You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 03 29Article 523288

Nothing wrong if COCOBOD CEO earns GH¢70,000 a month - Akpaloo

Read Comments Comments (106)

• Silan 7 years ago

I don't think anyone has any problem with this guy earning 70,000 Gh so long as the farmer producing the cocoa is well paid and is not living well and can also afford a 4 by 4.

• Francis 7 years ago

The average farmer can not even afford that 4 by 4, and you guys by virtue of your education think you have the rights to exploit him.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (INVISIBLE FORCE) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: OSONO ------- I'm glad Mahama lost.Ghana would have collapsed if the ndc won.The special prosecutor must start working immediately. Get these stupid thieves in jail now.With the numerous problems confronting cocobod,i ...

• Kafui - Vigilante staff @ Banks 7 years ago

Oh I don't see why good citizens should make public outcry and hullabaloo about the COCOBOD new CEO monthly salary. Is just a peanut wen u bench mark with other CEO of private institution . Banks chief executives officers re ...

• Daworo - vigilante 7 years ago

CEO of banks chopped bigger salary.
    Oh I don't see why good citizens should make public outcry and hullabaloo about the COCOBOD new CEO monthly salary. Is just a peanut wen u bench mark with other CEO of private institution ...

• Cocoa 7 years ago

This man was appointed by the former First Lady. He messed up cocoboroad.
    There is something wrong with the salary. Go see how cocoa farmers live in Ashanti.

• Ebiamor 7 years ago

Why do refet to cocoa farmers in Ashanti, the bulk of cocoa produced in Gh comes from the Western Region.

• Citizen 7 years ago

Ebiamor where did you get thatinformation from that Western Region produces the bulk of Ghana's cocoa? You're wrong my brother.

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

SOME OF U ARE THE REASON PEOPLE ARE CONSTANTLY INSULTING EWES. JUST GO AND FISH IN KETA U WOULD CHOP FROM THE PROCEEDS. DUMB DUMB DUMB

• Nii 7 years ago

This guy has no brains. The examples he is giving are not government institutions like cocoaboard. So i don't get him

• micky 7 years ago

Masa b fair enough to him.. even black stars trainer is taking $50,000 a month..is black stars an indian institutions..Masa de country itself is sick not only Cocobod

• De Trainers 7 years ago

WE'RE ALMOST IN April 2017 ALREADY! Can't you see? Still waiting and wasting when you have hands? Are U still searching for work 2017?; Between age 18-50 yrs; A graduate or school leaver? Retired, Sacked or tired of low wage ...

• De Trainers 7 years ago

WE'RE ALMOST IN April 2017 ALREADY! Can't you see? Still waiting and wasting when you have hands? Are U still searching for work 2017?; Between age 18-50 yrs; A graduate or school leaver? Retired, Sacked or tired of low wage ...

• kujo 7 years ago

KOFI AKPALOO YOU ARE A BIG FOOL. LOOK AT SOME STUPID PEOPLE WHO EVEN QUALITY TO BEAR A FLAG IN GHANA? APUUUUUUUUU

• Oyarifa 7 years ago

This tells us a lot about what a dumb, greedy president you will be if you are ever given the opportunity. You are comparing apples and oranges.

• Brutus 7 years ago

This idiot must be banned from leading/forming ANY future political party!

• Kojo 7 years ago

You rather sound very stupid with a constipated mind

• Francis 7 years ago

But Apaloo, you need to know that Vodafoene, MTN ect are private companies. But the COCOABOARD is a government institution and the most annoying part of it is the fact that they are grossly inefficient and corrupt. You tell m ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

THE BOARD SHOULD BE SURCHARGED WITH THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN GH70,000 AND GH22,000 OF ARTICLE 71 EMPLOYEES. STEALING FROM FARMERS IS NOT SERVICE TO FARMERS.

• Attajko0o0o9o9o9o9oo0o 7 years ago

Non sense. Cocoa board belongs to Govt and has not even made a profit in the past 3 years.

• micky 7 years ago

what about de black stars trainer taking $50,000 a month when was the last time yu saw an African cup of nation trophy here in ghana..Masa the whole nation is sick not only Cocobod

• TULA 7 years ago

Another EWe/Ayigbe Kriminal ;how could you justify GHC70,000 for Opuni and what is the productivity of our cocoa production ; it is only corruption and steeling and awards of contracts ; this full Apaloo should understand tha ...

• BB 7 years ago

You are very very very stupid animal why cant you talk without not been tribalistick? Animal Sinior most Sinior animal.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Thank you

• Cool 7 years ago

Bio wonder you will insult an Ewe

• CharlesP 7 years ago

Cocobod CEO is part of a team. How does his Earnings relate of that of other members of that sector? How much have they contributed to added production, Exports, efficiency, new products and added value for the business?. The ...

• Black man with black sense 7 years ago

I beg the chairman of electoral commission to amend the qualification for becoming a frag bearer.

• Atfo 7 years ago

You see, I am beginning to suspect that NPP and their assigns have no clue of what they are doing so they have resorted to spreading useless news to court support and sympathy. What is 70000 GHC. Does Hackman know what CEOS a ...

• J. D Mahama 7 years ago

You are not serious as a person but maybe one of the nation wrecker, the NDC

• OZ 7 years ago

The new COCOBOD Chair said the fact that the salary of the COCOBOD Chief Executive Officer DWARFED the President’s salary was problematic given that “at the end of the day, we have to be able to say that the work that is ...

• KOO 7 years ago

NOTHING S WRONG WITH THIS SALARY. TELL US WHAT ARE SALARIES N ALLOWANCES OF CEO N DIRECTORS OF SSNIT, VRA, ECG, ETC. HOW MUCH DID HE HACKMAN MADE AS EX GRATIA N FROM THE BRIBES AT PARLIAMENT. FAKE PPL N HYPOCRITES

• Coolj 7 years ago

How much do earn a month?lets call sin a sin,right,right someone is duping us and you support him.

• Coolj 7 years ago

All Ghanaians must go strike, someone monthly salary is more than a pension pay for some workers after 60yrs.why are we not buying things with the same person,greedy people nana slash it to gh€4000

• nii 7 years ago

how can a nation progress when all the so call leaders are incompetent and corrupt. yes there is nothing wrong in losing money, stealing money and getting paid for your incompetency. welcome to africa. and you call yourself a ...

This Akpaloo guy is not serious at all and he is compelling apples and oranges. MTN, Vodafone, and Stanchart are foreign companies that are profit making institutions and therefore needs to pay their CEOs good salary to hel ...

• nyansaba kwame 7 years ago

God have mercy on Africans all our atrocities are not from Satan but greediness,corrup and hypocritical leaderships.70000 plus allowances I'm astonished

• Kojo 7 years ago

Why are now adding allowances? Stay with the fact

• Cocoa Krakye 7 years ago

Is this the man aspiring to be GHana's president. Allas, he will fail like John Mahama - so reckless and clueless. You are comparing MTN, STANCHART etc to Cocoboard? Surely clueless. Please tell me how many times these other ...

Typical eweman/ayigbe bastard is Akpaloo.

• Paul Tamale 7 years ago

Fellow ghanaians,we must be serious as a country.How can one person take 70,000Ghc every 30days in Ghana as SALARY in one organization and other ghanaians in different organizations with the same qualifications or even better ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

How on earth!

• Aaron Alesane 7 years ago

70 to 75,000 cedis a month? I don't think Akpaloo's submission makes enough sense. He isn't serious. But at least, he is drawn the whole nation attention to the fact that the COCOBOD rot is not an isolated case. Indeed, the s ...

• Salifu 7 years ago

COCOBOD is a public funded institution .MTN and others are private sector entities that can pay their CEO as much as they deem proper. But we cannot pay public sector entices that do not make profits more than the president a ...

• wasco 7 years ago

Y shd Ghana pay that stupid useless coach GhC 70000 as a coach which do not bring any income to the nation n complain of a Ghanaian who bring income to d nation this amount

• Atta 7 years ago

The coach is not paid from Ghana tax payer. GFA is a private institution.

• Julius 7 years ago

Salaries of CEOs of MTN ,Vodafone and BS coach are tied to performance.they are all on contract with mandates to perform or else are given the boot.Cocoa board CEO is an appointee with a fixed tenure and without a fixed mini ...

• Ofosu Kwarteng 7 years ago

I am shocked hat our politician continue to do this after every change of government. If it is the way to go, then please publish the salaries and perquisites of all CEOs, Boards, Ministers, etc. Who says there cannot be offi ...

• AN. 7 years ago

This is why an idiot, fool and a thief like you, Akpaloo will never ever be president of Ghana. Lord thank you.

• forn 7 years ago

How much is the farmer producing the crop gets?

• Ksk 7 years ago

How much is the new CEO taking a month. We want to know and calculate the difference. He should state it too

• F.M 7 years ago

Kwaasia man n u want people to vote for you to become a president. Useless, Greedy Bastard.

• Sly 7 years ago

This guy is an idiot.

• TWEAA dc 7 years ago

AND THIS 'THING' WANTS TO BE PRESIDENT OF GHANA......APUUU. ...HE WILL ASK FOR A SALARY OF 1 MILLION DOLLARS A MONTH AS HEAD OF STATE.

• dunaa 7 years ago

Akpaloo is part of the problem in Ghana. The Republic of Ghana, is a 236 thousand square kilometre mental asylum, and this Akpaloo is one of those lunatics in the asylum who needs electric shock treatment from time to time, t ...

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

If someone like this wants to lead the nation what will happen God have mercy how much does the cocoa farmers get have you thought about them shame unto you corupt man

• Courage Avinu 7 years ago

I wish l have any other power beyond one vote, politicians would not justify wrong act.
    l taught for 8 months but received 3 months salary but somebody receives such huge amount under this economy and you are justifying ...

• usa. 7 years ago

This is why i always say people like Akpaloo are empty heads,they are just rich for the sake of luck.I saw him in kumasi last week and was like see him,just daft.He just mentioned private companies salaries to debate public i ...

• Pope 7 years ago

Why was this fool given platform to speak in the country. I think the media should elevate themselves to involve experts in issues which are vital to the national development not jokers like Akpaloo and Co. Now Ghanaian media ...

• Ceo- Bronx, NY 7 years ago

No wonder we are where we are. Stupid people like akpaloo will justify this... This is someone who wanted to be president of Ghana... Imagine???? Stupid

• Martin 7 years ago

Let remember that Ghc 70000 can pay at least 500 people salary a month. Why should he alone earn that in a month. Nana, thank you very much for sacking him.

• Victor A.Young 7 years ago

It's not the remuneration of the COCOBOARD CEO that matters, but the corruption and mismanagement by Stephen Opuni and his cronies. The CEOs of Microsoft, Coca-Cola, Sancor etc are paid over $ 2 million in bonuses per anum. T ...

• Victor A.Young 7 years ago

Govt should crack the whip to stop this canker.

• senior 1@ 7 years ago

Pls I think we are geting everything wrong, what is the salarys of our mp, when day saved four years term in office they paid them ex gratia. What will be the salary of the new CEO

Well Pay them well if you want attract the best. 75000 cedis is not outrageous if there is no corruption.

• Mankata 7 years ago

Most of these state CEO are just political appointments and tools for siphoning monies from state treasury for their pay masters and not BEST BRAINS

• black power powers 7 years ago

black indiano244908520 ghanaian spiritualist professor in science divine healing powers magic rituals money meditation
    all kind of spiritual help called
    professor hindu

• Matete 7 years ago

Hackman is an IDIOT. Mr Akpaloo you are perfectly RIGHT. Most GHANAIANS do not know what is going on round them in this country. This tells you they are just EXISTING.

• atuguba 7 years ago

Akpalo the almighty God will punished you with this such comments you make.

• George 7 years ago

For Akpalu, I know he is a fool but I never knew he is such a BIG FOOL.

Apaloo I think u are a big FOOL!

I totally agree!

• SMART 7 years ago

YOU ARE A BORN BASTARD IN GHANA TO HAVE DONE SUCH A FOOLISH COMPARISON. WHY DONT YOU THEN PAY YOUR PRESIDENT GHC200,000.00? YES, YOU VERY STUPID. HOW DO YOU COMPARE FOREIGN CEO TO LOCAL COMPANY CEO OF GHANA. WE PAY OUR CEO IN ...

• Ekow Jones 7 years ago

You cut your cloth according to your size. A good name is better than riches. The love for money is the root of all evil. What profit will you get if you gain the whole world and see children dying because their parents can ...

• UPTON 7 years ago

Mr Apaloo the comparison you have made can't stand the test of reasonableness. These institutions you made mention of are private companies, and can pay their CEO whatever they deem appropriate. Such an astronomical amount sh ...

• DR. KG 7 years ago

Kofi Akpaioo has got it wrong with chairman Hackman's comments.

Those companies Akpaloo mentioned are profit making companies. Salary comparisms are done based of industry factors. cocoa farmers who produce the cocoa are g ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Do you take us for fools ?what exactly did he do to earn that much?what has been his achievements if not job for the tribal friends and boys,may the good Lord deals with you all?akromfoo,AMEN.

• KKK 7 years ago

Apaloo, it is obviously a good thing that you will never be taken seriously in politics, not to talk of becoming President. But please make an effort to think more deeply before making such statements to the public

• AKWE 7 years ago

FOOLISH PEOPLE LIKE THIS GUY. WHAT DOES THE PRESIDENT EARN?

• Goase 7 years ago

We watch you. Do you a party leader? Ok we shall see. You will not win one person to support you. Only they will come for your money.

• CURTISBLOW 7 years ago

HOW MUCH THAT THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA EARN NOT TO TALK ABOUT HIS APPOINTEE.IS THE CEO OF GHANA NOT APPOINTED BY THE PRESIDENT? WHY SHD THE CEO BE EARNING ALMOST 4 TIMES THAT OF THE FIRST GENTLE MAN. WHERE LIES THE FAIRNESS? RE ...

• Amina 7 years ago

These companies are private entities.cocobod is a public institution. Thats the difference

• kepperbang 7 years ago

Akpaloo..... wmt

• K2 7 years ago

When did Mtn,Vodafone,GFA and the rest become gov't institution...is a madness for a cocoabod CEO to earn 15,000$ a month...how much does even the preseiden earn monthly...people like u we're believed to say words that wld ch ...

• Sekyere East 7 years ago

Tanetane akpalo koshia

• barima otafreja. London 7 years ago

Mr Akpaloo, please don't forget cocobod is state own and those you mentioned are private organisations who can pay their staff as much as the share holders please

• Omanba Pa 7 years ago

Most of these stupid idiots like Akpaloo don't think about mother Ghana but their selfish interest. Mr Hackman, God bless you for your selfless nature. I hope you initiate something to be done to the huge salaries and approv ...

• Odiyifo 7 years ago

How can a CEO of a state institution earn more than the first man, president and commander-in-chief of the GAF? And nobody saw anything wrong. It must be corrected. It is not fair. Private companies can pay millions, who care ...

• truth 7 years ago

Called common sense.

• Ewiasiyesum 7 years ago

ARE YOU MAD.

• ywa 7 years ago

foolish politicians

• akwasi 7 years ago

Akpaloo you are so ignorant you seem to know next to nothing about such matters. You don't compare what sportsmen earn with that of bureaucrats. Compare Mourinho's salary with that of the British Prime Minister. Does it make ...

• Chris 7 years ago

By ur analogy i completely agree with u. Avrant Grant takes $50,000 a month and thats is gud so no one talks. Mental slavery

• moses 7 years ago

how can you possibly pay one dump ass of a public servant that much when other public servants are starving.how possible.what work does he do in the office?plant and harvest cocoa beans? or probably does mass spraying.This is ...

• fiko 7 years ago

Akpaloo ,,,,,u sound "unclear" even tho das ur view but stop comparing shoes to tomatoes ,,,,Pls,, i advice u neva think of contesting even class prefect !

• Adoctor Zachary. London.. UK. 7 years ago

Does this man know the equivalent of GHC 70..000.00 in £ Sterling? At the current exchange rate of around GHS 5.5 to the Pound.. it works out to £14..000.00 a month? What work does anyone in Ghana do.. to merit such a salar ...

• Adoctor Zachary. London.. UK. 7 years ago

Does this man know the equivalent of GHC 70..000.00 in £ Sterling? At the current exchange rate of around GHS 5.5 to the Pound.. it works out to £14..000.00 a month? What work does anyone in Ghana do.. to merit such a salar ...

• calistus 7 years ago

If the ceo was producing astronomical result I don't have a problem with his salary,but to collapse the cocoa industry and have all this "smart deal " and collapsing cocoa sector I don't think he deserves such a salary.

• Robinho.ucc 7 years ago

see the face of a moron who wants to be president one day cutting this bulshit here. he made sense when he touched on salary of assistant manager of black stars but a big nonsensical talk on puni thing. kwasia man like u. bla ...

• SLIMMART 7 years ago

This is insane!! COCOBOD isn't a profit-making institution. How can this Akpaloo fool compare it to banks? How much is the whole US President paid? About $400,000 a year in the richest country in the world. And Opuni is paid ...

• kwam 7 years ago

is Cocobod a private company? Even l don't think Bill Gate with all his wealth will pay himself such an amount in the US, because he wants more money to invest in his companies,

• Kay 7 years ago

In fact our leaders are a disgrace to the human race. How can a CEO of a poor country like Ghana take home that amount of salary?

• NII 7 years ago

70,000 A MONTH WOW,THAT IS VERY WRONG ONE PERSON IS RECEIVING 70,000 AND TOMORROW THE GOVERMENT WILL BE BEGING FOR MONEY FROM WESTERN COUNTRIES HOW SAD IS THAT THIS COUNTRY WILL NEVER LEARN FROM THE PAST.

• Mc Truth 7 years ago

There is a bit of sense in what Apaloo is saying. However, in the Ghanaian context as we see the Country now, it is absolutely wrong for him to try to justify Opuns's salary. The western education has not help him much. We ed ...

• Zakaria Niendoo Zeidu in Tamale, 7 years ago

Another idiot man like that! How can this fool be the PRESIDENT of Ghana? U are comparing MTN, VODAFONE & standchart with Ghana, are they not private bodies? Please excuse us with ur out of mine talks.

No wonder you were disqualified. You need not be anywhere close to the corridors of power.

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

So if black star head coach recieves such an amount is it the best thing?even is it good for the CEO's of network providers in the struggling ecnomy country like GH. shld earn soo much at the expence of ordinary customer. Foo ...