You are here: HomeNews2017 03 25Article 522187

Short dresses attract rape – Otiko cautions school girls

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Dani 7 years ago

Girls listen and take note.

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Rape is violence against a woman or any person without their consent. Except consent is not a defense in statutory rape. What a woman wears is not a factor. If so, there will high incident of women being rape at beaches for w ...

• KOFI AKYEM 7 years ago

BRAINLESS ADVICE FROM A MINISTER. ADVICE MEN NOT TO ATTEMPT RAPING YOUNG ONCE BETTER THAN THAT ADVICE. FOOL

• KOFI AYIGBE 7 years ago

THIS DOES'NT CALL FOR ANY ARGUMENTS. .....IF YOU'RE WARNED NOT TO SPEED ON A BUMPY ROAD BECAUSE OF ACCIDENTS, OR ADVISED NOT TO PLY A DARK ROUTE AT NIGHT BECAUSE OF ROBBERY......INTELLIGENT PEOPLE WITH HIGH IQ GET THE ESSENC ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

"According to him". According to who? Lazy Ghanaweb journalists!

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

Why intrude into the affairs of Ghanaians. Mind your own business, you imposter

• Esi 7 years ago

Honoroble Minister, there is no excuse for rape. People in hijabs have been raped, people wearing robes have been raped. Do not ever tell women it is their appearance that attracts rape, this would be justifying rape.

• 24-3-2017 7 years ago

From where she got that one also from?
    Gender minister paa nie?
    Otiko, your hair-do alone attracts all macho men rapist,
    why s3 wo kassa by-heart saaa, why?
    wrong person at a wrong position!!!
    amen

• gretchy 7 years ago

i concur with you Kwadwo.whether you're dressed to be comfortable with yourself there is always some bugger out there that do those stupid thngs to a female. AS for those damn teachers JAIL them

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Only irresponsible parent or his or her child that will see short dreesess as fastionable is pure prostitution whether you agree or not that is fact.

• boka 7 years ago

Just unfortunate to hear this from a minister. Now girl are responsible for raped???????/

• Lori 7 years ago

The Minister advertises rape?

IF YOU IGNORE A WARNING NOT TO OVERSPEED ON A BUMPY ROAD BECAUSE YOU DRIVE 4X4 OR A FAST CAR.....WHEN YOU FAIL TO TAKE ADVICE NOT TO PLY A CERTAIN ROUTE AT NIGHT BECAUSE OF ROBBERY......NA WHO CAUSE AM?
    ARGUING FOR THE SAKE ...

• Yaweh 7 years ago

This is the mist foolish comment by a Minister. Otiko, your hairstyle also gives me a hardon. I may also try to rape you for your hairstyle.

This is to Blane the victim for her rape. Now mist men would be going aroung rapi ...

• koti 7 years ago

Funny hairdos also attract rape. I like u but change DAT hairdo. U r a woman of class n dignity so dress as such.

• kofi adu. 7 years ago

you don't sit in public and rant nonsense. you are the boss write a directive to ges and they will get it done. fool. don't call the attention of perpetrators.

• Jay 7 years ago

Please read her statement very well and stop misinterpreting what she said. That was advice to the kids. To be mindful whenever the put on short dresses. She did not blame them and never asked them not wear short dresses. I m ...

• Ama 7 years ago

Otiko, really? I am so disappointed to hear this from you. Ghana's Gender Minister? What are you advocating? In as such as I agree that young ladies should learn to dress appropriately, it should never be a reason why someone ...

• Dan 7 years ago

I don't think she is blaming the girls for rape. I don't think there is any punishment deterrent enough to compensate the pain of a rape victim. I therefore reason with her that let's not rely on "it's wrong "and people conti ...

• BBC 7 years ago

BETWEEN NDC's gender minister and that of the NPP. Who was more qualified?

• TT 7 years ago

Bawumia is right. Ghanaians don't read. I believe those of you attacking the Minister did not read the whole advice. READ READ READ

• Bishop T London 7 years ago

My name sake for the benefit of doubt what does she really mean then?

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Uncouth minister, you say what? You're a harlot and you wear porn haircut. Bloody fool

• Sherry 7 years ago

Your mother taught her with her rotten hole that you crawled out off. Useless idiot

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Sherry I say the woman is uncouth minister. She is bloody scoundrel and a professional prostitute and heartless woman

SHE HAS ALL THE RIGHT ATTITUDES : SHE'LL JUMP A WALL TO COME & SEE ME. SHE'LL SNEAK ME IN AFTER SERVING HER DAD DINNER & WHEN I'M SCREAMING, SHE'LL PUT HER FINGER ON MY LIPS & SAY "SHHHHHH".........NDC PLAYS ROUGH BUT HERE CO ...

• boka 7 years ago

This lady must resign, she is not qualify the the job.

• BBC 7 years ago

NOT GENDER MINISTER!

• sam darkwa 7 years ago

is good advice

• grunah 7 years ago

oh, otiko, stop teaching the young girls the tricks of the trade...now they'll wear short dresses all the time!

• African 7 years ago

For once, i agree with you Madam.

• BBC 7 years ago

I DO NOT AGREE WITH YOU

• MIKE AGYEKUM 7 years ago

Dear Folks,
    Our dear Hon. Mininster, Otiko Afisa Djaba, has made some excellent observations and/or comments. Yes, certain styles of dressing may make people look "fashionable" (if only they are in the business of fashion), ...

• GHANA FORAY 7 years ago

So thus old women with rascal her do's like yours attract insults. Foolish woman!

• Noviavor 7 years ago

What sort of hair style is this. Change it to appear descent like a Minister. Also learn to show maturity in all your dealings people are watching you. Thanks

She doesn"t even know that defile is the same as rape.

• Amma 7 years ago

First of all madam what is your definition of a short dress?
    Ok. Short dresses causes rape, tight dresses causes rape,big bottocks causes rape, big boobs causes rape,small waist causes rape basically being a girl causes rape ...

• KASA 7 years ago

OTIKO UR HAIR ATTACT RAPE

• Bonsu Kwakye 7 years ago

This is a debunked position. This is unfortunate coming from a female minister w/ responsibility for protecting women and children. She needs to go for a course on sexual assault.

• Neequaye 7 years ago

If a girl is raped it is not her fault whether she was naked or covered in a veil. There's no excuse for rape. What kind of leaders do we have in ghana???. They are so low IQ. How can you tell little girls they're responsibl ...

• Itdoezntmatter 7 years ago

When will we start blaming men for rape? They are the ones that choose to rape how a woman acts behaves or dresses should not be the cause it is the men who don't under self control. Just like we blame murderers for murder an ...

• 30 centimetre beak 7 years ago

Otiko my love. I know you are talking from experience because you have suffered rape from short dress and hairstyle many many many times. You are a General in the game. I salute. Girls listen to her oooo. She knows what she ...

• 3dem 7 years ago

This is the most irresponsible comment I ve heard anyone make about rape.

What has rape got to do with dress length. What about the babies who get defiled? How about the house girls in sack cloth who get raped by the husb ...

• Nii nuertey abladey 7 years ago

But the hair style is not the causes also.check ur self first madam minister.see who is giving the advice

• Kikikoli 7 years ago

Hahahahahaha. Eiii You dis people. ..Ghanaians your mouth HoT.!!! Chaii!!! I run

• Kofi Thompson 7 years ago

This is a most unfortunate statement.

Nothing can justify the defilement and rape of young girls and women - and the minister must not give the impression that somehow a young female's dress sense can justify an assault on ...

• Ama Manchester 7 years ago

Load of bollocks saying indirectly it's women's fault if they get raped.. and girls girls what???. Is that how best a minister can describe an organisation?just like Mahama said boys boys and failed.. runs in the blood

• AKOKO DARKO (U.S.A) 7 years ago

This Otiko woman is so naïve that anything that anything that comes out of her mouth is utter nonsense. Send our daughters back to the dark ages and prescribe long dresses like 'fie kese my abaa wa' idiot.
    Look at the way ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Please,Vicky Hammer is more civilized than that,she will not say such a thing.
    In a whiteman land when you say something stupid like that telling girls their dresses attract rapists you are in trouble and as a politician tha ...

• Jojo 7 years ago

Please will the reporter address our dear minister as "her" and not him. 2nd paragraph....according to him refers. It might be a typo but I guess sometimes a little proof reading will help. Thanks

• 20/20 7 years ago

Ignorant minister, what someone wears should not be an invitation to a rapist. Tackle the rape-culture not the victims, you don't empower women by always telling them to play defense.

• Oo 7 years ago

Madam your hair is edgy ...be yourself. Thanks for advising like a mother should do

• Kwame. 7 years ago

Stupid women. What about bad hair style?

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

There is no dress that justified rape so anyone engage in rapping must be punished. However, schools and all other institutions must be allowed to have a premises dress code for their students and or recipients. Appropriate ...

• Naa 7 years ago

Ignorant minister,

• Agama 7 years ago

People with never read to understand. I think many of u need free education. No thinkable person will attack the minister.

• Nyame 7 years ago

Look at this half punk international ashawo. Advising girls,, I laugh to scorn

• seth 7 years ago

this woman is a moron. an ignoramus like her does not deserve that position. she is a danger to the gender.
    i dont believe this coming from a woman

• Heinz-Dieter Spitschan 7 years ago

incredible - finally it is the fault of women (or their shorter dresses), if Ghanaian penis-driven men think, they can fuck all women passing their way.

This statement is an apologize for men and a condemnation of women - ...

• Kwesi j 7 years ago

There is absolutely not justification for rape even if one chooses to walk naked! What sort of puerile non brainier comment is this? Square peg,,,

• Girls aloud 7 years ago

Allow the girls to do what they like... they think showing everything will help them attract men but these days we men look at them like harlots, ashaow..men these days are even hot and no take notice of them

• Aflou 7 years ago

Dogs can't control themselves.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Otiko did not say people should not be held for rape. She is only advising that in as much as we hold perpetrators accountable the girls should also not do anything that will u necessarily endanger their lives and expose them ...

• Shipah 7 years ago

Sometimes I see some girls in school uniform n I wonder....so short....wat u saying is true....parents should not dress young girls to look too sexy...it attracts bad people

• W.H.O 7 years ago

The minister is not happy with her mother, yet she has been appoint for that position, which Government is this

• Daddy JOE. 7 years ago

Fantastic advice,and is true,madam Otiko keep up the good work,bcos our youth today with all due respect,don't know how to dress, why that a lady dress by i nviting public to read in between her legs,and sometimes they think ...

• DDT 7 years ago

Even Otiko hair attract rape.

• Kome 7 years ago

Ah! NANA, DONT appoint people just because they work hard for the party. So far, this jagba minister, mathew opoku prempeh, sharlotte osei( i know she is not one of your appointees) should not be leaders in this fine country. ...

• SOCRATES 7 years ago

THE ONLY WAY TO STOP RAPE IS TO QUARANTINE ALL MALES WITH MADLY ACTIVE DICKS & LET SURGEONS NEUTRALIZE THE HAYWIRE DICKS!!! A MADLY ACTIVE DICK IS DEFINED AS A DICK THAT HAS PERFORMED THE ACT OF RAPE.

• Nii Ako 7 years ago

This is the most stupid comment a Minister and a woman to make! You are brainless! I wonder the merits of your position!

• AMB 7 years ago

Dont copy the hairstyle of the Minister as well. If you have nice looks like her, such hairstyle can also attract rape!

• AMB 7 years ago

Generally there should be no excuse for rape. Lets deal ruthlessly with such sick people!

• Nana Frempong-Obiri 7 years ago

Well done Gender Minister.
    Girls need to be self-aware. That is all.
    Wearing a mini-skirt does not mean you are inviting rape.
    Being raped is not your fault. But what is the point of winning a case against a rapist when y ...

• Kokoteee 7 years ago

3fa wo ho b3n?

• Bishop T London 7 years ago

I am shocked to hear this coming from not only a woman but the Gender Minister that girls are now are now asking to be raped by men because they wear short dresses. She's not fit for that job. Rape is rape and it's a serious ...