You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2015 06 18Article 363143

Judge sacks prosecutor over poor English

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Queenie 8 years ago

Are you sure this guy is even a lawyer? How can a prosecutor not able to express himself in English?

• Woman 8 years ago

The prosecutor isn't a trained lawyer. Regardless, the judge did not behave appropriately.

• KWEKU MFANTSE 8 years ago

How did she get the job in the first place? Surely, someone must have penetrated her!!

• Sam 8 years ago

Kweku you are a moron, the person is a man. You are disgusting you think with your little manhood.

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

Policeman

• Joe Abah 8 years ago

abegi mek we hia word jare, dat na wash joor, inglish na em moda tong? meek dem alau d bobo spik em langwege na. afta all inglish na booro langwege fron slave masta, hau mani briton oyibo dey use ghana langwege deh jooge kee ...

• Dr. K. Danso 8 years ago

Well, English is the official language in Ghana and policemen are supposed to at least have some education which included English! Why and how did he get the job and being paid if he cannot express himself in the official lan ...

• Dr. K. Danso 8 years ago

In Ghana we dont have Lawyers prosecuting cases except major politically-charged cases.
    Policemen presnt cases and Jidges are the trained Lawyers to judge. It works best for a deceloping country as most Ghanaian lawyers dont ...

• last card 8 years ago

massa,which school did you learn your english?dammmmn.

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

You are so ignorant.Is english the only language?

• KNYC(USMC) 8 years ago

The seed that was sowed by AFRC/PNDC/NDC is in reality mode. After 20 plus years in office the NDC led by JJ Rawsh..it made it their agenda to make Ghana education irrelevant, whiles they send their children to overseas schoo ...

• Wekpa 8 years ago

I attended school here in Ghana but I can speak English. When will we start taking responsibility for our laziness?

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

What has laziness has core relationship with speaking good English?

• Louis,Mankranso 8 years ago

This is the second time I have heard and seen police officers couldn't speak at English,an official language and the other officer couldn't signed a signature at WAEC office on Examination duties.

• Concerned citizen 8 years ago

The prosecutor is a policeman NOT a lawyer.

• AMO GYAN 8 years ago

ARE YOU SURE HE IS NOT ONE OF THE YAW BOATENG DJAN'S POLICEMEN WHO WERE USING ESCAPE VEHICLES?

• Benny 8 years ago

Is English his language. Those are the days when man is enslave to the queens language. Why not allow him to express himself in twi, My lord. The judge has got a bread from the accused. mahama sack him

• Woman 8 years ago

He could have adjourned the case without giving the reason and save the embarrassment while looking professional. This is something that should have been done without the public knowledge. Between the judge and the prosecut ...

• Nana Abeyie 8 years ago

I do agree, the judge should have been diplomatic about it

• zakus belle 8 years ago

Oh mother Ghana!

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 8 years ago

they prefer robbery to schooling that's why he couldn't fluently speak English

• Nana Appiah 8 years ago

This is Another Case of a Certificate Thief...hahahaha These Bastards are too Dumb to get anything right, that's why they indulge in all criminal activities to be rich, Drugs Prostitution, Robbery, Fraud, Fake Documents used ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

I can smell a typical " koklo deka " a mile off. Your type has become a curse among decent people who give you shelter and protection from your voodoo self . Always envious of others especially Ashantis and yet not ashamed t ...

Am I right or wrong?, even Hon. Kennedy Agyapong said it..All your so called businesses are outright underground Drug dealing..What is there to envy? I call it delusional..You are the ones that envy to the extent of killing y ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

It baffles me greatly when an Ewe insults an Ashanti . Ewe of all tribes ? A tribe with derogatory aliases more than any tribe in Ghana , calling others bad names . Wonders , they say will never cease. Your own cousins , the ...

Just google: Nana Yaw's Murder case in Toronto...hahahahaha

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Kwasia!! Who made you Nana.You were comfortable when that idiot of an NDC MP said trees under schools on the floor parliament.l believe maggots have taken over your brains.Abua ba

• Penbook 8 years ago

Spare this man because english is a borrowed language. Just as a British will struggle with our language so does he, so why sacking him away?

• Amidini 8 years ago

This prosecutor is a disgrace to Ghana Police Service. IGP send him to guard banking hall

• Alex London 8 years ago

This judge is arrogant. His action is the highest professional disorder. He has led himself and the total judiciary down. If he has a professional decency he would have adjourned the case and advise relevant authority for th ...

• MAYA - MK 8 years ago

Are u guys who are blaming the judge really serious ?
    The prosecutor is no less a person than a CHIEF INSPECTOR ! C'mon guys !
    He has had enough time to prepare docket to court. Yet..
    And by the way.. what language are you ...

• Agyekum 8 years ago

I thought courts have interpreters so why? how many people in Ghana speak English?

• Ben 8 years ago

We are still in the colonial ages and yet cry of colonialism. Hmmmmmmm!

• Justice 8 years ago

almost everybody. GHANA has been speaking eNGLISH for more than 200yrs. Brazil speaks portuguese mozambique the same and Angola.these adopted the portuguese language and they are doing very well.So is ghana we adopted Englis ...

• Justice 8 years ago

almost everybody. GHANA has been speaking eNGLISH for more than 200yrs. Brazil speaks portuguese mozambique the same and Angola.these countries adopted the portuguese language and they are doing very well.So is ghana we also ...

• Amato 8 years ago

This is what happens when unqualified foot soldiers are enlisted in the police service all in the name of politics. We will surely reap what we are sowing. God have mercy. What a disgrace to the nation.

• Ben 8 years ago

Why not in a Ghanaian language? We are so useless! I bet the English people are laughing at us now.

• F. Boadu 8 years ago

Agree with you Ben

• Onipaba 8 years ago

I too agree with you, Ben.

• Afia 8 years ago

I am not here to compare the USA to Ghana but come on Judge, come to the USA and see our Hispanic brothers they are so close to the US they can even swim across but ask them a single question like how may i help you, they wil ...

• Justice 8 years ago

Afia! which language in Ghana is our first language. i want to know.

• Afia 8 years ago

What you speak at home is your first language, It can be GA,Twi,Wala, Frafra etc.

• GOODMAN 8 years ago

Once we have adopted English as our first language, police officers are obliged to learn to speak fluently. As they deal with security issues, they interact with a lot of people including foreigners, and its important they a ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 8 years ago

My dear Afia have you ever seen or heard of any incident in the US where a "me no English" person is a prosecutor in court? Though English is our second language in Ghana it is also our official language and a Prosecutor's jo ...

• Dread 8 years ago

Extortion and bribing is all they know, how could a police inspector not speak english and how did he get to the rank of inspector? Bonboclat.

• F. Boadu 8 years ago

The prosecutor is not disgrace to the nation. Is the Judge who is a fool don't forget Ghana is not an English speaking country we're just deceiving ourself. UK government want a some countries to do English language test befo ...

• Justice 8 years ago

if ghana is not english speaking country, then what is our language?is it Ga or Ewe?

• GOODMAN 8 years ago

Its english, simple. its time our people learnt to speak english well. we can't be making comparisons when we know that those countries have not adopted any of our local dialects as their official language. We either learn to ...

• Salifu 8 years ago

This shouldn't be a laughing matter. It is shameful and retrogressive that in our own country, we cannot do anything with our own language. You are laughed at if you cannot speak English. How disgraceful and silly !!!

• Mensah Adams 8 years ago

It's hard time the chief justice replace police prosecutors with state attorneys, Shame on you Ghana police service.

• Mansah 8 years ago

Come on judge Haji you are been nufair to the prosecutor or rather been bully Do you know that the english is our second language you should have asked the prosecutor to speak the native language he is comfortable with,not t ...

• Moosi 8 years ago

I suspect the police officer was drunk and could therefore not "string together" words in English, especially a Chief Inspector for that matter.
    Ei Ghana Police!

• Louis,Mankranso 8 years ago

If foot soldiers are enlisted in Police Service without due diligence,State Prosecutors cannot speak official language at court. Where is 2i/c of Police Service,Patrick Timbilla?

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Is English the only spoken language?

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Mahama killed Mills and silenced his brother.

• Abu.Belgium 8 years ago

This issue about Ghanaians being so proud of the Queens language baffles and at the same time kills me to death....The Belgian especially the (flemish)is proud of his local dialect to the extent one feels like a villager when ...

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

You see how stupid some Ghanaians are, it could be that this prosecutor might have received a bribe, hence his poor presentation in English to get the case thrown out by the Judge.

• Ben 8 years ago

Because of apo better students are to and fro.

• Kobina 8 years ago

Now everything about whiteman is good: gays, transgender, legalizing cannabis, guns,
    Asantehene wearing suite and speaking English in public etc. President wearing suite instead of the rich FUGU Cloth
    Ghanaians Where is y ...