You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 05 15Article 309443

Neglected Sefwiman seeks breakaway from Western region

Read Comments Comments (131)

• ekow amega 10 years ago

Rawlings created Upper West region from the Upper East in 1983 and not Limaan.

• gyan 10 years ago

True you know our govt is with all ears so your request is justified. I want Wasa Logba to be the capital.

• kwamina odze 10 years ago

SEFWIMAN EI YEI!. SEFWIMAN EI YEI! Here we come. All the sefwi chiefs should stand up for their people.
    All the money going to the north.

• Only the Thruth 10 years ago

My brother,if you think Sefwi is neglected go to Wassa.We have gold,timber,bauxite,mangannese etc yet it is the most neglected part of western region.

At least you have the Ahwoi brothers,(NDC GURUS) who have channeled res ...

• KWAME ANKAMAH 10 years ago

The North part of western region need immediate attention because is very part the resources come from. Is my believe that by getting a new region created will help to speed up development in the west in general which brings ...

• SISI 10 years ago

Not the north but the volta region also, have you now seen that ndc have used you ? When they asked you to hate Ashantis , you never thought you were hating akans but the devil you know is better than the angel you don't k ...

Lets face it, all these ashawo journalists and media realized after peddling the propaganda and lies of the NDC that the people immediately saw through them and stopped buying their newspapers or listening to their radio st ...

• iron lady 10 years ago

SEFWI NEEDS DEVELOPMENT AND CAN GET WHAT THEY WANT IF THEY STOP THE HATRED FOR ASHANTIS.THEY CALL US NSANTREMO.THEY VOTE AGAINST THE NPP BECAUSE THEY HATE ASHANTIS.EAT YOUR OWN TROUBLES BECAUSE THEY ARE HOME GROWN.YOU PICK AN ...

• IRON BOY 10 years ago

Stop talking crap!

• Newsroom 10 years ago

My friend neither the NDC nor NPP are saints,the problems is our chiefs have to get smart and search for their interest and destiny for their people both wassa and sefwi people.

• zebra 10 years ago

It's never long live tribe before a country. It's long live ghana, long live sefwiman, not the other way round.

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

Just mark this, anywhere NDC has massive support, they don't care about their development. Sefwi man should therefore sit up and hold their party NDC ACCOUNTABLE.....Simple. Requesting for a new region is not the best.
    I was ...

• PRINCE. 10 years ago

Do you know this area very well? The guy is talking about all succesive governments and not only NDC. Every Sefwi can confess it was NDC under Rawlings that gave them the existing good road from Bekwai to Wiawso. I was posted ...

• Planet O 10 years ago

Good job Mr. Addai but you need to get rid of the Chief of Sefwi Bekwai and everything will follow. I suggest we need to educate our people about how to vote.
    Is so sad that Sefwi people do not vote for someone with vision. ...

• Banda 10 years ago

I support you guys. I think the best way for this country is to form a Federal State so each state will use its resources to develop, unlike this present one where the Ayigbe people are stealing all our resources

• BYRCE 10 years ago

Yeh. GHANA MY MOTHER LAND FIGHT FOR YOUR REGIONS.

• Kwaku Obeng 10 years ago

That has always been my agument. This top to down apprach system is not good for Ghana. Lets have federal system with regional government responsible to the local community. We will not put all resources in the hands of the ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

So you have a federal system in Africa and you get Nigeria! The Biafra war! Sefwi fights Wasa! Asante fights Brong? Guan fights Anlo! where do you place the boarders?

Now a predominantly Muslim population in a ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

You are right but since the call for federalism is becoming too strident, I support that call. Not even federalism but total break up into our respective tribes. That way, the much-maligned and often-insulted Ewes would stay ...

• K.K. 10 years ago

The Asante Kingdom benefitted beyond measure from Sefwiman that they would forever prefer to see the latter remain deprived. Sefwiman remains the backyard of Asanteman but how many Asantes have built even a preparatory scho ...

• Efo Koshi 10 years ago

FEDERAL SYSTEM WILL BE BETTER FOR GHANA.PERIOD.

No. Let each tribe go its own way. We the Ewes can survive on our own.

• poku 9 years ago

volta region is the poorest region in the whole of ghana,no resources.

Idiot son of a raped giant she-ape, could you give an example of Ewes stealing your resources?

Just get it straight that we the Ewes can survive without being part of Ghana or when the country breaks up.

• newsroom 10 years ago

l fully support this great move,the chiefs in those areas should be strong and push forward this agenda.l am a son of sefwi and l have been mad for long time how our chiefs have been manipulated for long time.imagine volta re ...

• Jeff 10 years ago

We have one university in Tarkwa - University of Mines and Tech. UMaT

• Boateng 10 years ago

Tell them my friend. A lot of misinformation here and there.

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

I AM NOT FROM SEFWI,BUT YOU GUYS HAVE GOT ME THINKING DEEPLY ABOUT SEFWI.I SUPPORT YOU 100%, SO TELL YOUR MPs IF THEY CANT FIGHT FOR YOU, GET THE WOMEN ELECTED IN 2016.THEY ARE BETTER FIGHTERS .

• kwabena 10 years ago

The MP for Obuasi need to stand up for development. The place looks like Nima

• Boateng 10 years ago

Maybe you should also fight for Adansi Region as Adae is fighting for Sefwi Region. Regions along Tribal lines? Danger!

• Kofi Amoah 10 years ago

This is because Volta Region have stopped the ritual killings and investors are coming. Fool, stay in your bush and continue to kill yourselves and nephews for sikadro.

• Ikemens Nambro 10 years ago

Continue to live in your own dreams. You will be mistaken to think that the Sefwis are seekers of blood money. They are hardworking people. Know that ritual murder cases in the area always occur in the towns of the community ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

The fight for region is okay but along tribal lines like Sefwi? How about Wasa then?

Adae is wrong about the Cocoa Board Scholarship! Most of the Cocoa farms in Sefwi do not belong to the Natives. Most of the farms b ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

The most laziest people in Ghana in terms of living in their own land or region I may say is the Sefwi people. Yes the cocoa farms in Sefwi belong to the Ashantis and the Brongs.

• Newsroom 10 years ago

I think you are vauge in your analysis,so does that mean most ashantis are lazy because they choose to leave the shores of Ghana to foreign lands?.

• KB 10 years ago

Let the fight for Federal Ghana begin!

• Koomson 10 years ago

Yes Federalization Now.

• ISSA ABONGO 10 years ago

IS IT WHERE THE AHWOIS COME FROM?????????? IF IT IS, THEN THEY SHOULD ASK THE AHWOIS WHY THEIR AREA HAS BEEN NEGLECTED.

• Planet O 10 years ago

Do not talk about the Ahwois. They are useless like the chief of Sefwi Bekwai

• Tatsu Katakyie 10 years ago

The Sewhi people are only being ungrateful to the NDC and the Awhois. Just leave them alone.

• AKOS CONNECTICUT 10 years ago

I KNOW a lot about Sefwi, we should also think about what we can do. I was born to a fanti daddy and an ewe mum, born in Kumasi , married a man who was half ashanti and half GA. I went to school not even in Sefwi Wiaso...I wo ...

• KURASINI - LONDON 10 years ago

Breaking away will not solve your problem. Voicing and seeking attention is the right thing to do.

BUT IMPOTANTLY ***
    You guys keep your money sacks and bury them like coffins and want development. Bankye teach your peopl ...

• sefwi 10 years ago

u are a fool, who told u people frm sefwi dont put their money in the bank

• Ikemens Nambro 10 years ago

Don't border to answer this idiot. His idiocy surfaces in his writing.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

If your brains were money,you will still be in debt.It is obvious your IQ is under your shoes.

• Kaku 10 years ago

Sefwiman Development Association you can break away and go to Afghanistan or Iraq who cares?

Blame your chiefs and the people you vote for during elections to steer the affairs of your area and not the government.

• sefwi 10 years ago

u are stupid mother fucker, without sefwi ghana wil sufa

• Ntim Gyakari 10 years ago

Do you like Ghana? Why not secede from Ghana? You idiot, you dont know what you want in life!!!

• Francis Adomako - Akomeah 10 years ago

Although,I'm an Ashanti by birth,I had my basic education in Sefwi Wiawso and Sefwi Bibiani before moving up to pursued other education.I must confess that Sefwiman deserves what they are looking for,since it is from this are ...

• PRINCE. 10 years ago

Why did you give or sell all your lands to the Ashantis and Ewes? I know what am talking about. Encourage your citizens to cultivate the land.

• Boateng 10 years ago

You are right.

• Wal 10 years ago

Have you stopped the human sacrifice for money and other rituals?

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Yes, Sefwi deserves a regional capital

• AmaBee 10 years ago

Are you people not ashamed to cry out like this?May be its time you started WAILING, they will hear you.
    Oooh Mahama betie mo,,,

• Alale 10 years ago

This a one man association. He is not to be taken seriously. We don't form regions on the bases of your concern, if it were so, every district would have been a region on its own. Please make sure you don't foment trouble in ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Good advice.

• My Name. 10 years ago

Stop your ritual killings and the people to develop the place for you will come and do their job.
    The EWES have stopped so they are opened up now for development. You can see many mix tribes now in the Volta Region, but what ...

"""Mr. My Name, you lie bad here. We the Ewes are still very much into ritual killings. Even the investors coming there will not be safe. We shall kill them all. We don't want non-Ewes in our midst!!!!!"""

I think the Akye ...

• Holy 10 years ago

foolish experience@ my name

• BANKYE NA NGO 10 years ago

Nkwaseas3m, do think running a country is like your credit union or "cocoa ase by-day" ?

Your development is what is protruding in Nkrabea Effah Darteh's belly go chase him for development.

• Ghanababa! 10 years ago

If the pepe have all these resources then they should be the richest region in Ghana because the resources are not taken for free. foods are bought, cocoa are bought, coffe is a back bone of egypt so what are these people say ...

• samuel k asare 10 years ago

so shall it be sefwiman deserve their own region as others nothing more than that.

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

Yes,it is time the brea-away must come. The road from Ankwaso in the central region ,through Ayenfroe,Bogoso to Tarkwa must be the main reason for our brake-away. It is very scary to travel on this road from Takoradi to my h ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Is Ayenfroe Sefwi? Where is Dankyira?

• Isaac Awotwe-Tigyimah 10 years ago

Thank you for such a brilliant article.
    Let us all pray that the government listen to our voice. Let us all work together to see the light of this article.I want to know more about SMDA and will also like to join and contrib ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Briliant Article? Breakaway along tribal lines is not a briliant idea!

• Boateng 10 years ago

I will say it is brilliant to ask for a share of the national cake but breaking away along tribal lines is not good.

Mr. Boateng, I support total break up of the country so that each tribe can have its own country to either live in poverty or live in prosperity.

That way, no "tribe" from elsewhere can insult others with impunity.

• NANA KWABENA ANAAFI FELIX 10 years ago

yes we need our onw regional capital

• WISEMAN U S A 10 years ago

STOP CUTTING HUMAN HEADS AND DEVELOP THAT FUCKING SEFWIMAN

• Newsroom 10 years ago

Do you know how many heads your ashanti king cut in a day,at least we cut heads from other infidil in our midst of us than our own.

• ADOM HAMBURG 10 years ago

STUPID MAN where do you come from in ghana You live in usa if the white descrimnate against you will surely say white are racist you said fucking SEFWIMAN GOD forgive you

• cudjoe 10 years ago

Thanks Tony for the wonderful article, the neglect of the people of sefwi is long overdue and I think this agenda of creating the awareness and prompting authorities in in order. we all as sefwi people has been oppressed and ...

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

Yes Sefwiman is overdue to seek their own region. Keep on the fight and please do not look back. As the turtle says; you cannot get anything unless you stretch your neck out. NDC and Prez. Mahama is milking you dry to feed th ...

• Kingsley Adjei-Manu 10 years ago

wonderful idea but let us approach it with tact so that no nation wreckers will exploit it.

• Boateng 10 years ago

There seem to be many Sefwis here. Very many that can come together with great ideas to improve the lot of the people but as usual every Ghanaian thinks everything should come from the Government.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

That's exactly our number-one problem as a people and then as a nation.

• STEVE 10 years ago

Every part of the country is crying for infrastructural development, counting from schools to ordinary first-aid clinics. So don't think it is only Sefwi which is in this boat. We are all in the same boat.

U can't use the ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Steve, tell them.

• EL WILLY 10 years ago

I went to that part of the region as a teacher and i regretted.So much given to our nation Ghana, so little given to them.Those grievances been expressed should not be taken for granted.Politics should not be used or applied ...

• KOMOO FRANCE. 10 years ago

Vote NPP in the 2016 election for dev.Your favorite party the NDC can't help you.

• STEVE 10 years ago

When kuffour came 8 years, why he didn't help them?

• Abransamadu 10 years ago

NDC has ruled for 25 years and there is no development in their area!

• K.B 10 years ago

The time has come for Sefwis to unite and forge ahead for our fair share of the proceed of the hard earnings of our labour

• Kingsley Adjei-Manu 10 years ago

Mr.Wiseman USA kindly wise up. No sefwi cuts Human Head. Your comment was offensive and an insult to our intelligence.You are not better than any sefwi.

• KWAKU MENSAH 10 years ago

THIS WORLD IS FUNNY. PEOPLE TURN TO COVER THE EVIL THEY DO SO THEY CAN PUT FALSE CHARGES ON OTHERS SO THEIR OWN SHALL BE FORGOTTEN HA. IN GHANA WHEN YOU TALK OF PEOPLE WHO ARE THIEVES, KILLING PEOPLE FOR MONEY RITUALS( SAKAWA ...

• KOFI FOFIE 10 years ago

THE ASHANTIS ARE KNOWN AS MONEY RITUALS (SIKA DURO, SAKAWA AND THIEVES, BEWELL ASHANTI NA WAA OO.

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

It is such gross neglect of most resourceful areas of the Country that has radicalized some Citizens from Ashanti, Western and Eastern Region to resort to ethnocentric animosity for other Citizens who hail from the less endow ...

• Raymond Suglo 10 years ago

These guys have a good case but their arguments are porous and based on theoretical assumptions!

First, a correction. The Upper West and Upper East Regions were not created by Dr. Hilla Limann who is from the area but by J ...

• Seko 10 years ago

You want what?

• Stephen Tieku 10 years ago

Sad to read this i spent 5 good years of my youth in Sefwi Wiawso! Attended Anglican Experimental Primary School and had an allround comprehensive education!
    The part i cherish the most was sports. I always wonder why Ghana ...

• Papa ACKAH 10 years ago

may GOD forgive all those attacking my motherland SEFWI, I pray he gives you an insight in life...I'm in support of the new movement. MR. ADDAI- we dey ur back...GOD BLESS GHANA, GOD BLESS SEFWI

• PAUL 10 years ago

I support the move, Sefwiman needs fair share of the national cake!! Keep it up.

• Ogyam 10 years ago

Addai, you are right this part of the country has been absolutely ignore and is one of the richest sector of Ghana.In reality the total demarcation of the regions are so chaotic and is all due to President divided and conquer ...

• BOKO SEFWI 10 years ago

IT IS ABOUT TIME THE PEOPLE OF WESTERN REGION - NZEMA, SEFWI, AHANTA - RISE UP AND DEMAND GOVT DEVELOP THE AREA. ALL MAJOR RESOURCES TAKEN TO DEVELOP SADA - GYEEDA - ETC. BUT NOTHING FOR THE PEOPLE IN THE AREA.
    BOKO BOKO SEF ...

• Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum 10 years ago

I spent a large part of my formative years in the Wassa area of Western region. The agitation of the Sefwi people equally applies to them. I am an Ashanti but my father cultivated cocoa there. The area needs help. For many ye ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

Adutwum stop that. Your father being an Ashanti went there to farm hence your chance of going to Pramso Secondary to Tech and to Los Angeles where you are successful with your Charter School. These Sefwi and Wassa people ar ...

• Daniel Kyei. 10 years ago

Yaw Opoku, who told you Wassa people are lazy? Where in Wassa did you live and found the people lazy? I'm a Wassa and brought up in Wassa, went to St. Mary's Secondary school in Takorad for my "O" Level and St. Teresa's Minor ...

• Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum 10 years ago

Come to think of it. Wassa people provided the Ashanti farmers an opportunity to cultivate cocoa. My father was a chief farmer and we formed great bonds with the people. I never saw them as lazy. There were Wassa cocoa farmer ...

• PK 10 years ago

I don't support the idea calling Wassa people lazy and also not in support of saying that the Wassa people gave the Ashantis the opportunity to farm. What do you mean by that? The Ashantis, the Bonos and the Ahafos used their ...

• Daniel Kyei. 10 years ago

PK, I doubt if you really understand Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum's statement "Wassa people provided the Ashanti farmers an opportunity to cultivate cocoa". In any case, the qualitative difference between you PK and Dr. Adutwum is th ...

• ABEYIE 10 years ago

Every Sefwi will agree with the injustice but in my opinion calling Sefwi North West Region is not the answer.
    First we must know how much wealth leave Sefwi. When we know how much bauxite, gold etc leave Sefwi in a year, th ...

• Wabee 10 years ago

From the begining of independence Sefwi people accepted the foolish idea of Nkrumah that sefwi people should work and educate the north because sefwi is a rich region. Now you guys are crying. Look at the north . Good roads. ...

• THE SPEAKER 10 years ago

MY ADVICE TO YOU SEFWI PEOPLE ESPECIALLY YOUR CHIEFS IS TO STOP CUTTING PEOPLES HEAD FOR RITUALS BECAUSE YOUR UNGODLY ATTITUDE IS SCARING POTENTIAL INVESTORS AWAY! WHEN YOU STOP THAT, THEN WE WILL ALL COME AND HELP BUILD THE ...

• Adu-Poku Raymond 10 years ago

Indeed we have come of age.We need our own region.

• K.K. 10 years ago

This is how it all starts. Those who have the ears should listen and listen well before the abductions start to draw attention to their plight. Otumfour might be the first abductee of the Sefwiman rebels.

• ADOM HAMBURG 10 years ago

kk why hate sefwi

• Asafo Awuah,Hamburg 9 years ago

of cause the time is coming,they goverment will use hilicoopter to lift up bauxtie,timber,coffe,cocoa,rubber,gold,food from sefwiland.we fight till the bones are rotten.fuck you stupid,bastard.sefwiman is have the biggest GDP ...

• JONBOADU 10 years ago

i m short of words with such an awesome piece....i am 100% percent ready to push for anything positive from SMDA

• IMAT 10 years ago

Dr Liman did not create upper west or devide the Upper Regions, If you are fighting a cause which is of course is very genuine please do that and stop misinforming and making it look like it was a tribal act.

• Gyenyame London 10 years ago

This is a good idea.But be strong and follow it through with all sefwi behind you.Good luck

• KWAME GYAMU 10 years ago

THE EARLIER THE BETTER FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO SEPERATE WESTERN TO BRING DEVELOPMENT AND RETAIN PEACE BECAUSE THE SEFWI ARE READY TO BREAK OUT, NO MATTER WHAT.

• J. J. Rawlings 10 years ago

Does Sefwiman produce Ivory?, where did the writer get that from??

• agahowa 10 years ago

Ghana now needs federalism so that we can develop. Sefwi let stand united and break the silence.., long ama Ghana!

• agahowa 10 years ago

this shouldn't raise ethnic sentiment after all sefwi has suffered for long.

• Robinson Crusoe 10 years ago

Start renaming your towns and cities with original names, instead of Sefwi-this, Sefwi-that. The Gomoas too the same thing - Gomoa-Ehyiem, Gomoa-London, Gomoa-Birmingham, etc.

• GIWA 10 years ago

OPANIN ADDAI YOU ARE 100% RIGHT THAT IS WHY I SAY FEDERALISM IS THE ONLY WAY OUT FOR GHANA .SAWHIMAN HAS BEEN IN THE DARK FOR TOO LONG IT'S TIME FOR ACTION.

• bio 10 years ago

God is paying you back for always accepting human head for juju in your region.

• Kwame Aduhene 10 years ago

The neglect of the Sefwi area by successive governments bothers on criminality. What it takes to change the fortunes of the area is exactly what you are advocating. Sefwi should be carved out as a region! Your proposal deserv ...

• Attah Danso 10 years ago

Let's change our MPs who tell lies whenever they get the opportunity to speak on radios eg hon. Kwabena Minta Akando

• gaga 10 years ago

secession now or......

• k. moses 10 years ago

yes its better f0r sefwi people to break away from western region because most of sefwi people turns to Kumasi when is emergency than Tarkoradi

• CHRIS 10 years ago

STOP THE RITUAL MURDERS AND YOU WILL PROGRESS.....I KNOW A VERY GOOD MEDICAL DOCTOR WHO WAS TRANSFERED TO SEFWI BUT REFUSED POSTING BECAUSE THE WIFE AND CHILDREN WERE SCARED OF SEFWI. HOW CAN U DEVELOP THEN?

• KWAME AMOAH 10 years ago

THE THREE MURDERERS FROM GA KILLED FISHERMEN. OH READ THE COURT CASES PROCEEDINGS. NEVERTHELESS THE ASHANTIS AS KNOWN AS SIKA DURO PEOPLE BY MURDERING PEOPLE FOR MONEY RITUALS AND SAKAWA AND ARE EXPECT IN STEALING OO. HAHA

• Kofi FRANKFURT AM 9 years ago

you can conpaire to volta region to sefwiland and secondly we are not murders nor ritual killers WE are ony demanding our share of wealth because we want good hospitals and schools OUR LAND IS RICH AND NOT LIKE VOLTA REGION 2 ...

• KOJO NIMO 10 years ago

ASHANTIS MURDER PEOPLE FOR MONEY RITUALS SIKA DURO, SAKAWA AND ARE THIEVES HAHAHA

• SPIO HAMBURG 10 years ago

WE will not vote 2016 if our demand is not GIVEN NORD WEST REGION

• KOO BADU 10 years ago

WE WARN THAT NO PARTY SHOULD TRY TO COME TO SEFWI IF PROPOSED REGION IS NOT GIVEN BEFORE 2016 RUBBISH.

• YAW BRAFI 10 years ago

IS SIMPLE AS ABCD, NO REGION CREATED IN SEFWIMAN NO FORKING VOTE GO TO HELL BASTARDS.

• Sefwi Mugabi 10 years ago

Very soon there will be no transportation of our resources if the goverment of Ghana do not pay attention to OUR demand THE NORD WEST REGION

• TONY TSINA ADDAI 9 years ago

CONCERNED PEOPLE OF OUR LAND AND THOSE NOT FROM OUR LAND BOTH HOME AND ABROAD SHOULD PLEASE CONTACT ME ON WHASSUP OR VIBER ON 00353879744133. THIS IS BECAUSE WE EQUALLY DESERVE BETTER. NO MORE RUBBER STAMP CAPITAL BUT WE NEED ...