You are here: HomeNews2017 06 04Article 544354

A new driver’s license would soon be introduced – DVLA

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Prince Charles 6 years ago

Those who currently have driver's licenses should just exchange the old one for the new ones, without any further hassle. That is what is done everywhere. Don't come and make a bad situation any worse.

• Concerned Citizen 6 years ago

Even I a new license requires the president's signature, people will still buy the license from home by sending a courier with some money.

• Editor 6 years ago

Why 3 to 4 weeks? Why not make them available the same day? Why should an applicant 'go and come'? How long does it take to print a card?

• PAUL GBAGBLADZA 6 years ago

Conduit to steal. The real thieves are back

• Lomotey 6 years ago

Don't mind them whats are some of the new technological features it comes with?can police track a drivers record using the new card? Instead of us getting more equipment for the police and developing a software to track bad d ...

• ohene 6 years ago

it a good idea but calling someone before mailing or pick up is very wrong.

• Ram akwasi 6 years ago

You fool y wrong got any bright ideas

• Willie Show 6 years ago

Is it a new license or the procedure which would be new? Please educate me.

• IT MUST BE GRADUAL. 6 years ago

Change to the new license must be at the point of expiry and renewal of the old license. This will ease congestion at the Lincese Office and make for a smooth transition from old to new. Spare us the pandemonium of rushing to ...

• Papa 6 years ago

For a common driving license four weeks is too much. most countries the same day you go they give you exam when you pass both written and practical you are printed your driving license. Ghana please improve

• GhanaCan 6 years ago

You lie...which country does that..both USA and Canada drivers license is more difficult to get because it contains all your information than the green card or resident permit..even here in CANADA president permit is for trav ...

• lone prophet of Jehovah 6 years ago

In Ghana try and error nie ,corruption nie why we can't stick to ONE drivers license

• Nana Yaw, U.S. Navy 6 years ago

Bro you don't know what you are talking about. It took me less than 4 hours to get my Driving license in Florida after doing my 4 hour first time driver defensive driving class. It can even be less because if you know how t ...

• King Marc 6 years ago

This is not true.In the Scandinavia(Probably same in all European countries) , after passing the practical you are given a paper which is valid for 3months which you can use to drive for the period until you receive your lice ...

• Kojo 6 years ago

New system to Steal.

• KOFI ASARE 6 years ago

What is wrong with the current licences? Just get rid of the 'GORO TO BOYS', get more machines and let your staff stop the intentional stupid beaurocracy that is being practiced at the various DVLA offices. It's just a scheme ...

• Kofi Sammy 6 years ago

It's not necessary cos it going to breed corruption....finito!

• NorbertAsante 6 years ago

Haba...

• Luze 6 years ago

This is another way to dupe innocent and poor Ghanaians who are already suffering and struggling to survive. NPP did same by changing voters ID cards from colored to black and white. Huuuuuuuuuum this all die be die people, y ...

• Bla 6 years ago

Oh no please not another driver license shit again. Hoh

• Banana 6 years ago

I thought he was coming to say that henceforth, before u get a license, one would undergo a practical driving test and eye test before being issued..without these why should application take two-three weeks..one of the major ...

• Mohammed Alhassan Douglas. 6 years ago

if you want to improve the system so that collection of drivers license will be easier and faster, then the process that the applicant passes through before acquiring the license should be reviewed instead of introducing ...

• Meb 6 years ago

Is it an improved process or procedure you are talking about BNI or the card will be changed?
    Tell us what will change on the card, will the unique numbering system change?
    Will it reduce the cost or provide contract for so ...

• Nyebro 6 years ago

Where was it stated that the old licenses will no longer be valid? The new procedure is being rolled out for new applicants. Guys, open your eyes well and read.

• Trusty 6 years ago

That's it,an avenue to steal the poor Drivers hard earned money.please leave the current drivers license as it is,its the best easy to handle and durable. Why waste money to introduce another license? We suspect you want to c ...

• johndo cassana 6 years ago

This NPP people know how to steal oo. Then they will come back to say if you see me stealing take me to court. They create ministry of zongo and put their people there then they say they've created so much job.

• Tony 6 years ago

Very, very, very wrong timing. Why don't you wait for completion of National Identification.

• Jimmy Mason 6 years ago

Are we not tired of these

• King Marc 6 years ago

A new license is actually needed.All license holders should be retested based on their knowledge on all the rules of driving and those who fail should be strip of their old license.This will surely reduce the number of road a ...

• Kofi Afirim 6 years ago

why not in day at each regional or district offices as done in other countries? how much does it cost to acquire the machine which prints the car?

• Amotia JINNI Powers man+233547122212 6 years ago

You can contact me on or WhatsApp(+233547122212) Powerful spritualist, Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in ...

• Amotia JINNI Powers man+233547122212 6 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• Dzokpata 6 years ago

Sir! How does this tie up with the National Identification process?????

• Eric Asamoah,New jersey 6 years ago

Passports take three to four weeks,drivers license are same if proper documents are provided,Aba Ghana can't do nothing in the proper way

• siaaa 6 years ago

more money chopping in the making

• shamosco 6 years ago

This is a recipe for losing election election in Ghana. bring it on, and as drivers, we will advice ourselves! Don't joke with drivers

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 6 years ago

One can agree with a NEW licence taking about 3 - 4 weeks but why no mention about the renewal which can be done same day within 3 - 4 hours as is done in Saudi Arabia which has a similar picture card licence like Ghana's? Go ...

• Owusu moses 6 years ago

In Italy when you pass the practicals today you get your driving licence today

• T.K 6 years ago

Hmmm, only if it will reduce or eliminate the current thievery in the authority. In Tarkwa office, bribery is part of the process.