You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2013 05 25Article 275045

Carpenter jailed 10 years for possessing cannabis

Read Comments Comments (46)

• ZAMIA N22 LONDON 10 years ago

THIS IS FOOLISH CASE. GROW UP CORRUPT GHANAIAN JUDGES!!!

• power 10 years ago

i guess afari gyan and his entourage will serve hundred years of jail term

• Norya london 10 years ago

Hmmm why not Akufo addo?Akufo addo must be sentence life imprisonment for his drug dealing

• DrG 10 years ago

I don't condone drug abuse etc, but the real criminals are walking about freely

• SAY IT LOUD ! 10 years ago

I AM NOT IN ANY DOUBT THAT YO ARE NOT WELL-EDUCATED. YOU MAY BE "EDUCATED" BUT IN THE WRONG WAY, IE. MISEDUCATED.

HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU EVER GIVEN HOMOSEXUALS, POLITICIANS, MURDERERS, WAR STARTERS, ETC.

WHAT SENTENCE ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

10.58 grams of OBONSAM TAWA for 10 years imprisonment? Total nonsense. What did the judge smoke before the verdict. That is why our prisons are clogged. Can't such people be sanctioned to do community service? Who pays for th ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

It appears the judge who adjudicated the case convicted and sentenced the Alex Obeng Asante like many judicial officials in Ghana do not have a complete grasp of sentencing principles. Simply possessing cannabis in my non-le ...

• go inside 10 years ago

6 months at the most. ridiculous imprisonment!

• Ekow Mills Obama* 10 years ago

Community service may be. Unless there was another charge with it, but the possession alone the 10yrs is too much.

• Omanba, Chicago, IL 10 years ago

This is nonsense! Where were the police and the judge when Rawlings was openly smoking marijuana on top of that military vehicle in 1979? At that time,was the offense not enshrine in the constitution or the criminal code or w ...

Bad luck for the carpenter, if he had been arrested smuggling cocaine at KIA, he would be a free man. Yes, the carpenter could not pay his way out of the criminal justice system.

• ohenenana 10 years ago

this is too sever. Smoking weed is not as serious offence, when politicians steals millions from the state, and yet no one says anything.

• obimpeh 10 years ago

are there a lawyers in ghana?

• nAMEwITHHELD 10 years ago

Foolish judge. Leave the Guy alone.

• joe 10 years ago

did he the judge actually go to even school? all this judges must go back to school bcos they will put all the young boys in the country in prison because of the power they have given them. kwaadonto.

• Nyame Ekuma 10 years ago

This iudge Alex whatever, is a foolish and ignorant twerp. How can u be so wicked to sentence a man for 1= yrs bcos of 2 wraps.

Ignorant fool of a corrupt Ghanaian judge. Shame unto u.s. Bribe takers in Ghana's judiciary. ...

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

This happens only in Africa, politicians still huge some of money they say that is politics, the ordinary citizen commits an offense far less than that he gets sentenced for years in prison. God will judge as all

• Azonto King 10 years ago

Go to Holland and see people who smoke ganja on the street. 10 years jailing is too much for just 2 roles of weed. Do u know the number of politicians who smoke weed.

• Azonto King 10 years ago

Ghanaian lawyers are fake. They got their certificates through corrupted means that is why they don't work well for what they are paid for.

• jee Norway 10 years ago

live him alone even the president of Ghana smoke wee fuck u animal

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

To jail one for a possession of such amount of wee which will be consider as felony is insane.This man needs rehabilitation not jail term.

• DANSO 10 years ago

This judge must be prosecuted for being a cloned baboon. 10 years for possession of 10.58 grams cannabis? What did the judge smoke before passing on the judgement.?

• akoo 10 years ago

what abut those corrupt soo call politicians???? EEEEEIH GHANA!!!!

• akoo 10 years ago

wht abt those corrupt politicians??

• Jacob Agyemang 10 years ago

What is wrong with our justice system? 11g of cannabis lands somebody in jail in for 10 years? Are we serious? No wonder our prisons are crowded. This guy will go in prison and end up as a hardened criminal. I really don't ge ...

• TONY 10 years ago

If minor offences like this carry such long prison sentences, Ghana prisons will be overcrowding and overspending. The carpenter needs probation and/or community labor.

• UM 10 years ago

Most rich people including the politician in ghana smoke weed but they got away with it but the poor carpenter gets 10yrs

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

the pen thieves like woyome are walking free on our streets.

olorun save mum ghana!!!

• Injustice 10 years ago

Some lawyers should take this case on a pro bono basis and appeal the sentence. it's obviously a cruel and unsual punishment

• joe 10 years ago

foolish judges! cocaine dealers get away because they know how to pay their way through the 'justice system'. politicians and civil servants are milking us yet the same judges let them free. only the poor suffer. watch out fo ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

The only bad thing about weed is short term memory.. US is about to legalize weed

• K. 10 years ago

Akoffo addo have wee in his pokett Every DEY! Then jailed him 103 for it

• Peter 10 years ago

Although canabis is not a good thing but it is utter nonsense to jail one 10years for it.I sometimes wonder if our judges have any common sense at all.They are too inhuman.What of the bribes they collect?

• Kpeplo 10 years ago

I don't get this stupid judge. If he is abreast with time he will know others are even legalizing wee for medicinal and recreational use. How stupid is this judge to sentence someone to 10 yrs in prison. Even man slaughter wi ...

• RB 10 years ago

RIDICULOUS!! CHRIS BROWN WAS IN YOUR COUNTRY AND OPENLY SMOKED WEED, YOU LET HIM GO WITHOUT EVEN A REPRIMAND AND YOU JAIL THIS POOR INNOCENT MAN FOR POSESSION OF WEED? WHAT A COUNTRY!WHO ARE THE JUDGES AND PROSECUTORS IN THIS ...

• shitor 10 years ago

Disgusting example of the corruption Ghana is facing today.
    Note carefully...weather one chooses to drink alcohol excessively enough until death or other, it is clear that armed robbery at 10 years is suffice...But this is n ...

• shitor 10 years ago

LEGALIZE IT LIKE AMSTERDAM AND OUAGADUGO...ONYAO....Shika manche.

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

Are the rich untouchable?There is crime in every part of government yet nobody goes to jail, This judge is a real jackass of a fool,

• Onipa Odasanii 10 years ago

That was to hash sentence.

• Onipa Odasanii 10 years ago

How many years you will sentence the gays?

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Has this idiot judge any problems with this man? I`m NOT condoning what that young man has done but if possessing of Cannabis could carry 10 years jail terms,what would this judge give to a murderer or a rapist?
    Oh,and what ...

• Eric asamoah 10 years ago

Animal farm.stupid people in control

• J.O 10 years ago

This is injustice.
    Our legal system is crude.

• ashanti 10 years ago

because the carpenter dont have bribe to pay abi? stupid judge thunder willl strike u

• YAR0-SPAIN 10 years ago

I THINK THERE IS A LITLLE BITE OF CRUELITY AND OVER IMPLIMENTION OF THE LAW ON THIS SENTENCE.WE ALL UNDERSTAND THAT CANABIS IS NOT LEGAL IN GHANA,BUT FAIR RULE OF LAW.IT APPEARS INJUSTICE

• Horse Meat 10 years ago

Let us understand this case in the eye of a good judge. What is legal prescription for such offence. I am sure the judge has not done a good job