You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2024 02 27Article 1918903

27-year-old pregnant woman commits suicide after boyfriend's family opposed their marriage

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Nameless 2 months ago

This is very sad.

People must always be sure they are accepted into the family they want to marry from or marry to before accepting such proposals. Religious and tribal bigotries are very prevalent.

I pray God strength ...

• Koliko 2 months ago

Christians should not vote for any Muslim to be president.

• YOUR RELIGION & FAITH DO COUNT IN THESE MATTERS 2 months ago

Several years ago a lady colleague of mine and friend told me a chap from a Moslem Asian country was very interested in her. She came from a Greek Orthodox Christian background. She asked what I thought of it. She was aware ...

• Joe mens 2 months ago

My brother it depends on the laws of the country they lived in. You made it seem like it can be done anywhere.

• The DON 2 months ago

Any Muslim man who tries to marry a KUFAR is insane. How can you marry someone who will not perform the spiritual bath after her menses? How can you marry such a person who urinates without washing her private parts? Tweaaaaa

• Joeline flowers 2 months ago

I can see u are really insane..do u no the meaning of kafuri ..u call ur self a Muslim ☪️...Muslim under my feet ..even ur national chief imam won't call someone KAFURI...u just call ur self a,Muslim..

• THIS IS AN EVIL MUSLIM MAN 2 months ago

This Muslim guy simply looked for a former Muslim girl, befriended her, impregnated her, refused to accept the pregnancy, jilted her and then, turned round to say that his parents do not support the marriage. You can't blame ...

• Omanhene 2 months ago

Where in Ghana did this take place? Journalists and reporters MUST always check the following when reporting: WHAT, WHERE, WHO, WHY & WHEN?? Answers to these are very helpful for readers to understand.

• BBB BBB 2 months ago

How can they bury her as a Muslim after rejecting her marriage to the guy because she wasn't a Muslim. But what is all these religious stupidity?

• Yaro 2 months ago

Such madness in the name of religion...

• The Spear 2 months ago

Nobody buried her as muslim; pure imagination of the person who wrote this nonsense.

She wouldn't have necessarily been asked to convert to Islam as her kids would be automatically muslims.

As a Christian, be careful ...

• Tech 2 months ago

This is sad and ironic bro. hmmm

• Nee 2 months ago

Marriage is between two people not the whole family. Africa should grow up.

• the Ashanti War Lord 2 months ago

sad incident, but you are an idiot for even saying this. it is such thoughts that have contributed to the increasing rate of divorces in Ghana, and Africa. Africans should stay true to their roots.

• Nana 1 2 months ago

You are such a wise person. Indeed, marriage is between two people

• Oprege 2 months ago

Eiii Maa Adwoa again? Sad to her a young woman exit this world like that

• Fuseini 2 months ago

So if the person is not a Moslem, why was she buried as a moslem?
    Poor girl, why die this kind of death because of a man?

• SURVIVAL. 2 months ago

Is it not time we Africans stop this Christian and Muslim sort of nonsense and move Africa to safe economical ground.Look at Europe they're on their own with their Christianity,Chinese on their own with Atheist,Japanese on th ...

• Power 2 months ago

She should go and answer to her maker. What an idiot

• EVIL FAMILY WILL HAVE TO FACE GOD ONE DAY 2 months ago

SO SAD HOPE SHE REST IN PEACE

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Really so Christian man can't marry to a Muslim woman ? This is not true.

• The Spear 2 months ago

YOU CANNOT! It's decreed in the Koran.

In Ghana, by consideration, certain "modern" Muslims parents allow it especially if they know the man to be exceptional but it's against Islamic preceptS, and other muslims would neve ...

• Hnmm 2 months ago

Thats why i stopped following religion...they are the most devisive people on earth..Christians hate Muslims...Muslims hate Christians....is that wat God wants...its sad she killed herself...hmmmm

• Kwaku 198387 2 months ago

It's also possible whatever substance she must have taken in was also given her in an effort to help terminate the pregnancy. Investigators shouldn't rule out all possibilities in this case. Quite unfortunate whichever way it ...

• Mr Smith 2 months ago

Kwaku, you have a strong point. We don't have the full details of the story but it's possible she may have induced to take the deadly substance.

• Bobon Nasty 2 months ago

This stupidity about religion especially for muslims. The smelling of shit around their bodies even with the love for powerful body sprays. Filthy surroundings majority of them live in but they still compel people to be part ...

• NON-PARTISAN 2 months ago

Foolish liar.

• NPP mmoa, Nkwasifo), agyimifo) 2 months ago

We hear but it's better you advice your whore mother to stop sleeping with area boys at market places and in uncompleted buildings. Nkwasiafo) ba

• The Spear 2 months ago

You don't really have to say things like this.

• Kwesi 2 months ago

Absolutely nonsense! The idiot guy will marriage another woman.

• NOBODY SHOULD COMMIT SUICIDE OVER LOVE!!!! 2 months ago

There are many fishes in the sea or Roses in the garden. Did he bring you into this world that you should foolishly kill yourself over him.

• Ike 2 months ago

This was a silly decision from the lady, why take your own life because of marriage.
    If you care to know some men buy houses for women but they later ignore them.
    Even JDM buy house give Tracy at East Legon but she later m ...

• Akpe 2 months ago

Even that he still builds Hospitals schools, terminal 3,harbours, name them, avuvi yakametor

• kanewu 2 months ago

Islam and Christianity is foreign to us as Africans.
    Abandon them especially Islam

• Kwami - US 2 months ago

Mort bête. Why take your own life because of a Moslem and mayafi marriage?

• Gilbert Bassi kargbo 2 months ago

Am not sure she killed herself, they should not allow them to bury the body for now

• B. Kumi 2 months ago

These stupid bush animals called Ashantis are nauseating. Why are you not insulting this one? Idiots

• Kwam 2 months ago

Hmm very unfortunate, but why some people can't stand small pressure in life? She should have just moved on life. If the boyfriend was really the father he can be held responsible to cater for the baby.

• ER 2 months ago

VERY STUPID AND FOOLISH HUMAN BEINGS ON, SHE WAS NOT MUSLIM WHEN ARE ALIVE BUT SHE WAS MUSLIM WHEN DEADED, FOOOOOOOOOOLS.

• ankoma 2 months ago

Eii Ghana web !! The story is not good . Which part Ghana did it happen? More better and further stories.

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

Love could have settled the two religious
    beliefs of the two partners ,if truly love between them binds why allow Satan stand between them to destroy especially the unborn baby?This is stupid death!

• WHEN PARENT INVOLVEMENT CAN BE TOXIC 2 months ago

If a prospective husband or wife's parents vehemently oppose your marriage it is often prudent to step back and take stock. It is quite a different matter if you intend to live in a different country or town/city . In some ca ...

• Ghanaba kwaku 2 months ago

Straight to obronsam gyam!
    No place for you in heaven because this is foolish death, period!
    The family that caused the whole thing can now use the dead body as kebab, foolishness

• Xyz 2 months ago

Is unfortunate, the man’s parents should have allowed the marriage to go on. Is said in Islam that Moslem can marry non Moslems and bring to Islam ( Da’ waah)
    Is unfortunate most Moslems apply rules so had and for get Is ...

• Killer 2 months ago

Foolish girl

• Kubut3 2 months ago

The LONGER YOU LIVE WITH ARABS AND EUROPEANS , THE MORE YOU REALIZE CHRISTIANITY AND ISLAM ARE NOT FOR THE BLACK MAN. THE OTHER ASIAN RELIGIONS ? THATS ANOTHER STORY. IF YOU DIG DEEP INTO ALL THE FOREIGN RELIGIONS, THEY A ...

• Nuumo1 2 months ago

Please arrest the guy's parents for they are an accomplices.
    Evil people.

• Stone Age AfricansnSe 2 months ago

Why kill yourself because of a an uncivilized dirty Muslim boy?

• Can you Imagine 2 months ago

Her father did not accept her conversion to Islam. Pathetic soul who died a foolish death you could have finished giving birth and take your pathetic life which your family members didnt want. Mtcheeeew

• Lubricant 2 months ago

Fabricated story.

• HAPPENS DUE TO TRIBALISM AND OTHER RELIGIONS 2 months ago

Professing Christian parents will often object to their son or daughter marrying a non Christian .The examples of religious incompatibility is endless. Tribal factors are far more common factors than religion in preventing m ...

• CORRECTION 2 months ago

Interestingly RACE has become less an issue than say "TRIBALISM" in some diehard Middle Eastern regions where it is virtually impossible to imagine bitter enemies marrying each other

• WH 2 months ago

Islam is a religion that is best described as yeni wo sri kwa ,he will laugh with you as if he loves you meanwhile within him he is planning evil against you ,it is part of the religion

• Mohammed Awal Tahir 2 months ago

It's not true, number one from where? Which region or erea? last but not the least which police station was this reported to?

• Joy 2 months ago

You see stupidities?

Some girls are really insane papapap why do u go out with such a human skull,they reject ur marriage proposal,then u commit suicide

• Elephant Farmer 2 months ago

Hundreds of Religions across the World, but only one Creator we have. Some Religions are evil and especially females are treated very badly. Get your Menses and think about it. Muslims prefer Prostitutes, so that they can div ...

• True facts 2 months ago

U are rty ...Muslims are really evil

• Efo Yao 2 months ago

This is a pure "Ananse" story?
    The Ws are not up to 5.
    Give us all the 5ws.

• Nana O. 2 months ago

Why should religion become a reason for abandoning your responsibilities as a would be father! This is unacceptable! Love should propel one to do the needful not religion,race or tribe. All these were not considered when dati ...

• VILLAGE HEADMASTER 1 month ago

Wetin be de name of dis wicked man self, na thunder go fire u. De time wey u climb u no no say she be christian? She don die now so u tin say u are free.God Almighty will demand her life and dat of de pikin from and all who d ...