You are here: HomeNews2017 02 01Article 505768

Did Bawumia lie about $13.9 million Veep building?

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Jamez4 7 years ago

Still $5 million is way too much for a house in Ghana! Ad3n!

• Calling 7 years ago

The engineers are demanding 13.9 million and you've paid 5 million. Where lies the lies NDC is talking about.

• Paa 7 years ago

Ghanaweb must be get serious. This story is published under its name. Who are the Mahama officials contradicting Bawumia's claims? To be sure, they're not divulging information; they're contradicting one. If they're afraid to ...

• aikins (mission accomplished) 7 years ago

What sort of journalism is this ghanaweb.

• Ewurade Kasa 7 years ago

Who paid for Obama's retirement house? Why dont Ghanaian leaders retire in their own style instead of poor teachers, police, and nurses paying $5million dollars for crooks to leave their dream lives? No wonder.

• Exposure 7 years ago

Please re-read the article again before coming out with this wrong conclusion.

• Nii Okai 7 years ago

The problem lies with voters who see politics as fight. The politicians are the smart guys in the system because their agendas are to take good care of themselves than the voters. Do not you consider what Boakye Agyarko, the ...

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF 7 years ago

Didn't I tell you guys "Ghana go jum"?When competent people start with plagiarism,then we know governance is a serious business.#onaapo

• Abena 7 years ago

Listen to this one .Is Mahama not ashamed to even say $ 50000 .God will punish you all.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

You stupid nonentity, Do you know what a $5million house looks like?You stupid fool seizes opportunity on this platform to spew nonsense every time, in a county like Ghana where labor costs almost nothing why should just a h ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Like a little over $5 million dollars mansion for a Vice President in Ghana is acceptable. Why in the hell are we even paying a dollar to build another Vice-President's residence when we already have one if not for Mahama's g ...

• Osabarima 7 years ago

The least Bawumis can do is to refuse to use that house, especially since he has moved into the one used by Mahama and also have access to where Amisah Artur lived. Dawumia, my eyes red you paaaa.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

He is just trying to change the topic like he did when the elections were streaming against NPP.

I can vow Bawumia wanted Nana Addo to lose so he can become the natural leader of NPP in the next elections.

Just like si ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

And Osafo Marfo as Senior minister..

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Idiots, where is the lie? You have even admitted there was a proposal for such an amount and why is that not even captured in the transition notes?

Do you idiots even think it is right to spend over five million dollars fo ...

• Johnson Blay 7 years ago

dear Sarpong , if that is a known fact that the $13 million was a proposal by a contractor , why should our dear vice president come out of with that issue. Is he still swimming in the dark cloud? No. as v ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WHY DO YOU HAVE TO SIEZE THE VICE PRESIDENT HOUSE AND BUILD A NEW ONE IN THE FIRST PLACE? EVEN $5 MILLION DOLLARS IS EXPENSIVE AS IT IS ONLY A FAMILY HOUSE NOT FOR WORKERS TOO

• Kwesi 7 years ago

For keeping his mouth shut.

• AYITEY BOTSWANA (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

A LITTLE MORE THAN $5M.....IS THE PERSON SAYING THIS CRAZY? GHANAIANS HAVE THEMSELVES TO BLAME FOR VOTING IN NDC IN THE FIRST PLACE. I DON'T BLAME THOSE TO WHOM A LITTLE MORE THAN $5M FOR THAT HOUSE SEEMS OK.

• Sid 7 years ago

If NDC can build ksi runway for $29m it won't surprise me

• Zargon 7 years ago

Massa stop this campaign.. when somebody tells u something before u jump into the band wagon.. be smart alittle and do your own digging wei... why is a lot of Ghanaians mentally lazy like that???? What is $29m for a runway!!! ...

• gyasi 7 years ago

BAWUMIA SHOULD ALWAYS BE TRUTHFUL AND FACTUAL.

• bawumiaBa 7 years ago

are u ok with such a useless amount? Shameless ndc

• Easy know it's not Easy 7 years ago

My Ghana vice president you to believe it,because you said you can do it less,that is why you there....... so stop complaining....you think it's easy.

• Avudrinyaga.. avudortor mekpoa avutef 7 years ago

It may not be easy but not at the expense of the poor taxpayers. We all know or speculate that politicians are crooks but not to the lebel of what we saw under NDC I& II. Evil and wicked group pf people. Why seize the Vice Pr ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

He said only over $5 million. Doe staht make any sense to John Mahama? What type of building is that? Was that the reason he wanted to hijack the official residence of the VP? Wouldn't that have save $5 million (or $13 millio ...

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF 7 years ago

HAHAHA, WE TOLD YOU GHANAIANS, THAT THESE NPP CRIMINALS ARE BACK AGAIN. THEY ARE THIEVES, NATION WRECKERS, BLOOD SOCKERS,, LIARS AND EVIL OCCULTISM. THIS DWARF UGLY CHIMPANZEE AKUFO DON'T RESPECT,, ANYONE HE IS SO ARR ...

• PRONTO 7 years ago

If Ghana is going to be building a new Vice President's residence every 4 or 8 years for 14 million dollars because the spirit of Mahamaism which is grand looting gbeshi enters Vice President's and President's of this country ...

• Jack Toronto 7 years ago

Even Asamoah Gyan mansion cost $3 million

• Ebo Eson 7 years ago

oooh $5m 4 a start create loot & share will baloon t 2 $13.9m @ game close

• Nelson 7 years ago

I think Vice president Bewumia have problem for telling the truth Mr vice president , check the fact before you speak.don,t rush with inaccurate stuff because campaign is over and you are now our vice president. stop giving w ...

• KOFI KOFI 7 years ago

Five million is stilltoo high for an edifice in Ghana. How much did Asamoah Gyan"s house cost? Mahama has wasted or embezelled our money.

• Olive 7 years ago

U mean 5 m dollars to built a hse for Veep ? What a useless country is this GH ? NDC government ?

• Agoli 7 years ago

Why is Mawumia always lying?

• A B C 7 years ago

Dr Bawumia started his lies whilst a running mate for 12 years now. You can imagine his rich experience and long service in lying! The danger is that, it affects every facet of our social institutions - economic, marriage, re ...

• Allan 7 years ago

I think is still expensive but gradually this Bawumia is becoming disgrace to his family and friends always quick to say something and later turn out to be lied, you are Now in the government and every information is easy to ...

• Gandalf 7 years ago

AND YOU ARE NOT ASHAMED OF YOURSELF TO BE MENTIONING 5 MILLION US DOLLARS AS COST OF A VICE PRESIDENTIAL RESIDENCE IN A COUNTRY AS POOR AS GHANA? WE HAVE LOST THE PLOT COMPLETELY AND I WONDER HOW WE CAN MAKE PROGRESS WITH THI ...

• kokofi 7 years ago

Ghanaweb doing dirty work for corrupt mahama and ndc looters.

• STARLINGARD 7 years ago

Y'all read the article well. "Close source" this article is bullshit. Ghanaweb u Pple fool too much. Until Mahama or his Vice defends demselvz Y'all forget it. Why didn't Ghanaweb give a correct figure and come up with some B ...

• Bill Amewode 7 years ago

Five milllion dollars!!!!!!what sort of mansion are we as a third world country putting up for one of our servants.
    500000 is even too much.
    Otiko Djaba was right .
    Mahama is truly a disgrace to all of us.

• Papa lee 7 years ago

Bawumia such jobs are for the serial callers but not you. You were voted in to office to solve problems as you claimed to the keys to them

• Time will tell 7 years ago

Dr Bawumia pls stop the lies n do ur work.Stop finding excuses

• Baba 7 years ago

Ooh mother Ghana, let us compare Asamoah Gyan 2 million dollars to that of vice president 5 million dollars if one is ask to choose one which one will you pick?

• Kwaku, California 7 years ago

Your country is poor because there's no institution to check all of this corrupt and I have this fools on the online support in this government they can't see between the lines.$ 5,000,000 house for poor country with a budget ...

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Well, the NYC will always cry foul, in defence of their crimes, in govt..!!! The can't bring themselves to accept that every crime is a crime; whether big or small, crime can't be substituted for what it really is..!!!

• SSSSSS 7 years ago

MUTUM BANZA BAWUMIA'S TRADEMARK IS LYING. HE WILL NOT THE TRUTH EVEN IF IT HIT HIM IN HIS OVER BLOATED FACE.

• paps 7 years ago

For all you ignorant ndc weak minded foot soldiers on this platform be informed that your party is not in power anymore so do me a favor sit tight with your unpatriotic self and watch the vice president mr.wise man he speaks ...

• Kojo Abeka 7 years ago

So the VP's office and "people at national security" stiffed Ghana with a hugely inflated $ 5 million bill. And seeming that they were getting away with it, told the contractor to ask for a variation to bring the total cost ...

• KWAKU OWUSU 7 years ago

I am only expecting a house bigger than Asamoah Gyan's own. $ 5 M DOLLARS.
    hmmm

• asem bi 7 years ago

Bawumia please the political campaign is over so stop this press or congregation briefings and start working. You're in government so go to the appropriate quarters to get more credible information rather than throw anything ...

• konkonsa Dapaa 7 years ago

5 million dollars is still too much.A good 3-bedroom flat in US is not more than 100 000 dollars.This Mahama was worse than an armed robber.Ghana will have collapse if he had won again.

• not a begger 7 years ago

IT'S NDC THAT LIED DID WE KNOW ABOUT A HOUSE BEING BUILD FOR VICE PRESIDENT. DID WE KNOW THE AMOUNT INVOLVED. IF HE DID SAY THAT WOULD THE RESPECT US TO LET US KNOW WHAT THEY ARE USING OUR MONEY FOR. I THINK IS BETTER TO LIE ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

This vice president has gained notoriety in spreading falsehood. Who do you do this to please? Akuffo Addo ? Remember, integrity connotes honest and being factual. Remember politics is over is high time you stop this kwaku an ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

Book no lie where's the contract details,Ndc should respond well and stop this child play by saying they approved a little over 5 million,5million what?Dr Bawumia coated dollars,in any case the Ndc should be responding with d ...

The era of 'Bawumenomics' has started: lie and vilify the Mahama Gov't to the core and court public hatred for Mahama and NDC. Truth, they say, is only one and that can never change.

• Paul 7 years ago

Hypocrites, how much did Flagstaff house cost? Over $70m and was that normal? And here you are saying $5m is too much. Now to the substantial issue, did Bawumia lie about the cost or not. As vice must remember that the electi ...

• ???? 7 years ago

Nonsense. Even with GHS 5m it is too much. Look at you. You are so corrupt. You are no more the poor village boy from the north. You know no shame now. Otiko described you very well. An embarrassment to the whole of Ghana.

• Cc 7 years ago

Hmm

• Ray 7 years ago

This guy thinks we are still in a campaign mood. You claim you have the magical wand to turn things around. Don't prepare our minds for any excuses. You claim Ghana is broke and everyone is struggling. Fix it!

• Mr. Mensah 7 years ago

I strongly suggest that the vice president start speaking like a stateman particularly with regards to fact and figure.
    The election and campaign time is over.
    Trying to be sensational only lowers your credibility and dign ...

• Monica 7 years ago

Even 5million dollars is too much. Thieve.s

• Okando 7 years ago

Bawumia should have made a simple cross checking before going public. This is simple incompetent.

• BA 7 years ago

when will bawumia stop telling lies. the lies will not stop Ghanaians from demanding results from npp

• Matete 7 years ago

Bawumia is a blatant lier. Has he been able to furnish the previous govt with any of his allegations as at date? This vice president president is damn useless. What GHANAIANS are expecting from you now is to fulfill your nume ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

SO WHAT DOES THE VICE PRESIDENT WITHOUT PORTFOLIO TRYING TO TELL US?. ARE YOU TELLING GHANAINS NOT TO VOTE FOR NDC OR WHAT?. WHY DONT YOU MAKE THE CIRRECTION IF ITS TRUE AND STOP COMPLAING WITH YOUR NPP FOOLS WHO ALWAYS MAKE ...

• BT 7 years ago

All Italian contractors in Ghana are criminals. Politicians do not act alone. Lebanese are the same. 90% of Lebanese in Ghana are fraudsters and don't pay tax

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1*. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energ ...

• Agnes 7 years ago

Oh the vice president is still compaining

• Obuama 7 years ago

Jubilee House, now christened Flagstaff House, was built by the NPP at over $120 million. What will those making all the noise on this platform and elsewhere say about that for this ugly looking structure that should not cost ...

• Otegah 7 years ago

The figure you have quoted as money spent on the Flagstaff House could not true. Where is your evidence since NDC always ask for better particulars when allegations are made against them.

• Kwo 7 years ago

This is pure madness. What Kind of home are they to build with over $5m?

• Protocol 7 years ago

They will always denied it, Bawumiah has never lied in this country before all he said about the economy during NDC time all came to pass. And I know for sure the truth will surely prevail

• ISSAH 7 years ago

BAWUMIA WAS NOT BORN TO BE HONEST. AND HOW HE WILL END IS UNKNOWN PLEASE FELLOW COUNTRY MEN AND WOMEN JUST CROSS YOUR FINGERS AND WATCH THE DAGOMBA CROOK.THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING FOR THE MASSES JUST BRAGGING.....PLEASE KEEP IN ...

• CeeJay 7 years ago

Bawumia, the only Alhaji and Vice President who drinks and bath in liars

• Yakubu Caleb 7 years ago

Bawumia should redeem his image of being a pathological lair. We can't trust his words

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

Bawumia is a dishonest man. A shame to the presidency with no credibility. I vote for NPP because of him but am regretting already. Bawumia didn't your mother teach you not to lie?

• Amotia hene 7 years ago

Amotia hene powers0547122212

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for posit ...

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Watch this space! This same Bawumia is going to cost the NPP the 2020 elections.

• Village Lass 7 years ago

This our VP is a rumour mongering, attention grabbing, no particular role to play other than turning up unannounced at govt offices...

He should be careful when with his false messages,propaganda and it will backfire on th ...

• Village Lass 7 years ago

Lazy journalism at best,one of these days Ghanaweb, someone will sue you for defamation!!!

• MAAN 7 years ago

BAWUMEA CAN LIE TO SOME GHANAIANS AND TO BE THE BEST IN NPP . HE CAN FOOL NPP ILLITERATES LIKE NANA.

• Paul 7 years ago

If $5m is too much then what do you say about over $70m which was the cost good the flagstaff house project? Let's avoid Hypocrisy.

• Jatai 7 years ago

DO YOU WANT TO LIVE, WORK ,TOUR OR STUDY IN RUSSIA, OR UKRAINE?
    CALL WHATSAPP +79258151056
    HURRY FOLKS CONSULT
    LION VENTURES NOW

• wWNanagogogko 7 years ago

Flagstaff house ,was it not parliament approval ,stupid fool

• RALPH MENDS 7 years ago

.........and they think 5 million dollars is o.k ? ''ye men of little conscience/'' !

• NATIVE 7 years ago

Why all these arrows at Dr Bawumia? The contracted cost is not a secret? Ask the contractor to tell us the exact contracted cost if he wants to be paid ? It is just that simple. We will know who is telling the truth.

• semantical 7 years ago

wat has dat man ever said n dey didn't dispute it. but has always turned out 2 b d truth. d fact is dat dat man is a torn in d flesh of d 44% group.

• Pops 7 years ago

WASTERS OF GHANAS WEALTH STOLE POWER AND THE RESULTS ARE WHAT WE ARE WITNESSING.

• kk 7 years ago

So this means Npp administration are going to make sure not a single contract is inflated.
    Ghanaians you must be really silly to think Npp are saints. Both Npp & Ndc are all in the same game whenever they are in power read ...