You are here: HomeNews2017 02 07Article 507457

Veep’s House: Fence wall alone to cost $471,000

Read Comments Comments (120)

• Esi 7 years ago

Please expose the contractors? Who is building the pool and constructing the fence?

Mr. Apaak, so you're justifying $5.9 million for a house for a VP when you can't service your (75% of GDP) debt and pay salaries? It does ...

• Ewurade Kasa 7 years ago

Nothing good will happen in any society where criminals are not prosecuted. Enough with the reporting. The cliques, collaborators, and all kickback takers must be arrested. Ghana is a joke.

• OSEI 7 years ago

THE COST CAN BUILD AT LEAST 4 OF ASAMOAH GYAN'S MANSION. THANK GOD WE ARE SAVE NOW FROM NDC. NEVER AGAIN !

• DR. TEMA OIL REFINERY APRAKU 7 years ago

HISTORY HAS IT THAT AKUFFO-ADDO WILL DO WORSE THINGS THAN MAHAMA DID, SO DON'T THANK GOD YET.

YPU AIN'T SEEN NOTHING YET UNDER AKUFFO-ADDO,

HAS AKUFFO-ADDO BLASTED AND KICKED MAHAMA'S ARESE OUT FOR BAWUMIAH TO MOVE IN?

• Kushman 7 years ago

fa wogyimi friho ko wate. We are talking about what mahama has done and you are saying what you don't know. what history? gyimigyimii

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 7 years ago

Oyankopong ntua ndc ni biara ka ene anopa yi baako baako. Aden nti koraa na mo nwene oman Ghana ho saa? I can't think far at all. If l have right in Ghana l would have instructed both Police and Military to kill every ndc su ...

• Anonymous Coward 7 years ago

What a fantastic country call Ghana? Most of her leaders are bloody armed robbers raping the country's cofers. Ghanaians are by nature very corrupt, dishonest, liars, wicked, ignorant, deceitful, lazy, thieves and hypocrite ...

• DR. TEMA OIL REFINERY APRAKU 7 years ago

THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION OF HOUSING AND FEEDING AND CLOTHING ARTICLE NONSENSE OFFICE HOLDERS IN THE FACE OF TERRIBLE DEPRIVATION OF GHANAIANS MUST STOP IMMEDIATELY.

GHANA DOES NOT BELONG TO WHOEVER CAMPAIGNS TO HOLD PU ...

• Otsibu Darko 7 years ago

OUR AFRICAN AND FOR THAT MATTER GHANAIAN GOVT. DOESN'T CARE ABOUT US.
    THEY KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON, DON'T FOOL YOUSELF, BRO!

• £earn_$martphones_Repairing 7 years ago

Did you waste January? Here is another chance to sow this February. SOW or INVEST in specialist tech-knowledge and REAP decent income the rest of the year. It's made easy in this resource even better than a training event bec ...

• zakk 7 years ago

SISTER ESI, DON'T BE SURPRISE IF THE CONTRACTORS ARE THE CORRUPT LEBANESE! WHO SAID THAT THEY HAVE YOUR PRESIDENT IN THEIR POCKET!

SISTER ESI, NEED DONALD TRUMP SAY IT AGAIN?! THE STUPID SO CALLED GHANAIAN HSS NOT LEARNT ...

• Lucy 7 years ago

If NDC is stupid for spending 14 million on vice president house then npp is super stupid for spending 150 million dollars on president's house (Flagstaff house) way back in 2006.

• Freeman 7 years ago

Lucy. please my sister dont justify the presidential palace with this project, i just can think for a second.

• Lucy 7 years ago

Why not? What is the difference between a president and his vice? Very small. What is the difference between 150 million dollars and 14 million dollars? VERY HUGE

• Kwaku, California 7 years ago

Where is GAO,Parliament and news media? Who appropriated the funds?parliment or executive? Where is parliament oversight? Where is Government Accountability Office. Was the contract open bidding? What are law regarding gover ...

• Ada Boy 7 years ago

Ghanaians deserve a house of review, an upper house, this is long overdue. Shred the current constitution or amend it to make sense. Our current parliament is only a defenseless slave to the executive.

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Go to national security if you are want to know the contractors

• Alhassan 7 years ago

CRIMINAL NDC

• GHANANTI 7 years ago

DID JDM INTEND TO MOVE INTO THIS AS A PRESIDENTIAL RESIDENCE AND LEAVE HIS FORMER PLACE FOR PAA KWESI?

• Global Observer 7 years ago

can purchase a well fenced comparable house at the Trassaco valley.

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

Is this story for real?

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

Why does the VP of Ghana need such a mansion? I think it should be used for a hospital or a guest house for foreign dignitaries who visit the country, kind of the Blair house in the US.

It is a shame how our money was mis ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Gye Nyame, we have a guest house for foreign dignitaries called Australia House. Mahama greediness not vacating the Vice President House forced Amissah Arthur to live at the Australia House.

Mahama has caused financial los ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

Why does the VP of Ghana need such a mansion? I think it should be used for a hospital or a guest house for foreign dignitaries who visit the country, kind of the Blair house in the US.

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU 100% BUT DO YOU THINK THE PRESENT OR NEWLY ELECTED GOVT. WILL DO IT? THEY ALL WANT TO LIVE THE LIFE OF AFFLUENCE.

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

EI! GHANA ABR3 EGU KWA, BY VOTING FOR A CRIMINAL ORGANISATION, PARADING AS A POLITICAL PARTY TO LOOT THE GHANA'S RESOURCES, CAUSING A NATIONAL DEBT OF US$39 BILLION, TO BE PAID FOR YEARS AND YEARS BY OUR GRANDCHILDREN AND GRE ...

• Create ,loot and share 7 years ago

NDC thieves have destroyed Ghana.Rawlings was right when he said 80% of them are thieves and now they are trying to find out why they lost the elections.

• Constructivist 7 years ago

Crazy! This country is not as poor as the politician want us to believe.

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

If exposing this thievery is what NDC refers to Dr. Bawumia as propagandist, then VP toaso.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Even 3 million or more they are saying is too much for such a house for a vice president.
    If we can spend such an amount on a house for a vice president then imagine how much we will spend building a house for the president ...

• PAA NII 7 years ago

Imagine this amount was used to build a house for a trokosi president or CORNEY'S thin god Jerry "any lizard can be president of Ghana", and this armpit smelling ethnocentric bigot called CORNEY will be first to say even the ...

• ISSA ABONGO 7 years ago

THEESE NDC MEMBERS SHOULD BE LOCKED UP NOW. LOCK THEM UP, LOCK THE NDC THIEVES UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ISSA ABONGO 7 years ago

THEESE NDC MEMBERS SHOULD BE LOCKED UP NOW. LOCK THEM UP, LOCK THE NDC THIEVES UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

• Akos 7 years ago

Makes no difference whether the mansion cost $6 million or &14 million, it's still outrageous.

• Odikro 7 years ago

This John Mahama man destroyed Ghana. Arrest him and the contractors.

• Photosy 7 years ago

What is wrong with us as a people ? Everybody wants to be heard, there is no news in our country, just dust been thrown at us, just pettiness hauled at us everyday. This pettiness about NDC/NPP must stop and more serious matt ...

• yanks 7 years ago

what is petty about this news?

• SARPONG 7 years ago

It is pettiness to him because he is an ndc supporter and can't bring himself to say that that amount of money is too much for this house.

• SAM......China 7 years ago

THAT HOUSE SHD BE SOLD TO PRIVATE INDIVIDUAL ,I WILL BE SHOCK OUR VEEP GOES TO STAY IN.

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

It is not enough to send goat and cassava thieves to jail High profile thieves must also be sent to jail. This type of stealing has to stop or be stopped!!!!!

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

IT IS HARD TO BELIEVE THE FIGURES BEING QUOTED ON THIS BUILDING. I THINK NANA ADDO AND DR. BAWUMIA SHOULD WAKE UP AND ACT RIGHT AWAY. THE COST FOR A FENCE WALL, GRASS AND FLOWERS, SWIMMING POOL, LAUNGE AND ALL THE REST ARE ST ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

I guess ndc had a different agenda to do with that house but when the table turned in the election last year, they had no option than to sacrifice it for the veep. Why is it that we did not hear anything about this building u ...

• Abey 7 years ago

How much did it cost NPP to build the Jubilee house, they spent over $134,000,000 to build that stupid structure, you guys should give NDC a bteak

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Do you know the jubilee house?

• Truth is truth 7 years ago

We will give them a 'bteak'.
    Ask whether it is was GOG who constructed the building or not. You guys always refuse to read.

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Let's give thanks to God the NDC lost. Ei, if these thieves were to rule for another 4 years what would have happened to Ghana? Ei Awurade NDC ad3n?

• Kwame USA 7 years ago

Jail NDC officials

• yensiamoa 7 years ago

The only solution to our problem is to put an end to this evil party, called NDC. By the year 2020 Ghana will see improvement, but these robbers will come one day and destroy the economy again. The NDC knows quite for sure ...

• Apempe 7 years ago

this is serious, oh Ghana,

• JOHN 7 years ago

BAWUMIA SHOULD STOP THIS STUPIDITY.

• JOHN 7 years ago

THESE ARE ALL TRICKS NPP IS DOING. THEY CANT FULFIL THEIR NUMEROUS PROMISES SO THEY WANT AN EXCUSE TO SAY THAT THERE IS NO MONEY FOR ANY PROJECTS

• JOHN 7 years ago

BAWUMIS THE DEMOTED VICE PRESIDENT THINKS ALL GHANAIANS ARE SO STUPID AS HIM

• JOHN 7 years ago

NO FALSE ALLEGATION WILL WORK FOR NANA AND BAWUMIA. THEY PROMISED AND MUST DO THE JOB. FALSE NEWS TO BLAME MAHAMA WILL NOT SAVE THEM

• Chris CO2 7 years ago

You are soo foolish start to learn,what sort of life is that we live in a country where ministers miss used public money and they will not be JAIL rather they are allowed to find the money and pay back,if they have that money ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 7 years ago

Nipa aboa you will suffer in life because of your stupidity. Dandruwaka! Why are you spewing insult on Dr Bawumia for? Was he the one that gave the contract? Nipa dwan.

• Yops 7 years ago

Have the Ndc party borrowed money from death? Is Otiko right or wrong for describing the chief architect of this thievery a wicked and Devil? How can a rational human-being do this? I still don't get it if someone who is supp ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

NEVER BELIEVE NPP PROPAGANDA. BAWUMIA AND NANA WANTS EXCUSES FOR NOT IMPLEMENTING THE NUMEROUS PROMISES. LET THEM PERSECUTE WHO THEY SAY AMMASED WEALTH AND STOP THIESE TRICKS FOR PUBLIC SYMPATHY

• YAKUBU TONY AIDOO IS COMING 7 years ago

Paa Kwesi Amissah-Arthur according to Apaak personally briefed Dr. Bawumia about this particular loot.
    It was a personal undertaking by Paa Kwesi to personally deal with this particular matter. As for John Mahama and wall at ...

• Womi neke 7 years ago

Have you guys forgotten NDC built their ofiz fr $20m? I'm nt surprise at all dat de vp's hse is costing de tax payers $14m. NDC kromfo takyiamoa

• yaw agyeman 7 years ago

really sad

• ATYCO #ONE THE CITIZEN! 7 years ago

NORTHERNERS HAVE AND ARE FINISHED UP
    NORTHERNERS HAVE AND ARE FINISHED UP When you put useless people of such in the helm of affairs, these are some of the stupid and childish comments you will hear after their extravaganza ...

• concern Ghanaian 7 years ago

Let's get things right can you published the document you are referren to. Let be serious in this country.
    Am just been a citizen not a spectator
    Long live Ghana

• dunaa 7 years ago

When this Avedzi and Apaak rush to make these statements, I wonder if they are aware that the subsequent demonstrated falsity damages their individual credibility for ALL time. There was a chop-chop culture in the NDC governm ...

• NDC HAVE KILLED MY COUNTRY. 7 years ago

When Mahama was fighting heaven and hell to maintain power, was it for nothing? He was doing so with the hope of covering his back for another four years, by which time things would have been plastered over. When Mahama, like ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

By their fruits you shall know them.Folks NDC are criminals and nation wreckers.Folks even NDC mouthpiece finder has expose NDC thieves by systematic breakdown the cost of the VP lounge or residence.Folks you see NDC greedy b ...

• say it loud 7 years ago

NCD paa nie? Prez. Mahama's administration was a curse on Ghanaians. Thank God we've voted them out but all those found culpable in all the looting must be dealt with. Why should they misused our taxes in that manner?

• abiba 7 years ago

NDC PEOPLE ARE VERY WICKED PAAA THEY COULD HAVE BUILT HOSPITALS OR RENOVATE THOSE OLD ONES WITH THIS MONEY.GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL

• MIKE 7 years ago

i can see anothrer revolution in ghana part 2 these politicians are taking ghana for a ride which is not fair they only thimk of themselves not the mases

• jazeta 7 years ago

those dudes called apaak and avedzi are not fit to be in parliament.they can never become even assembly men in a proper area.

• ATYCO #ONE THE CITIZEN! 7 years ago

Mahama and walls. I winder sef. Kanazoe wall, y33behuri! VP wall nsoso y33behuri! Hahahahaha!!! Thief mu thief. Koronfo) takyiamoa. In fact, Mahama and cronies have flabbergastedly outrun this country's soul on pale footing. ...

• Thievery at work!! 7 years ago

It looks like the elementary school I attended. And part like a prison building I know.

• Kwasi USA 7 years ago

This guys need to go jail.this guys are thieves....

• Zuarungu Atindana 7 years ago

Thanks to Rawlings he was able to murder ex- army officers and high court Judges for saying that they've looted the nation but his party have done more ham than good.

AND HAS $50 MILLION IN ASSETS AND LIQUID CASH> HOW HE CAME BY 'IT' NOBODY KNOWS EXCEPT HIMSELF> THE COST OF THIS FENCE COULD EASILY BUILD A NICE SIX BEDROOM HOUSE PLUS 'BOYS QUARTERS' AND SECURITY(GATED) HOUSE FOR A VEEP!

• Nii Akwei 7 years ago

Mahama is wicked. To Otiko, I say stand your ground.

• Pontius Pilate 7 years ago

Idiotic journalism and unscrupulous critics, let me educate u. Shallow minded reporter who knows next to nothing. Do u know there is nothing in Civil Engineering construction called "Fence wall"? The right description of any ...

• Afofranto 7 years ago

eiii NDC's are thieves. Holy Jesus am very sad for my future and that after me. are we the youth going to pay for all that oneday? why is the wall made of cannon bombs?

Mahama nyame b3tua woka papa

• KWABENA OPOKU 7 years ago

SO WHAT KIND OF PEOPLE THUS THE NDC ADMINISTRATION TOOK THE POOR GHANAIAN FOR?INFACT THESE REVELATIONS GOES TO SHOW HOW TRUTHFUL MARTIN AMIDU WAS.MAY GOD PUNISH YOU ALL!

• Rita 7 years ago

We've heard this kinds of wasted funds from politicians many times but has anyone ever held accountable for massive spending in Ghana? The only punishment they get is being fired, no jail time.

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 7 years ago

I don't understand what all the fuss is about, the behavior of both NPP&NDC, is consistent with the principles of capitalism, neither of these two political parties can serve the interest of the people, simply because, their ...

• Malafaka 7 years ago

So sad!! You see the thievery!! These nonsense is what is killing the ordinary man. Just few days ago a guy was sentenced to 15 yrs for stealing a mobile phone! Hmmmmm! God punish the big thieves.

• chief vandal 7 years ago

Now what I do not understand is why in the face of all the evidence these NDC lunatics are denying the facts? Fred Agbenyo, Asiedu Nkestia, Apaak, Avedzdi etyc etc.
    What is wrong with them?

• A Abu 7 years ago

Stop using LOL, it means Lord of Lucifer

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• KOFI 7 years ago

TO LET: ENSUITE APARTMENT & ROOMS WITH MODERN FACILITIES TO LET IN TANTRA HILLS.

PLS CALL : 026 471 6238

• J.D. Mahama 7 years ago

Oh my Lord, the NDC as a party and it's members are nation wreckers. Please Nana Akuffo Addo please make sure these NDC thieves are jailed to the core

• ALUTA CONTINUA 7 years ago

WASING OUR OIL MONEY.
    BUILDING HORRIBLE STRCTURES

• KOFI 7 years ago

FOR SALE : JAGUAR GENUINE SPARE PARTS FOR SALE AT LOWER PRICES BOTH NEW AND HOME USED PARTS.

CALL OWNER: 026 471 6238

• Kwadjoe, USA 7 years ago

Please make sure to prosecute all involved in this scheme. It's a crime against humanity and they must not get away with it. It is stealing, plain and simple. Jail them.

• NDC THIEVES AT WORK AGAIN 7 years ago

The NDC thieves are at it again, even out of power !!! Arrest and jail Asiedu Nketia and all of his accomplices immediately. Politicians must not be allowed loot, lie and go scot free all the time !!!

• same 7 years ago

You are all going the wrong way.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

Ghanians deserves an immediate independent investigation into this matter. We're sick of NDC and NPP trying to score political points on this matter. Ghanaians are wiser so let's stop the blame game and do the right thing.

• Tiger Reo 7 years ago

It was a strategy for NDC Government to steal money from the state. That is why Ex President John Dramani Mahama wanted to keep the official Veep Residence for himself. They are thief. They should tell us the name of the cont ...

• Corrupt, Okromfoo John MHM 7 years ago

John Mahama should be charged for causing financial loss to the state. This house was needless but because of John Mahama's greed, he decided to construct a new house so he could take the existing one; on sdole sourcing, so t ...

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

TOO MANY IDIOTIC JOURNALIST WITH VERY LOW IQ AT GHANAWEB. WHAT IS THE SOURCE OF YOUR PUBLICATIONS AND DID YOU CROSS CHECK THE ISSUES WELL?

• Samu UK 7 years ago

This is just the beginning

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Mahama is Really Wicked

• AGAMBIRE, WA 7 years ago

All persons who signed the contract must be arrested for causing financial lost to the state. this is pure stilling, Mahama is disgrace.

• Yussif 7 years ago

,Dr Bawumia calculatively studied the Ndc offials and the only conclusion he came to was the truth that they don't read,this is the ,s own documents,Dr Clement Apaak has exposed himself,I am not suprise he quickly opted to en ...

• Well done 7 years ago

This is not accurate

• Frank 7 years ago

I will be happy if you get me that contract. I can do it.

• ASABUYAKE 7 years ago

This is the reason voted out the NDC. People were very profligate with our monies . We're unable to pay service providers of NHIS for almost a year and yet we devote these millions of dollars for executive comfort. The reas ...

• No nonsense 7 years ago

The thief "NDC" cometh not but to steal, kill and destroy. I thank God these thieves did not mortgage Ghana, that would have been the next plan of action. Think about the poor masses. I just can't think far.

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 7 years ago

MAHAMA TENNURE AS PRESIDENT OF GHANA A DISSAPOITMENT AND AN INSULT ON NOTHERNERS

• Dedo 7 years ago

Oh Mahama is it an apartment or a house. If you suffer from Dead Goat syndrome this are the things you can do.

• The Lord Of The Spirit 7 years ago

Ghanaians are confused together with their soo called fake men of God, because you people don't say the right prayers, if all Churches in Ghana will devote themselves and pray against every corrupt politician to die with fait ...

• gaddafi 7 years ago

Hurray! ! Hurray !! John thieve mahama toasooooooooo! ! Come and toaso and let see. Ndc followers , you see how heartless and useless your leaders are?

• Hughes 7 years ago

Some of our leaders think they can use their positions to steal our money. Their days are numbered......Nsawam prisons awaits dem

• Agbolosu kwaapeebah 7 years ago

Nawah ooo clap for Otiko I really admire Otiko so much cos she hit the hammer right on the nail by saying Mahama is heartless.

• Akafia 7 years ago

can both the contractor and the Ndc guys be taken to court to ascertain who is right. And the wrong persecuted for that matter?

• Akafia 7 years ago

Who is lying contractor or Ndc? Let them square up in court . To proves them selves right

• John james 7 years ago

Does the vp know how to swim?

• John james 7 years ago

Africa w be the same. Corrupt leaders.

• MEGA.COM 7 years ago

Dollars not Ghana cedis, when are we going to use our currency to give it a value? Krono nti they always use dollars. Eeeiiii Ghana my motherland!!! Hmmmm...

• Kofi Sam - USA 7 years ago

I thought the present government promised to tackle corruption head on but from the look of things , this is just mere propaganda just to win votes . Why would they return all the 5 vehicles to Kofi Adams if all these vehicl ...

THAT'S HOW GHANAIANS ARE TAKING FOR FOOLS BY ALL POLITICIANS AND OTHER EXECUTIVES OF THE GOVT.