You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2024 03 26Article 1923232

New phone theft scam on the rise in Accra - Victims share experiences

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Jere 1 month ago

Poor governance, the cause of all this nonsense.. the Akufo Addo regime is a NO NO NO

• You know nowww 1 month ago

We know say Ghana una be mumu

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 1 month ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 10 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• IPRONOUNCE 1 month ago

If a poor person asks you de33 you go refuse but rich man in posh car you go give. Ghanaman mentality

• Notway 1 month ago

time in era only a fool will give his/her phone to a stranger to make a call. You can’t trust anyone.

• Notway 1 month ago

This time in era only a fool will give his/her phone to a stranger to make a call. You can’t trust anyone.

• BOO BOO 1 month ago

KWASIA YOU BLAME GOVERNMENT EVEN IF YOU SHIT IN YOUR PANTS OFUI! WILL THIS GIRL LEND HER PHONE TO ICE WATER SELLER OR A TRUCK PUSHER?

• £EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 month ago

This business opportunity for you or a relative, friend or as charitable gift to anyone, is a great service-provider business with low capital (as skill is your main capital) to startup. ACT NOW so you don't become a spectato ...

• trash 1 month ago

fuckin greedy igbos

• Igp 1 month ago

Ghana free visa is setting the nation up for entry of bad ģuys.

• Concerned Citizen: 1 month ago

I do agree with you (Igp); just to TAARNISH THE IMAGE OF GHANA(REPUTATION): However, KARMAH IS REAR...

• Kwam 1 month ago

But how on Earth will l give my phone to a stranger to make calls? You guys must be Smart in our part of the world

• Ghabay,NY. 1 month ago

Exactly, Kwam.Who does that?Foolishness!

• Truth be told 1 month ago

They don’t ask them to give the phone to them to make calls oo..the guys pretend to the women they wanna be friends to them and get to know them,then they will pretend to mention their number to you in a way you the victim ...

• PIECES 1 month ago

THERE WAS A GUY ON A MOTOR WHO COULD HAVE HELPED WITH THE CHASE

• Kigbafori 1 month ago

With iPhone the guy can be arrested,let him switch off location whatever if only the phone is on apuu with iPhone u are a jailbaird eeei if she will let go fine but digitalization is working

• Ghana Money 1 month ago

No intelligent would have done that.
    Was it because he was driving benz?

Low IQ.

• Ochee-Do-Chee 1 month ago

GHANA SWEET PAAA! The victims of these phone 'snatching' are lucky. In Kasoa, people are 'missing' their penises. Anyway, when you hand over your phone to somebody, you can't call it snatching, can you? The last time I dingle ...

• Vandal 1 month ago

It's been happening about a year now.. it's common at teshie Nungua Estates..we once chased one guy driving a black Honda Civic..We caught him and gave him hot beatings..

• INSTALL SECRET TRACKER ON YOUR PHONE 1 month ago

YOU ARE ONLY USING THE PHONE TO SHOW OFF, YOU DONT EVEN KNOW THE FEATURES ON THE IPHONE, IT SERVES THOSE SHOW OFF WOMEN RIGHT.
    GET SOMETHING SIMPLE TO USE IF YOU ONLY USE FOR CALLS AND WHATSAPP.
    IPHONE IS A MACHINE ON ITS O ...

• WEBSITE GHANA .mj 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Ken 1 month ago

Another lady just took a taxi dropping from airport where she works to Accra Newtown and upon getting to Pawer house, the driver said get down right now immediately I have someone to pick up. Just don't pay hurry up and go. M ...

• meee 1 month ago

some Ghana women see car and their head lost, cost

• Yeboa 1 month ago

Fancy cars

• MOMENT OF TEFILAH 1 month ago

Is 419

• Alhajj Kanawu 1 month ago

All Nigerians Should Be Sack From The Country. They Are Not Safe To Live With Human Beings. They Are Just Animals And Cannibals Who Feeds On Human Flesh. They Are Not Even Respected In Their Own Country Especially The Idbo Bi ...

• Anim 1 month ago

Hmm, that's Nana's Ghana now! Yes, ye gye yeman!

• Docket Man 1 month ago

This modus operandi has been in the system for so long

• Mr. Good luck 1 month ago

It happened to me this evening but I was able to escape by the grace of God

• Joy 1 month ago

Hahahaha. Accra is a 3rd class village term capital .So person must shine his or her eye when doing business

• country of thief's 1 month ago

that go to pray on sundays

• Bastie Asantefourhene 1 month ago

Zoogerians are in town

• Kojotse 1 month ago

Ghanaians are just vicious. We are our own enemies. We ourselves have created this evil and unfriendly society we live in. I was in America and needed to place a call for a friend to come pick me up at the Airport. I asked fo ...

• Akwasi 1 month ago

But it’s a confusing world now. Television programs plant hidden cameras to test people and either publicly shame them for not helping or reward them for helping. But if we are victims of scams, everyone will blast us as fo ...

• The Victims Are Not Smart! 1 month ago

How? In modern times we de give phone to stranger to call ?

• 3tweba 1 month ago

Akpefu addo tactics

• Atta 1 month ago

Attajust now
    GHANAWEB MUST GO BACK TO ITD OLD FORMAT. THIS NEW FORMAT IS LOUSY

• SK 1 month ago

Why would someone with this car snatch a phone from another trekking on foot? The whole system called Ghana is failing.

• Keystone 1 month ago

Shit happens to kind people.

• Badas 1 month ago

Accra is a bit cool but Kumasi is where the phone thieves are. Badas thieves.

• Your boyfriend will give you another one. 1 month ago

Stop noise from there