You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 05 26Article 310574

Sefwiman declares 'no region, no vote 2016'

Read Comments Comments (74)

• kaku oduro 9 years ago

i support this but you should try to add the wassa and the upper denkyira to make up the mid west region,

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

All divide and rule tactics encouraged by the ndc

• SAMMY (USA) 9 years ago

I support this move and the name should be MID WEST REGION which sound good and great.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

This is a very good article to serve the government as a wake up call for sefwi b'cos that region has honestly neglected that region for far too long. Surprisingly about 40% of the natural resources comes from there. NDC wak ...

• kofi 9 years ago

Ahafo people too in the Brong Ahafo region want thier own region. They have been pushing for this since JJ time. I do no think government should grant such requests becuase of its implications for Ghana as a country. You reme ...

• Okomfo, London 9 years ago

In fact,I cannot understand how some people reason.The area in question is Sefwi which is one hundred percent Ghanaian.You wish that it was changed to something foreign.What a shame !

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

No need to ask for new region. Just vote NDC out. We use our Kookoo and gold monies to freely educate those Atinga-Trokosi group through free education and scholarships on the part of the Trokosis but these insatiable ingrate ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Who loses if you don't vote? Should every area be made a region? If your area has been neglected for far too long and you need accelerated development, just put that case across. You have been neglected. Yes, that is true. Wh ...

• dan 9 years ago

press on

• PRINCE BOMBARD 9 years ago

IT IS TRUE AND I SUPPORT THIS COURSE EVEN THOUGH AM NOT A SEFWI, MY SON'S MOM IS FROM THERE. YOU HAVE BEEN CHEATED FOR FAR TOO LONG.

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

What if Aowin and Brosa also want to become separate Regions for even quicker development? Ghana as a country, is already too small to have so many Regions, anyway. If you want your area developed, say so. Being a Region and ...

• joe,boston 9 years ago

"...in spite of all mineral resources such as Timber, Ivory, Cocoa, Coffee, Gold, Bauxite etc.,..." If by ivory you mean the tusk of an elephant, let me remind you that it is not a mineral resource and it is illegal to poach ...

• Kobina 9 years ago

Lol

• BOSS 9 years ago

Yess Sir!I like it.You are the only one who entered through the narrow gate according to the scriptures. Ghanaians were at their best when you corrected them. Always supporting nonsense and mediocrity.

• nicman@atl 9 years ago

the writer wrote all what was not being done. what about what the people in the sehwi are doing. BIG TIME FUNERAL, WEDDINGS, BIG TIME HARVEST, BACK BITTING, EMFAAA MI HU ATTITUDE,CHALLENGING IN MARRYING THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF ...

• Kwaame 9 years ago

If regions are created in Northern Ghana to expedite development, then Sefwi needs one. Expensive funerals does not detract from GDP growth. If someone chooses to lay their loved one to rest extravagantly that is none of your ...

• The Wise One 9 years ago

I'm not form Sefwi and I don't know who you are but you the the very people don't think before they talk. Use your head not your stomach! You yourself must be the leader of the witchery.
    This is a matter of how those people ...

• francis 9 years ago

"naniama" next time vote with your head. go and ask ndc whom you've been given your vote.

• TWEAA 9 years ago

WAIT UNTIL 2016 THE AHWOI BROTHERS WILL COME WITH STOLEN 'AGOOGI' WITH PLENTY OF GIFTS AND THESE PEOPLE WILL FOLLOW THEM LIKE BEES AND GIVE THEM THEIR VOTES.

• Cynthia 9 years ago

Just name known names of the area past and present. 1.Ahwois 2...............

• Cynthia 9 years ago

Add party affiliation too

• Cynthia 9 years ago

What?

• BOSS 9 years ago

Bt insulting NANIAMA have you created the region for the writer? Tell those people there that for once they should stop their ritual murders and see if God will not open a way for them.

• ALE TSE 9 years ago

Non sense you are clamouring for a Regional status only to stifle development fighting amongst yourselves on which area to become the Capital

• good jugdement 9 years ago

Sefwi, wassa choooooooboeeeeee boeeeeeeee,

• Carsamer 9 years ago

thank you for the move and 100% behind you. we need dedicated leaders like ASOGLI, who are selfleness.

• good jugdement 9 years ago

I think the leader is making a good point but the fact that he using a tribe as his basis is something I think will give the demand a frowned face. please change your strategy as early as possible. Its my candid advice

• Ghanaba Paa tee 9 years ago

The guy is making sense of what he is saying. I have been there in that region before. It look as if they are not part of Ghana, so the gentleman has a case, and for that matter a serious one.

• Kofi kwame 9 years ago

Good Talk,Ghana is not practicing democracy . Ask any traveller who had seen other parts of the world,We always copy Nigeria with their filth,Robbery,Indicipline,deseas,corruption at the highest top,so shall be ,To God,if our ...

• KK Zurich 9 years ago

Matters of this nature will never end. Any area that feels “cheated” will call for a region - and that should not be the way forward. Can you imagine if the all coastal regions call for a certain kind of development other ...

• Patience 9 years ago

I am not from Sefwi but couldn't agree more to the facts. Every administration of this country is guilty of this gross injustice and should be ashamed of itself. I as a Ghanaian am embarrassed and want to apologise to the go ...

• Kwasi 9 years ago

What's the difference between Wassa and Sefwi? I understand Kwame Nkrumah's mother was from the Wassa area.

• AGYAAKU 9 years ago

Wassa is situated south of Sefwi. Larger towns in Wassa which comprises of Wassa Fiase And Wassa Akropong (Akyempim) I suppose, includes Tarkwa, Prestea, Bogoso, Dompim, etc. President Nkrumah had two uncles who resided in Ta ...

• Cynthia 9 years ago

I thought sefwi is in the Brong Ahafo region. Thanks for this piece.

• Amoah Wade3 9 years ago

howmany regions do we need to build a better ghana?

i think my people are neglected bla bla bla

koforidua is too far and that city lack a regional capital attitude

Kwahu should become a Region

Kwahu Region/ Nkaw ...

• BOSS 9 years ago

I think for 8yrs Kuffour did an excellent job in K'dua. No cry boyy.

• BabaUS 9 years ago

Don't vote. Call their bluff. This stupid ultimatum giving nonsense must stop.

• ANANE 9 years ago

I think that the county should come up with proper alignment of our regions. A case in point: I cannot understand how we call the area of Winneba area, Swedru area Cape Coast municipality, Elmina, Assin Foso area Twifu area ...

• BOSS 9 years ago

These are unimportant just think of how you will make a car or an aeroplane. Your argument is for little minds.

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

It's time the name 'Zongo of Ghana' is changed to West North Region with full regional status. All the scholars like the Ahwois,Prof.Kwabena Frimpong Boateng,Dr.Kwaku Afriyie and others should all join this noble call by the ...

• Alaaba Daniel 9 years ago

es i second mr Tsina

• kwame 9 years ago

You see I have have people complain over lack of development but the truth is that, the natives are responsible for their own LACK OF DEVELOPMENT. CONTRACTS ARE AWARDED BUT THEY STEAL THE MONEY AND NO WORKS DONE!!!!!!!!!

• Azundow D. Issahaku 9 years ago

let them have it if they so desire. You think that's so easy?

• KWESI NYARKOH 9 years ago

THE AHWOIS ALWAYS DECEIVED YOU PEOPLE THAT THEY ARE ONE OF YOU.THEY DID THAT FOR VOTES AND YOU ALWAYS FOLLOWED THEM.SEFWI ALWAYS VOTED AGAINST NPP FOR NDC AND THE NDC HAVE TOLD YOU HOW FOOLISH YOU HAVE BEEN. AHWOIS LIVE IN AC ...

• hi Rawlings. 9 years ago

NDC lied to get your votes.Next time do not listen to lies.

• Akwasi ( London) 9 years ago

I have a lot of sympathy with Sefwi people. The neglect of their area is replicated in the central region as well.
    As a native of Upper Denkyira West,I find similar deprivations and neglect by successive governments even th ...

• BOSS 9 years ago

After daily murder/ and killing human beings for sacrifices to your personal gods and ritual money you now see that all those 'things' did not help you develop. so now you want a region.The blood letting has become a curse fo ...

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

don't worry, your chiefs will definitely declare their support for the government and vote when they are given a token of 4X4. if you refuse to vote they will stuff the ballot box for you.

• k. moses 9 years ago

this is perfect idea. sefwi people have waited too long , but its not too late

• KAMM,USA 9 years ago

blame your N.D.C for lack of development because SEFWIMAN area is an N.D.C stronghold and P. N.D.C /N.D.C has been in government for almost 30 years.Educate your people for them to be enlightened and they will realised that N ...

• nana nkrumah 9 years ago

i support u

• Kojo Agyili 9 years ago

Poor guy. I think he just might have a point. His attempt at articulating his sentiments attests to this.

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

I DONT THINK HE HAS A POINT. IF EVERY AREA WANTS TO CREATE A REGION I WONDER HOW MANY REGIONS WE ARE GOING TO HAVE. THEY NEED TO ELECT PEOPLE OR LEADERS THAT ARE NOT SELFISH AND THINKING ABOUT THEMSELVES BUT THE WHOLE AREA. ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

The agitation and muscle flexing for a new West North region is opportunistic as well as misguided and misplaced because the entire nation is suffering needlessly for a lack of development. This has come about as a result of ...

• sefwi 9 years ago

we will even die for it if they try to refuse us, sefwi is our land, when it come to figthing for our land, some of us can arange for all kind of arms frm russia

• Yaw Annim 9 years ago

WE shall support you. This fight requires money. Open a bank account to be properly managed. We shall donate money to support the fight.

• August 9 years ago

Backward thinking! You can arrange for arms to fight and kill yourselves, but you can't arrange to put your energy into good use for your people. You are a big disappointment! You are not the only people in Western Region. Yo ...

• sefwi 9 years ago

we will not kill our self but we will use the arms to protect our resources

• Apostle 9 years ago

National movement for what? For region creation and development? My friend, this won't work. Root for a National Devt Plan which should be known to the entire nation so that successive govts are held accountable to and punish ...

• samuel k asare 9 years ago

GOD BLESS SEFWIMAN BUT DO IT WITHOUT PROBLEM.MAY THE LORD GRANT OUR HEART DESIRE IN JESUS NAME

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 9 years ago

PRESS ON MY PEOPLE WE VE BEEN NEGLECTED FOR A LONG TIME:

• Kaku 9 years ago

Yes they can join Kiev or go to Iraq.

• Kwaku Affi 9 years ago

No one can say no to Sefwiman this time around. No region no vote. We deserve better oo

• KWAME AMEYAW 9 years ago

That Mr Addai, may God bless him for bringing this idea. We can't sit down anymore. Sefwi deserve regional capital to speed development is a fact. Come on sehwi.

• Apostle 9 years ago

Threat will never lead you anywhere so rethink, re-strategise the way forward. Read comment by KK Zurich

• Nana Kwame 9 years ago

Very good talk . Sefwi deserves better . We hope the government will take critical look to our petition . Most of the Sefwi men in politics are there for their stomach n nothing else. Thanks big bro

• Attah Danso 9 years ago

Current leaders are not helping

• TONY TSINA ADDAI 9 years ago

I WOULD LIKE TO APPEAL TO ALL PEOPLE READING THIS PAGE BOTH HOME AND ABROAD TO PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH ANY LITTLE YOU CAN AFFORD TO CONTINUE OUR CAMPAIGN FOR CHANGE. THE PEOPLE OF AOWIN, BROSA AND SEFWI SHOULD STAND UP FIRMLY ...

• TONY TSINA ADDAI 9 years ago

I TONY TSINA ADDAI THEREBY THANK ALL THOSE WHO HAVE EXPRESSED THEIR VIEWS ON THIS MOTION. I WOULD LIKE ALL CONCERNED PEOPLE TO PLEASE CONTACT ME DIRECTLY FOR MORE TALKS ESPECIALLY THE AOWIN, BROSA AND SEFWI BOTH HOME AND ABRO ...

• BAFFOUR-KUSI 9 years ago

Ashanti's will support the proposal for the regional status if only the capital links its 4 lanes highway to Abuakwa-Kumasi for fair trade.

• kofi junior 9 years ago

Thanks to Mr.Tsina Addai.Infact we the people of WESTERN REGION are going to separate ourselves from the rest of this country.We are going to form our government like what the people of SOUTHERN Sudan has done. SO sefwi peopl ...

• Yaw Adu 9 years ago

EVEN IF THEY USE GOLD TO BUILD ROADS FOR ASHANTIS THEY WILL STILL NOT APPRECIATE. PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS RIGHT THERE. EVEN KOMFO ANOKYE WHO HELPED ASHANTI WAS AS WELL KILLED BY ASHANTI NO APPRECIATION INDEED. KWAME NKRUMAH BUILT ...

• KWAKU MENSAH 9 years ago

I have come to believe the comments "Ashanti No Appreciation "based on just the two points raised aside "HUMAN RITUALS FOR SIKA DURO AND SAKAWA " No wonder no appreciation comment. I got him now.

• Adwoa Mansah 9 years ago

Look come to think of it, Sefwi need development because every resources are from the area ha!