You are here: HomeNews2017 07 03Article 554911

Free bus ride for senior citizens - Government

Read Comments Comments (32)

• JOeY I0nDoN 6 years ago

The npp is full if 1930s folks !

• CHARLIE 6 years ago

The President speaks as if "wishes were horses".
    He should remember that "if wishes were horses, beggars would ride".

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase. 6 years ago

It appears many more of us are still wondering if they really have left government. You are still lost. You don't even know your way home. Sad. Well, the president says, your old parents and grand parents, if they are still a ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

That idea is as old as the senior citizen themselves, something suggested by the great Nkrumah and do appear in both NPP and NDC's recent manifestos. So, the NPP should stop behaving like they are the originator of this noble ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

I am going to break things down here for all to understand. Being able to read or being literate doesn't mean you are educated no matter how many Phd degrees you can boast off. on the issue of galamsey what really destroys ou ...

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

a monthly stipend for these seniors, prenant mothers is also a good thing

• ogyam 6 years ago

Very stupid idea in a developing country?????

• Nii Teiko 6 years ago

Do these buffoons making these foolish and Empty Promises even know who qualify as a senior citizen? How do you determine who qualify as a senior citizen when we don't even have national ID's to draw a line between those who ...

• Obed Adore 6 years ago

Hmm, well, the Government might start with those on the LEAP program
    Many of whom may only take a ride to the nearby hospitals for health services..
    Well, not bad..

• Naniema 6 years ago

Oh Oman Ghana when at all do we learn a lesson from the most successful country in the world the United States of America where nothing is free. We do all these and later on turn to the foreign countries for assistance meanwh ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 6 years ago

Is one in which the less able and the vulnerable are taken care of.
    Won't you like your parents abd grandparents to be able to get out and about for free?
    I am not sure what your definition of 'successful country in the wor ...

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 6 years ago

Where are the buses.

• osei 6 years ago

It seems some people dont think before they talk,where are the buses it self?do they have good health to make them walk to the bus stops?how many senior citizens are dieing on daily basis in Gh because of the system?first thi ...

• John 6 years ago

Exactly my question. Which buses are these people talking of? Ayalolo or metro mass. So funny.

• ugly akufo addo 6 years ago

never do any important thing only fooling around

• OPOKU 6 years ago

NOT LIKE MAHAMA AND COHORTS WHO CAME ONLY TO LOOT AND SHARE, USELESS EX- PRESIDENT MAHAMA.

• kojo 6 years ago

The idea is not bad and could be discussed. However, those seniors could travel on a reduced price tickets. Sounds reasonable.

• Auntie lui 6 years ago

Including STC and Kuffour, these are the only buses in Ghana . Why don't the government give them at least 100 cedis a month instead of non existence buses?

• Adesa 6 years ago

This is not a stupid idea but a do-able one in current climate of economic hardship

• Nana Obidiaba 6 years ago

GOOD NEWS, GOOD NEWS,
    Consult Nana obidiaba on +233244847408
    +233207441169
    For all your spiritual assistance of the ff!,Love charms,Money ritual,instant money, Lottor numbers,Family curses, Spiritual attacks, Office promot ...

• Onua 6 years ago

Don't display your ignorance here. In USA, kids, senior citizens, disabled and l think students have reduced fares on public transport. What is the essence of National ID? Can't we use that as a basis. Is your age or date of ...

• Obed Adore 6 years ago

Hmm, well, the Government might start with those on the LEAP program
    Many of whom may only take a ride to the nearby hospitals for health services..
    Well, not bad....

• kaketonti 6 years ago

FREE COFFIN,FREE BUS RIDE TO FREE CEMENTERY.
    DO WE HAVE BUS IN TEKU NSU MI DZI VILLAGE?
    ALTERNATIVELY,GOOD HEALTH CARE,NOKOFIO FOR THEM WONT BE BAD EACH MONTH.

• Odikro 6 years ago

I wished the statement also defined who qualifies as a senior citizen in Ghana.

• USA NANA 6 years ago

This will only benefit the citizens in towns,why not giving them stepind so that all citizens will benefit and use that money to pay for the ride

• Kwesi 6 years ago

Oh my fellow Ghanaians, can't we make our points without insults? This is really strange. Is it all in the name of human rights? There may be something missing!

• witness 6 years ago

Mr . president you're still not collected even a pesewa from ndc people and Ayariga still represent part of ghana. Or I call there Kusasi

• witness 6 years ago

Kaketonti will die soon he pray for coffin. Thank God for his prayers

• Sir Charles 6 years ago

Good news comes again. Thumbs up to the president and his team of innovative and well meaning gurus of modern development. Every day good. Nana nya nkwa daaa

• Let's see 6 years ago

This system will not work well in Gh

• JON 6 years ago

WHY DO GHANAIANS WANT EVERYTHING FOR FREE? NANA AKUFFO ADDO, THIS IS VERY FOOLISH OF YOU. THANK YOU. FREE SCHOOL, FREE FEEDING.....,ABSOLUTE NONSENSE!

• chief zotoli 6 years ago

so so promise everyday,free this,free that.we want free electricity,free water,free toilet etc........