Sports News of Sunday, 17 June 2012

Source: footyghana

Daniel Nii Adjei wins Player of the Season Award

Asante Kotoko midfielder Daniel Nii Adjei was last night named the best player of the 2011/2012 Glo Premier League season by the Premier League Board of the Ghana Football Association.

Nii Adjei beat off competition from the season’s top scorer, Emmanuel Baffour from New Edubiase United and Berekum Chelsea forward Emmanuel Clottey to land the prestigious award at a ceremony at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Kumasi.

Nii Adjei’s team-mate Awal Mohammed was also named the defender of the season, beating off last year’s award holder Rashid Sumaila of Dwarfs and Berekum Chelsea’s Edward Kpodo.

Wa All Stars captain Robert Dabuo edged Asante Kotoko goalie Soulama Abdoulaye and Berekum Chelsea’s Ernest Sowah to win the goalkeeper of the season award, whilst Tema Youth full back Joshua Oninku beat Asante Kotoko’s Baba Abdul Rahman and Mighty Jets’ Eli Agbeko to win the Discovery of the Year Award.

New Black Stars assistant coach Maxwell Konadu landed the Coach of the year award for leading Asante Kotoko to the Premier League title. Other nominees for this award were Medeama SC head coach Bashir Hayford and Ashanti Gold acting coach Yaw Acheampong.

Full award list

Footballer of the year

Daniel Nii Adjei (Asante Kotoko)

Defender of the year

Awal Mohammed (Asante Kotoko)

Goalkeeper of the year

Robert Dabuo (Wa All Stars)

Discovery of the Year

Joshua Oninku (Tema Youth)

Goal king

Emmanuel Baffour (New Edubiase United, 21 goals)

Coach of the Year

Maxwell Konadu (Asante Kotoko)

CEO of the year

Dr. Kofi Kodua Sarpong (Asante Kotoko)

Award for fair play

Wa All Stars

Best behaved supporting Group

Wa All Stars

Best Referee

William Agbovi

Best Assistant Referee

David Laryea

Best Match Commissioner

M. Arthur-Dadzie

Best GFA Worker

Senior Category: Mark Addo

Junior Category: Samira Ghartey

Best PLB Cameraman

Emmanuel Offei

Special media awards

David Odeneho Appiah (Adom FM)

Kuntu Blankson (Skyy Power)

Barima Otuo Acheampong (Hot FM)

Michael Katahena (Metro TV)

Prince Annang (Metro TV)

Kwabena Yeboah (Africa Sports)

Kingsley Hope (Ghanaian Times)

Kwame Asare Boadu (Daily Graphic)

Samuel Dodoo (Daily Graphic)

Benedict Kwadwo Mensah (Oman FM)

This article has no comments yet, be the first to comment