You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2016 07 19Article 456449

Thievery at Kotoka Airport

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Papa Ata 7 years ago

This ain't the first time we are hearing this. It happens more times and authorities are aware such things happen but they have kept blind eyes on it. Even the immigration persons as well as other officers working there beg f ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK°` 7 years ago

hmmm

• Apuu 7 years ago

Is your mother proud of you.
    Jealousy will never help you.
    You may not like the Ashantis but they are one of the decent tribes in Ghana.
    They always struggle to earn their living and turns to succeed in life.
    You are a bi ...

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Since Mahama became President it has worsened because one Ewes and Northerners work there now. The implications are clear

• Cudjoe 7 years ago

this comment is inappropriate and 'tribalistic'if the word exist. let us be and read more civilized comments.

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

Apuu, don't waste your energy on this moron Douglas. Bristol-UK. He is a toilet cleaner in a laundry in Bristol.

• fear woman 7 years ago

90%of employee at kia are ewes stupid douglas

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

It has gotten worse since Mahama took over
    Only Ewes and Northerners work there

• UK CITIZEN 7 years ago

KWASIA
    YOU DO NOT HAVE PAPERS IN THE UK AND GET READY FOR HOME OFFICE RAID. SHUT YOUR STINKING MOUTH.
    ASHANTIS ARE ONE OF THE MOST HARDWORKING AND DESCENT TRIBES IN GHANA.JEALOUSY WILL KILL YOU STUPID IDIOT
    HOME OFFICE WI ...

• ghanaba 7 years ago

I don't believe this pls stop disgracing our country in your selfish attempt to perpetuate insurance scams.
    Kia is not what it used to be, i was on that flight and had no locks on our 4 suitcases yet not even a pin fell out ...

• Wise 7 years ago

Hey so called ghana. U r very stupid to call this disgrace. Do u know how many people have complained about this including me? U have no idea how painful it is to work hard abroad just to get few things for oneself. Even if o ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Hey so called ghana. U r very stupid to call this disgrace. Do u know how many people have complained about this including me? U have no idea how painful it is to work hard abroad just to get few things for oneself. Even if o ...

• Teiko 7 years ago

Rotten Nation Indeed!!! Rotten People!!Instead of working towards and finding ways to solve this problem the ignorant fools start being tribalistic.How can we go forward with such comments.???

• Sean Cameron 7 years ago

This is no news, I dare the media to open up a platform for complaints, U will be shocked

• Nii 7 years ago

Madam this is not the first time. And they even beg like beg for money like they're not been paid. It's a shame. Officers in uniforms, and people arranging or pushing bags unto the plan are all thieves

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

My friend Nii, those guys at Kotoka Airport do not beg for your money. THEY DEMAND YOUR MONEY.They are ROBBERS.

• Kofi Abgeso 7 years ago

I am also a victim, I bought my wife stuff send the pictures, shows to her via vedio package them myself. Six of the items got lost a Kia today. It nearly ruined my marriage.

• A Den of thieves 7 years ago

Mahama is a thief himself

• NANA KASA 7 years ago

He paid 132bn cedis judgement debts to his fellow thieves on his last day as the president, go check out.

• Joh 7 years ago

So after Many years Ghana has never Change,few years ago I visited my mother in Ghana and had almost everything I bought for my family stolen,such people drive tourists and investors away,they make life very difficult.

• Maame Grace 7 years ago

If you detected the theft in the UK why do you blame Ghana please do the maths.

It could have happened anywere between Ghana and the uk

• marcol 7 years ago

Trust me if official report is made they will get the coprit. now the cctv camerers there are very sensitive to capture any wrong activity going on in and around kia.

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

I am a victim they open my bags in 2008 nd put a form saying they did a random checking when I got home some of my things has been stolen I call them they told me bcos I didn't let them know b4 I left the airport there ...

• Oman 7 years ago

I nearly became a victim. These criminals are around the arrival and departure area at the baggage clearing and check-in,they are clever thieves.Passangers try and pass thro' the appropriate check-in procedures, getting your ...

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 7 years ago

It will work! !!

• JKDN 7 years ago

I fell a victim of this criminal activity at the airport. I went through KIA on the 20th June 2016, arrived in London the next day only to realised my suits in my suitcase have vanished into thin air. Very sad indeed.

• Campion 7 years ago

I was a victim too when I visited Ghana last year November, I brought so much clothes to Ghana and went home with half of my clothes stolen

• JPD 7 years ago

The same thing happened to me in January2013 and December 2012 when I travelled to London.. My bag was broken into and on my return the same at kotoka international Airport...i had to change my new travelling bag upon return ...

• Abena Dufie Adu Yirenkyi 7 years ago

KIA officials, pls get up and something abt this disgraceful act. Ghana is well kmown. I will advice that no one tries this on me, cos u will not like the outcome. Will be coming soon

• Kofi Nkrumah 7 years ago

This is not anything new to them i

• Kofi Nkrumah 7 years ago

This is not new to them at the airport there oooo, i also lost my sandals last year at the same airport. I reported and they they haven't seen anything later they tried it on my wallet and that one trust me it was hell over ...

• Yusuf ibrahim 7 years ago

In may 17th I travelled to amsterdam with klm only to realise my fons have been taken off my bag il when I picked it in Amsterdam schipol airport

• Yusuf ibrahim 7 years ago

In may 17th I travelled to amsterdam with klm only to realise my fons have been taken off my bag when I picked it in Amsterdam schipol airport

• Kofi G 7 years ago

This is not a new thing, they have been doing it since Abraham was born and they will continue doing it, until thou Kingdom come. They intentionally spoil those cctv so they don't catch them. They don't have any shame.

• Anita 7 years ago

Disgraceful airport where Ghanaians are begging all the time.

• perfect 7 years ago

I was a victim in 2011 from Heathrow Airport to Kotoka Airport, my bag was almost empty and torn, it was wrap with a dirty cloth, i made a statement and they gave me copies as evidence, till now they don't answer my calls, a ...

• PAA KODWO Y 7 years ago

Words cannot describe the extent of this thievery thing in KIA. It's happened to me few days ago on my KLM flight. The thieves there seem to be multiplying. It's embarrassing!!!

• Asante 7 years ago

The customs and immigration officials condone and conive with these thieves at the airport. What a disgrace?. The customs boys are all thieves.

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

passed there many times and all their workers care beggars. it's a shame to the country.

• Kwesi 7 years ago

The whole of the African continent is rotten to the core.

• Abeiku 7 years ago

Massa how many parts of Africa have you been to? Or do you think Ghana is Africa.

• Onipa nua 7 years ago

Shame on Mahatma, he can't control anything in the country, only corruption and stealing.

• Siasia 7 years ago

Please when it comes to issues of national interest stop playing politics with them

• Patriot 7 years ago

Stupid fool!!! You are always politicizing issues which has nothing to do with politics.Was Kuffuor able to stop stealing at the Kotoka airport and corruption in general in Ghana?Let your brains work,please.

• Siasia 7 years ago

This is not new to some of us. Kotoka international airport is a place where passengers' belong are being stolen almost everyday. My brand new Samsung iPad was stolen from my carry on back through the check point. Authoritie ...

• Owu 7 years ago

Next time carry it in your arm bag.

• KWABENA 7 years ago

Samsung does not have Ipad. It is a tablet

• Becky 7 years ago

It's very true especially the workers of BRITISH AIRWAYS .They approached me to give them something and started asking me about what I got in my luggage, when I told him he wrote everything down on a paper he was holding. Whe ...

• Apkalo 7 years ago

A colleague is seriously sick because he's been cursed for stealing stuff from someone's luggage.

I think the cursing will never ceased

• Shibs 7 years ago

As journalists dey couldn't interrogate her further bcos dey are always happy to break bad news. Bullshit paper lyk dat.

• Apkalo 7 years ago

Are u one of them

• Apkalo 7 years ago

May be you are on of them

• Ibrahim Akyeampong 7 years ago

This is nothing new, the airport has been staffed with all kinds of crooks who share the booty with the "boss"

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

My dear sister, sorry but this is not new and you are not the only person in such a situation.

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 7 years ago

EBAA LAW CONSULT
    ORCA DECO (TOKU HOUSE) BUILDING
    1ST FLOOR
    ACCRA.
    GHANA.

MOBILE: 0545758633

MOBILE: 0245848560

TO: H. ...

• lsrael 7 years ago

This barbaric act started long time ago.l remember upon arriving at the Airport,some men believe to be customs officers approached me and demanded that l declare what l have on me.I wonder why as a Ghanaian,who travelled for ...

• George 7 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE HARD WORKERS YOU FOOL

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Very Very True

• Nana Dankwaa 7 years ago

Oh my dear it happen to me, when Ghana Airways was running. Ichecked 3bags and on my arrival to UK i didn't received any bag accept the one carry food stuffs on my arrival. I did made report and they didnt paid me anything. T ...

• DAY 7 years ago

I have been victim on several occasions. Now I am forced to my luggage at extra cost.
    That is the reality we have to face

• Kofi Baffour 7 years ago

Kofi Adam's Dubia/ hahaha

• Akrong 7 years ago

The problems with Africa if not Ghana is people put in place of responsibility always use that to enrich themselves from the tax collectors the police man, stealing is like open responsibility. Everybody in any African thinks ...

• black magic 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    00233244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that ...

• teneboah kodua 7 years ago

This web of fools and void-morals introduce such behaviour into GHANA

• teneboah kodua 7 years ago

then they would install security cameras

• Paul 7 years ago

It was not stolen in Ghana. The CUstoms in London seized because she did not declare them

• Ama 7 years ago

The customs in London will let you they have seized your items with the necessary documentation for you to sign. So it was stolen in Kotoka.

• Kwasi Ntim 7 years ago

MS. YEBOAH, PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THOSE CORRUPT CRIMINALS AND LIVE IN UK AND ENJOY YOUR LIFE. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE OR ARE BURRIED. FROM THE PRESIDENT TO THE MESSENGER, THEY ARE ALL THIEVES AND CRIMINALS. I WILL V ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

it's only a child who wants to enjoy what he didn't worked for. uk was made by it's people even though african slaves contributed, the slaves weren't given for free, they were bought from african chiefs and family heads and t ...

• As 7 years ago

Hmmm it's a big disgrace even we have been victims also in the port two cars and valuable items missing..people are not content with what they have hence all these' whatever you do remember you will account for one day.what ...

• MOG 7 years ago

This is serious,how on earth the commissioner to uk is in ghana till next year be4 returing to to uk,please tell me in the wrild have you heard this before shame on ghana.

• Kwabena Apuntuah 7 years ago

What do you expect when the airport is loaded with hungry foot soldiers? NDC was built on theft and deception and they can never stop

• kwabena Asante 7 years ago

its happening everyday and is a big disgrace.the officials have to check this stealing at the airport.

• Soul 7 years ago

There is urgent need for a strong shakeup in the airport I have been a victim in 2014 where I was given items to be delivered and everything got stollen at the airport on arrival. The guys working there are serious thieves.

• Jane 7 years ago

This "thievery " got to stop! Most of us abroad have been victims before and it is so sad. I had my items stolen when I came to Gh April 2010. Poor me!!! . Over here in abroad when a luggage is delayed, it is delivered to you ...

• Tk komakoma 7 years ago

Just cursed who ever steals from u at KIA it works

• fear woman 7 years ago

u need doctor look at what your sister did turn cocoine into kokonte

• prince 7 years ago

Very true ,I remember they toomy phone

• Gaskia no go kill you 7 years ago

Why Ghana the airport official know something about it. It happens to me too. Both official and the thieves are all having long Hands. Many people are scared to pass through KIA when traveling.

Ndc foot soldiers, is only ndc time we experience this criminals activities

• Alhaji Abuu Brutus Germany 7 years ago

BUT THIS IS NOTHING NEW IT STARTED FROM 2012 BY THE CUSTOMS AND IMMIGRATION SERVICES WHO OUTNUMBER THE PASSENGERS THAT PASSES THROUGH KIA

• Lobito 7 years ago

This baggage loading people need serious security surveylance.

• nii 7 years ago

the authorities at the airport must wake up to curb this shameful act.

• dj eric, san diego 7 years ago

this has been going on for a long time,, what is Ghana Media doing about it, what happens to news and investigation and reporting to the community, all those guys that work there are thieves. point blank. they should all be f ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 7 years ago

It is strange that the subject of the matter is ignore and commentators are now dealing with tribal issues. Dear folks lets treat thievery at KIA seriously for it is a shame and a bad image to the nation. Ewe,North, Ashanti e ...

• Amidini 7 years ago

This is very true, real and live story and must be investigated and perpetrators punish severely. Where are the CCTV cameras ? The authorities must put stringent measures. This thievery is common at Kotoka airport

• King Adjei 7 years ago

NDC has nothing to offer Ghana,they don't appoint qualify people into position, rather they choose their party members weather the person is qualified or not ....Ghana has problems....

• sam 7 years ago

DOUGLAS. BRISTOL, I AM ASHAMED THAT YOU LIVE IN THE UK. BECAUSE ATLEAST LIVING IN THE WESTERN SORT OF HELP ONE TO CHANGE HIS MINDSET(NEGATIVE) BUT YOURS REMAIN THE SAME. YOU HAVE NOT LEARNT ANYTHING GOOD FROM UK. I HAVE BEEN ...

• As 7 years ago

Do those people think or have conscious at all.custom stop begging people for money or items .I was once asked but I refused bcos I want them to be content with what they earn.not easy life it's not heaven in Europe

• Change for Progress - Vote Nana 7 years ago

Mahama and NDC are Thieves stealing everything including ordinary travellers

• assase 7 years ago

Excutives at KIA please wake up and do something who is hiring all these thieves to work at an international airport. I was a victim too only a month ago all my valuable jewellery in one bag was stolen. Its a shame, this is n ...

• Kudzo 7 years ago

sometime we passengers react so funny. if your things are stolen and you think it is only Ghana this can happen then there is a problem. this same theft happen all over the world, Europe, America and what have you... even the ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Very True ... it's either they are demanding money or stealing your items ..

• Amewuh 7 years ago

Boss Mahama we ghana can not die for u the same Nana too.we want peace not in pieces. GHANA FOR EVER..ANY BODY TRE BAD IT WILL DIE.

• AK 7 years ago

This issue is not happening only at the KIA. The fact of the matter is, bribery and corruption has eaten deep into the fabric of the Ghanaian society. People who write receipts at the Korle Bu and Police hospital mortuary tak ...

• Mr charles 7 years ago

that's true they have a lots of criminals there I face the same problem before

• bongo 7 years ago

THE ITEMS WERE STOLEN IN THE HOUSE BEFORE SHE GOT TO THE AIRPORT COS THERE ARE CC CAMERAS INSTALLED ALL OVER THE AIRPORT ESPECIALLY AROUND THE BAGGAGE LOADING AND UNLOADING AREA WHICH CAN BE REPLAYED TO THE VICTIM.SO SHE SHOU ...

• Gaskia no go kill you 7 years ago

This stealing problem in airport Accra is so bad and humiliating but the airport officials knows those who have been doing that. That is why it continues till today butGod will curse them

• fred 7 years ago

A big disgrace...

• GOA. 7 years ago

I experienced a similar fate when my carry-on was tagged and taken form me at the gangway while boarding Delta Air to New York. Upon my arrival I realized my neck chain, bracelet and $2000.00 cash had been stolen. I believe i ...

• Kwamina Kwabina 7 years ago

I had my personal belongings stolen from one of my two suitcases. After picking up one of my suitcases from the arrival carousels, I had to wait for about 45 mins for the next suit case and found out it was opened. I report ...

• owonta nsuro 7 years ago

Mine was switched on 29th Feb,2016.And all my kente, african prints, medication with my name ,documents and others. The one i got contained water and 6pcs of black and red kente which I sent to BA but they did not pay for my ...

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 7 years ago

I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY GHANAIANS CLAIM THEY ARE GOOD XTIANS AND MUSLIMS BUT ARE SO CORRUPT AND ALMOST STEAL EVERYDAY FROM THIER WORK PLACES AND LATER CLAIM GOD HAS BLESSED THEM WITH SO MUCH.IT BEATS MY SIMPLE REASONING.GOD H ...

• eD 7 years ago

These are the very people who claim to be Christians and Moslems with a church building every 200 metres and a mosque here and there and yet they are the most disobedient religious people on the planet. Shame on you all from ...

• eD 7 years ago

They, and I mean all the traffice policemen do not care about enforcing traffice laws; instead they are good at (under false pretenses) extorting/abusing and begging for monies they refer to as chop money when they are being ...

• Nana Kwashi 7 years ago

Theft is theft. It has nothing to do with tribal diisions or party politics. We must route out the thieves at our airport with CCTV and by setting up some sting operations with suitcases with trackers. This technology is r ...

• Lorraine Davis.. USA 7 years ago

I was taken for money when I arrived at the Airport in Ghana in September of 2015..

• Obiba Broke 7 years ago

Ghana is a failed state, only second to Robert Mugabe, s Zimbabwe .I was born there but I don't want to associate with that disgraceful nation .Ghana belongs to history. The one you have now is a banan ...