You are here: HomeNews2017 06 01Article 543329

Lynching not cultural: Lecturer disagrees with Otabil

Read Comments Comments (100)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

PROF. ADEI FIRES SALVOS!!!!! COURTESY: CLASSFMONLINE.COM ----- The various corruption allegations surfacing are proof that the Mahama administration was far more corrupt than previously thought, former Rector of the Ghana Ins ...

• Fo Koku - Tanyigbe 6 years ago

PASTOR OTABIL SOMETIME BACK BLAMED THE THEN GOVERMENT FOR THE MISHAPS IN GHANA. HIS DARLING NPP IS IN POWER UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES HE DESCRIBES IT "CULTURAL". WHAT A SHAME

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

From what the CDS is saying, it means the military high command sanctioned the protection of illegal miners in a prohibited forest reserve and, once the military has sanctioned such activity, it makes the whole galamsey opera ...

• KP 6 years ago

Indeed its pathetic and unfortunate to lose such a fine Soldier as Max but the military high command must be blamed for all that.
    We must investigate how many of such illegalities have our gallant men, managed with our tax b ...

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

LAW ENFORCEMENT IS SEEN AS 'WASTING TIME"....MUAHAHAHAAHAAAAAAAA

• Nana Ansah 6 years ago

Ghana is awash with blackguard pastors and cassandras like Otabil, Bempah, Obinim etc who take soundbites from the Bible to serve their own sinister interest but most of them are not knowledgeable and yes Bible illiterates. T ...

• Learn to Shut Up 6 years ago

How can Mensa Otabil say Lynching is in our DNA and therefore cultural? If it were to be an NDC Government in power, Otabil would have said its Political but today, such so called man of God is twisting this issue to suit his ...

• KOFI AYIGBE 6 years ago

THE LECTURER IS WRONG. I WROTE THAT OTABIL SHOULD RATHER QUALIFY HIS STATEMENT WITH 'EVOLVING' LYNCHING CULTURE. HE IS RIGHT IN USAYING SO BECAUSE THE "CULTURE OF LYNCHING" WAS PERVASIVE IN THE JIM CROW SOUTH OF THE UNITED ST ...

WHEN PPL ALL OVER THE WORLD ESP THE POOR N HVE NOTS FEEL THE SYSTEM IS BUILT TO EXCLUDE THEM. THEY TAKE MATTERS INTO THEIR OWN HANDS. ITS NORMAL EVERYWHERE...OJ TRIAL PPL WERE KILLED, PROPERTY DESTROYED ETC...IT HAPPENS. IT H ...

• MANNUEL 6 years ago

This Otabil man is more of motivational speaker than be called a pastor. He simply roped in the use of the bible bcos he knows Ghanaians love to listen to everything lies as long as you its spoken in the name of the bible. Hi ...

• Adjah 6 years ago

I said the same thing yesterday in my post as Otabil, using the word culture gives other connotations but reading quotes attributed to Otabil he is simply saying it is common in Ghana for suspected thieves and criminals to be ...

• Andrew Asare 6 years ago

How long has NPP been in power, what ever is happening now is the lawlessness in the NDC era, blame NPP if after two years nothing has changEd.

• COUNSELOR 6 years ago

Two-faced Otabil is at it again! He will NOT criticize NPP for their mishaps but will do so against Nana with the least provocation! Is he objective?

• Alhaji Tunde 6 years ago

Lynching has been part of the Ghanaian since Adam was a school boy. It happens sometimes even in the universities that should have rather demonstrated by example being tolerant and considering issues of human rights. They kil ...

• GLORY 6 years ago

2nd half of 2017 is here. Get skilled up, prepared for making raw cash daily! Get the No.1 bestseller,"Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs: A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals". If idleness paid U in the 1st half, ...

• 2AR 6 years ago

Hahaha
    Only fools like you will believe these allegations of corruption.
    They are make up stories like the ford SUV gify.
    Another make up presidental fleet story being tossed around to submerge Maxwell Adama Mahama issue ...

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

There is lack of confidence in the judicial process that is why people will lynch suspected armed robbers and the police too will shoot and kill their colleague policeman - mistaking him for an armed robber.

• Oko Dada 6 years ago

Most Ghanaian Christians are still in the natural state but have not been transformed into spiritual state and their pastors do not care and they like them enter into death in their natural state. In their natural state all s ...

• KOO 6 years ago

I am Christians living outside Ghana, there are a lot of churches in Ghana but the average Christian in Ghana doesn't know the fruit of the spirit. They will scam, lie, gossip and back bite. They are ignorant of the scripture ...

• Else 6 years ago

Institutions are not fit for the purpose

• Ghaman , Beijing 6 years ago

Otabil is just clever n good speaker like some others

• Redoff 6 years ago

He used to be clever but in the last few years pride and arrogance has taken over him.He feels he is some authority and can just put words together and people must accept.What is the sense in that 'cultural' thing he said?

• AMA 6 years ago

He is not a businessman but a con artist using peoples hard earned money to build his empire without sweat. All these church properties and the university are in his name. How did he come by the money using his persuasive wor ...

HE DIDNT PUT A GUN TO YOUR HEAD TO COME TO HIS CHURCH N PAY TITHE N OFFERING. N LISTEN TO HIS EMPTY CHURCH/GOSPEL RHETORIC N PREACHING OF PROMISES OF THE GOOD LIFE IN THE AFTERLIFE? WHY ISNT HE WAITING TO LIVE GOOD AFTER HE D ...

• Mr Eagles 6 years ago

As yourselves questions you Pastors who have turned your podium into political and financial services, while others are preaching miracles.
    For the past 25 years what messages are preaching? What sort of impact is my sermon ...

• Godson Bobo 6 years ago

what is the cultural that he is talking about? I grieved at hearing this.after all what do we expert if a pastor is into politics.
    still waiting to from Mr Martey ,sir john and others

• Jehu 6 years ago

Thank you Dr. You look at it from an intellectual point of view. That is how it should be. If Otabil says lynching is a Ghanaian culture he means that is the Ghanaian way of life. It is a wrong assertion. Lynching is somethin ...

• iphone5 6 years ago

You Otabil and who lynch people everyday? confused man of God.

• Joe 6 years ago

Spare us the lecture pls. Did u even listen to what Dr. Otabil said? His statement was hinged on the premise of the typical Ghanaian attitude of disrespect and wanton disregard for procedure, for law and for human life. This ...

• Kweku trouble 6 years ago

Do you understand what you read?

DO U? WAT IS UR LEVEL OF EDUCATION?

• As3jm bi nti 6 years ago

Level of education is not be the matter, because we have professes who are fools than Illiterate, read the Bible and you will understand

It is not about my level of education. It's simply about basic comprehension skills. What a stupid question to ask. Professors should be the only ones contributing to any topic on this platform if that's the way you think. ...

• Concerned one 6 years ago

Mr Yeboah although there were mob killings in the Bible,it was not a Ghanaian culture but becoming our culture because people picked this from Nigeria after their civil war .

• Akonta 6 years ago

What about south Africa and almost all other African countries. Ghana is a banana republic

• Dave 6 years ago

@Concerned one, Everything bad you attribute to Nigeria.
    you are a big fool!

• Concerned one 6 years ago

Dave don't insult me.Go and check it from your books.

• KKD the rapist 6 years ago

Two fools. Chew each other

• Mr Eagles 6 years ago

Don't mind these so called Pastors, for the past 25 years what sort of sermons do they preach. Is it not financial breakthrough, prosperity, miracles , politics and business?
    What was the last time these pastors given s ...

• ninja 6 years ago

killing of our lord Jesus was also a mob action but this otabil lacks sound judgement

• Mike 6 years ago

Killing of Jesus Christ wasn't a mob action. He was tried (although it wasn't a fair trial) by the judicial system that was in place then. The Governor Pilate gave the go ahead as well as the Sanhedrin (the jewish tribunal). ...

• kwam 6 years ago

The Rev. Otabil is right, this is now part of Ghanaian culture. People will lynch you on the least suspicion, this has become the way some modern Ghanaians believe they have to resolve crime.

• sam 6 years ago

this is now the culture. little suspicion could send you to your grave. this has been going for long time in Ghana but no one seems to care until the recent one,Mahama.so what make Otabil wrong? he is damned right. I was near ...

• Koliko 6 years ago

Otabil must stop his dirty hypocritical nonsense. If ndc were in power, it would have been a bad leadership but now it's a culture. U and who's culture?

• Mpishu 6 years ago

Biblical lynching is rather cultural and not Ghanaian lynching. Ghanaians are rather acting out of frustration and disappointment with the criminal justice system. So both Otabil and the lecturer should revise their notes.

• sam 6 years ago

Otabil has been misunderstood. we all have to go back and read what Otabil said. he said people are lynched here and there and innocent lives are being lost through that, and for tha matter we have made it a culture to lynch ...

• Bob 6 years ago

No! I think you rather misunderstood Otabil. Or both you and Otabil don't understand what culture means. Go and find out the meaning of culture before you defend Otabil

• sam 6 years ago

the ideas, customs, and social behaviour of a particular people or society. Lynching has been a social behaviour of most Ghanaians are people are lynched for the least suspect of being an armed robber. instead of arresting pe ...

• Jehu 6 years ago

Master you don't use once in a while behavior to define culture. How many times have even Denkyira people use lynching as a form of redress. If an incident happens once in a while at different parts of Ghana you cant generali ...

• COUNSELOR 6 years ago

Sam, Otabil is not objective. He would blamed Mahama if he were in power but would not criticized Nana for his misdeeds. He is two-faced!

• sam 6 years ago

where is the assemblyman who organized the so called youth. he knows them all

• Sammy 6 years ago

Yes, lynching might have occurred in the Bible but if it should after the birth, crucifixion and resurrection of Christ, then Christ died in vain. Where there is love for one another including our enemies, lynching will cease ...

• Sintim 6 years ago

The lecturer has no common sense.

This is the 21st century. The biblical times are history, so this primitive lecturer should shut his arse up!

Do you understand culture and primitive? Don't use words because people are using them.

• Mike 6 years ago

Exactly. When is the last time u've heard of lynching in the United States? When is the last time u've heard of lynching in the modern state of Israel? They have developed beyond that stage. But we have not. Besides when u re ...

• HARDER@-"89 6 years ago

Mr lecturer u are completely on spot...the tendency is always to be painting ourselves black to look good in the eyes of others or conversely try to impressed others abt our self acquired knowledge. ..
    just recently in sou ...

• 123 6 years ago

Handy, defines culture as 'how things are done around here'.

So how we do things is our culture. In that respect Otabil could be right. In America where blacks are racially abused, we could say it is their culture based on ...

• USA NANA 6 years ago

No doubt Mensah Otabil is saying that he's a Fante from the central region he has done this before during his youthful days so he believes is a culture for him.All these people call themselves men of God.Tweaaaaaaaaa

• Einstein 6 years ago

Otabil is just a joker. He should shut up if he has nothing to say

• still rastafari 6 years ago

other cultures yes....but still our culture

• still rastafari 6 years ago

our culture & traditions has failed us..

• Dessie 6 years ago

Mob action it's not phenomenal:it is a babaric,uncivilized,uncultured imand it is the same as terrorism and the country must take action to curtail it

• Yakubu Caleb 6 years ago

Otabil would have chastised Mahama's leadership if this Lynching had happened in NDCs government. How could Lynching be considered as Ghanaian culture?. You shall know them by their fruits

• Jimmy Mason 6 years ago

Thank you Obiri, Sometimes these men of God mislead us, Thanks for your educatio

• Joe 6 years ago

I think what the man of God wanted to say was that this is NPP Culture period!
    I do not think if this barbaric thing had happened during NDC time Otabil will attribute it to Ghanaian culture and not NDC Culture.

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

Mensah Otabil is absolutely wrong! All cultures and societies of the world gear towards mob rule, if there is no law and order in existence. When groups of people come together with with similar issues, challenges and share s ...

• Pasco 6 years ago

Hahaha Wise one , You have taken every word from my mouth.Thank you. To add to yours MOB ACTION CAN BE JUSTIFIED WHEN THE VERY PEOPLE MANDATED TO ADMINISTER JUSTICE REFUSE TO PERFORM EFFICIENTLY MUCH TO THEIR SATISFACTION BLA ...

• Koo 6 years ago

Lynching is not cultural in Ghana. It was introduced by Ghanaians who returned from Nigeria in the early eighties.

• Dave 6 years ago

Everything bad you attribute to Nigeria.
    you are a big fool!

• willie 6 years ago

What did our Iord Jesus Christ said about lynching?He said if anyone had not sin or you claim yourself to be perfect must throw a stone against that fornication woman,and one by one they left starting from the elders.we are e ...

• Sam, Konkonpe 6 years ago

When you set up vigilantes in all areas prior to elections and they did not get the opportunity to vent their tuned mind for violence, this is what you get. Plus court breaks in the name of Delta forces and invisible force.

• Justin 6 years ago

What this lecturer said is totally rubbish. Can he support his assertion with evidence/examples in this 21st Century. And he misunderstood culture as well. A group of people/Country may start a behave today and it gradually b ...

• Carol 6 years ago

Since one lived in Ghana from independence up to present day, how many lynching episodes did we hear about, not a lot. So why now.

• Xtc 6 years ago

That's because news travels faster nowadays are we pretending that this is the first lynching in Ghana,it happens all the time

• kojo 6 years ago

otabil has lost all credibility. since when has otabil known that our culture is the problem but not the ruling govt?

• black powers the grand master 6 years ago

am hacker i nicolae_popescu@hackermail.com can load money to any bank acount in usa canada
    and i can loan money to credit cards in usa and canada euity line of credit acount
    i can really hack university grades and ch ...

• kwamena 6 years ago

Otabil is just saying this situation happens every day, especially to ordinary people. But we become worried about it only when it happens to someone with a class or status.

• Abrompah George 6 years ago

Dr. Obiri Yeboah is right. Lynching is not culturally limited to Ghana but is a worldwide phenomenon.

Most at times it is the accomplishment of an individual or a group of peoples vindictiveness to subject opponents and ...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 6 years ago

Mr Otabil, what has culture got to do with crime or misbehaviour when this is happening all over the world and all cultures? I would like you to open your blinkered eyes and put the blame on your so called religious preaching ...

• The Ghanaian. 6 years ago

The Clergy is actively doing politics instead of spreading the Word of God. The common Ghanaian sees them as politicians, occultists, frausters, cocain smuggkers or simply cheats.With the departure of European clergy and the ...

• Papa Alajo 6 years ago

This men of God plus money nd politics God save mother Ghana.

• Ghana now 6 years ago

Ooh my God !!!!! How can our leaders be arguing about a comdenminable act, whether it is Biblical or Ghanaianical, it should be exterminated in our society and perpetrators be made to face the full rigor of the law.

• Jkmo 6 years ago

Leadership problem not the citizens attitudes

• truth 6 years ago

PSYCHOPATHS who are Christians, non christians etc. Otabil you wrong on this. FGa folks stone thieves, Ashanti, Central where you come from or where? Or some sick minds with evil intentions.

• truth 6 years ago

in the air. One must ask divine wisdom whether everything that Otabil says is true? Folks he is human and has flawless.

• Andrew Asare 6 years ago

The man of God is right slots of people have suffered the same fate in Ghana but because they did not hold any high position in society it went on noticed, imagine if the man was not a soldier, who would have defended him tha ...

• Otabil is nuisance 6 years ago

So our culture as a nation is lynching? Osofo choose your words right, l do not agree with you too. Lynching is evil and not a culture, we must watch you tightly as a nation for saying this. You've shocked me , l thought you ...

• ORKORDIE 6 years ago

When a presidential candidate builds his own mafia groups and shared ammunition like doughnuts. What do you expect?

• Law of Kama 6 years ago

University lecturer do your research and come again i beg.

• Pasco 6 years ago

In as much as I condemn mob action in general and this recent one in particular I think it is a lesson to make us aware that there is COMPLETE BREAKDOWN IN THE MANNER JUSTICE IS ADMINISTERED In Ghana.When people mandated by l ...

• Abrompah George 6 years ago

Dr. Obiri Yeboah is right. Lynching is not culturally limited to Ghana but is a worldwide phenomenon.

Most at times it is the accomplishment of an individual or a group of peoples vindictiveness to subject opponents and in ...

• Ikum 6 years ago

Dear Doc please stop theorizing everything. You and I know exactly what Mensah Otabil is saying; disrespect for authority and disregard for the sanctity of life that our nation has degenerated into for the past few years has ...

• Else 6 years ago

Educational elites as well as religious leaders have failed the youth. Bring back civic education. Otherwise we're doomed. Nobody deserves to die like this. It was barbaric, inhuman and sick. Ghana as a nation is mentally ill

• Else 6 years ago

From North to South. West to East people are losing their lives unnecessary. Law and order have failed. In place is a mob justice. If this not cultural what is it. Read 'Charles Handy' and understand culture in corporate pers ...

• Kramer 6 years ago

This comment by Otabil should be a waking call to Ghanaians that this man is not man of God as he professes himself to be and has conned gullible Ghanaians to enrich himself. How can "a man of God" say lynching is cultural ?

• NII 6 years ago

with all the knowledge you have I wasn't expecting such a statement from you...

• Stephen 6 years ago

Oh so all knowing Otabil can be wrong? We'll it's good we have people who have contrary opinions & are ready to counter his assertions

• Wenddi 6 years ago

Mr Lecturer there is no justification for what befell the Army Captain and must be condemned outright. If killing innocent people has occured in the past and plagues society with historical references as you cited, then, shou ...

• KK 6 years ago

I think Otabil's comments were misunderstood. He's talking of disrespect of law and order as being manifest in Ghanaian culture and the central cause of evil acts such as lynching. Yes he's right. Even if the victim was an a ...