You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2014 03 16Article 303509

Accra needs a non-Ga Mayor to make it work – CPP Dep Chair

Read Comments Comments (66)

• mike 10 years ago

very stupid tribalist man does it matter where the person comes from jobs is given on meri not where they are from so stop talking nonsense

• Ghanaba Jr 10 years ago

No, it doesn't matter, my friend. But Mike,you will agree with me that is not the ONLY solution.

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Whoever is conjuring up this stupid thinking should continue dreaming. Which community in Ghana hasn't got any ethnic tension or pressures?
    Not until we have a president who does not surround himself with his ethnic groups l ...

I respect Rhodaline's opinion and the contributions made to Ghana by Imoro-Ayarna. Let's keep this discourse positive for the benefit of all.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

We all have seen the incompetency of all the selected DCEs aka mayors and I strongly think it's about time we call a referendum on the damn thing to keep selecting a short list of cronies of lame duck president or voting for ...

Very reasonable suggestion. And by the way, on condition that the voting process and results are acceptable by all. It is high time we all demonstrate maturity for better governance results in Ghana.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

let democracy work... instead of an incompetent president handpicking an incompetent mayor or DCE

this govt is soaked in corruption and has compromised our future with their shady deals with the Chinese . you talk of humble beginnings only to support those who destroy any chances we have at a better future for our childre ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

OKO IS SIMPLY PRIMITIVE AND INCOMPETENT. HE LACKS MODERN PRINCIPLES TO RUN/TURN GH'S CAPITAL TO A 21ST CENTURY CITY. HE IS USING A TOOTHPICK TO NUNU THE OCEAN. WAT A FOOL!

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

He was a principal in a High school in North Carolina in America so he is qualified to do the job.

• Danso 10 years ago

Elementary school rather! Running an elementary school with a staff of about 33 ppl and a student population of about 400 is not the same as running the capital city of Ghana.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

I wish you were a teacher in the USA. You don;t know how even two students can bring guns to school and cause a mess. Even the police cannot sometimes stop them.
    Well, Oko needs to do better and stop being just tribal and pa ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Look at you? You cant even put one correct line of grammar in your daily posts here and you are referring to an educated Ghanaian as primitive? Your daily posts are in poor grammar, higher cases,which reveals you as an angry ...

• GA 10 years ago

Accra is not the only place with indigene as mayor. It must start with those proposing and you will see how they will jump on Mahama like bees. It all stems from envy and nothing else. They all want accra this is evident from ...

I applaud your for your bold comments that do not hold water. By extension, does Ghana also Ghana need a Nigerian or Zimbabwean president, and foreign representatives in parliament? Let us find a plausible way of moving Gha ...

• Amoah Wade3 10 years ago

if the people registered living the city (accra) were permitted to vote for A Mayor (regardless) of the person (origin)
    In the most civilized countries, the people elect their own Mayors( I know we are not and we will never ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Onye Sormii.His Ga kinsmen have been living in Ga for 700 years.They will lose most if their ancestral home burns.The Mayor need support and cooperation and not condemnation.Ghana needs other cities.

• LABI 10 years ago

I DONT CARE WHETHER IS GA EWE FANTI ASHANTI FRAFRA OR WHATEVER ECT SO LONG AS HE IS COMPETENT. THIS MAN IS JUST PLAIN FUCKEN IDIOT!!! BY THE WAY WE AKANS GAVE YOU THE LAND 700 YEARS WHEN U CAME IN CANONS!! SO DONT GO THERE!! ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

It shows that we Ghanaians can be stupid and outrageous with our comments.How does his enthicity affect his competency? We are in big trouble now due primarily to our blind tribal and regional considerations rather than our a ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Being A GA,AN ASHANTI,A FANTI,AN EWE,A NORTHERNER etc,call it,is not the point,BUT THE ONE COMPETENT ENOUGH TO DO THE JOB VERY WELL,is what GHANA/ACCRA needs.

WHO HAS THE KNOWLEDGE TO PERFORM BETTER THAN WHAT ACCRA IS NOW ...

I agree. Unfortunately at least 80% of chatter on this website is highly tribalistic or political. May Rhodaline and Mike may suggest some names of ACCOMPLISHED & DISTINGUISHED individuals to turn Accra and Ghana around.

• Garth 10 years ago

We all know that Oko Vanderpuye cannot do anything good for Accra but only bribe taking. The truth is that our president is not in control of the country. That we cannot achieve anything for Ghana so long as NDC remains in po ...

• HOLY SINNER 10 years ago

The CPP chair is spot on. I concur.

• jk 10 years ago

stupid talk. go and tell Kumasi a non-asante to be the KMA boss and come back to us. nonsense.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Permit interested candidates to campaign for the position. In fact all interested mayors in Ghana cities and big towns who express interest must campaign for the position.
    In other words allow folks to select their own mayor ...

• KRAMOFITAA 10 years ago

Kwasia, aren't you tired of Afari-Gyan and the goddam pink slips? Balawo Banza.

• GBO MGWE W3 10 years ago

Bring back Tokyo Joe to expel all Asantefuo, Okyemfuo, Kwawufuo and their Mpepefuo.

• GBO MGWE W3 10 years ago

Bring back Tokyo Joe to expel all Asantefuo, Okyemfuo, Kwawufuo and their Mpepefuo.

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Buloo.Don't touch my Ga.Till Ghana is truely declared a repuplic (fuck you)whereby chieftancy is completely abolished then I will advice myself.Take the capital wherever you wish.

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

PART TIME JOB The Life Changers Group is a Group of Compassionate Individuals from different countries that came together t ...

• Musah 10 years ago

take your nonsense to a Nigerian wqebsite, OK

• Musah 10 years ago

Accra residents, and indeed all other cities should elect their own mayors to make them accountable to the residents

• K. MANU 10 years ago

This guy's argument is very hollow. What Accra needs is a competent mayor and not a non-Ga mayor. His argument suggests that Ghanaians needs a non-Ghanaian to lead our nation.

• Watchman 10 years ago

Is Rhodaline prepared to argue that because the Ya Na's head was chopped off by one of their own kind a non Northerner must be appointed to head the Tamale Municipal Assembly? What kind of logic is this? It is not Ga mei that ...

• NON NATIVE NOT AN OPTION 10 years ago

GADANGMES STOP SLEEPING AND WAKE UP!!!

Gadangmes soon you will be landless/tenants on your own land and your language will disappear/extinct and have no culture. Any person without culture is a foreigner. This is my call f ...

• REAL AMASS PHOBIA 10 years ago

ARE YOU FOOL DO YOU PEOPLE REALLY HAVE LAND? DON'T YOU KNOW YOU ARE CREATING TRIBAL HATRED.CAN YOU POOR GA PEOPLE IMPORT FOOD TO FEED YOURSELVES STUPID YOUR NONSENSE,DO YOU KNOW HOW ACCRA WAS BUILT? KWE!LOOK AT SOMEONE TALKIN ...

• REAL AMASS PHOBIA 10 years ago

STOP YOUR NONSENSE

• JOE-ALIGATOR 10 years ago

IT IS NICE THAT YOU THE GAS/ADANGBES ARE NOW CALLING FOR A WAKE-UP.I WAS EVEN SURPRISED THAT WHEN YOU LAND AT KOTOKA INT. AIRPORT IN ACCRA YOU'LL SEE THE WORD "AKWAABA" WHICH IS NOT A GA/ADANGBE WORD FOR WELCOME, BUT THE FOOL ...

• KEEP ACCRA GA 10 years ago

Gadagmes exclusion from Ghana politics
    ? We are 8% of Ghana’s population. The current administration have only 2 Gadangmes ministerial positions out of 18.And out of the 35 deputy minsters we have 1or 2 Gadangmes. Out of c ...

• KWAME SEFA MENSAH !!!! 10 years ago

WELL SAID!MOST OF THE TV AND RADIO STATIONS IN ACCRA NOW CAST EVEN THE NATIONAL NEWS IN TWI AS THOUGH IT,S THE OFFICIAL LANGUAGE AND GOVT.LISTENS AND WATCHES UNCONCERNED.MOST PROGRAMS ARE ALSO CAST IN TWI AND THIS MUST STOP S ...

• Danso 10 years ago

You two are fighting an irrelevant fight. You expect a commercial radio and tv station programs to "have a national character." What is this national character?

• Wuofei 10 years ago

Would that be allowed in wherever he came from? fuck off!

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

The main problem that caused the mayors in Accra not to be seen as good performers of their said duties is the frustration and the pressure that the political parties that appointed them put on them.

The typical example i ...

Two quick suggestions. 1. Appoint her honorary deputy mayor for one week and then evaluate her thoughts based on her hands on experience.

2. Arrange a one hour meeting for Rhodaline with the current major and his immedia ...

• king solo 10 years ago

BIG NO. BIG NO. Nonsense.Stupid fool.

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Mahama just realised that things did not work well for him when a Ga was posted to Volta Region. Competence is what we need.

• boyghana 10 years ago

This is a fool. Why not try a non northerner to be yanaa

• DON ------USA 10 years ago

HOW CAN A GA BE A MAYOR IN KUMASI THIS STUPID YOU GUYS WATCH OUT!!!

• otikorkorsuo nana 10 years ago

It may interest you to know that if the person is good, ashantis don't care they will keep him(ga man) as thier mayor than thier own who is incompetent.

• Igp 10 years ago

A non-Ga indeed to head AMA! What an impudence to tell Gas in their faces? What the heck are you thinking and what have you been drinking? Pressures ke from the traditional chiefs? So what? Go tell the Ashantis not to respect ...

• sly 10 years ago

to be honest accra don't need a mayor accra should rule and manage by ga chief simple as that

• Wasik 10 years ago

This is absolutely nonsense.Accra is for the Gas so as the north is for the Northerners.You don't put a round peg in a square hole.I believe in Federalism.Ashanti Region for the Ashantis and Western Region for the Westerners ...

• Neequaye, USA 10 years ago

What a dumb observation! What Ghana needs is even development. When peole like Rhodaline Imoro-Ayana and non-Gas start setting up businesses in their hometowns so the Kayayeis and streetboys would stay at home the Mayors job ...

• Neequaye, USA 10 years ago

WHAT A DUMB OBSERVATION FROM A PAPANI! GO AND SET UP BUSINESSES IN YOUR HOMETOWN TO KEEP THE KAYAYEIS AND STREET BOYS AT HOME!

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Whatabout a NON-GHANAIAN to be president ?? He will do wonders since he has no affiliation in the country whatsoever !!!Ha haa haaa!!

• Commentator joe 10 years ago

This is the most stupid statement I have heard for a very long time. Is this fool suggesting that the problems can be resolved if the Mayor is a non-Ga. I am greatly disappointed. City management has nothing to do with tribes

• xhlemiso 10 years ago

It has nothing to do with ethnic origin, an Asante, a Dagari or Ewe can be equally ineffective or effective. It has to do with something called fortitude!
    The head and tail of every problem we have in our country is corrupti ...

• mayor 10 years ago

can you tell me that all structures in accra belongs to the Ga people? a non Ga for mayor in accra will not solve the problem. Laws must be obeyed simple.

• KWESI 10 years ago

ELITE TRAVELS IN LEGON IS LOOKING FOR STUDENTS AND WORKERS(BOTH GOVERNMENT AND PRIVATE.
    TO TRAVEL TO CANADA,AUSTRALIA UK, AND HOLLAND ON A 6 MONTH TOURIST VISA.
    HOSTEL ACCOMMODATION WILL BE PROVIDED FOR A MONTH.
    APPLICANT ...

• Goliath's David 10 years ago

This is another stupid idiot who finds herself in power.
    What does ethnicity have to do with proper governance/management.
    If that is the case then can one say that we need a non-Northerner to rule Ghana (considering the me ...

• 4Ward Ever 10 years ago

Rhodaline Ayarna is an ignorant, rude, idiot that CPP has had the misfortune of her being voted as Vice Chairperson. Her idiocy and lack of culture knows no bounds. Imagine a Vice Chairperson who publicly resorts to insulting ...

• Fulaniman 10 years ago

I have notice that the people in Ghana,especially in Accra hate the natives Gas so much I just don't know why,as a foreigner
    I felt deeply sorry for this tribe,I wish this treatment being given to the Ga native would not be ...

• liv 10 years ago

Accra needs A Ga Mayor and Ga MPs. The rest of us should go to our hometowns and develop it.

• zongo 10 years ago

is the fool saying Ga people cant take care of business stupid moron

• WW 10 years ago

Rhodaline,where is your hometown and when was the last time you visited?out of 10 regions, Mahama has more than half of northerners in southern formed NDC govt and still counting which is ok with you.your preferred choice?ano ...

• WW 10 years ago

IF ACCRA NEEDS A WAKE UP CALL,THIS IS IT.CLEAR NIMA,MAAMOBI,PIG FARM,MADINA,FADAMA AND ASHAIMAN OF FILTH.THE LANGUAGE MUST BE GA AND NOTHING ELSE,WUO GBEE ETSE, NYETEASHI!