You are here: HomeNews2017 06 28Article 553377

Killing of the late 3 Generals during the 1979 revolution was regretful - Nunoo-Mensah

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Abu- Adam Tamale 6 years ago

DEAR NUNOO IS TOO LATE AND THIS ACTION HAS BROUGHT DECLINE IN THE COUNTRY.I WANT TO KNOW WHERE WERE YOU BEFORE SUCH WICKED AND SEN LESS KILLING.

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

It was the beginning of the colonisation of Akanland by pepeni/ayigbe criminals in bed with the islamic caliphate. We are definitely a nation of idiotic fools , i have for a while decided to hold my peace because it seemed we ...

• 21st century boy. 6 years ago

Woaraaaaaaaa. Game started. Bawumia over to you

• AMUZU 6 years ago

The Souls of our killed Citizens by J.J.Rawlings and Boachie Gyan will never rest until all the crimes and corruptions of AFRC-P/NDC Comes Out.

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 6 years ago

Were you not also there yelling "LET THE BLOOD FLOW" ? You think I did not see you there?
    FUCK OFF.

• Baba Alhaji de Nima 6 years ago

You are an idiot tribalist. Who have been ruling Ghana all this time? The Ekans. And where are we today? Lower than the colonial days. Idiot.

• Kekekonadu London UK 6 years ago

You are an idiot too.Poor soul. You and your tribe mates shall worship us forever. Idiot always talking about tribes. What have the Akans the real Hebrews done to you barstards. Did we force you to become inferior ? You have ...

• rich 6 years ago

so the AKans been thr real hebrews is also covered by you...one DAY the truth will come out. we don't have to bring tribal system in this case but since rawlings is still alive we have to question HIM if he himself then was n ...

• DO THE DO 6 years ago

The irony as I see from Mr Nunoo-Mensah's piece is that, Ghana must stop the war on corruption because it is loosed battle. This is a way to destroy the nation. He must be a serious poison in the life of Ghana.

• Sundiata 6 years ago

Seen?? That's why we must go the social democratic tribal federation so that the "Ekans" can't rule you anymore.

• Derrick 6 years ago

Mr Rawlings at 70 still goes around bellowing his gallantry and purporting to be the best thing that ever happened to Ghana. The curse and punishment for his babaric executions of the Army generals and Judges shall be visited ...

• Jasmine 6 years ago

Look, can you guys think a little? The whole country failed the "coup plotters". We knew what happened, and it was supposed to be a deterrent to corrupt individuals. WE all failed to support the country, and JJR alone can't f ...

• ghanaba old 6 years ago

Sad for a reasonable person to think like you. 1) What we who do not like what JJ and co did maintain Killing was and is not a solution to corruption. 2) Plus who had the guns? 3) And who was head of government? Please do not ...

• Sid usa 6 years ago

Leadership by example JJ is more corrupt than those executed which of those those educated his kids in Europe?which drove bulletproof car ?r u realistic?

• Kayj 6 years ago

Fuck! I have stolen anything to shot.

• Kekekonadu London UK 6 years ago

Thank you SIR. The evil that man does lives with him.

• NDC IS A CURSE 6 years ago

OVER TO YOU JJ RAWLINGS AND BOAKYE GYAN

• Opanin 6 years ago

I want everyone to get the book written by the late Kofi Awoonor, 'the Ghana Revolution, Background Account from a Personal Perspective' after the December 31, 1981 coup by Rawlings and you will understand what Rawlings and h ...

• Odikro 6 years ago

Indeed, Nunoo Mensah, Tsatsu and Kodzo Tsikata were the architects of this gruesome murders. All of these should have been in jail (or something worse) by now. Ironically, Jerry Rawlings, his wife and the same group have turn ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 6 years ago

The most useless senseless coup ever in our history after I K Acheampong coup to removed wise educated man Dr Kofi Busia administration yet the idiots will continue justifying it but time will tell, what ever goes around come ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 6 years ago

The problem with Rawlings was that, at that time of his life, he was not even in a position to define what corruption was. He was small-minded. He thought then that a corrupt person was a person who had two toilets in his hou ...

• maree stopes 6 years ago

the only solution is the coming Kingdom of God. Man is not made to rule man. (Mat 6:9,10 Jer 10:23; Eccl 8:9)

• Prince Abibirim 6 years ago

Which kine coming kingdom, show some god given intelligence and leave from anansesem.While nations are forging ahead with improvements to peoples lives, you dey talk,talk some kine slavemaster stories. IDIOT

• Kofi 6 years ago

Now that you realize that it was stupid and foolish on your part to murder senior military officers, what do you suggest we do to the murderers? The coup was never intended to clean anything. It was staged out of envy of the ...

• Ghanaba old 6 years ago

Thank you. JJ and co wanted to get rich without working for it. They will all pay for it soon.

• Pelicles 6 years ago

JJ killed those Generals just for killing sake or to tell Ghanaians that he is tough. Tweakai. Why did JJ accept $5million dollars from Sani Abacha of Nigeria and at the same time accusing others of being corrupt?

Ghana is ...

• Dahansheli 6 years ago

They were killed because you and your boss JJ were all afraid of them and thinks that leaving them alive will not let you achieve your evil goals.
    Rawlings is the most corrupt person in Ghana. Just looked at how his daughter ...

• Patriot 6 years ago

Not even Rawlings himself can be absolved from this crime. He led the criminal gang of soldiers who killed the generals in 1979. The basis for the execution was personal. Some in the then junta felt a personal obligation to ...

• Ndc 6 years ago

And what is that mad boakye djan saying about this ?
    We shall surely punish them.

• Nkansah 6 years ago

Who is more corrupt in Ghana than the Rawlingses? Too late to regret.

• Dr. Mensah-Bonsu, arckotoko@gmail.com 6 years ago

YOU CANNOT KILL OUT OF HATE. The ghosts of these innocent Generals will haunt you to your graves. Why didn't you send them to Nsawam Prisons to work for the money YOU THOUGHT they had stolen? Arrest and execute all those who ...

• Yaw Yeboah 6 years ago

Nunoo-Mensah has stated the obvious:
    ''They died for nothing''.

• Y. Olando, Ward Chairman M'bi East 6 years ago

Don't mind this idiot. He was one of them. Foolish man.

• Ekow Jones 6 years ago

Now you have to explain your actions to God. We all need to be careful what we do to others

• Bbb. 6 years ago

It was a revolution against the Akans and we will not allow this manipulation of hatred ever happens ever again.

We don't know what Ghana would have been like with the generals around. Let's leave it at that and move forward.

Thought I know many Africans would by all means know what there is not. Because talk is just using the jaw.

• Kojo 6 years ago

Don't simplify it. Talk is not just using the jaws, talk is thinking. Ghanafoo paa...

• Dela 6 years ago

I think Rawlings will surfer before he dies.

Those Akans who always say they suffer during coups should ask how others suffer in Kumasi in the hands of your own ancestors. The metemeho and many political voilences staged by yourselves and those of your ancestors.

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 6 years ago

If Akans dont make coup, was Kutu Acheampong elected? Who voted for him? Which party was he in?

• Jasmine 6 years ago

People love to blame others. Certainly, not everyone, not even .0001 percentage of the country was beaten or brutalized during those coup times, meaning those people who got punished were indeed involved in corruption. Today, ...

• Mtweeeeeew 6 years ago

Jasmine you will continue to be behind us. Your enviness and jealousy that has made you to join ndc to destroy those you hate and envy will always be a curse on you and even stealing from the state to get rich as your enemies ...

• Candido 6 years ago

Oga, please let sleeping dogs lie.Are you trying to bring trouble to Ghana?We have since forgotten
    about this history and you are bringing it up.Lets enjoy the peace we have now.You're good but your talking is too much.Why ...

Who said wise educated Ghanaians have forgotten about JJ Rawlings gang coup at appropriate time you will see it was K4 who saved that idiot from court trials trust me because he doesn't want to raise any tension

• USA NANA 6 years ago

So Nunu what else you gonna do?Go back to millitary era to clean the mess again?If not then shut your mouth.Ghana under millitary to me is the best for Ghanaians not his mouth mouth them dey do.How can a whole refinery cost s ...

• bg 6 years ago

then bring them back,God will never let you people go free.

• Paul Gati 6 years ago

No man has any mandate whatsoever to terminate the soul of his neighbour.

• paul ...obuasi_adansi east 6 years ago

I believe they never conducted proper investigations hence their killing. NEVER AGAIN

• bestman 6 years ago

The seeds you people planted is now bearing fruits so where's your problem

• ICANTBREATHE 6 years ago

What was that abt though, Rawlings killed people for corruption whilst at same time , Abacha steals millions from his country and comes and bring it to Rawlings . He accepts the money while preaching probity and accountabilit ...

• Kwadwo 6 years ago

Inserting the indemnity clause in the constitution was a big mistake. The Nazis were tried for their atrocities and Rawlings and his posse should have been tried also for all those killings. We are all cowards for having him ...

Rawlings wrote the Constitution with those clauses to cover his ass but is subject to amendment

• Kwasi Asnthony 6 years ago

That's is why rawlings needs to be tried in the court ,why did he killed them ask yourself is it because of corruption? If there is justice then rawlings has to be tried in the court for the same corruption for accepting bri ...

• Mr Bond 6 years ago

It is not true that Rawlings has regret the killings of former military leaders and innocent Ghanaians since he continue to celebrate both June 4 and 31 December revolutions.This is misleading and insult to our intelligence s ...

• H.Gyimah 6 years ago

Foolish old idiot

• Rokoto 6 years ago

Damn right, general! At least you have confessed to the excessive over-reach in the name of instant justice of the PNDC which is blighted by the endemic corruption under Mahama reign. I bet Mahama to just shut up and not eve ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

WE ARE ALL IGNORANT ABOUT ONE THING OR THE OTHER, AND SURELY YOU ARE STRAYING INTO AREAS OF YOUR IGNORANCE! LOOK RIGHT NOW YOU ARE ENJOYING PEACE HERE AND RELATIVE PROSPERITY! BUT ASK THE NIGERIANS IF THEY CAN SAY THE SAME! I ...

• Agama lizard,U.S.A 6 years ago

Nunoo and J.J will later beg the whole nation for forgiveness,those killing is bullying their minds and they don't want to take it to their grave their time is coming.

• KH 6 years ago

That was their punishment for helping to betray Africa by overthrowing Osagyefo KN and killing Lts S.B. Arthur and Moses Yeboah. Rawlings the trbalist is guilty of tipping off Harlley to flee.

• George Aidoo 6 years ago

He who live by the sword, die by the sword. The wicked shall not live forever. Those who masterminded these arctrocities will not go scot free. God is watching.

• Ekow Samuel. 6 years ago

The opinion can comferm to celebrate the annivassary for the people to know how was the corruption in that time as compare today's corruption which was tottal drawgths and with money which you can never bye anything with it , ...

• Atuo 6 years ago

Why do you then celebrate the June 4 uprising when you know it has achieved nothing? Can you bring the murdered Generals back to life. You should be ashamed to stand in front cameras to cut your birthday cakes with your wife ...

• bobo eric 6 years ago

that is why every body have to use his or her brains.rawlings and her wife are the most corruptible people in ghana. but because of their gun they just kill without any reson.i wounder why the two and t5heir childern are stil ...

• OPANINPA 6 years ago

THESE MEN WERE KILLED OUT OF ENVY AND JEALOUSY. THEREE WERE NO OTHER REASONS. AFRIFA HAD LEFT THE ARMY AND WAS FINDING A NEW CARRIER AS POLITICIAN. HE WAS KILLED AS REVENGE BY EWES. RAWLINGS DESERVES TO BE KILLED FOR CORRUPTI ...

• THE CRUSADER 6 years ago

Where is that boode blue still talking nonsense (we have the men)we shall execute you too,you watch out didnt you take bribe ($100,000))).you sacrificed Kyereme Gyanfm for nothing and what did that converting leave do to Quas ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

God destroyed the world with flood during Noahs time because there was widespread immorality going on . Today worst things are happening does it mean God made a mistake. Also God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah. Worst things are ...

• Ewes? 6 years ago

You are not knowledgeable on so many things, You and your junta attacked individuals throughout your revolution instead of a bankrupt system, government controls. You are as guilty as Rawlings and his amateur political advent ...

• Ken 6 years ago

Shut up it was a group of Alan's who killed Kotoka led by Lt Moses Yeboah.Go back to your history book fool

• Ken 6 years ago

General is Utaka is an Ewe it was not only Akans who were killed

• more 6 years ago

Ghanaians.deaspror.is.going.to.sue.in.Denhaag.to.explean.why.he.killer.this.people

• BEN 6 years ago

God doesn't govern on this earth, human beings who govern but if do things with envies that what happens, France did revolution and they succeeded Libya, Cuba and Iran has done and look at these 3 nations America put sanction ...

• Kwasi Owusu Kyenkyehene, London. 6 years ago

If the Generals, High Court Judges, and others were killed for nothing, then at the appropriate time, what should happen to those directly resposible for such waste of lives? Gen. N Mensah knows the drill or does he not? Long ...

• Owuo 6 years ago

Be brave and stand on your foot. Rawlings did what he should ve done killing those officers . What is happening is nothing done about those days .It was good step and no one can fight corruption alone we were all claping ...

• Daniels 6 years ago

I think Railings and Mensah should be called to explain . For this is the time I think is better they report them selves. Also we are asking for our fifty cedis he collected with interest .
    Please Nana you are claimin ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

Rawlings is a criminal and a murderer; he should also be executed at the Teshie Firing range for killing Ghanaians. He also brought about ethnic decisions, hatred and tribalism amongst Ghanaians, to the extent that Akan tribe ...

• Big Jay 6 years ago

Not only did it served no purpose, it was madness. All the AFRC members were Indian hemp smokers who thought killing the Generals meant a revolution.
    Brig. Nunoo Mensah should shut up. He was an accomplice to that diabol ...

• Kak 6 years ago

Rawlings doesn't know anything about Law.
    He's ignorant about economics or public administration. Yet we thought he was our saviour.
    How can you kill someone because that person is a thief.
    This case needs to be taken up ...

• The Silent one. 6 years ago

Please let someone help spell check for you so others can get what you want to say

• JW. 6 years ago

Yes Sir, Nunoo u are 101% right that was a senseless killing, J J was just a hater I strongly believe it was a tribal kind of thing he J J confined with the northerners against the other tribes at the top level of the militar ...