You are here: HomeNews2017 04 17Article 529404

Akufo-Addo has borrowed $3bn in 3 months - PERI Board Chair reveals

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

Oluman akuffo addo is a disaster! Under three month 3billion doklars not even cedis what then what will he borrow under 4yrs. And this is person that critisize mahama govt of borrowing when he said Ghana is sitting on wealth ...

• JW1 7 years ago

Ghanaians are corrupt themselves, so don't expect their leaders to be any different. I have flown with Ghanaian leaders and consider them idiotic due to their lack of class. A Ghanaman honourable in suit will refuse to change ...

• Editor 7 years ago

As a policy analyst, you should have been more specific. $3bn from which friends? From which institutions? Loans contracted without the knowledge and approval of Parliament?

• Dg 7 years ago

Fake policy analyst ..... you've shown ur political colour. A civil society indeed

• Jazz 7 years ago

If a secret is broken about npp it's fake but if it's ndc it's true Ghanaians are watching you.

• Me 7 years ago

Politicians for you. Campaign against it and do the same when you come to power. Tweaaa!

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

So Akuffo Addo borrow such huge money without parliamentary approval and/or pariamentary awareness. Please leave Nana alone for his good work and stop these useless criticism

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

You may have a point. So was this huge loan through a back door? Where's Parliament in this?

• Hanson 7 years ago

Please let's elevate our discourse. How is it possible for the govt to contract a foreign loan without Parliament approval? If you believe this crap, then you are dumb. Even the certified corrupt Mahama govt would not do that ...

• Chuks, Nima 7 years ago

If you don't believe this you're crap too. Just be open-minded and ask the government to confirm or deny instead of brushing it under the carpet and classify it as crap. It's politicians you're dealing with my friend; African ...

• Delay Tactics 7 years ago

Eiii Akuffo paa nie! Asem asi

• Obibs 7 years ago

Such was the lying propaganda that sent yoyr people into opposition. You think ghanaians are fools to believe such rubbish ? Keep on deluding yourself with lies about the government. We are a discerning people and know you ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

Is this a political agency or a research institute? The man is talking like a serial caller. Your credibility is in serious doubt.

• one love 7 years ago

fake analysis, u call this fool tink tank group. Gyimifour , Kwasia like u, take that stupid analysis out of this site. Look at this NDC fool

• Yegola 7 years ago

Oh massa, how can you insult somebody's father and husband like. How were you nurtured

• nana aba 7 years ago

So what?, Even if it is true,,he has stolen any money. NDC thieves.

• nana aba 7 years ago

Correction...,Has he stolen any money?

• K Appiah 7 years ago

Illiterate bitch. Go for your Nana's free SHS.

• Osono 7 years ago

Bawumia isn't talking about debt anymore. I weep for my country when i hear some illiterates talking about investors from china and Turkey coming to Ghana to build factories. Npp will continue to borrow to pay the oversize go ...

• Hanson 7 years ago

It's time to get over your miserable defeat. This shallow propaganda does not win elections anymore. Ghanaians are wiser.

• Essay 7 years ago

Tell us where the government borrowed this sum from. Give us a breakdown and the reasons for these loans. Give us dates and where. The press failed us as you say. You have the facts so tell us in details or shut up for ever.

• Kwami 7 years ago

Take your negativity somewhere else. I guess this clown's juicy train has stopped and is now discrediting this new govt. Who doesn't know how corrupt and useless the past govt was. Get off our back and let Ghana work again.

• K.K 7 years ago

If NDC has the likes of such policy analyst who was given them economic advice then no wonder the bad economy they left behind. He should be kind and give as the details of all the international loans. The foolishness and lie ...

• paolo 7 years ago

When will politician sing the same song for the very good of the Nation, not the party. We are in trouble.

• RemKay 7 years ago

Ha! How can you call something a loan without the knowledge of parliament? How then will it be repayed? Monies from friends and pardies, we all randomly receive some, are never loans. I think presenters should start asking qu ...

• Foyu 7 years ago

THE BIBLE SAYS THAT FOR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE PEOPLE PERISHES! YIU ASHANTES ARE SO STUPID AND BLINDED BY THIS YOUR DELUDED GOVERNMENT THAT YOU FAIL TO SEE ANY WRONG! IDIOTS

• BB 7 years ago

If they will use it well for our good deaa , I don't see any problem about that. Some government borrow money and misuse it or for their own interest.

• semantical 7 years ago

pure propaganda. n so wat? u pple aa still grieving over ur unprecedented defeat. shut up.

• Adombire 7 years ago

This stupid man is an ndc analyst rather than a political-economic analyst.

• pk 7 years ago

Even if this is true, what is wrong with gov't borrowing if the borrowed money will not end up in politicians pocket but will go into beneficial projects that will improve the living standards of the people. JDM was borrowing ...

• Lori 7 years ago

Dwarfnomics

• WALALA 7 years ago

I wonder why many people have low themselves to believe anything they hear from some of the writers, do you think the minority in parliament will stand low to the point that they will swipe this information under carpet then ...

• Tut 7 years ago

Some ppl are real idiots and very ignorant,do u think its every loan which goes through parliament?These are loans and raised internally through government issuing bonds its not an international loan which has to pass thru pa ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

NDC n lies is like mahama and atopa, any borrowed in Ghana is approved by Parliament. no journalist has heard of the borrowed money because what u r saying is a lie. stop stupidly blaming journalist for ur stupid defeat.

• Nana yaw 7 years ago

Useless write up, No wonder u are an NDC. Even criminal Mahama u were supporting him. You wait till the special prosecutor and if u can open ur mouth to talk. A bunch of criminal who were hailed by people like to steal like t ...

• Stormborn 7 years ago

To begin let me wish you HAPPY EASTER if you are a Christian! Remember to be focused for your year 2017 money-making goals.. If you ate chicken provided by a benefactor this time around, be sure by the next celebration you w ...

• Agyapaye 7 years ago

Your govt left over 40 billion dollar debt over 4 years of John mahama with interest payments only ranging more than this 3 billion dollars. Where is that money and how do we Ghanaians pay that interest? Find something better ...

• Kwesi koranteng 7 years ago

Please govt communication machinery come out quickly to answer this. Is better than all this speculations.

• Azuma 7 years ago

The man's language is political rather than a researcher he claims to be. The information he provided is to shallow to be verified by anybody interested in it. He failed to tell us whether the $3bn was borrowed in bulk or in ...

• atoo 7 years ago

they did this on our blind side. normally this should have been made to the public but they did it in the middle of the night. I thought their media crooks said the ndc was borrowing too much? hypocrites. the next thing they ...

• Godson 7 years ago

God have mercy on you my brother

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Was it for chinchilla or menstrual pads?,gimikeka aaa kwa!

• GHANA FORAY 7 years ago

Balawo, thief! So where is the money and what did you use it for? Criminals.

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Imbecility is plaquing the NDC.

Poor and silly write up

Give us the facts and not the inuendos

We gave the NDC a chance and they failed miserably

Fuck Off

• Andy 7 years ago

The most worrying aspect of the loan is that the money was borrowed from a company in which the Finance Minister had interest. How come one individual coughed up 95 percent of the 3.0 billion USD loan?

• THE KING AND I 7 years ago

Why didn't he reveal the past govt's borrowings for 4 years? These boards' chairs have whom they wish to shame.

• Ametovi Williams 7 years ago

Ewes and their foolishness. Mahama is a thief

• TRUTH 7 years ago

To hell with your tribalistic insults. Why are you insulting Ewes, are akans wiser than Ewes?

• Rot 7 years ago

This so called political analyst knows himself that he is a dishonest and an evil. Who is ready to perpetuate lies and evil stories for his personal gains. He is never an analyst, he is a joke.

• Rot 7 years ago

This so called political analyst knows himself that he is a dishonest and an evil. Who is ready to perpetuate lies and evil stories for his personal gains. He is never an analyst, he is a joke.

• Issah Tema 7 years ago

We will continue to borrow until we resolve the issues the has confronted us. If the previous administration has taken good care of the country's economy we would not have been where we are today. Let's leave the old man to ...

• Issah 7 years ago

We will continue to borrow until we resolve the issues the has confronted us. If the previous administration has taken good care of the country's economy we would not have been where we are today. Let's leave the old man to ...

• Rot 7 years ago

• Issah 7 years ago

• Chuks, Nima 7 years ago

Nana must confirm or deny this; we need to know the truth, nothing but the truth.

• Ashiobi 7 years ago

Where is your evidence..foolish man

• Lolo bam 7 years ago

Hmmm , education is very important. Get your facts right before you judge somebody.
    Have you forgotten the mess left behind before he became a president? Do your analysis properly. He's using his commercial thinking ,he ...

• renis 7 years ago

If the the president and his "cohorts" did not pocket the money as happened during JJ's and Mahama's watch then so what?. At least the money was borrowed for the development of the country.

• Adda Apuri 7 years ago

I think if government borrow to develop the country it's in right direction. But only have to monitor the ministers so that they can achieved purpose of taken that loan. But also try to appreciate what other pass governments ...

• Isaac 7 years ago

If he borrow 6 billion within one month it will be better than ndc's 130 billion they misused whiles in govt.

• Osei 7 years ago

This dwarf looks like a dead man. He will soon die and Bawumiah shall become the legitimate president.

• from Alhajj tornado 7 years ago

Akufu Ado is a sheitan, witched, and big thief, He is rather going to lead our country wayward, Ghana must go deep for the history of this short man (dwarf)