You are here: HomeNewsRegional2016 03 17Article 423963

We’ve not received salaries for 4 years – teachers cry to gov’t

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Abigi 8 years ago

An employer that abandons you for 4 years does not have your interest at heart or may not need your services. Terminate the employment and find something else to do. you have family and other responsibilities to take care of.

• Nancy Forson 8 years ago

I am sort of wondering the level of investigation done into this matter, but sincerely, I find it very outrageous to be believed.

How on earth, can one work for four straight years without remuneration?
    It is not possibl ...

• steph 8 years ago

Nancy, I know 3 teachers who weren't receiving their salaries for over two years. When they started being paid, they only received three months arrears and were told the rest will come later. They all happened to teach in the ...

• Komla Seyram 8 years ago

bro.. I have a friend there in the same district,,, she is in the same issue.. her salary hasnt come for 4years. i talk with her every week, the same story. they go tru all the verification and even doing diploma in basic edu ...

• Shine your eyes 8 years ago

They are barely managing on fees they collect from extra classes and tutoring. Some may even charge fees for handouts. The latter is not a good practice but it happens.

• EDDIE - TARKWA 8 years ago

Nancy you are behaving like a stranger arriving in Ghana today. What about the nurses and other health service providers to include NHIS? Stop being partisan and think about your brethren.

• Otsibu Darko 8 years ago

Nancy, my niece completed her teacher training and service about 2 years ago
    and presently teaching in an elementary school near Shama and up till now have not received any payment not even to talk about the one year service ...

• prof 8 years ago

Nancy Forson, I don't know which part of the world you live. Do you think people will come and seat on radio and this big lies? Or you over believe your prez? Then let me tell you the truth what these teachers are saying is ...

• KORTSMA,USA. 8 years ago

Did u investigate as well before u challenge?that criminal Mahama to you is caring abi?

• Ernest 8 years ago

District directorate alone engaging 500 teachers? This can only be unthordox recruitment without following laid down government directives concerning case-by-case justification and availability of finance. Heads of units are ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

I have been watching the PAC hearings on TV and I can tell you it is amazingly impressive. Just hope they bite as hard as they chew these ministers.

These ministries are so incompetent, we must revolt against them, to assi ...

• KORTSMA,USA. 8 years ago

Teachers are not receiving their salaries in Ghana meanwhile,the dumb government is buying cars for Afia Schwarzenegger because
    she is fighting those calling Mahama as incompetent

• Odikro 8 years ago

These are the same Voltarians who are going to vote for the hometown NDC in November. Ho far does it get before we think about change? Did they not say you can not be doing the same thing and expecting a different result?

• Nancy Forson 8 years ago

Please let be open minded to do the needed justice to stories of this kind.

What do we seek to get by reporting untruths of this nature? if not only to paint government in a certain light.

Tell me for four good years, w ...

• Prosper 8 years ago

Nancy you sound like an NPP. You seem to be making fun of us.

• AGOVE. 8 years ago

FUNNY WORLD,STOP DECEIVING AND FOOLING YOURSELF,SHE SOUNDS LIKE MAHAMAH WHO IS A PRESIDENT OF KEYAN AND DOESN'T KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN GHANA.WE HAVE BORROWED OVER 90BILLION CEDIS IN SEVEN YEARS BUT WE CAN'T PAY TEACHERS THE ...

• prof 8 years ago

Nancy you are sounding so stupid to my liking. Am the district leaving in the same house with three of such teachers, in the same staff with four of them. Do the be brainwashed by poltics.

• aikins 8 years ago

I am not surprise at all to hear such thing happening to them under mahama.

• Bawa 8 years ago

the government only used them at 2012 to win the election. as we speak government is making efforts to reduced the size of public sector workers. advice yourself this time around and don't allow yourselves to be fooled twice ...

• Iddrusu, Nava-pio 8 years ago

These were jobs for the party faithfuls. The same was done to the so called Better Ghana recruits. They were not paid for seven months before being laid of. It's getting to elections and they have stated deceiving us with you ...

• Shine your eyes 8 years ago

You are Correct.

• citizen vigilante 8 years ago

This is barbaric.where on earth will such dastardly act be perpetuated on citizens?the district education directorate must be fired immediately.the affected teachers must demand for the fair share of the national cake.

• drogba.... 8 years ago

u reap wht u sow.....

• VOTE WISELY 8 years ago

HOW DO THEY MANAGE TO FEED THEMSELF IF NO INCOME ?????????

• steph 8 years ago

It's possible that their spouses and family help with a little money once in a while. Besides, if those same teachers went on strike, almost everybody would condemn them. Some of them also do other little jobs to help make en ...

is true..family and friends give them some cahs.. I can say that for fact.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Better Ghana for you and your stupid Ndc party.

• Tampulma man from lingbinsi, north go 8 years ago

lets pray God that Al-queeda will come to Ghana and solve this problem or how do u see it? because voltairians want mahama bole.

• EDEM 8 years ago

This is sad. For four years with no pay? This is too much irresponsibility on the part of our leaders. What will our leaders do if they are to miss their pay for a year? Even those being paid are stealing to supplement their ...

• Morris capetown 8 years ago

They (african leaders) are always like tht ooo even here in sa oooh

• Uthman Daud Zakar 8 years ago

But teachers should have taken an action since, because u were told u will receive your salary within the next 5 months in service as your back payed.why should you worked for almost five years without any salary,do u think u ...

bro this is the issue..you will be victimised. secondly they dont have money to get legal assistance..even to eat is a trouble,...and after working for a year, you cant just walk away..u may stay hoping things go well.

• nana 8 years ago

Hmmmm Ghana is punishing it's own children. Our mother Ghana is wicked

• Andy 8 years ago

These teachers should shut up. Why haven't they protested all these years? They love NDC and don't want to disgrace govt. So why are they talking now? They should continue to suffer. FOOLS.

• NANA 8 years ago

WHY DOES THIS KEEP HAPPENING UNDER NDC???? HOW DID THIS BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY GET INTO THIS MESS. EVERYTHING IS JUST IN A MESS. FUEL PRICE KEEPS SKYROCKETING AMIDST DECREASE ON THE INTERNATIONAL LEVEL, UTILITIES TARRIFS ...

• Yaw Noble. 8 years ago

That is NDC for you. How come a teacher won't receive salary for four good years. Ghanaians let's make better preparation to face the battle of 2016 Election. God bless Mother Ghana.

• Israel Jude 8 years ago

You voter region people will for ever lick the asshole of John Dubai Mahama by voting him prez. That's your wages for voting for him instead of Nana Akufo-Addo for jobs, free SHS, NHIS, etc

• gerrald wobenu 8 years ago

agbenu and Mr tenge must be fired with immediate effect. working without pay for four years? l pity those teachers.

• gyasi 8 years ago

What is the deputy minister of education in charge of primary/secondary education doing?. Some of these issues shouldn't come to public fora. He should be up and doing.

• Padi Kojo 8 years ago

I am surprised that the Voltarians are crying. Were they not the same people who are supporting Mahama that he is doing a good job. Mahama just dont mind them they are still with yu Pay or no Pay

this is really a true story./ i have s friend who is teaching at Papasi, in the same district..and she suffers alot. now she has been transfered while she cant afford accomodation..how are they supposed to survive. please gvt ...

• Ben 8 years ago

I wonder if this story is true. How on earth
    can you work for four years without salary
    How then did you live for 4yrs with your
    family.

• Salifu m 8 years ago

Teachers vote against NDC what is the meaning of that.eiiiii ndc paa oh oh very bad government of all time in ghana history.twaaaaa

• Dr. William Acquah 8 years ago

What do you expect from a dead goat ruling our dear country?This Gov`t is full of trained liars.Don`t believe anything this Gov`t says.

• Dorothy Brooks 8 years ago

Truth is relative but facts and facts. That is why president Mahama presented an evident based state of the nation address to only point out the facts with respect to the right path he has taken this country. currently he has ...

• ambitious 8 years ago

That is Mahama for you, We must change this government. WE MUST BE TAKING SERIOUSLY

• Dorothy Brooks 8 years ago

with all due respect, The NDC administration in all humility has given teachers all the respect due them.
    Within the space of four years, over 50,000 basic school teachers across the country benefited from ICT training unde ...

• Slyster 8 years ago

I can see you are mahama"s advocate, so you know all his achievements. Idiot!!!

• kporfor godwin 8 years ago

Andy you are also a fool.you think they were happy with the situation? its because they were given assurance after assurance.

• bright 8 years ago

Hmmmm am soo soo surprised someone will sit somewhere n say its a lie. I am a principal accountant in one of the districts and I can confirm that it is true. We have people who were recruited in the year 2013/2014 and havent ...

• bright 8 years ago

I am a principal accountant in the eastern region in one of d district offices n I an confirm its true. We have staff working from 2013/2014 working till date who haven't received a dime so who is saying its a lie. If u dot ...

• MORGAN 8 years ago

BRIGHT HOW DO YOU PAY FOR THE BEER YOU HAVE BEEN DRINKING EVERY EVENING?

• Nnn 8 years ago

Bright, what about if I say you are a LIAR? 500 trs working for 4yrs wthout receiving any salary and probably have families and children, how do they feed? How do they pay the chn's schol fees? And you accountants feed BIG on ...

• bright 8 years ago

U r not serious one bit. If I were to be your brother u won't sit there n be talking shit. If u happen to have finished sch for years n finally u lay your hands on a government work knowing that they have promised to pay n al ...

• Andani A Sigli 8 years ago

go back to sch n upgrade ursefs period! who need pupils teacher in 21st century .

• Azaasuma 8 years ago

I'm not surprised at you Sigli. what should they use for the upgradment. if you were really yourself you would've known that been a pupil teacher doesn't mean you fall prey to you. many of then are better than you Abdani A si ...

• Gerald wobenu 8 years ago

Andani a sigli u are very stupid for that comment.who told u those teachers are block headed like u.close ur dirty mouth.

• CATAPULT 8 years ago

We recall there was a directive that all pupil teachers were not to be engaged, as part of the staff rationalization program in line with John Mahama's own bailout program with the IMF. Pupil teachers were all therefore asked ...

• JORDAN 8 years ago

HOW DO THESE TEACHERS PAY THEIR RENT AND OTHER BILLS THIS IS COMPLETE LIES.

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

If all the allegations we hear about the way the Government has been treating Teachers and Schools are true, it beats my imagination how our Government Officials could even live with such guilt.

How could the members of t ...

• George-U.S.A. 8 years ago

This is cruel and the most saddest story ever told. I guess a couple of heads must roll due to nigligence and incompetency.

• truth 8 years ago

Are the real thieves collecting double salaries & blaming one person as corrupt.

• Joe 8 years ago

This is a clear opportunity for people of the Volta region to sit up and vote massively against NDC November. This government, I mean, it just uselessly useless and incompetent and should be shown the way out.

• TL 8 years ago

These hoarders are just like snakes in the lizard eating at the Fulanians toes. Ministers be damned! Take the riches of dishonest ministers.

• Ashara 8 years ago

less hope for the best

• bright 8 years ago

I am soo shocked someone will tell me I am lying for wat? They made the audit service, mof and a member from GES come to validate the authenticity of our appointment letters n whether we have indeed been present n at post sin ...

• Muhammad Awal 8 years ago

Nancy do not be stupid bcs the so called controller n A G and the ministry of finance have sent down their teams here in December to assure teachers that by Jan 2016, they Will go for biometric registration but till date noth ...