You are here: HomeSports2015 01 08Article 341801

Gyan ranked 4th Best Striker Worldwide

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Kay 9 years ago

Are we sure this ranking was not done by the French cartoonists killed by the Islamic terrorists for L'Equipe?

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 9 years ago

On what criteria.I Don't hate Asamoah but this story is mean't for kindergatens

• milanista 9 years ago

but asamoah gyan was able to score against germany nd portugal...appreciate what you have man

• TONY, KUMASI 9 years ago

The likes of Ogoglo, Rasheed, Kutsii, Ghfuo and Moscow remind me of the term Low Intelligence Readers, also known as LIRs or misguided readers. They profess to be the alfa and omega in soccer and in the process, unfortunately ...

• Ayite A, Seattle, WA 9 years ago

Thanks Tony. Very observant on your part. You are a smart dude.

• bulwark mosaic 9 years ago

I am impressed by your careful observation,Tony.you omitted bbc. Superb analysis of the stiff-necked empty heads

• FAMAR,,,CALIFORNIA,,,, 9 years ago

IF YOU DONT LIKE IT DON'T READ IT,,,PEOPLE LIKE YOU WITH I KNOW TOO MUCH ,,WHO GIVE A FUCK ABOUT YOURS ANYWAY,,,LET THEM HAVE THE FAN,,

PEOPLE ARE KILLING PEOPLE FOR FOR WHAT THEY WRITE,,ITS FREEDOM OF EXP,," JE SUIS CHA ...

• TONY, KUMASI 9 years ago

WHY R U HIDING BEHIND THIS NAME, OGOGLO? U CAN'T FOOL ME! WHEN U WRITE, I KNOW. USE YOUR NAME OGOGLO. R U ASHAMED OF YOUR NAME AND THE KIND OF ENGLISH U WRITE?

• Rasheed 9 years ago

My friend(CHAKA,USA),your are rather displaying your nescience,as far as soccer is concerned.The topic is about Asamoah Gyan,and you have become gaga about guys who upbraid corrupt Nyantakyi.No amount of your mendacious remar ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER!!! 9 years ago

DON'T MIND THAT FOOL,,,THANK GOD HE IS A "PROFESSOR "IN ENGLISH,,A-B-O-A LIKE THAT,,,

• Rasheed 9 years ago

"Empty barrels make the most noise". TONY, alias CHAKA, should go and bandy words with Wole Soyinka ,Ama Atta Aidoo and co.We meet here to discuss soccer, and if he thinks that is not his field, then I am sorry he is at ...

• Hahaahaa!!! 9 years ago

WHAT MAKES NYANTAKYI A NORTHERNER AND YOU ARE I GUESS A SOUTHERNER? I SEE YOU ARE NOT A NORTHERNER BUT A MUSLIM WHICH WILL MAKE YOU OF NIGERIA OR OF SOME OTHER NEIGHBORING NATION?!!!

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I will attack any GFA official or the sports minister irrespective of his religion and tribe.It is those who grew up in the north that believe in tribalism. Some of us who were born and grew up in Accra, don't believe in tha ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

I can understand your anger and frustration. Some of the contributors on this forum under-rate the prowess of Gyan as a striker. They argue, though incoherently that Asamoah Gyan was snubbed by CAF for the 2014 best footballe ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Tony did not even write about Asamoah Gyan. He deviated and settled on his personal issues with some of the contributors. He doesn't know any of the facts you just posted. Trust me.

• bulwark mosaic 9 years ago

Rasheed, you are a misguided reader. Too aggressive and baseless, unfounded arguments. tone down .

• Rasheed 9 years ago

No comments.

• Agyei Manu 9 years ago

Are you not ashamed to write this comment. Wait and see

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

IF TONY YEBOAH TWICE GOALKING IN THE GERMAN BUNDESLIGA COULDNT WIN WITH QUALITY GOALS WHAT MAKES GYAN THINKS HE CAN WIN WITH A UAE LEAGUE WHERE MOST OF THE LOCAL PLAYERS ARE PART TIME FOOTBALLERS? GET REAL IF YOU DONT KNOW TH ...

• Mumbi of Toronto 9 years ago

Ten goals at Al Ain will be equal to 1.5 goals at EPL. How do you compare these? Stay at Al Aon and enjoy your goal king But sorry, no awards , no trophies.

• O.P 9 years ago

Man don't be so ignorant, have u forgotten that Asamoah gyan scored 13 goals in the EPL season for Sunderland

• Nana 9 years ago

Goal Scoring Talent I admire very much. His unique ability to score impossible goals. Against England and USA 2010 are my fondest. Thank God for you!!!!

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Yes, by Ghanaian standards, Asamoah Gyan is a striker. Let's not talk about the world when we talk about him as a striker. If the other 'strikers' we are comparing him to are all Ghanaians and include Jordan, Accam, and ... ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

I second your contribution. Gyan is not a world class striker. When he played in England he could not score that many goals; because he played with great players.
    He is brilliant by African standard but not world class.

• Cannot Be Cheated 9 years ago

Pathetic Ghanaians. You would be hailing him if he were white. You are your own worst enemies.

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Hi Brother,
    I don't hail just for hailing sake. I call a spade a spade. I love Gyan both on the field and off the field. I love his music too.
    I watched Gyan while he donned Sunderland jersey and Black Stars Jersey. He coul ...

• WORRIOR 9 years ago

LIKE WISE 2014 WORLD CUP AGAINST GERMANY. GYAN HAS THE ZEAL TO SCORE LIKE WISE OTHER STRICKERS.

• WHAAAAAT? 9 years ago

Ronaldo 61, Messi 51 and Soriano 55, and you call Messi second?
    Oh, stupid Ghanaian writers!

• ebbah 9 years ago

Stupid indeed how can 51 move ahead of 55 stupid writer

• nana 9 years ago

You are a fool who has no knowledge of football. Shut up your dirty stinky mouth moron.kwasia don't u know that the league u play counts as well ..fool how can u compare Austrian league to spanish...51 goals in Spain is like ...

• Nana poku 9 years ago

U mean one in Spain counts as two in Australia? Then one goal in Spain counts as 4 in Africa nations cup. What a nonsense. Reversed thinking. You are soo shallow.

• ebbah 9 years ago

Aboa funu why dont you compare italy, germany and others they are comparing number of goals not how it was score aboa ike that some guys scored more beautiful and skillfull goals more ronaldo and messi where are they abia ...

• kwasia kwa 9 years ago

It's a FACT...So world cup is shitty too? From NORTH, SOUTH, EAST AND WEST AFRICA He's the leading goal scorer at the WC BELIEVE IT OR NOT. #FACTS. Jealous ass motherfuckers.

• Kofi Yamoah 9 years ago

Sorry to say you love the game but lack insight of it when Messi is not 100%fit he has 55 goals. I believe the rankings was not based on one season's result. Let appreciate every effort we see in our people go away from the R ...

• NSEMFOO 9 years ago

If that should be the case, then the world lack strikers and it is obvious we don't see any attractive football anymore.....I rest my case

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

NSEMFOO,U R A COWARD,WHY SHOULDN'T U USE YOUR REAL NAME?DO U REMEMBER GYAN'S GOAL AGAINST THE NETHERLANDS AND U.S.A. IN 2010?CZECH IN 2006?DO U REMEMBER HIS GOAL AGAINST ENGLAND FRIENDLIEST?GYAN DID NOT GO TO PLAY IN THE GU ...

• BENITO 9 years ago

ANY 0NE WHO TRIES TO UNDERMIND GYAN,S STRIKING PROWEES IS NOTHING BUT A HATER WHO HAS ACHIEVE NOTHING IN HIS/HER LIFE,WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT GYAN IS STILL THE BEST STRIKER GHANA HAS EVER HAD,PERIOD..SHAME ON YOU HATERS

• Jozi 9 years ago

Its simply not true that Gyan ranked 4th best striker Worldwide.Ghanaians should stop showering theirself with such untruth story.This your ghanaweb is always giving you stories that are not true,why? is't because they don't ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

THOSE WHO SAY A GOOD PLAY "HAS" TO PLAY IN EUROPE HAS A COLONIAL MENTALITY. NOT ALL GOOD FOOTBALLERS CAN PLAY IN EUROPE. HOW CAN EUROPE ACCOMMODATE EVERY GOOD FOOTBALLER? HE WAS SIMPLY CHEATED AND I AM NOT SAYING THIS BECAUSE ...

• charles 9 years ago

I am ghanain but i dont believe it to. Is abig lie.word best liars are ghana journalists.

• 4getmenot 9 years ago

Its possible cos his holdin the all tym African records. Wat is yaya doing in the caf.... He can score n help his country progress cos he doesn't hve quality players like man city in his country thts y his country is a wack. ...

• Solja 9 years ago

Stupid Hayatou and his Cohorts hates Ghanaian players with so much passion...even when Essien was on the top of forms, they still denied him such accolade.

• The boy 9 years ago

Oh yeah 4th indeed...why because CAF. ..did not mentioned his name for the award winning. ..In Africa so Ghanaian writers decided to give him WORLD BEST. .

• sly New Jersey 9 years ago

Why Ghanaian sports writers always throw dust into our eyes Asamoah Gyan is not the 4th best in the world as soccernet want us to believe he is not in the first 50 list publish by L'equipe a french magazine the only african p ...

• Charles Kofi Nortey 9 years ago

Waaa look at such ranking to include even a player with Red Bull Salzburg. The earlier we stop publishing such rubbish the better it will be for the world of sports. I mean how? Asamaoah Gyan 4th best striker in the world...T ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

ALL GYANS

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

ONYAME NIPA SPEAKING

• THE SENTINEL 9 years ago

"Despite the impressive scoring record for both club and country, the former Sunderland striker failed to make CAF’s three-man shortlist for the 2014 Africa Footballer of the Year Award.
    Gyan’s omission has attracted ma ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

WE KNOW CAF IS TAKING THEIR MARCHING ORDERS FROM THEIR BRITISH AND FRENCH MASTERS SO IT IS NOT REALLY UNEXPECTED TO SEE THEM ACTING THIS WAY.WE MUST DO WHAT GYAN IS DOING AND IGNORE THEM.

• Agustine Aidoo Washington D.C. 9 years ago

the first 6 best strikers in the world by french magazine L'equipe are C Ronaldo, L Messi, Neymar, Muller,Suarez,and Ibrahimovic.

• Owura 9 years ago

Hahahahaaaaa
    Awurade,my in

• Gerard Germany 9 years ago

Please stop this Cartoons Stop it. It is ridiculus

• koo 9 years ago

it is one of those stories that lack merit.

• Mumuni 9 years ago

It is a long way to April so why this ALL FOOLS' DAY JOKE?
    GHANAsoccernet, you are so immature that when Gyan is not listed among the best Three African Players of the year, Your Readers react With insults and name-calling b ...

• Antwi 9 years ago

Ghanaweb style of unprofessional journalism plus useless article.

• tony- cotonou. 9 years ago

Neither gyan nor any anglophone player can win an award under hayatou led caf... sorry.

• Gyan jnr 9 years ago

i alwz tel ppl abt gyan..wat he s capable of doin.he is jst a great striker nd skipper of all tym..ghfo) jst cnt stop hating him.shame on u all...s guy is enjoyin his career nd moni nd u ar here hating nd insulting...wat ll i ...

• chris 9 years ago

nice one asamoah gyan, some ghanaians will always critise but none of their family members have reached that far

Hahahahahahahahahaha........like seriously? which striker is Gyan better than, even among the top 5 EPL teams' strikers?

• agosta 9 years ago

Idiots writer...51 nd 55 which one comes first
    ..kwasia....do u even have an editor at all

• Abicus 9 years ago

So you mean Gyan is better than Van Persie, Diego Costa, Ibrahimovich, Aguero,Suarez, Drogba ? Tweaaaaaa

• Phoenix USA. 9 years ago

RANDOM LIST;
    Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski, ibrahimovic
    Suarez, van persie, Diego Costa, Tervez, aguero, dzeko, rooney, falcao, etc.
    So among this few list of strikers, who can gyan compare himself to?

• Emml. Kofi Frimpong, Worcester-MA 9 years ago

Name me your striker, and I will show you perhaps, his popularity and professional achievements.
    Indeed, it's a true saying that "a prophet has no honor amongst his own kinsmen".Still, for me, Gyan has no "tangible character ...

• Emml. Kofi Frimpong, Worcester-MA 9 years ago

...."Anglophone",and a bunch more. Reader:
    Pls correct me in mind, for the no spell checks and other grammatical inaccuracies. Thanks.

• PHILIP .O. USA. 9 years ago

Why He is not African best, Then they roub him.

• Olafemi, Toronto 9 years ago

How could he be Africa's best ? Just hyped. Not even Ghana's best. How good a striker is he? On the nation of the blind, the one eyed "striker " is the best. Miss of Nigeria is far better than your Gyan. Stop deceiving yourse ...

• Olafemi, Toronto 9 years ago

Musa of Nigeria

• kwasia kwa 9 years ago

heeeyyyy how many world cup goals has musa scored? Who's musa? a member of BOKO? Watch your mouth u talking about the boy that's holding the record for the most goals scored for AFRICAAAAAAAAAA....which means u and musa shoul ...

• Kay 9 years ago

Is Gyan better placed than Diego Costa? Suarez? Mandzukic? Benzema? Fake Fake Fake.

• Bob Kumasi 9 years ago

Sorry Gyan will never get any CAF award because he is not Franco phone. Check the records and prove me wrong

• N,,, 9 years ago

Ghanaman like LIE LIE. When Samuel Kuffour of Bayern missed it, was it to someone from the Francophone zone? Check your facts.

• N,,, 9 years ago

Ghanaman like LIE LIE. When Samuel Kuffour of Bayern missed it, was it to someone from the Francophone zone? Check your facts.
    You people just sit in Kumasi and beat up journalists because you think that Bra Gyan is the BEST

• seth thomas 9 years ago

very good job done. is not easy coming up u deserved it .

• Mumbi of Toronto 9 years ago

No Tropjy, no award, how could u play in an unrecognized/unknown league and win awards?
    If Ronaldo plays in the Indian league , he will never win an award as world best because it is not competitive enough. That is why no ZA ...

• Gaza 9 years ago

What has Islam got to do with this? Why can't just say you don't agree to the article by the french magazine.You have the freedom to speak but you have limits and it is only a fool and an illiterate who doesn't know this.

• Gaza 9 years ago

Since you think asamoah gyan is not good enough,it will be better if you go and replace him and stop making such comments.If asamoah gyan was from your family you would be the most proudest person.

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 9 years ago

Gyan currently is one of the top strikers in the world. Check the IFHHS official rankings. He's been in a rotation with Messi, Ronaldo, and Neymar for most goals in the world for club and country. Gyan has more goals than bot ...

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 9 years ago

How is that since Hayatou took office in 1998 only Francophone players has won

• Alfred Atisu 9 years ago

I love Asamoah Gyan bcos he believes in himself never loses hope, he is always focus on what he want to achive

• John Tetteh (Chief) 9 years ago

You deserve more than that...Keep the fire burning!!!! we love u

• Mr. President 9 years ago

Ghanaians when shall we appreciate what we have, and stop comparison?
    This is what u did to Richard Kingston

• nkwasiasem 9 years ago

well done

• Wuofei 9 years ago

That piece of shit from Cameroun will go down as the worst leader to ever manage African football. No African team will win a major tournament as long as he remains in office. He's surrounded himself with francophone bigots ...

• Okesse 9 years ago

A goal is a goal in any part of the world. Asamoah Gyan is the best goal scorer in the world Who is Yaya Toure ? Is it his long legs? You watch him play . Asamoah is far far better than him. It would be difficult for an Engl ...

• the king 9 years ago

CAF award is not fair