You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 02 28Article 302014

Legon shuts access routes to public from March 15

Read Comments Comments (60)

• moyo 10 years ago

If the public are not prepared to pay for using a private property all in the name of politics. The University authorities have every right to block access to the roads. We shouldn't have a major road passing through Universi ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

WE WILL BREAK THAT BLOCKADE.THIEVES PROFS.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Their actions are an affront to the rule of law and common sense.

They are trying every means to top up their salaries. Corrupt lecturers.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

The government cannot sit idle whilst the University builds roads for the public. Secondly it is necessary to maintain the serene stmosphere at the University. Kudos to the univerity authorities.

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Ug is not a private property.so why charge tolls? U can charge tolls for.ppl to.come to ur home or use a highway u have built with private funds, but not ug bcos it is a public university. Crass beings in power! Go and charge ...

• dan 10 years ago

AND THEIR ATTEMPT TO ERRCT TOLLS TO RIPP OFF GHANA FALKS

• John,Tema 10 years ago

I like the University authorities they've proven they are truly intelligent,if the govt is not prepared to develop the only premier University then they are right in preventing it being being run down.

• KENKEY BOY 10 years ago

IGNORANT PEOPLE. THIS POLICY OF STICKERS BEFORE ENTRY INTO LEGON, HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE 1960s AND 1970s. YOU COULDN'T CAMPUS EASILY THOSE DAYS, AS YOU ARE DOING NOW. ASK YOUR FATHERS AND GRANDPARENTS ...

• P Otu 10 years ago

TRUE, SO MANY IGNORAMUS HERE. IT WAS THERE IN THE 90'S AS WELL. YOU COULDN'T LET THE TAXI U PICK DRIVE YOU THROUGH CAMPUS AFTER 10PM THOSE DAYS. THE SECURITY AT THE GATE WONT ALLOW AND YOU COME DOWN TO DO THE REST TO YOUR HAL ...

• soo 10 years ago

What do you mean a private property? Since when did U/G become a private property? Which private individual set up U/G? has the U/G paid government and ghanain taxpayers for the money used in setting up the school? What about ...

nonsensical write up ...

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

The University shd stop this shameful & lame excuse. When they were collecting the tolls they cld live with that inconvenience of the heavy vehicular movement on their campus. By the with their current status as "Private" pro ...

• Ibrahim basiru 10 years ago

I really welcomed the decisions of the premier University of Ghana to block all access roads to the public. What the national security coordinator did was an insult to the general public and also of course disrespect to our e ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Don't forget Legon is a public property. Several years ago, Legon was near Accra. Today, Leon is inside Accra. Everyone, and every institution, should pay its price for the population explosion.

Parliament house is public property. Can you just go there? What about the Flagstaff House?

Yes, school kids go there all the time, but u need permission and booking way in advance bcos these places are institutions that run the nation. Very busy!

• GAbaa 10 years ago

IN THE GOOD OLD UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, WE PAY TO PARK OUR CARS ON CAMPUS AND FOR USAGE OF THE ROADS. ACCESS IS NOT FOR THE PUBLIC USE EITHER

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

BUILD ON CAMPUS PAID PARKING SPOTS....
    THIS IS A GOOD DIRECTIVE. LEAVE THE GH GOVT ALONE N STOP DISTURBING MAHAMA WITH PETTY MONIES TO FIX ROADS...
    ACRA..KUMASI ROAD SEF NEEDS HELP...

• apia 10 years ago

MAY BE THE BEST FOR EFFICIENT LAND USE.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

LEGON'S EXIT STRATEGY!
    www.economist.com/blogs/freeexchange/2024/02/higher-education

A RECENT Free exchange column looked at how online education might affect higher education. Elite institutions should be fine, we wrote, ...

• SUNKWA 10 years ago

THIS RUSHED RESPONSE TO THE REJECTION THE 'TOLLING PROJECT' DOES NO CREDIT TO LEGON AUTHORITIES. IT IS EASY TO SENSE THE PECUNIARY INSTINCTS UNDERLYING THE DIRECTIVE; AND THAT IS WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CURRENT LEADERSHIP AT L ...

• Ben 10 years ago

I concur with your comment. The Univerity authorities are just being emotional about issues and people like this cannot be serious problem solvers. This cannot of attitude describes the backward African elitism. The world is ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

It's not about money, it's about maintenance which is lacking in our culture. If all use the road where will the money come from to maintain it ?

• T.T 10 years ago

U are a joker,now you know,because your illegal toll was stopped,this is how u want to pay back.it won't work.shame,idiot.

• T.T 10 years ago

U are a joker,now you know,because your illegal toll was stopped,this is how u want to pay back.it won't work.shame,idiot.

• UNCLE K 10 years ago

I HAVE LIVED IN THE US FOR 40 YRS AND TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE NONE OF ALL THE INSTUTIONS CHARGE TOLLS.SO MY QUESTION IS WHO IS IN CHARGE HERE?THE GOVERNMENT GIVES DIRECTIVE TO THE U OF G AND THEY SNUB THE GOVT.BY THE WA ...

• Baaba 10 years ago

I was just thinking about that. There is NEVER a gate to any of those Universities in the US. My almer mater, George Washington University, is spread across several city blocks with open traffic in and out. It is a 1000 tim ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

Baaba you are right.

• Pussy-licker 10 years ago

Is that your George Washington's spelling of Alma mater?

• KIA 10 years ago

My ALMA MATER, a college of a prestigious university in the UK, once reconstructed a major road and tolled it to recover its investment. Even now, all cars entering an important street linking many of the colleges of that uni ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Thanks for sharing this piece. Our problem is that the Ghanaian does not want to change and accept ideas that have been successfully adopted in other places and are working to create efficiency. Every idea is seen as: for mon ...

• P Otu 10 years ago

WE ARE BUILDING OUR INSTITUTIONS. IF THE INSTITUTION KNOWS IT'S RIGHT IN WHAT IT'S DOING IT SNUBS THE GOVERNMENT. WE MAKE GOVERNMENTS MINI GODS. THE INSTITUTIONS MUST BE STRONG AND NEVER WAVER WHEN THEY ARE ON TRACK.

• George 10 years ago

After failing to get tolls how can you convince the general public that the closure is not ill- motive

• John 10 years ago

This is not new at all. It has always been like this....

• Phil 10 years ago

If the toll system did not work, then plan B is to get frequent users of the university routes to apply for user permits so that the university can service the loan it contracted. Wise idea, but it is so glaring...that there ...

• Honestman 10 years ago

Didn't authorities of the UG know that the university campus needed serene atmosphere for teaching and learning when they allowed unlimited access in return for cash (toll)? And these people call themselves the academia! God, ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

"It is important to note that University of Ghana has always been and remains private property even though it is publicly owned."

if commercial traffic use the roads as a thoroughfare and short cut, then there is a case to ...

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

The university has solved the problem. Case closed. Even if the government pays the 2.3 million dollars, they should still close the gates. Utter nonsense. How dare you go and demolish someones structures like a thief in the ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

The Registrar concedes that it is a publicly owned private property, so it is not someone else's property. It a state or people owned property and the transient administration cannot abrogate unto themselves the authority to ...

• Jojoe 10 years ago

'University of Ghana has always been and remains private property even though it is publicly owned'Oh Legon, how can you live in a public property and claim privacy.You can't blow hot and cold at the same time.

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

When the Tetteh Quarshie and Adenta Road is completed, it will ease the pressure on Legon roads. So the government should work hard at the major roads to ease the congestion on Legon Campus roads.

• Fiifi 10 years ago

You only realised that he University cannot support academic work with the needed environment when 16,000 vehicles travel through its Legon campus every day, when you were not allowed to collect the tolls you had wanted to. H ...

• MICHAEL 10 years ago

Does it then means about GHC 16,000 was collected daily during the days the tolls were collected? I do not doubt it though because my checks reveal each of the young people collecting the tolls attended to about 1000 cars dai ...

• Peter 10 years ago

"The object is to re-establish and maintain a serene atmosphere that is conducive to academic work, including teaching and research,” the statement issued by the Registrar of the University, Mercy Haizel-Ashia, noted."

T ...

• Boye 10 years ago

How does allowing cars passing through the university in the first place going to affect teaching, learning and research? is it because you toll them it is okay?

You close the Access and the govt woun't pay the so called d ...

• Araba 10 years ago

What a smart way to outwit the government. Will the money for stickers go into government chest? How can a public institution be privately own?

• Onipa Bone 10 years ago

Can they stop Gbevlo from entering from the main gate and exiting from Achimota?

• Kodwo 10 years ago

Now Gbevlo, go and open this one too and see what will happen. CRAZY MAN who is power drunk.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

How is this directive consistent with opening all access roads to the public and charging them fees. Has Legon seized to be a public property?

• James Okine 10 years ago

The University of Ghana is .....private property but publicly owned indeed!!! Mother Ghana, you're tired!

• OSABERIMA 10 years ago

Is Legon public or private University? Even YALE campus, the public drive through it.

Block them for good!

• ADONGO 10 years ago

GOOD JOB.WHEN I WAS IN LEGON IN THE 70s THIS TRAFFIC NIGHTMARE WAS NOT THERE.WHAT HAPPENED?INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT SHOULD PARALLEL POPULATION EXPLOSION

• GBEZE 10 years ago

The idea to give “UG Sticker” to vehicles approved to use the access road through the university is crazy. Will they fit silencers on the exhaust of those vehicles? Even if only 10 vehicles are approved and one among them ...

• Kumapem 10 years ago

This is a meaningful step taken by the University to maintain its academic serenity it deserves. Good job!

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

The university has shown that there are so many ways of killing a cat. I am saying it again, it was so unnecessary for Gbevlo Lartey to unilaterally demolish the toll booths. All he or who ever was responsible had to do was t ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Is Legon doing this with the permission from the ministry of education? How can you allow public university to walk the path of isolation? What the heck is going on. Who wields executive power in this country for crying out l ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

SMALL MINDS THINK ALIKE, IN THIS AGE WHEN UNIVERSITIES AROUND THE WORLD ARE DEVELOPING INTO BIG COMMUNITIES LEGON IS BEHAVING LIKE A SECONDARY SCHOOL
    IS LEGON SAYING THEY NOW OWN ROADS.
    GOVERNMENT SHOULD ALSO CLOSE THE (O ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Wrong to shut routes to public