You are here: HomeNewsRegional2015 04 20Article 355143

Nduom urges gov’t to address concerns of Western Chiefs

Read Comments Comments (14)

• Paa Mefful 9 years ago

The concern is real. One only needs to visit the Niger Delta to think of the consequences ahead.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

why not 50%

• SHORTEE 9 years ago

Zoobie, is not Ghana alon its happen
    any country where there is oil. My idea
    is to give them and control them how they use it.

• Apraku 9 years ago

l'm not reading this statement from Nduom,is he out of his balance? He is supporting that 10% demand from the chiefs and he wants to become a president of Ghana? Nooooo !!!

• Papa2 9 years ago

Nduom is right. A good leader anticipates problems and prevents disaster. Give the west its due now. They cannot continue to be poor in resource rich communities - they have suffered enough - gold, cocoa, timber, bauxite, ...

• osafoh, richard 9 years ago

I have followed the demand of the Chiefs in the western region where oil and gas business is taking place. On one side I understand the government explanations of Ghana belongs to all Ghanaians and that revenue should be spr ...

• Nduom 9 years ago

This is cheap politics. Ask the question did the money spent on behalf of Ghana to attract oil investors into the country was not contributed on regional basis. Greed and selfishness is becoming the mindset of some inward lo ...

• Dayton 9 years ago

Dr York, in as much as the people of the Western region needs attention from the government, we should never under any circumstances, play politics with it. Yes, they need a bit of the oil revenue.But in doing so, we should b ...

• ManBelhomme 9 years ago

Mr Osafo Richard has made a very level headed comments that on the surface should appeal to the chiefs to abandon their demands. But what I I can say is likes " could only be compared with likes" .The cash crops cited in his ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

All these years that gold is mined at Obuasi, were the people given 10% of Ghana government share? Go and look at the destruction there. Is it realistic for the people Western region alone to receive 10%?

• Adongo Tongo 9 years ago

Good, but also give 10% of cocoa and gold revenue to regions that produce them.

• Papa2 9 years ago

Government must go back and correct problems created in Akwatia, Obuasi, Tarkwa, etc. the reality is that you cannot sit next to riches and watch in poverty forever. Galamsey is a result of inequality in sharing riches from ...

• OSAFO MARFO 9 years ago

Henceworth all regions must demand 10%of revenues derived from resources obtained in their respective areas. Soon oil will start flowing in other parts of the country and I hope Ndoum principle will apply.Dont compare niger ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

I beg to differ.All the resources in the continental shelf and deep sea belong to Ghanaians,unlike those embedded in stool lands,the exploitation of which attract royalties.Therefore,the revenue should be applied to national ...