You are here: HomeNews2017 03 25Article 522231

Five Chinese galamsey operators busted

Read Comments Comments (90)

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Good to arrest Ghanaians among them too

• GLORY OF GHANA 7 years ago

Thank God we have Ghanaian government, that is, NPP administration which takes matters concerning foreigners who violate our laws serious. Notorious NDC government did care about environmental degradation caused by these ille ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

CAN'T THINK NKWASIA SEM.
    DIRECT YOUR THRASH TO OKYENHENE NOT NDC wae

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Take the bottle water from them and made the drink the river water instead.

• Seidu 7 years ago

Stupid fool was okyenhene ever the national police commander or president .ofui.

• PgMac 7 years ago

I hope you forgot to thank the NDC too for taking care of the environment according to your own statement. I guess you did not read over your comment just as I have also done with this comment.

• Anansi 7 years ago

Amen

• TAVIE 7 years ago

GHANAIANS LEADERS ARE USELESS AND ALLOW CHINESE DESTROY THE LITTLE WATERBODIES,FARMS, COCOA FOR WHAT BECAUSE OF SELFISH FEW THIEVES CHIEFS, LEADERS WH DON'T CARE ABOUT THE FUTURE, ASSHOLES

• TAVIE 7 years ago

GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE USELESS NOT UNTIL WE STOP STEALIG AND DESTROYING THE ENVIRONMENT. GHANA'S FUTURE WILL BE AT THE MERCY OF DEVELOPED WORLD. SEND GHANAIANS TO CHINA IF THEY WILL BE GIVEN A PERMIT TO MINE OR WITHOUT A PERMIT ...

• H.S.FIRE 7 years ago

We have to put PRESSURE on our so called leaders to stop this manace, otherwise I urge citizens to show them that power actaully belongs to the people. This is UNACCEPTABLE.

• KOFI AKYEM 7 years ago

THE CHIEFS ARE MAKING MONEY OUT OF GALAMSEY.

• Ghana is idiot country 7 years ago

they sold it to their people and the money is transfered to their accounts in China... you see? where ghanaians in china are not even permitted to send 200 USD to ghana,,, ghanaians in china are not permitted to even buy USD ...

• Dr penie 7 years ago

They will be released when CEDI's change hands

• Afrikatu Kofi 7 years ago

flush them all out and send them back to their countriesto save the rivers,forest and the environment of our beloved nation.Punish Ghanaians aiding foreigners to the destroy and break the laws of the country seriously.

• Abeksonmalawi 7 years ago

I was wondering how come chines ppl doing this in our motherland Ghana,but i cant blame them i will rather blame how leaders just bcos of this small amount of money they will give u,u prefer them to kill ur fellow ghanaians.

• VOICE 7 years ago

TOMORROW YOU WILL SEE THEM BACK TO ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES

• Enoba 7 years ago

There is no need wasting time on these thugs. Deport them to their home country and ban them from entering Ghana for good.

• SUNKO 7 years ago

No, not yet. Jail them first, and then deport them after they've finished serving their sentence.

• GIDIGBA 7 years ago

You people are funny paah. These guys will be out by Monday and back in business, after money has changed hands.

No, jail them for a minimum of 30 years and then deport them.They should see the realities of an African prison.

• Mensah 7 years ago

Deportation is not the first. It is imprisonment first before Deportation

• SAROUK MISSILE/NIMA 7 years ago

NANA WAS A GOD SENT, TO FLUSH OUT THOSE ILLEGALE GOLD DIGGERS. BUT ALSO YOU SHOULD LISTEN TO YOUR PEOPLE WHO PUT YOU INTO POWER 'invisible forces' kanderhal

• Brobbey@50 7 years ago

Who said Nana Addo was sent by God to flush out this thugs. Go to Kibi the hometown of Nana Addo where the Birim river was poluted when Nana Addo was the then Mp.

• Seidu 7 years ago

What was the government in power then.do u know the work and power of the mp in opposition.

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

THE PREVIOUS GOVT FLEW OVER-LAND,SAW THE DAMAGES.
    AND WHAT DID THAT CHIEF SAY?
    EVEN IN HIS BACK-YARD......

• Tand T 7 years ago

U can't walk on someone's piece of land without good reason if U go abroad, but in Ghana we have been betrayed by these useless primitive traditional leaders.
    We have ourselves to blame because we are people who do not want ...

• Mensah Abrampah 7 years ago

Right. You said it all. It's true that we refuse to think and plan strategically for the future and what that means is that those who fail to plan for the future have no place in the future. What's more sad is that we attribu ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

First of all authorities should serve them with the polluted water as their drinking water.The Ghana should sentence to 50 years each to imprisonment and Chinese criminals should be deported from the country and before then a ...

• tex 7 years ago

Please deal with this something once and for all.I personally rallied and voted for the NPP into power to tackle on this issue of galamsey,destruction of forest and waterbodies but after about 3 months in office the governmen ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

Filthy immigration officers, stationed at our border points, shameless, greedy chiefs with multiple wives and concubines, morally bankrupt Minerals Commission Officials, EPA Officials who passed through the University but did ...

• Yellow man 7 years ago

Do Chinese need visas to come to Ghana?The reason why I ask this question is,why are there so many Chinese in Ghana and what purpose do they serve?If we don't stand up against these unscrupulous elements will turn ghana water ...

• Eric Mintah -London 7 years ago

Do we have Security in Ghana at all. How can a foreigner enter our forest and start to dig in our rivers for gold without the Police, The army, boarder guards,forestry ect. knowing.

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

How did these useless Chinese criminals enter Ghana to loot our natural resources, pollute our rivers and destroy our environment ? Just ask our greedy and very very corrupt Immigration officers posted at various entry points ...

• O A 7 years ago

It looks as if we have no laws in the country. You are on point though.

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Send all of them to Nsawam.

• Realist 7 years ago

We are behaving irresponsibly.How can we allow the Chinese to destroy our means of survival,take out our gold,pay no taxes but transfer their earnings to China and claim we have a government and state security apparatus in pl ...

• Keane 7 years ago

Good get them to fuck get them out of the country the rivers are ruined

• Ya br3 ne Chinese new nigeria fo) wo 7 years ago

Jail them for 7 years and then after deport them or if they will waste our money then deport them straight away, Gh are fed up with these nonsense from foreigners there, send them back. Keep catching all them one by one inclu ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Well done, police. Please, sustain this exercise. It is a shame the way way we are messing up our environment.

• odiasempa 7 years ago

deport them immediately you cannot go to china and take anything that belongs to the state.Theives.

• Amakom 7 years ago

Out of Ghana,now.

• JAY 7 years ago

The Chinese Ambassador and Embassy are fully aware of their nationals involved in GALAMSEY with the collaboration of CORRUPT Ghanaian politicians,police and Chiefs and traditional authority's.

• Apuuu!!!! 7 years ago

It is clear that we have useless upon useless elders, old men, chiefs, politicians, presidents, immigration officers and police men in Ghana. They are corrupt, thieves, people who don't think of anybody's further, nation dest ...

• nana obuobi 7 years ago

Sometimes it is very pathetic how our elders and leaders pretend to be protecting our river bodies and lands,how can a chines man come from no where to excavate our lands. Please let the truth be told,how can you advertise ag ...

• Ekow Samuel 7 years ago

That galamsey dellers must to be arrest all of them since they are spoil our waters and rivers,God bless you oman ghana.

• Solomon Argentina 7 years ago

Go to their country and see, even you are not going to get a land for building.becouse you are black.but we Ghanaians? are fool's they will spoil all our land and water with chemical's.

• Mr. Max 7 years ago

The Western Regional Police Commander should kindly go to Sefwi Bopa, a town in Sefwi Akontombra Constituency.TheChinese people have started fresh galamsey activity. They are seriously pollutin the water bodies and devastatin ...

• Lixo 7 years ago

Great, do not relent on your efforts.

• Daddy JOE. 7 years ago

Deport them all,We as a nation must ask our selve, this question? Can Ghanaians go to China to be galamsey operators ? I hope not,but bcos some of our earlders are so corrupt to extent that stupidity is now creating pain and ...

• JARA 7 years ago

am not against arresting ilegal miners like the chinese . but our own people, the chiefs , the assemblymen of those areas should have being equally arrested. no one can just travel from their country and come destroy our land ...

• Kakyere nua 7 years ago

l highly commend the Western regional police command for showing patriotism. Chinese have taken us for granted for far too long. What fuels the situation is the so-called BIG Idea wheresome Ghanaian BIG Men are their accompli ...

• Did akenta 7 years ago

Ghanaians are dumb first Ghanaians take 3 billion dollars from Chinese government so after you spent there money there so posed to walk away. Second they own your country they bought it

• bingo 7 years ago

Ghana govt and ghana police authorty open your eyes for our resources in ghana.can any ghanaian go to china to start digging gold from chinese soil?oh mother Ghana;the police are taking bribes from these chinese minners,they ...

• bingo 7 years ago

CHINESE ARE MAKING OUT OF GALAMSEY WHAT ABOUT THE INHABITANTS OF THE NATION? LEADERS OPEN YOUR EYES CLEARLY BEFORE ITS TOO LATE,

• ATTA MAXWE 7 years ago

There's know where a foreigner can above the law Except Ghana.let as look at something in abroad,everyone is under law it doesn't matter your president or whoever if comit you we'll drill by the laws .Ghana hmmm our ...

• Naa 7 years ago

What are doing as a nation and where are our leaders. Please sen all these Chinese out of our countries enough is enough. Why?

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

How can you look on for years as these Chinese rats destroy your source of drinking water for so many years. Unbelievable. Only in Ghana.

• KK-K 7 years ago

How long do we have to tolerate these people some of whom enter our country unlawfully and show total disrespect to our land and people? This has been going on for too long a time. How many Ghanaians can go to China to do as ...

• kb 7 years ago

ghana is a failed state of africa,our leader pretend be good but bad especially nana amoatia and others selfish chiefs a day is coming they will be drinking the rivers and treams they poluted with murcury and cynide. most rev ...

• B boy 7 years ago

Jail them ,these Yellow Monkeys are destroying our Environment.

• Papa J 7 years ago

It is the only way they will learn. They kill our people by polluting water beds so why can we not kill them.

• mia mo nduna 7 years ago

Are these the ones who refused to pay bribe?
    To prove otherwise please let us see more of such arrest.

• abongo hannover germany) 7 years ago

Nonsense they shall bribe police to be free to opperate again

• Abi@Northaneshie 7 years ago

ope my defeated party is watching

Deport them tu eir country and those pple involvin galamsey work in gh

• John 7 years ago

Galamsey must stop please.Chinese are very tough. Goverspent need to use all resources

• You 7 years ago

Has anyone considered why the police asked where their revenue was? They probably wanted to take bribe and the guys insisted all their cash was back in China..... lol .. it's good they arrested tho

Any place dat they are doin dat work go n drive them away a village called Totokurom

• Useless police officer 7 years ago

Look, we can do away with this illegal mining thing in a month if we mean business. We can locate all their operations sites and go after them. Arrest them, destroy their equipments and jail them.it is as simple as that.

• YAKUBU 7 years ago

Arrest the chiefs not the Chinese,this chiefs bring these Chinese,how will they know,a forest in such remote area.OUR chiefs,are a disgrace,selfish,evils.Sad things they use the money for little girls useless.

• MINTA 7 years ago

For refusing/unable to pay the BRIBE?
    These chinese will not be repatriated. They will be free to continue destroying our WATERS because of our fracking greed. THEY ARE DESTROYING AND POISONING OUR WATERS...ooooooo.

IN TH ...

• Nii 7 years ago

A new law needs to be passed. This galamsey and the pollution offence should be dealt with jail time and serving them only the water they have polluted during their jail sentence.

• qerch 7 years ago

Bribery will set them free amen.this is Ghana

• inkoom 7 years ago

Who sent them there? Did Chinese man know a village called Daman in Ghana.blame our leaders chiefs.oh Ghana

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Hang the fuckers !!!, if it was in Chinese they will be hanged no doubt !!!!!!

• Navrongo Man 7 years ago

Jail them all.

• NANA BAAH 7 years ago

WHY DO WE PUT UP WITH SUCH NONSENS?
    AS USUAL ITS BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION SHOWING ITS UGLY FACE BY ALLOWING THESE CHINESE INTO THE COUNTRY!!
    DO YOU THINK GHANAIANS WOULD BE ALLOWED INTO CHINA AND ENGAGE IN SUCH STUPIDITIES???

• Nana Kwame London 7 years ago

It is senseless to give license to foriegners to mine. Please, cancel that bogus legislation and think about our children's future.

• Kojo 7 years ago

I bet you, this won't get anywhere and these Chinese will be freed to go and continue their destruction. How many tine have the police arrested Chinese and freed? The question is how many years have these Chinese been destroy ...

• Seth 7 years ago

Jail them and afterwards deport them back to their country. We blacks have no access to do such things in europe and asia. Deal with them very well.

• Allegation Officer. 7 years ago

Govt should hold the shwabols off all people involved in this illegal Mining to avoid the past 83 starvation will kill us all ,aside implication diseases. Do you know that Ghanaians are dyeing much all because of Environmenta ...

• John datson 7 years ago

Ghana police officers should know how to talk in public in case of any investigation interview, the way they talk answered there questions is not good enough, rather give information to criminals at the same time put good cit ...

• kwam 7 years ago

What the reporter failed to do was to post the photographs of their Ghanaian accomplices , these foreigners can never come to the country without the connivance of the chiefs, security agencies, CEPS, assembly men, politician ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Court should Thor remittances system and let them return all the gold money and another option let them in jail with heavy fines before they release to use the money to compensate the community by providing the
    Good drinking ...

• the Patriot 7 years ago

Thank God they've been arrested I pray they are not treated with no specialty but undergo the same punishment as any other person

• IKE-MACL 7 years ago

Don't let dis be a nine day wonder

• Rusty 7 years ago

Deport them now.

• Nana Sey, Elmina 7 years ago

These pink skinned pigs must be jailed and later sent to their undemocratic China to taste the air of dictatorship and then they will learn how to respect our democracy and rule of law they have been abusing whilst they enjoy ...

• salman 7 years ago

good that to arrest them e should dippoterd

• Honest Truth 7 years ago

Mother Ghana weeps while the Chinese and Indians console her with chicken fried rice and Indian bread and spices. Have you realised not a single commentator has said anything about the Ghanaians helping them? If we really are ...