what can we say now.

• Agya Yaw Bantama 11 years ago

It is painful that there are poor and needy brilliant chaps over there but govt wasred ghana resources to educate you

• garba 11 years ago

this could have been a good criticism had the writer himself stayed away from tribalism.At least I can infer that Wakasu is a hausa boy by his name that is pronounced WA KA SO.A hausa phrase that means who wants this, the equ ...

• Nimdee2k 11 years ago

Ghana is the Dallas Cowboys of Africa. We act like we're entitled to the African Cup Trophy, b'cos we're the darlings of Africa. You can put the best coach from Spanish league behind the Black Stars and they will still lose ...

• King Lee 11 years ago

Most names sound Ashanti,but are not.I have heard names like Badu,Asante etc.who are not Ashantis.What do you say about that?

• mike 11 years ago

I feel from your writings and your recent absence from the scene that you were praying quietly that A Appiah will fail.
    Good for you but he will not now. He must beef up the team with Dede and others.

• Seethat 11 years ago

Does this author knows what DEFAMATION is? He calls AA 'a tribalist'. This is trespass to Reputation against AA . Let AA do something, there's a good case here for a court action. Cheap journalism should come to an end.

• ANIMAL FARM 11 years ago

This article has finally nailed the coffin of the Black Stars.The players of the team who were praised up the semi finals are no longer seen as Ghanaians but Ashanti Stars.The next time it will Northern or Volta all Stars.The ...

• Amisah 11 years ago

We are all Ghanains and we should stay united as a country. Ethnocentrism will not help us. There cumulative reasons why we didn't do well. Has nothing to do with tribe, creed nor religion. You arguments about Kwasi Appiah no ...

• John 11 years ago

Dissapointed with these guys on Ghanaweb. Reputation going down. How could they allow this to be published on their site. Non-sense and rubbish. So we must assume "Papa Appiah" is also Akan that is why this rubbish got publis ...

• selira 11 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE STRONG AND WILL REMAIN STRONG IN GHANA.IF THERE IS ANY ONE WHO THINKS HE CAN UNDER RATE THE ASHANTIS IS A HUGE MISTAKE:)

• Madi 11 years ago

You will kill me with laughter! You are the weakest in ghana. With your population, you should have dominated all aspects of the ghanaian economic, political, military, and educational life. You are nobodys in ghana today. Wh ...

• selira 11 years ago

papa Appiah please close your bocal cavity and shut up okay? Coach appiah messed the stars that was all

• Obibini 11 years ago

What a bunch garbage from obviously a small minded person.

• Onipa Bone 11 years ago

It is obvious that the 1992 campaign and the issue of captaincy isn't yet over. Unless we put this behind us, there will be no soccer glory whatsoever for now and in the future.

• ghanaba 11 years ago

are you telling us that appiah is not sensible enough to tell the boys to do the samething, if not i may say there were other monkeys on the bench who could signal to him as old monkeys do not need neither a circus school nor ...

• ofori 11 years ago

Appiah,Gyan,Badu are from Brong Ahafo.

• Edem 11 years ago

East is East and West is West...and NEVER the twain shall meet.

I believe Ewes and Ashantis are better separated lol. So-called Papa Appiah is a Dogbe, Apaloo, Tsikata than an Appiah, and thats so CLEAR.

• KOGYAM58 11 years ago

THIS ARTICLE MUST BE THROWN INTO THE TRASH CAN BECAUSE IT IS EVEN WORSE THAN TRIBAL WAR CRY. WHAT STUPIDITY IS THIS?.
    SOCCER IS THIS THE ONLY THING LEFT TO UNITE GHANAIANS AND TRIBAL BIGOTS LIKE THIS WRITER IS MUDDYING T ...

• george kingsley 11 years ago

kwesi appiah must go. yes i support it.

• danger 11 years ago

appia not ashanti

• Nipa Nuah 11 years ago

This writer is a typical villager, a fool....why bring tribalism into our beloved game(football).NONSENSE!!

• edward k 11 years ago

You guys will for ever and ever bow to the Ashantis till the end of the world.

• Shoa 11 years ago

I bet You are More Tribalistic than AA. Stupid Fool!!!

• Chiefnana New York 11 years ago

Papa Appiah have said it all.

• Yaw 11 years ago

who posted this stupid article on this site. Very nauseating, A coward who cannot even use his real name

• Tena 11 years ago

who's this papa appiah with his warped divisive write. it's ok not to agree with the coach on his selection and some decisions he made, but please dont drive another wedge into our sports, the only department of the country w ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

NIGERIAS TOOK IT EASY,NO STRESS AND PLAY SIMPLE GAME,ITS LATE BUT WE SHOULD LEARN IT SERIOUSE BECAUSE ALLWAYS THE SAMME,OUR DEFENDERS ARE ALLWAYS STRESS,JOHN MENSAH MUST COME BACK,

• anthon kwesi 11 years ago

The Ghana team was over hyped. football is not mathematics you win some and you lose some after all is just a game.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Papa Appiah, there shouldn't be any insults and tribalism in your article. All that Coach Akwasi Appiah needs is knowledge of modern technics. Football Coaching has evolved; the old methods are obsolete. You could see that in ...

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

This Papa Appiah is sick. You may have a problem with Akwasi Appiah's coaching and the GFA 's failure to find a competent coach, but please stop your nonsense at tribal baiting. Your imbecile ad hominem piece here is a comple ...

• Nana Boakye 11 years ago

This is highly primitive thinking from the writer. Are the Ashantis not part of Ghana? Have u forgotten of Wakaso, Fataw, Clottey and the likes. If I had the chance I would have given the black stars to you to coach and see w ...

• Akubire 11 years ago

The one who wrote this is rather playing
    tribalism. you don't know what you are saying.

• APACEL 11 years ago

U GUYS ARE FOOLS TO TALK ABOUT EWE, CUZ THAT WRITER IS NOT FROM OH OR KATA SO STOP DAT NONSENSE THANKS

• happyman 11 years ago

we will not win for NDC to claim Mahama is a blessing to Ghana and that God chose him and not Nana Addo,we were simply not good enough

• yaw gyan 11 years ago

sad thing ia akwasi appiah is bono. why u r ignorant of dis, well...

• Papa 11 years ago

Idiotic

• Kojo 11 years ago

You cannot expect any better thing from an NPP coach. If he was a good coach, why won't he coach Asante Kotoko. NPP always produce garbage.Akuffo Addo is number one garbage. Don't include Ku4. He did his best.

• BAFFOUR YAW 11 years ago

how could someone who called himself Ghanaian will wrote such an article.why people like papa appiah hit ashantis like that,

• James 11 years ago

Is Atsu an Ashante? Why this rubbish?

• OHENE BEDIAKO KRONUM AFRANCHO 11 years ago

WOSENE WOYONKO A WOTAAWO: THE ENGLISH MAN WILL SAY IF YOU ARE LOWER THAN A FRIEND, HE WILL BAD MOUTH AND TALK ABOUT YOU, IF YOU ARE ON THE SAME LEVEL, HE WILL LOVE YOU, BUT IF YOU ARE HIGHER THAN HIM HE WILL HATE YOU.TAKE IT ...

• joe debra 11 years ago

please lets face facts appiah cant coach period

• suleman abass 11 years ago

he must go

• Arpaa 11 years ago

please, let us do away of tribal sentiments and comment on the issue. you the same guys sing praises and dance to Agyeman badu performances in the black star and now you turn yourselves calling him an Ahsani man, so sad. we a ...

• Michael 11 years ago

The write-up is interesting reading but the author's Ashanti sentiments is unintelligent and makes him a dangerous tribalist. He should stop hiding behind the Twi name and come clean

• John 11 years ago

This writer is simply a nation-wrecking mental midget. He shold count the number of Ashantis in the team.

• Kpakpo Allotey 11 years ago

Appiah no good and should not go near the Black Stars. World Cup is different so let Mr Appiah find something to do.

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

Balony!!! Our team is not strong enough...stop blaming coach!! Useless idiot!!! If you are good enough Ghana is ready to give the post to anyone who can deliver.We need the cup!!!!

• nana, USA 11 years ago

You are a fool! I mean a typical fool!

• JOHN D. MAHAMA 11 years ago

NYANTAKYI AND AKWASI APPIAH MUST BE TERMINATED!
    FIFA WAS ABLE TO TERMINATE FMR SOUTH AFRICAN FA HEAD. NYANTAKYI MUST GO. HE HAS OUTLIVED HIS WELCOME AND IS TOO CORRUPT.
    HE WAS EVEN BRIBING REFS AT THIS AFCON TO HELP GH WIN ...

• COV. UNI. 11 years ago

THIS WEB MUST BE SCREEN ABOUT ARTICLES COMING IN.SUCH VERY,VERY,FOOLISH TRIBALISED WRITTENS IS BAD AND DANGEROUS.THE STUPID WRITER SHOULD KNOW SOME HISTORY OF AFRICAN WARS.WE HVE A POOR COACH.THAT IS ALL.BUT WE HAVE TO GIVE A ...

• paulamank 11 years ago

this writer needs to go back to school.

• alex 11 years ago

This is a very irresponsible piece of article from an irresponsible person through an irresponsible network like Ghanaweb. I wonder how it will post such a tribally sensitive material on line. ThIS is my last time of visiting ...

• K.K 11 years ago

The best sports article so far this year, excellent personified!! Any one who reads this article will surely understand why Ghana failed in its quest to win the afcon cup this year.

• DY 11 years ago

AA and Maxwell Konadu are both from BA not Ashanti Region. They played in Kumasi but they are not Ashantis

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 11 years ago

I DO NOT SEE ANY DIFFERENCE BTN THE BLACK STARS AND THE ENTIRE LEADERSHIP OF THE COUNTRY.WHAT DO U GUYS EXPECT WHEN THERE IS LEADERSHIP CRISIS IN EVERY ASPECT AND DEPARTMENT OF THE NATION?.WE NEED TO CHANGE OUR ENTIRE MENTALI ...

• Hawa 11 years ago

The MMQs have kicked off their festival. They only know it all after the fact.

• DOGBE 11 years ago

STUPID ARTICLE.

• Kofius 11 years ago

Nigeria will win their 5th AFCON b4 Ghana

• Kofius 11 years ago

The bitter truth. Gud Article

• Tumbor Derege 11 years ago

I am very ashamed for the writer of this piece. He is no better than Akwasi Appiah. He did not show this to anybody before putting it on the "net". Why do you want to bring "your dirty ethnocentrism and tribal politics" into ...

• Atuahene-Otchere 11 years ago

You see the problem with other tribes is that of jealousy. Is Agyemang is an Ashanti? He called himself Papa Appiah and Akan name and he doesn't know the difference between Bono, Akyem, Asante, Fante, Nzema Akuapem all akans ...

• BUKARI DAMBA 11 years ago

THIS IS SAD AND UNFORTUNATE. ANY WAY, AGYEMANG BADU AND
    ASAMOAH GYAN ARE BONOS FROM THE BRONG AHAFO REGION. THEY ARE SO MUCH FILLED WITH TRIBAL HATRED THAT THEY LUMPED ALL AKANS TOGETHER AS ASANTES.

• Shining Star 11 years ago

THE PLAIN TRUTH REALLY HURTS!!! OOUCH

• Efo 11 years ago

COACH PAPA APPIAH,
    YOU ARE A FOOL

• KOKUVI 11 years ago

USE YOUR BRAIN TO ANALYSE BUT NOT INSULT

• ONIPABA 11 years ago

and let us discuss this,We SHOULD try and tell the truth even if we want to crucify. The incident referred to in Senegal never happened. Coward come out of your anonimity TRIBAL WARLORD!SHAME

• M. CLOSE 11 years ago

"who’s every step towards the ball, displayed a total lack of confidence and belief. I felt sorry for the guy."

• M. CLOSE 11 years ago

You, my friend, are not called PAPA APPIAH. You are hiding your name for a reason. You either want to drive a wedge between ASAHNTIS (which will NEVER HAPPEN ..ask the BRITISH they have tried and failed) or you feel so infer ...

• Kwaku Berchie 11 years ago

Dear Columnist

Your recent article has really exposed you. First, you are cowardly using a fake name. Secondly, you seem to have issues with Asantes and the appointment of Kwesi Appiah gave you the platform, like so many o ...

• Paa Kumanin 11 years ago

Why do u write wicked articles to deceive Ghanaians, for all u know Agyeman Badu is not an Ashanti, Asamoah Gyan is not an Ashanti, the Coach himself is not an Ashanti, why didn, u checked ur facts before writing this article ...

• Shining Star 11 years ago

Kwarasey, D.Adjei, F.Dauda
    D.Addy, H.Afful, J.Boye, J.Mensah, Vorsah, Opare, Jo Mensah
    Essien,K.Asamoah,E.Frimpong, Atsu, A.Ayew,A.Acquah, M.Wakaso, S.Muntari, KPB, Quincy,Annan
    E.Clottey, Waris, B.Yiadom,J.Ayew

• Nii Ansah 11 years ago

stupid journal

• yahaya umar 11 years ago

if he is not fire we wil fire ourselves. Warning 2 the gfa

• Yaw Oteng 11 years ago

I am surprised about the writer of this article.Where does Ashanti matter crop up in this.We have lost.Let us concentrate on how we can get to the World Cup and stop this TRIBAL RUBBISH THE writer is trying to stir.Shame unto ...

• seth 11 years ago

I have not read it but I know is all shit from papa appiah,.

• Armah 11 years ago

This is disappointment! Why is the writer not using his Ewe name? Football should unite us and we have such idiots who sees everything in their narrow spectacles

• Felix 11 years ago

How many Ashanti's playing in Black Stars ?

• Kwadwo Kumnipa 11 years ago

first of all, the coach u talking of is not an Asanti but Bono. His assistant is also a Bono, Asamoah Gyan, Bono, Agyemang Badu from Brong Ahafo, Kisi Boateng is from Kwawu. Fatau Dauda from Northern, Afful Harison, a Fante, ...

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

this is the stupid article ever written. the writer of this article is so foolish. People like him should not be called a Ghanaian. \get some sence

• Goma 11 years ago

Great peace! However, Akwasi Appiah is not an Ashante, to play an Ashante card. He is a Brong man and if you don't know, Brongs and Ashantes are rivals.

• Asem Nokware 11 years ago

The just ended 2012 elections seems to leave an acrid smell in the air, with an attempt to paint everything in tribal colours to the detriment of national cohesion.
    Nationhood is one thing and - the attainment of ONE NATION, ...

• ADAMA 11 years ago

FOOLISH ARTICLE FROM A FOOLISH MAN

• de 11 years ago

Enough of this stupid ethnic connotations you attach to every decision of the coach! You stop this madness or ethnic paranoia. We need a break from such nonsense.

• Collins U.S.A 11 years ago

do not hide your identity APPIAH PAPA is not your name.ahoryaafour.

• King 11 years ago

I have always found certain articles very repugnant to read on this platform but non has come any inch closer to this complete rubbish by a livid anti ashanti tribal bigot! He is so obsessed with his anti ashanti tendencies t ...

• de 11 years ago

This is one piece which has a sole motive of destroying people. This writer can go to the hang. To even mention the come-back of Asamoah Gyan as an unpardonable decision, to say the least, is most senseless and demeaning, as ...

• jz ....NY 11 years ago

This writer is short minded ! Dont know anything about Ghana soccer.how old is he?

• HE SAID ASHANTI STARS AND NOT AKANS P 11 years ago

HE SAID ASHANTI STARTS AND NOT AKANS AND SO LET WE THE ASHANTIS JUSTIFY AND AND NOT AKANS.

• zorro 11 years ago

Papa enough my good man enough!

• sabato 11 years ago

Appiah must definitely go displaying lack of technical competence

• Vangor 11 years ago

We'll researched and composed article. Most people responding make no sense. Good job. Keep it up.

• Akwasi Owusu 11 years ago

He has written this divisive ethnocentric article and you are here praising him.
    Kwasia panin Kwa!

• KO 11 years ago

How do you know he is an Ashanti guy? Any one can pick a name and present himself as coming from the group. The Stars should train harder next time.

• TOB 11 years ago

Shame on you Papa Appiah. Kwasi Appiah is from BA. You are among people who keep on using the Tribe card to destroy the country.

• john adongo 11 years ago

This writer is a fucking liar. This guy should swear to all the gods of the "devil's cauldron" - Volta Region n tell the whole world the truth. No where did Akwasi Appiah ever tried 2 take the captain arm band from Abedi. Jus ...

• romeo mawutor 11 years ago

whoever wrote this article is an educated illiterate who knows nothing about football and i bet will not even know the different roles on the pitch. how could you talk about things you have no idea of. how could you have such ...

• richard uk 11 years ago

this is the most dumbest assesment ever, i sometimes wonder why i log in to this good for nothing site, your motives wont stand, ghana is one and wont be divided for your 'Gd knows what ya intensions are'

• Mani 11 years ago

Truth well TOLD! How could Appiah Ignore the Ayew brothers and Majid Waris, the top scorer in the Swedish league to bring Asamoa Gyan only for him to be wiggling his buttocks like woman on the pitch. Ghana has better quality ...

• yaw yiadom 11 years ago

This guy make me laugh,have such idiots in society dosen't do Ghana any good because i thought 21st century these sort of tribalistic behaviour is no more.But i feel sorry for our beloved Abedi with whom these bastards are im ...

• Yeji 11 years ago

This comment is the most tribalistic comment that I have ever read. You no doubt hate Ashantis and you have phobia for Ashantis. Let me tell you all the footballers are Ghanaians and they played united as a team for Ghana. A ...

• Jenneh 11 years ago

This comment is the most tribalistic comment that I have ever read. You no doubt hate Ashantis and you have phobia for Ashantis. Let me tell you all the footballers are Ghanaians and they played united as a team for Ghana. A ...

• john comey 11 years ago

u are senseless than chipanzee ,grow up why have u let jj garbage ur mentally.even his dog reasons.note, weeare one people before,he divide us.civilise,for dogs even do.

• Osei 11 years ago

The writer is obviously very ignorant