You are here: HomeSports2013 01 16Article 262250

Appiah & Nyantakyi have done a great disservice to Ghana

Read Comments Comments (74)

• Ghanaian dont tell the truth 11 years ago

Kwasi and Kwasi are all ..... Dede at the moment you are the best. Just like your devoted Dad to Ghana soccer. Not the destroyers who pretend they are maintaining discipline but cannot achieve any......

• Markin 11 years ago

The era of player worship is over, now its an era of teamwork not single individualism which achieved no results for Ghana in the likes of Abedi, Yeboah,Prince Polley,Baffoe, George Arthur,Frimpong Manso and so on, Abedi was ...

• Don P 11 years ago

Good point. Even though we have many good players and we won't miss Dede, and he may have genuinely not wanted to be part of the team, he was unfairly treated.

But let me correct a few historical facts you misplaced.

1. ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

How was Ayew unfairly treated? People like you and the writer are the reason why Blackstars of modern times are having problems winning anything. Soccer is a team work and when you have one individual who wants to be treated ...

• Eric 11 years ago

The days of player worship are over. A deadline was given by the coach which Dede failed to make; it was extended and still he didnt make it. How fair again do you want the coach to be.

• jebs 11 years ago

daniel, hope the money has already reached your accounts. you peeps think we don't know what's going on eh. you go and collect money and come here and spew rubbish. are the ayews alone the people who knows how to kick leather ...

• Richie 11 years ago

whether he's been paid or not, can't we all agree the writer is pointing out truths.

• KwekubiI 11 years ago

Take it or leave it

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

What is your problem with Dede?Sammy.Why do you hate the boy?.Have you ever played soccer in your life?.If you have,you will not post this unfortunate comments.Since when did Dede become indisciplined?Was it playing for black ...

• Rasheed. 11 years ago

"Dede started Playing.....and not Abedi."Has had problem.......

Dashers, I don't hate DEDE at all. I was the one that compared DEDE to MESSI during the world cup in South Africa. I know DEDE is a great Player but soccer is a team game that needs united team to succeed. DEDE has allowed su ...

Tweakai, Blackstars is better without DEDE's divisive attitude. Was DEDE not with Blackstars in 2008, 2010 and 2012 when they failed to win the cup? Give me a break.

I played Colts soccer, secondary school and made it to ...

• Kobby 11 years ago

Thanks Don P for the corrections. I was also going to comment on some of them. I believe with our crop of players, Dede will be a great asset to this team, but could we have taken this risk, as against Shilla, Essien etc.? I ...

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

I must confess thatI did not gain anythng new from your article which is full of inaccuracies....someofwhich have been poited by others like Don P...You are virtually doing the same thing that you complained of with reference ...

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

I must confess that I did not gain anythng new from your article which is full of inaccuracies....some of which have been poited by others like Don P...You are virtually doing the same thing that you complained of with refere ...

• Fred Tay 11 years ago

GOOD. YOU ARE A THINKING MAN.

• King 11 years ago

Men you are dam wrong, this was another
    Osei Kufour and not the one at the 2002 AFCON.

• Shwazo Barcello 11 years ago

I support the core essence of the article. gud job

• Dede's solidarity to Jordan. 11 years ago

Let me make it clear to you that Dede excluded himself to show loyalty to his younger brother Jordan.Stupid Akans.We Northerners know how to show brotherhood.I am ready for your critism but that is the truth.

• Markin 11 years ago

See yourself in a mirror and watch the mouth you are using to insight tribal sentiments here, you are cheap and from a low breed of intelligent northers. You are a disgrace to your own tribal brotherhood.

• proud akan boy 11 years ago

if u northerners know hw to support one another,why did u killed thousands of yourselves on this silly issue about selling of "AKOFEM".WE all aware he wasn't ready to play n trying to find way to dodge.There have been better ...

You are one of those Northern dogs that the concoction men of the North who poison children should have taken care of and I don't know how they missed you.Where are these concoction men wqhen you really need them?

• Nana-Bee 11 years ago

Don't associate anybody who lived in the north with a any northern tribe. Pele's parents are originally from E/R area of Akwapim who lived in the north. I lived and partly schooled in Bawku. Would that make me a Kussasi boy? ...

• aab USA 11 years ago

please lets support those who avail themselves and stop all these

• Afo 11 years ago

will personally call u and tell u how stupid you are, DDD

• Markin 11 years ago

Hey Stop that crap,why are some of always formenting trouble when there is none? Where were you when Dede stormed out of the field when he was changed? Its better for Ghana for Akwasi Appiah to stamp his authority and the nee ...

• J.A. Abugre, Rotterdam; Netherlands 11 years ago

Good piece Dan. Let us hope that these people will read and understand your message. God bless you

• INNOCENT yum yum 11 years ago

...just asking....

What selective justice are you talking about? What is wrong with you dumb cows? Dede did not want to play because his brother was not selected. Coach Appiah gave him every chance to report to the team and he kept stringing hi ...

• John Mary 11 years ago

Daniel Danquah Damptey you are not objective in your thinking. You don't love unity, you divide people and want to divide our team, is a lie.

• TIMO THE LAW 11 years ago

Dede Ayew was given a deadline because Akwasi Appiah also had a deadline to present his final squad to CAF and the AFCON authorities and Dede had only one day to beat that deadline which he refused,I want to ask Mr Damptey ho ...

• ATIKI A 11 years ago

MR. DANIEL DANQUAH DAMPTEY, I HAD OCCASION TO READ YOUR BRILLIANT ARTICLES ON VARIOUS ISSUES, BUT, CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOUR MESSAGE IS TODAY. IN A NUT-SHELL, YOU, DAMPTEY, RATHER, ARE DOING A GREAT DISSERVICE TO GHANA SPOR ...

• AGYEMANG MANU 11 years ago

BRAVO!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WE NEED SENSIBLE PEOPLE LIKE YOU IN GHANA.

• ben ladin 11 years ago

kwasia paaa be dis. whether u r a dede fun or a Ghanaian, it is good u r not the coach. Ghana first. give us a break now ok.contradicting ur say is not here nor there, wise up and support Ghana not individuals. mtchewwwwwwww

• No nonsense 11 years ago

YOU DON'T GET IT, IDIOT

• UPPER TERRACE 11 years ago

Right thinking REAL FOOTBALL FANS who know the game inside out have absolutely no problem with Gaffer Appiah's decision.Dan Damptey and his crew who only started watching football when Essien transferred to Chelsea should giv ...

• Koobi 11 years ago

Thank you for this piece. You've said it all.

• Fred Tay 11 years ago

said it all to little minds. this piece is full of inaccuracies & inconsistencies.

• jigijaga 11 years ago

ayew had played in 3 nations cup without a silverware so kwesi appiah will stay on whether ghana wins the afcon or not.
    i get the impression the more the blackstars impress, the more the admirer's of dede get aggrieved.
    ded ...

• koo Tee 11 years ago

For how long would people grag this issue?Kwasi has come on air to dispute the fact that it was a planned action against DEDE.He went further to say that he had spoken with DEDE in person and that he had understood the situat ...

• DON... 11 years ago

YOUR STATEMENTS ARE FOOL OF RUBBISH...COMPLIANCE TO THE RULES IS SUPREME... DEDE'S TEAM RELEASED HIM AND HE DECIDED NOT TO GO..COACH APPIAH WANTED TO GO WITH FIT PLAYERS NOT HALF FIT PLAYERS..DID SOMEONE NOT LOSE HIS POSITION ...

Thank you Don for saying it like it is. This will teach any upcoming Ghanaian Player that, no matter who they are, we will not accept undisciplined Players who will cause disunity in the team. We don't need any prima donna Pl ...

• wilson 11 years ago

I am not asking that Dede be treated differently from other players because he is the son of Abedi Pele. No! But what I am saying is that he be given what he deserves because he has paid his dues. You see, there are eggs and ...

• kofi 11 years ago

This piece is right to the point, ever since the exclusion of Anre Ayew from the team,i have been trying hard to write something like this about the issue.As for me, if i were Akwasi Appiah, for some section of Ghanaians not ...

There is no Abedi Kwasi Appiah issue. Some people aqre just trying to create a wedge. Dede Ayew might have taken this upon himself to settle scores and that is why he insulted Coach Appiah and the entire technical staff and P ...

• HON. NII TETTEVI! 11 years ago

WAR between aa n the ayews. its payback time

• BONGOMAN 11 years ago

tHE COACH IS STILL BETTER WITH ABEDI PELE OVER THE CAPTAINSHIP BAND, GFA ALSO WITH ABEDI PELE'S INTEREST ON CAF AND SANI DAARA ALSO IN THE SAME WAVE LENGHT WITH THE ABOVE TWO.JORDAN AND DEDE EXCLUSION TELLS IT ALL.HOW CAN THE ...

• Johnnie B Canada 11 years ago

I guess this writer is bord, i wonder why he thinks that Akwesi Appiah excluded Ayew, Ain't you guys the same people that wrote that ayew did not report to camp when he was supposed to. I think writers like you should not wri ...

• BENSON ANKODY 11 years ago

So so talk. It is because of Ghanaian like you that is why we have not been able to do anything.
    You think by your assertion no Ghanaian can coach it's national team to win any laurels? What a fallacy. Deeply disappointed.

• E. kyei Maryland 11 years ago

sports is all about discipline, and not about personality. it very unfortunate to threaten oficials handling the Black stars because of Ayew, you can worship them but don't involve all Ghanaians.

• Dee 11 years ago

Can you give us a break? Dede had his chance and messed up. Leave Kwasi Appiah alone. No one is bigger than the team. You should be ashamed of yourself for your threats.

• kofi 11 years ago

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH ABOUT THIS DEDE STORY JARGONS. GET OVER IT AND RESPECT THE COACHE'S DECISION. IT IS SICKENING TO READ THIS JARGON FROM SOMEONE LIKE YOU WHO HAS NO CLUE ABOUT WHAT MODERN SOCCER IS ALL ABOUT. MR DANQUAH, GROW ...

• kwasi 11 years ago

B/S need team players but, not best players. "STUPID AND USELESS ARTICLE"

• King Grny-Ray 11 years ago

Ghanafo, let's face facts and stop causing commotions. We all like Dede. He is a very good player but he just don't want to play cos his brother was not selected that's all. Thinking by so doing they will select his brother f ...

• LONDON 11 years ago

NONSENSE ARTICLE BY ONE FOOLISH AND SENSELESS DANIEL DAQUAH DAMPTEY. Should we include an injured player as we did for sheila illiasu in AFCON 2008 and regreted? Think triple b4 writing any article...Black stars is a team wor ...

• ike 11 years ago

ok with you

• Yab Yab 11 years ago

Don't waste our time on this matter again. It is finished now!

• paa 11 years ago

Good article. You hit the nail right on the head. every player has a personal physician who takes care of him. Will all the people criticizing dede leave their personal physician for any other doctor to see them. No, but we ...

• Philomena Mensah 11 years ago

The writer is speaking his opinion and should know that not all Ghanaians agree entirely with him. Some see it differently. Dede may also have his hidden agenda, don't you think so?. We need to discipline ourselves - players ...

• Egya-K 11 years ago

Do u have any evidence to attest to these wild allegations? Let sleeping dogs lay. Dede disrespected the coach and was left out. Period!

• Efo KOKU 11 years ago

YOUR ARTICLE MAKE A LOT OF ANALYSIS BUT LACK COHERENCE AND CORRELATIONS .YOUR CONCLUSION IS HOWEVER CAN SIMPLY BE CONDEMNED WITH THE THREATENING STATEMENT.AN ADAGE GOES"YOU NEED NOT DANCE WITH AN AXE TO CELEBRATE YOUR INNOCEN ...

• kwaku mensah new york 11 years ago

mr.damptey, you are good in writing about politics and not sports. please leave the sports arena alone and stick to what you know best. your article is full of hatred and half truths.kwasi nyantakyi is not my Favorite but ple ...

• simp 11 years ago

My dear Ghanaian, i think you have got it all wrong. Asamoah decided not to play for Ghana & he rescinded his decision. Dede did nothing of the sort. he simply refused to join when he was asked to. what he should have done wa ...

• Abongo 11 years ago

Who cares. Get a life.

• frank obeng;New York 11 years ago

Much ado about nothing.allow de coach to do his work.nobody is above de law.

• kofi mawuli 11 years ago

dumb article

• Richard, UK 11 years ago

What a waste of space and time. This is senseless and ridiculous. Your mind is locked in a cant do attitude. Everything white is good, everything Ghanaian or black is bad. You a disgrace to our generation. Shame on you.

• de 11 years ago

We are fed up with such maliciously wicked backlashing and nonsense from self-styled coaches and amateur sports journalists who presuppose to have all the panacea to challenges in our national soccer teams. Nobody discounts t ...

• fiifi 11 years ago

this is waste of space and time. an epitome of a useless article, to say the least.

• LOUIS KWESI AWEH 11 years ago

IF COACH APPIAH REALLY WANT COMMITED PLAYERS IN HIS TEAM, THEN I SEE NO REASON TO DROP DEDE AYEW.ANYWAY SOME OF US KNEW IS PAY BACK TIME, WE SAW IT COMING AND IT HAS COME. GOD IS THE FINAL ANSWER.

• Komivi 11 years ago

Ghana never lacks yam heads like the writer of this article. At the end of AFCON 2013 I pray he does not commit suicide.

• Aspes 11 years ago

The article itself is unnecessary, the coach knows better and his view must be respected.

• Encho 11 years ago

Is dis guy a journalist??i hope they did not pay u off to write this article.these are strong allegations you have laid n nyantakyie wud b so glad to take u to court.be very careful man! The nation has moved on without dede,t ...

• STEVEN 11 years ago

HAPPY TO HERE THAT