Soldiers shoot civilian after dispute in Ashanti Region

Read Comments Comments (118)

• A.Effah 6 years ago

Ghana Journalists! Hmm!

• yanks 6 years ago

people are ndc jss dropouts

• Selorm 6 years ago

I say and will always maintain that late Capt. Mahama was a galamsey soldier protecting illegal Chinese destroying Ghana water and forest resources. Ghana army us corrupt. The Nation is doomed

• RAWLINGS 6 years ago

GOVERNMENT SOLDIERS PROTECTING MINERS
    WHAT A HYPOCRISY OF AKUFFO ADDO GOVERNMENT

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Because this military officer is related to ex-prez Mahama, the NDC communicators are just over-hyping issues surrounding this slain galamsey soldier. Generally, Ghanaians are hypocrites that is why Ghana is backward in the m ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

NDC lost the elections because most Akans and patriotic citizens realized this party does not appreciate or reflect the true interests of the people but rather its a mafia criminal organization that will cause the eventual bl ...

• Kaakie. 6 years ago

I'm begining to think soo too @Selorm. Gh is doomed! with this attitude of our leaders.

• Danas 6 years ago

Sefwi is not in the Ashanti Region. This location is Western Region.

• T and T 6 years ago

Ghana army is our worst enemy, 7 military coup, in each of the coups many atrocities were committed against the nation(looting of state properties, stealing of gov. money, abuses including beatings and murders, rape of young ...

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

We the civilians are worse. The armed robbers, politicians and administrators.
    Every manager or director wants to chop small. 10% at the Castle and SADA was not by Ghana Army. Hotel Wawa and the payment to Woyome was not by ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

They had come down with all the state instruments to cry crocodile tears for him and the family simply because they knew they had sacrificed him for nothing and scared off all journalists who had wanted to ask them the "HARD" ...

• tuy 6 years ago

Can the soldiers be arrested? Is Ghana a civilized country? Should it not be the responsibility of the police to enforce law and order in the country? Why are the soldiers constantly intervening and making the work of the po ...

• Assan 6 years ago

God bless you, the truth teller. People rather praise them for their indiscipline behavior.

• foolish doggy ghana 6 years ago

animal kingdom. shooting your own citizens cos of foreigners. it's a stupidity

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

And the npp plagiarizers are kindergarten dropouts?

• Uche 6 years ago

Ghana Journalists------this is Western Region.

• Nana 6 years ago

we kill our own in the interest of foreigners.Oh Black Star of Africa,Kwame Nkrumahs Ghana.What nation our building?

• ELINAM 6 years ago

GAF is neck deep in the insecurity of our nation, meanwhile, they'd tell you they'd sworn an oath to defend the integrity and the security of Ghana. But to these GAF personnel, the compromising of Ghana's integrity and its in ...

• Zagarolo 6 years ago

Is good to start shooting all these animals and illiterate and dumbs and bastard and niuisance and and evils and ugly like monkey people call Akans.I have regret in thr whole of my life for being joinrd with these bastardized ...

• KnYc USMC 6 years ago

Piece of shit like you. All over the world People know Akans are great, you illiterate being, moron you can't read to understand. What is the correlation about your comment and this article? None. You are a shit and you will ...

• King K 6 years ago

Zagaro or whatever you call, I am not an Ashanti but I think this is below the belt, why don't you talk about the substantive matter but rather insult. The nation is turning into a banana republic and no one is talking about ...

• wo ni tw3m 6 years ago

villager..stinky pig goat rearer...wo maame tw3 ..you want talk abt culture?
    smelling mouth like u
    which tribe are you from?
    reply m3 only if you are a fool
    siaa like u

• Zagarolo 6 years ago

Is good to start shooting all these animals and illiterate and dumbs and bastard and nuisance and and evils and ugly like monkey people call Akans.I have regret in the whole of my life for being joined with these bastardized ...

• Komla Agbeshie (Ho) 6 years ago

Remember NDC said Ghana is sitting on the equator.Therefore those NDC journalist are more incompetent even in opposition .
    God safe Ghana.

• Atta Kyea 6 years ago

Poor journalism. Wassa Amemfi, Sewfi Bekwai in Ashanti Region? Why rushed to give inaccurate reportage?

• kwame 6 years ago

DURING THE LYNCHINGS OF CAPTAIN MAHAMM A . IN THE CLIPS WHAT WAS THE LANGUAGES SPOKEN BY THE MOBS ??? CAN IMPARTIAL MINDEDE TELL??? Wasn't it AKAN TWI .....FUCK OF YOU ASANTIS ..U ...

• pilolo 6 years ago

good one there, before they lynch you shoot man, shoot baby shoot. they are animals who lynch so shoot

• Mawutor 6 years ago

No wonder a soldier was lynched.Take the soldiers to the farms and make use of them!

• Dan 6 years ago

You are a fooooooooool

• De man 6 years ago

Mawutor u re useless pick bcos u didn't get chance to join it pains u we will kill u pple if u der joke

• Fosu 6 years ago

Masa don't rain insult on him!Why should a soldier protect foreigners who are in to destroy the lands all in the name of bribe.What manners hv they got?

• okatakyie afrifa 6 years ago

enough of this your nonsense Soldierman. start killing your useless parents.do you think we will allow you to continuously intimidate us? try it and you will be the next major mahama. aboa bi ba

• nanakofi 6 years ago

foolish being okatakyie. gyemii gyemii

• Logical 6 years ago

look at the way a so called soldier is thinking!!!! foolish boy. do you think you are a mini god? you've forgotten you were once a civilian and Don't forget, some of us the civilians are I possession of the guns that makes y ...

• Culture 6 years ago

You're an advanced big fool. Go and kill him. The soldiers are wasting their energies shooting their own people because of foreigners when Ghana is undertaking Growing For Jobs and Food

• Enemy Of State 6 years ago

Hehehehehehehe lmao

• AK 6 years ago

Is wassa amenfi in the Ashanti region?

• Just-ice 6 years ago

This is abuse of our military personnel. Isn't this a situation that warranted police presence rather than the military? The military are trained for war and combat situations, not for civilian agitations.

• Kwaku 6 years ago

Why Ghanaian respect foreigners more than the citizens using tax payers money to protect foreign companies will happened only in Ghana.

• KnYc USMC 6 years ago

Because we are fools.

• Uche 6 years ago

This is Western Region...

• indian black magic 6 years ago

black Indian spiritualist..professor in science divine0244908520 master of the night
    healing of HIV protection black magic money rituals ..wealth power invisible power contact the grand master of the night

• ezeco sam 6 years ago

Ghanaweb never gave accurate information once,sometimes I wonder if they have editorial board? Shame

• Kwame USA 6 years ago

Who fires warning shot low to the ground. l thought warning shots goes into open skies. When is safe to do that !!!! Ghana mentality, it is very naive.

• kingnarrow 6 years ago

Nonsense when did wassa amenfi east fall under shanti region huh,,,

• Asempaneye 6 years ago

What is this country doing/ A foreigner comes to do mining and hires the military for protection. The military commits to this contract and is ready to shot at citizens in order to protect the foreigners. Are we that unthinki ...

• Lixo 6 years ago

Ooooh so you did not know Ghanaians are naturally stupid ? If you doubt me, take a careful look at how things are done in the country

• Medomeman 6 years ago

The Chinese soldiers protect their land and country. But Canadians soldiers protect galamsey

• kjj 6 years ago

Bawumia and nana addo just one week after getting 19b from china our soldiers are in action protecting the chinese,...nana addo

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

When are we GHANAIANS ever going to learn?????? Especially our so-called leaders???

All these Chinese and Europeans need our gold......don't we realize how significant that is? And profitable it can be made to be, for the ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers man(+23354 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Earl Jones 6 years ago

We should not allow lawlessness from vigilantes groups in our communities. The soldiers acted to restore law and order.
    You can just demand ransom money from bridge users because the community built the bridge. Proper system ...

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

I'm not surprised at all with your comments with a name like yours......

Please ask yourself why a Chinese should be mining your lands in the first place?

Go to China and find out what Africans go through. Or anywhere e ...

• Foreigner 6 years ago

This is simple. The youth in the village extort money from anyone using their road. This illegal chinese miner called in his hired security, i.e. the military, to clear the way. In the process, someone got shot. Blame on a ...

• Kaakie. 6 years ago

Oooooh I seee. I'm begining to think n think n think. So soldiers of Gh now protect foreign galamseyers? Then wht Kweku Baako n Pratt is saying abt late Mahama is true. Hmmmm. Gh z doomed with such leaders. smh. I weep for mo ...

• Odikro 6 years ago

These Chinese are going too far. Many of them are armed with AK 47s, even though it is well known that a lot of them are prison graduates. Now, they are arming their workers with Pump Action guns. Where the hell are we going ...

• patriot 6 years ago

Odikro,why should Chinese workers of Chinese companies legally operating in the country be harassed by 'vigilantes'?They armed because they feel insecured.Why should the Chinese company be asked to pay money for the use of a ...

• Karin Awudu 6 years ago

when somebody revealed that soldiers are protecting Chinese galamsay miners, he was chastised n removed from office. THE CHINESE MINERS ARE ACTIVE AND BEING PROTECTED BY THE MILITARY. THE SECTOR MINISTER IS HAS BEEN BETRAYED

• ROKOKO 6 years ago

NO WONDER NOW I UNDERSTAND DENKYIRA OBOASE PEOPLE.IT IS TRUE THAT SOLDIERS PROTECT CHINESE GALAMSEY.MORE DEATHS TO COME SOON.DID BAWUMIAH TOOK CHINESE MONEY TO PROTECT THE ILLIGAL CHINESE?WE LIVE TO SEE 2020 IS JUST AT THE CO ...

• Uaw 6 years ago

Soldiers guarding Chinese miners? Nana Akuffo Addo why oh why?

• Ayew 6 years ago

They are wicked and corrupt.They are protecting Chinese galamsers against Ghanaians.Mahama was mourned nationally considering the manner he died and not being a soldier.

• OCTAGON 6 years ago

GHANAWEB, WEY KIND FOOLISHNESS BE THIS, IS SEFWI IN THE ASHANTI REGION

• Koo 6 years ago

Ok kill each other and foreigners will take our shit away....u protect Chinese miners but u guys talk shit....Denkyira oboase was right we will see kwasiafour. I will never respect Ghana army and there are more civilians than ...

• Zebila donkey Rider 6 years ago

The Military is at moment protecting twenty(20) private mining companies.Why?Operation Halt is to protect the depletion of our Forest Reserve,species,Land degradation,water bodies and lumbering , not to protect private mining ...

• Amma 6 years ago

So when a soldier was killed we all cried foul. What will we do to the soldier who stupidly shot into a crowd. He must be jailed for illegal discharge of his firearm and GBH.

• Bbb 6 years ago

Are Chinese still mining in the country?

• Freddie 6 years ago

It is about time the Government looked into this Galamsey business because it is causing a lot of serious problems in the country and as a result a lot of innocent people are either being killed or hurt every day. How can't t ...

• Kingsford 6 years ago

So now Amenfi East is in Ashanti Region Ghana web # moti 3wu paaaaa # moabon yie#

• Kofi 6 years ago

I hope there won't be any public outcry since soldiers have the right to kill civilians with the weapons we supply them. Let's see those who want to pay for monuments in honour of the murderous soldiers. Let's see those who t ...

• KAAJII 6 years ago

IS WASSA IN THE ASHANTI REGION ? HOW CAN SUCH AN ILLITERATE JOURNALIST EDUCATE OUR KIDS? HE NEEDS TO UPDATE HIMSELF IN GEOGRAPHY.WASSA IS IN WESTERN REGION NOT ASHANTI REGION. GET YOU FACTS RIGHT WHEN GIVEN SUCH PLATFORM LIKE ...

• Reuben 6 years ago

What is happening to Ghana? Is it normal thing or it is as a result of the change that has come? God should arise and save Ghana.

• Ogyam 6 years ago

You guys calling for jail of the soldier are out of your mind. You think soldiers on duty will sit down and let what happened to the late maj Mahama happen again under their watch. Hahaaaaaaaa. You guys haven't seen anything ...

• Lixo 6 years ago

What duty ? That illegal duty, you call it a duty. Go read the constitution and acquaint yourself with the mandate of the military

• Kb 6 years ago

In this modern era is easy to get the same guns and explosion you have. Keep thinking you can take a whole country down in the name of military you wrong. Useless army.you guys only fight innocent poor civilian when you cant ...

• ga boy 6 years ago

Civilians should armed themselves cos we will not sit down for our own army to kill us. What have we done wrong

• Atta Kyea 6 years ago

Journalists must study and pass geography very well before practising journalim.
    Wassa Amemfi And Sewfi Bekwai are not in Ahanti Region

• Freddie 6 years ago

Educate them because we have bone-headed personnel at that Ghanaweb.They do horrible reporting.

• OGYAM 6 years ago

Being a Force man and still in the Peacekeeping grounds, i doubt the authenticity of this report. GAF, though i am not a staff, uses G3 Weapons and there is no way someone will get shot by G3 and the fellow will simply be tre ...

• J J ba 6 years ago

Warning shot always goes up in the air why
    that motherfucker villager got shot in the
    ankle?

• ws 6 years ago

So the president is going to sit down for the illegal Chinese miners to destroy all our forest reserves?or u think is only Ghana which has gold in the world

• Gov 6 years ago

If this is true then my question is, is Ghana going nuts.Why will the chiefs even let them mine when they are not even contributing to the maintenance of the bridge.

• shamosco 6 years ago

There should be an investigation into this matter. As the picture is not clear

• KnYc USMC 6 years ago

Now the GAF are protecting Chinese to destroyed our environment, what a Force. I keep saying that, the GAF is the most useless institution in Ghana.

• Zebila donkey Rider 6 years ago

Bro.The Military at moment is protecting twenty (20) private mining companies.Operation Halt is supposed to be the protection of the depletion of our Forest Reserve,species,Land degradation,water bodies and lumbering and not ...

• Kayj 6 years ago

Ghanaweb cant write anything without Ashanti Region. Wassa Amenfi is now parr of Ashanti .

• Odikro Munumkum 6 years ago

So the army is dispatched to support Chinese surface mining. What a nation! The direction Ghana is going is so sad.Ghana is absolutely sold to Chinese.

• Dessie 6 years ago

It is gett No worse ok:In Russia;before you get concession to doing mining or drill out;company must provide the community with with build a meseum or library or construct a tiered road for the community but Ghana community d ...

• C'MAN 6 years ago

This reporter should be fired immediately and go back to GIJ to study the ten geographical regions. Very dull person.

• KOJO 6 years ago

Ghanaweb pls b serious with d stories u put out.what do u seek 2 achieve? Medie commission where are u ?

• Gilbert 6 years ago

I believe our soldiers Are protecting this Chinese miners.

• APPIAH KUBI DESMOND 6 years ago

Wassa East in Ashanti Region? Arrhhh

• APPIAH KUBI DESMOND 6 years ago

Why are soldiers still protecting the Chinese in the forests in Wassa East? Why

• Kayj 6 years ago

The Military was in power for 19 year what changed?

• nanakofi 6 years ago

man, and who said de foreigners are into illegal mining? No wonder everyone is a journalist. We are train for war.

• BraZo 6 years ago

Which Region did this incident happen? Western, Central or Ashanti it is too confusing.
    Wassa Amenfi and Sefwi are in the Western Region
    Dunkwa is in Cenral Region so what is the Ashanti Region link?

• If u are a man 6 years ago

If not for the fact that u foolish ewe guy was allowed to join gh u would be fucking and having babies like the pig. If u are a man just show urself and the location of the so called farm and ur mother will be fucked lik ...

• Blay 6 years ago

How Primitive The African Man Is Always Graduating to.Killing your own people in the expense of the Barbaric and Racist and Inhumane red albino.....Is this Mental Slavery or Broad day slavery...God Help Africa

• Danny 6 years ago

When did wassa became part of A/R

• indian black magic 6 years ago

black Indian spiritualist..professor in science divine0244908520 master of the night
    healing of HIV protection black magic money rituals ..wealth power invisible power contact the grand master of the night

• good magic 6 years ago

• Culture 6 years ago

98% of Ghana soldiers are morons of frog. You're are hired by Chinese to shoot your own people.
    Ghana Soldiers, absolute fools

• eric 6 years ago

mawutor that was a stupid comment

• Agbalagba 6 years ago

some of u should stop insult and educate urself about military,dnt u people know the reason why the president is the commander in chief of Ghana armed force,a soldier can never go to such duty without the knowledge of the pre ...

• eric 6 years ago

next time if u people want to make such stupid comment pls show us the direction to your house

• Logical 6 years ago

what sort of nonsense is this? who do you think you are? it is the likes of these morons in the GAF that betrayed this nation. kwasia, you are being paid with our sweats and you think you are more human than others. you too i ...

• Philip Opoku Frimpong 6 years ago

Wassa Amenfi East is now in Ashanti Region. Oh Ghana reporters don't spoil our children for us

• King kong 6 years ago

Again protecting Chinese

• Queen of England 6 years ago

The Chinese will from now on beat you people very well. You think it is easy to build factories and railways for you and on top feed you hungry cows with 35 billion dollars. Start smiling because the Chinese will make Ghana w ...

• witness 6 years ago

They are trained soldiers. Send them to help fight Boko Haram than fighting their own family at home. Look at example of Rawlings & Boakye Odwan, having nothing doing after all their training they turned on own people.

• witness 6 years ago

Ghana has collapsed. Let accept the fact and allow every tribe/Kingdom to form it's country. Black man is not destin to understand each other.,period

• Obiba 6 years ago

Nana Ado is stopping galamse people then alow China to continued because the give Us loan Shem on Us

• George quainoo 6 years ago

Eeeeeiii so wat is happening in gh now God have mercy on us

• Ransford 6 years ago

stupid comments made by that mawutor. take who to farm to farm.you very nonentity person if u don't.damn u.idiot.

• samuel azumah 6 years ago

the armed forces and the police must leave no stone unturned henceforth.you must read the situation and if it is not manageable,please go ahead...

• nana kwame 6 years ago

hw can amenfi west become Ashante region check ur facts well before u post.u say sefwi bekwai how.Ghana hmmm!!'

• Danas 6 years ago

The location of the event is not in the Ashanti Region. Know your geography, you dull journalist.

• KWAKUWUSU 6 years ago

Lawlessness reigns supreme in Ghana today because of corrupt Politicians, corrupt Government Ministers, Police, the courts and their corrupt judges, Ghana has broken.

Ghana our Dear motherland will soon be colonized by Chi ...

• Shankiki Network 6 years ago

Our soldiers are now useless, protecting foreign miners against their own people. I thought Denkyera obuasi could have been a test case for them but because they don't learn from their mistake. Now its clear what the Denkyera ...