You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2024 04 19Article 1926835

Truck driver at centre of new train accident sentenced to 6 months in jail with hard labour

Read Comments Comments (95)

• LOWER 3 weeks ago

SO THESE TRAINS DO NOT HAVE DICTATOR SENSER SENSE THE TRUCK KILOMETER AHEAD ????

• FRANKIE 3 weeks ago

Wow, that was expedited service. This is clear evidence that our useless and clueless misleaders didn't do due diligence before the test run begun. The real culprits who must be jailed with hard labour are the stupid NPP poli ...

• Akua Adobea 3 weeks ago

Stupid Frankie as usual.

• YSL 3 weeks ago

See how fast their Npp packed court has sat on the case, concluded and even issued a sentence? They still havent dealt with the LGBTQ+ bill case that Akuffo Addo is hiding behind as a reason for rejecting the bill, if you sti ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33) 3 weeks ago

NDC IS PURE EVIL!! THE FOUNDER HIMSELF ABANDONED THEM BEFORE HIS DEMISE.
    HOW CAN EVIL NDC ORGANIZE THEIR EVIL FOLLOWERS TO USE CHAINSAW TO CUT DOWN WOOD ELECTRIC POLES. THEY PUT ACID UNDER HIGH TENSION METAL POLES TO BRING T ...

• YSL @ KWASIA ADADE 3 weeks ago

Dr Wreko Brobbey, Dr Nyaho Tamakloe, Alan Kyeremanteng, Dr Arthur Kennedy, Prof Frimpong Boateng,Dr Amoako Baah, Kennedy Agyapong etc Are all founding members of your party, but are all firing at your government for their inc ...

• Who Killed Mills 3 weeks ago

6 years will have fitted the crime. If the train was moving faster lives could have been lost. How does any human think they can park across a rail line. How. I will even consider firing squad.

• DotCom 3 weeks ago

Don’t waste your time arguing with that Kwasi Adade idiot. He copies and paste the same things each time. It is people like him who think supporting a party is better for the country than exposing the criminal acts of his p ...

• Kwami 3 weeks ago

A tall list, good work OFIE P33. This shows that we are leaving with evil people who don't want the country to progress.

• Ghanaman 3 weeks ago

Eiii! In less than 24 hours, the poor driver has been arrested, charged, prosecuted and sentenced. Meanwhile the MP's murder case is still in court after 7 years!

• Sam 3 weeks ago

Frankie the moron,imbecile Ndc trokosi nation wrecker. This idiot frankie man sees no evil and hears no evil. he thinks 2024 elections is a done deal for nkoko nkete nkete John Ford Mahama and the Ndc. They will get the shock ...

• ALETSE GBONTON 3 weeks ago

THIS IS PURE VICTIMISATION..... AMEWU WANT TO SAVE HIS JOB...... AMEWU MUST ALSO BE FIRED FOR NEGLIGENCE....... YOU CAN'T JUST MOVE THIS EXPENSIVE TRAIN WITHOUT DOING DUE DILIGENCE... YOU CAN'T DO THIS IN GERMANY

• Nii Odoi 3 weeks ago

The test run was part of the due diligence.

• Prince 3 weeks ago

Stop fooling

FRANKIE IS 100% RIGHT...... YOU NPPIG ANIMALS ARE STUPID FOOLS... #AMEWU-MUST-SACKED.......

• JEDD 3 weeks ago

HAHAHAHHAA- OUR POLAND TROTRO TRAIN HAS CRASHED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!: SO EARLY ?????????????

• JEED 3 weeks ago

Self-driving Passenger Trains
    For high-speed, long-distance rail travel self-driving technology is further away than you might expect, this is because it’s harder to manage the stoppage distance of trains over long distanc ...

• Mary- Ho public toilet 3 weeks ago

The name of the driver says it all. These Togolese trokosi Ayigbes and their capacity for subversion. He was doing the bidding of the party of Ayigbes. These aliens at terrified by any development by the NPP that will positiv ...

• ofi Adu 3 weeks ago

You are hundred percent right. The conclusion of the matter is the Name. Period

• Shallom Shallom 3 weeks ago

Kwasiampanyi listen to yourself ofuii

• Pelicles 3 weeks ago

My friend stop asking stupid questions. Does it make sense for a Ghanaian to intentionally park a vehicle on a train track and flee? What is the intent behind what that Ewe fool did?

We have to develop no matter what the ...

Why do you say he parked??? Are you that stupid???? The truck broke down on the rail so the driver was going to look for help so they will salvage the situation...

• NDC members are Satan worshippers 3 weeks ago

Was the railway line a vehicle route. You'll all rot in hell

• YSL, no ur father rather worships the devil 3 weeks ago

I will ignore your stupid comment because clearly it was made out of ignorance, but i will educate u that car roads often crosses path with railway lines, they often have people who check and stop all cars until the train pas ...

• wofa yaw 3 weeks ago

Was that an approved route? Was that rail crossing point? We do illegal things and think we are smart but actually stupid. We only think of ourselves and do not think of the consequence of our actions. Six months is too small ...

• YSL 3 weeks ago

Because u Npp members are stupid and justify evetything ur government does and blame all ur flaws on others, so u think thats how everybody acts, i wasnt jistifying what the guy did, am not as stupid as u are, am a Ghanaian a ...

• Hmmm 3 weeks ago

Did u see any road there

• Rex 3 weeks ago

Then the car flew and landed on the railway lines is what u want to suggest, use your brains small na onyame de ky33 wo kwa.

• Kofi Mensah 3 weeks ago

Are you that stupid?

Fact is : there's no official crossing at the place that the driver used.

From the original report, he refused to pass under a designed bridge to get to the other side. So he decided to drive cross ...

• Piaw 3 weeks ago

The embankment leading to the tracks is SO STEEP, he must be really foolish to think he could cross there. I heard he said he was taking that route because he couldn’t pass under the bridge with his load (cement blocks). I ...

• kanga 3 weeks ago

Stupid if it broke dawn should it be allowed to sit on the railway tracks? NDC foolish soldier from a demonic party. Mahama is not the alternative, dadanoaa still incompetent and a drunkard.

• Mary- Ho public toilet 3 weeks ago

Another one of them. These Togolese will defend anything that another Togolese does. The motive of this trokosi driver is clear. Sabotage. He was doing the bidding of the party of Ayigbes. Even before the tribe of the driver ...

• Piaw 3 weeks ago

I’m Ewe. A Ghanaian Ewe. There are Ewes in Ghana, Togo, Be in and Nigeria. We are native to all these countries. I condemn what this man has done. Just because the man is a Ewe doesn’t mean we all support him, and we’re ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 3 weeks ago

DO REMEMBER THE OFOSU AMPOFO DOCTRINE? NOW IT’S FULLY IN THE WORKS!

You’re a numbskull! What are you talking about? What sensor are you talking about? Even if the sensor detects when objects are deliberately placed on ...

• Sampson 3 weeks ago

Nothing good comes from Volta Region.

• JEED 3 weeks ago

What technology is used for trains?
    Ultrasound technology and Automated Track Inspection (ATI) systems with lasers and cameras on locomotives, along with track inspection vehicles, enhance overall safety by proactively detec ...

• Kwesi 3 weeks ago

The tracking digitization ahead of the train is knew to Ghanaian driver, i will go to Accra tomorrow morning to update him.

• Shallom Shallom 3 weeks ago

Kwasiampanyi ofuii gyemi saa

• Lighty 3 weeks ago

I shock self

• NPP gave jewels to pigs! 3 weeks ago

People like you should be deported along with the master saboteur truck driver. How Faure Nyasimgbe is eagerly waiting to get his hands on you!

• Mr Ibu 3 weeks ago

Why don't we deport these Togolese parading as Ghanaians?

• BENGURO 3 weeks ago

INFERIORM TRAINS CAN;T DICTECT OBJECTS ON THE RAIL LINE FROM FAR- CHEAP GOOD ; CHEAP MISTAKES

• Steve Kaye London 3 weeks ago

You are right Mr. Ibu, l have said this on countless times that about 95% of these evil NDC party members including Letse and Frankie are Togolese trokosis so they have no love for our country.

• BENGURO 3 weeks ago

LEAVE THE BOY GUY ALONE- GO AND BUY BETTER TRAINS WITH SENSOR SIGNAL TO SENSE OBJECTS AHEAD OF THE RAIL ?????: CHEAP BUY - WHO BUYS SUCH TRAINS THESE DAYS ? ALL MODERN TRAINS COULD HAVE DICTECTED THIS TRUCK FROM FAR AHEAD: T ...

• BENGURO 3 weeks ago

-exactly my point. MASSA- nowdays trains have signal alarmer to see far ahard.

• Pelicles 3 weeks ago

Trains crash in the US despite their technological advances.

• maame 3 weeks ago

Then why accuse NDC. Could be an accident. The quick judgement is strange and not fair. Jailed 6 month for what. People causing even more serious offenses walk freely in the stree. The Lord hears the cry of the poor ... ...

• BENGURO 3 weeks ago

Animals in their kingdom even think more than Ghanaians. This TROTRO -train is not Japan bullet train driving from Osaka to Tokyo on high speeds. Now there are saying that the train is at the Cafe the driver can not see to a ...

• Stephen Donkor: New York. 3 weeks ago

Koo GYIMII! BENGURO!
    Even if the sensor detects objects on the tracks shortly before the train arrives at the specific venue, the operator can apply abrupt breaks. Even in the US train tracks are not allowed to be trespass ...

• ofi Adu 3 weeks ago

You are right. The guy is a terrorist. I am waiting to hear what Sammy Gyamfi, Okudzeto Ablakwa, Asiedu Nketiah and John Mahama will say.

• WEB SERVICES. J.SWH6F2 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. FDD32

• Tweaa 3 weeks ago

This is like a JOKE , sentence for only six months ? Listen to his name and I will tell you which political party he is affiliated. ADWENE B nkoaa

• Aponkye 3 weeks ago

Akans never commit crimes in Ghana, never. They don’t kill their fellow human being and store the body in the fridges. They kill their cousin nurse girl in bury the corpse in the chief house, they don’t steal thousands of ...

• Papa 3 weeks ago

Sentenced for lack of legal representation. He was wrongly charged. And ignorantly pleading guilty. The car was parked at the time of the accident. Careless and inconsiderate driving does not apply here. He did not caused the ...

• Achakanapaya 3 weeks ago

Mr Ibu or what ever you called yourself.Ewes are not thieves and Nation wreckers. Ghana's problem is this Akans greedy Basturds who thinks Ghana belongs to them.
    Another JJ will surely immerge again and is going to be very b ...

• Kelly 3 weeks ago

If you make this into a tribal banter, we will not get any far

• Yak 3 weeks ago

This incoming JJ would not have it so easy as the 1st one who did not do all that he preached and also had the luck of " friends paying for" some of his seemingly expensive things for which some business men were punished dur ...

• Okyere 3 weeks ago

These Ewe guys eh

• Akwasi 3 weeks ago

A woman from your tribe was sentenced 10 years for stealing 90 million Ghana cedis, convert it to old cedis

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

I would have thought that based on the railway laws, an appropriate offense would have been found relating to unauthorised crossing of railway tracks and causing damage to railway assets. More importantly, rather than seeing ...

• Adanko 3 weeks ago

Efo has done a great disservice to his people ... Eeeih Efo ... only an Efo will do this

• Marco 3 weeks ago

He should've been jailed for 60yrs , not 6 months. His actions could've caused a fatal accident where lives could've been lost.

• Sentence too low, NDC should go & defend him 3 weeks ago

How can such saboteurs be Ghanaians who hate the nation.

• Kakam boadu 3 weeks ago

Justice Afia serwah asare-botwe is corrupt judge and akuffu addo is using her

• BOY KOFI 3 weeks ago

Ofcourse,it's too quick to jail the careless truck driver this way.
    Now,what is the commercial terms of these new trains?
    I'm interested in the technical,administrative and legal conditions.Tnx.

• Rocky Lee. 3 weeks ago

Animals in their kingdom even think more than Ghanaians. This train is not Japan bullet train driving from Osaka to Tokyo on high speeds. Now there are saying that the train is at the Cafe the driver can not see to apply the ...

• Kilogram 3 weeks ago

Hahahaha. When I saw the driver's name, I understood right away why he would do what he did.

• Niyi Dokun 3 weeks ago

....so a road traffic infraction can be dealt with this swift and fast in our dear ghana?
    Deal with all others at the same supersonic speed

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 3 weeks ago

So Ghana courts can be so fast in jailing this way? if the driver is to be a politician it will take years before the case will come to an end,oh Ghana the poor will always suffer

• El Chapo 3 weeks ago

The sentence prove it was a government ploy to divert attention. Since they have sold all the railway lines to scrap dealers. Hmmmmm

• Anonymous 3 weeks ago

The state is just in a panic mood. Frivolous sentence. Truck drivers kill persons all the time by leaving broken down vehicles in the middle of the roads. To save their political greed, they get this expedited to satisfy thei ...

• nii 3 weeks ago

I just prayed for the innocent man going to serve for 6 mnths. but believe you me, i foresee same politicians/judges crushing to death from parked vehicles left on the road bcos of this hash judgment. mark my words

• King 3 weeks ago

Tweaaa! Dzidotor the Hyundai driver has collected his share and he is going to relax in a”luxury prison “ for 6months. What should we believe about Npp

• Joy 3 weeks ago

He has caused much money to the company

• AKUFO ADDO 3 weeks ago

Akuffo addo and all the npp big wing all will die very soon. The way that mottorking have been passing with our foodstuffs home, they used rainway to blocked it. We talk,talk, talk but no one mind us. So it good that it happ ...

• Ghanaboy, Dunkirk, Scotland 3 weeks ago

Too many square pegs in round holes in this shithole. You are test running a train on a new track for the first time and you did not do a check to see if the track was clear of any obstacles. My God. In a hurry to showcase yo ...

• Peter 3 weeks ago

This is funny. This is a failed state. Nothing works. Is there any safeguards at the railway crossings? Was this test ride planned, considering safety issues? This is a foolish government, foolish leadership.

• Oyibo 3 weeks ago

John Mahama, Sammy Gyenfi, Samuel Ablakwa and Sam George are quick to respond to any national issues. Why are they mute this time? Their silence is too loud. This is pure sabotage. Those tribal bigots, what do you say this ti ...

• Katakyie 3 weeks ago

Why have you quickly prosecuted and sentenced this particular truck driver? Is it because this Government has directly felt the impact of the carelessness/wickedness of this truck driver?
    What has the Government of Ghana and ...

• Man 3 weeks ago

If the cases of killers during 2020 election, injustice against SALL, and Suales' investigation etc. could be expedited, how wonderful will Ghana become? Warning, selective justice by the judiciary is so alarming and bogus an ...

• Gringo 3 weeks ago

He should pay for the damages

• Woaaaaa look 3 weeks ago

As a volterian name pops up this was staged by ndc mahama period

• RAPHAEL BAFFOUR AWUAH 3 weeks ago

Ghanaians are extremely grateful to the Jugde for his swiftness in passing this sentence .The sabotage in this country is too much. Well done to all persons who assisted in passing this swift sentence..Thumps up

• Kee 3 weeks ago

Tweaaaaa, apuuuuuuuu, only six months, who sat on this case? Ghanaian judges paaaaaaa!

• Gh 3 weeks ago

Nonsense, those in charge of running the trial test for the newly bought train should equally be jailed,because they have failed,thank God this is failed trial,this could have resulted in killing innocent Ghanaians.

• George (London) 3 weeks ago

The driver is an ewe so what do you expect? Evil people from the Volta region.

• Ye de owuo ka 3 weeks ago

The whole unequivocal truth must be told boldly to the citizenry that the accident was a deliberately wicked handiwork of some NDC's followers. The wicked and diabolical hallmarks of the inglorious Ofosu Ampofo and his other ...

• Peace 3 weeks ago

Miserable country with horrible leaders.
    Within 24 hours the culprit was sentenced !!!!
    What happened to root cause analysis?
    Did the engineers even traveled the rail lines to make sure it was usable before the testing?
    H ...

• TK 3 weeks ago

So, these judges and this government thought we were given birth to just yesterday?... God will surely judge you one by one with serious diseases and sickness

• the judge is an NDC supporter 3 weeks ago

This is a terrorist act, and should be handled as a terrorist incident. The Atorney General must appeal this Judge's ruling. A thorough investigation and interrogation must be made on that criminal to find out who contracted ...

• Sunday+and+religious+gatherings+dress 3 weeks ago

Why the trial, sentencing and jailing so fast? How much investigation was made?

• .com 3 weeks ago

All will be jailed if not changed for better Ghana. Their alien master ndc former party leader ,late pres.Rawlings is gone for good just like Dr Kwame Nkrumah. It is never heroism but.......

• Ex-Pope 3 weeks ago

Let the idiot pay for the cost to repair the train and the tracks.

• Kofi Kyeremeh 3 weeks ago

Would the court have to wait for the driver to physically show them his driving licence for them to believe that he has a valid or appropriate driving licence? If the answer is 'Yes', them Ghama is still operating like a cou ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 3 weeks ago

was there a guided or unguided sign post at the crossing
    ? why are we not focusing on the inappropriate construction engineering of the railway lines ?
    if a railway line is crossing a road , it is either you make the rail ...