You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 04 08Article 305552

Stop bribing us - Police Boss

Read Comments Comments (70)

• chris 10 years ago

Mr. Policeman, have you arrested and prosecuted someone before for bribing you? We shall not stop bribing you until you take us to court.

• OSBON 10 years ago

Dear commander, Well said thank you. But the problem is 80% of your recruits paid bribes, currently 4000GH before admission into the Police Service. You knew this. Where do you expect the officer to get money back to repay th ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Everyone knows that the police are addicted to collecting bribe. It will take a strong leader, setting some examples, to get rid of that addiction.

• koffi parker 10 years ago

don't give and the can't sqeeze your arm you know why you give abi no be so? scratch my back I scratch your ass, dont pay if you know your ass is clean

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

In a civilized country a person who gives bribe to a public figure for a favor is arrested and jailed if found guilty. Since independence 57 years ago, how many people have been arrested by the Police for bribing them ?

i dont see the Europeans offering the other benefits such as the freedom of movement and insisting on visa free entry into their countries. they are not offering half a trillion for infrastructural development and real assist ...

• btg 10 years ago

STOP ASKING FOR AND TAKING IT.

this is our problem we are quick to point finger and yet we are equally as quilty as the recepient,why do you give if its not going to benefit you in the end,You should rather thank the Police for taking bribe,most of us will ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

It appears this Regional Police Commander does not know his job. Instead of asking the public to desist from bribing police officers, he should be warning the public that they would be arrested and prosecuted for bribery if t ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Is the public morons for them to be told what morally is wrong to do before they can do it? Kofi Atta as a human being u should be responsible enough to know de right thing.

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

If people stop bribing the police, the police will go on strike, then the commander will be in trouble, NDC&NPP, have failed miserably! OSBON, I love your analysis, I am still laughing

The problem in Ghana, is that there a ...

who in his rite frame of mind will report an officer who has just save his ass for bribery. If you are not equally quilty why do you pay bribe.

• TWEAA 10 years ago

START ARRESTING AND PROSECUTING BRIBE GIVERS IF YOU REALLY MEAN BUSINESS AND SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN MR. COMMANDER.

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

The chicken and the egg....which came first syndrome. Silly Govt officials. He need the sack!

• Kanewu 10 years ago

wait are the bribes forcefully stuffed in your anus? why don't you arrest us for attempted bribery? You don't know the law yourself?

• Shame on u I.G.P 10 years ago

The genuine and qualified applicants for 2011 recruitment are still on the waiting list, why? simply because they did not pay huge bribes to I.G.P and his assistant comanders. God will surely every officer involved in the 20 ...

• Einstein 10 years ago

What is the meaning of caught by the law? It is because your policeman harass people with caught by the law. A police arrest someone with a broken tail light. This is court which will take a year to resolve... Bribe will take ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Bribe collecting has been part of police operations from time immemorial.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

What kind of training do you give your men? And if the top men take bribe from unemployed youth before recruiting them, what do you think they will come out and practice?

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

My brother you have said it all

• MAD DOG 10 years ago

THIS IS THE RAW TRUTH. THE WHOLE STRUCTURE NEEDS A THOROUGH OVERHAULING HAHAHAHAAA..STUPID POLICING.

• kwasi 10 years ago

DCOP Atingane,please you are an idiot.Rather tell your men/boys to stop accepting bribes and do what the law mandates them to do,if you think they are been forced to take bribes.Kapish.

• K. Ampabeng 10 years ago

To be fair, no policeman is honest. They preasure people in a way that one can do nohting but offer a bribe. During President Kuffour's time, we heard of cocaine seized by the police on the high seas and kept at the office of ...

• XXXXXXX 10 years ago

Their actions demand the bribes. One Inspector GYATENG stationed at Odorkor MTTU took a huge sums of bribe from in in last year July.And another instance,one Rita and Bismark all stationed at the same station took bribe from ...

• kwadwo bronya 10 years ago

But the boss gets his share alright. Let them stop pretending . Even the IGP gets his share

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

What is the panishment of police who abuse his power n who will the public turn to for police misconduct is it not the same police?

• Binbila 10 years ago

Even the big police officers are all behind so mr.officer advice your people b4 coming to the lower level.

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

Why not tell the police officers to stop accepting bribes and arrest anyone who attempts to bribe them.

• worried Aussie 10 years ago

I have hatred Ghana Police for what they did to me between Chiraa and Sunyani Road. They are rip offs. Better to punish Police officers who accept bribes. Agree with you Issah.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA FOOOLS KWASEA BI NTI

• Atanga Nyeeya 10 years ago

if not today I don't know that, a person in high position would be foolish like you. you should stop collecting bribes from the general public.Bcos u have been employed to do the right not collect bribes..

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There was a policeman on the roadside, he was very hungry because he didn't see anyone that would offer him a bribe. as he was walking he passed by a suya joint, where one hausa man was roasting chicken, the policeman was so ...

• Janet Asibi 10 years ago

I gave a lift to one police officer in the early morning of about 0630 on a Monday.In a chart, he complained why his boss should not wait for just one day,while the money was with him.
    I asked what was the problem and he sai ...

• Suraju Issifu 10 years ago

You should not even be giving them lifts...they are a bunch of thieves. They sit in your car and they start coveting things you have inside. Next thing you know, they find all kinds of silly reasons to arrest you and take you ...

• Isaac Mensah {iymensah4343@gmail.com) 10 years ago

I support the police and all security organizations, but I am thrown into a dilemma whether to trust the police or not, especially DOVVUS. My daughter sent a case between her and husband to Tesano Police DOVVUS for almost a y ...

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

DCOP Sir,you forgot to tell us who is the new Bribe Agent for the Police so that we can comfortably send our bribes to.As for stopping us from giving bribes,TWEAAAAAAAAA! You Lie Bad.

• goza gotoro 10 years ago

If you are a repentant police officer tell us and stop talking NONSENSE.You can stop crime and all evils facing the society but these things continue because of your tacit connivance. You know all the armed robbers, the murde ...

• KANKAMAH OWUO 10 years ago

Sad for top police brass make a comment like that.Stop recruits ogugro police men & stop pay them low wages.they deserve higher salaries than do nothing politicians who are wrecking the economy in to Osu cemetery !

• MAD DOG 10 years ago

I WONDER WHAT KIND OF POLICING IS GOING ON IN GHANA... YOU ARE TEMPTED BY YOUR WEAKNESS, THAT IS THEIR WEAKNESS AND THEY SHOULD FIRST ADDRESS IT...NOT TO THROW DUST IN OUR EYES...COME AND SEE PROPER POLICING ABROAD..TWEAA

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

He should direct the police TO STOP EXTORTING BRIBES FROM GHANAIANS.

• GAS 10 years ago

DID HE SAY 'PUT POLICE SERVICE ON ITS TOES'. NONE WILL BE LEFT I BET YOU.THEY ARE ALL DIRTY TO SAY THE LEAST!

• Narh Kofi 10 years ago

Every computer has IP address and the cell phones too serial #'s. You could change your name, and say what ever you you like. The national security knows excaltly which computer or cell phone is sending the message. If they d ...

• grace 10 years ago

Dont tell the public such things.. what kind of stupid is that.

• Suraju Issifu 10 years ago

Fucckk the national security. they and the police are the same; a bunch of bastards, thieves and sonsofbitches...i say again, fuck them all!!!!!

• Lord Listowell 10 years ago

Tell the Police to stop asking us for bribes first . Hypocritical Bastards !!

• Akua AU 10 years ago

A nephew recently had a car crash in Takoradi. He was the offending driver. Even though he pays insurance, he was taken to police cells, a bribe was extorted from him and advised to settle matters out of court with the other ...

• MORO 10 years ago

u take the bribe, bam

• Osei Boakye 10 years ago

some personnel should be set as scape goats

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

WHO ARE THESE IDIOTS RUNNING THE POLICE SERVICE? HAVING CORRUPTLY ENRICHED THEMSELVES BY BULLYING, THREATS AND INTIMIDATION OF THE PEOPLE , THEY NOW HAVE THE BAD MANNERS OF BLAMING THE PUBLIC FOR CORRUPTING THEM. WHAT A CHEEK ...

• appiah 10 years ago

Bastard, Stop creating situations that force us to offer you bribes because you leave us no alternative. Have you considered professionalism or honesty?

• kwame 10 years ago

Officer,for your information,there are host of Police officers who on daily basis storm the streets at dawn just to extort money from TROTRO and TAXI drivers.
    Let me mention just FIVE spots for your attention and prompt acti ...

• DK 10 years ago

"DIDN'T YOU BRING ANY LUCOZADE TO US" LET'S DESIST FROM THIS ATITUDE ON OUR ROADS.

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-TEMPTATION TO TAKE BRIBE IS LOSING YOUR POST/JOB.WHEN SOMEONE OFFERS YOU A BRIDE AND YOU DONT ACCEPT BUT RATHER EXPLAIN WHY YOU PUT A FINE OR CHARGE FOR THAT PURPOSE.ALL IS WHEN THE POLICE HAD A GOOD SALARY,BRIBING YOU WILL ...

• Tofting,Japan 10 years ago

U too stop accepting it!!
    And send those who bribe to court

• Benzie 10 years ago

Are you not missing the point, the police should be enforcing the LAW not accepting bribes.

• ken 10 years ago

stop taking bribes

• i ad 10 years ago

A

• OKOE 10 years ago

MR. POLICE CHIEF, ARE YOU SURE IF SOMEONE BRINGS LOTS OF MONEY TO YOU TO DROP A CASE, WOULD YOU REFUSE? I AM WAITING TO SEE THAT DAY. I WOULD HAVE NARRATED WHAT TWO POLICE LADIES POSTED ON THE ACHIMOTA TO 37 HOSPITAL ROAD DI ...

• Ice 10 years ago

Idiots man

This is nonsense. Police are the law enforcement and thus should not take bribed and rather charge anyone with attempting to bribe a police officer etc.

Has any case ever showed up like that anywhere in Ghana yet? Tweaa

• Ali 10 years ago

STOP TAKING BRIBES. THE GIVER AND THE TAKE ARE ALL CRIMINALS

• JJ Rawlings 10 years ago

ThisDeputy Commissioner of Police (DCOP), Maxwell Sakipasgo Atingane, the Regional Commander is the best fool in Ghana. It should be an arrestable office to bribe any police officer in Ghana as is in UK for example. the fact ...

• Efo Kobla 10 years ago

why don't you tell your men to stop collecting bribe? Is it matter of telling the mouse not to pass in front of the cat? Why can't he advise the cat not to catch the mouse?

He must tell the police to arrest any one who tri ...

• TWEAA 10 years ago

SO MR. COMMANDER, YOU SEE THE REACTION OF THE PUBLIC TO YOUR STATEMENT YOU SHOULD KNOW WHERE THE PROBLEM LIES FOR REAL HONEST REMEDY TO BE FOUND TO STEM THE TIDE OF POLICE CORRUPTION.

• baby luv 10 years ago

I hope Mr. regional commander meant what he said.
    Recently a police officer was taking a bribe for a driver of a commuter bus when my son made a comment on the behavior. the vehicle. unfortunately and unknown to my son the p ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

Blame the useless university graduates supervising rot in the police service.

• Krakye Kwakye 10 years ago

The solution to this problem is simple. The moment the police stop accepting bribes, the public will stop giving it.

• Zip Up 10 years ago

The laws of the Nation have to be more transparent and accessible to the Public,penalty charges have to be issued on the spot for misdemeanour offences without threat of court action until default by the offender, if this ...

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

POLICEMEN TAKE BRIBES BECAUSE THEY HARDLY CAN MAKE ENDS MEET ON THEIR
    MEAGER SALARIES. GOVT SHOULD REVIEW THEIR SALARIES. ALSO THE PRACTICE MUST START FROM THE TOP TO BOTTOM.

• Agonaba 10 years ago

"Culture is not easy to change"