You are here: HomeNews2017 01 16Article 501402

Asantehemaa to be buried with gold ornaments

Read Comments Comments (115)

• JOHN 7 years ago

WE ARE IN A MODERN WORLD. THE OLD TIMES HAS PASSED AWAY

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Kumasi is the world centre of grave looting.

I advise the royal family to lay ambush and any grave looter arrested should be beheaded and his head buried with the departed queenmother. She definitely needs company.

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Nothing good comes out of the rotten teeth of Aponkye the Goat.

• Mr ROMANO 7 years ago

WE ALL THE TRUTH SO WRITE THE NUMBER OF INNOCENTS LIFE KIDS TO BE BURIED WITH HER,ALSO THE SO CALL KING IS DRINKING HUMAN BLOOD FOR BREAK FAST EVERYDAY,VAMPIRE FAMILY OF IDIOTS ASHANTISH.

• NANA BONSU 7 years ago

DOG AND SNAKE EATERS LIKE YOU ARE THE BLOOD FOR BREAKFAST IDIOTS.

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

It's a Ghanaian thing people love the dead more than the living. All these cheap looking ornaments don't surpass other funerals I have seen or heard of.

Leave the woman to be honored by her people the way they see fit. The ...

• durin Ghana 7 years ago

Ashanties you are the most backward people on earth, I wish you people go back to Mali where you came from, you are too backward to be Ghananians.

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Thanks you for your insult because you hate Ashanti. read the statement very will he is just suggest it.is not that the family said the will use it .why do you guy hate Ashanti so much what have we done you?

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Africans are idiots

• Omama 7 years ago

Anibue aba. Change with the times

• Akadu Mensema 7 years ago

Foolish!

These are the idiots. Everything Obroni is right for them.

• Baba 7 years ago

The Chinese would be laughing by now.

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

Only when it suits their primitive and backward conscience, Ghanaians will defend their sworn enemies. You people hate the English language, you hate to see people wear nice comfortable western design clothing, except when yo ...

• predator 7 years ago

long long time! where have you been, akadu?

• predator 7 years ago

Long long time! where have been, akadu?

• Cwame bee 7 years ago

The so-called white people got the so-called black people confused with so-called modernization, blacks lost sense of self-worth. What is wrong to maintain semblance of culture as self identity?

• Omama 7 years ago

Heheheheeee

• GhanaFirst 7 years ago

No need. That gold should be sold and the money realized used to help poor and sick people in Kumasi. I understand the cultural aspect of such practice. However, we have come a long way to know it is more important paying att ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

"Man, you are dust and into dust you shall return". No, where she will be going none will recognize her as a royal but as a sinner who needs God's mercy.

• JOHN MAHAMA 7 years ago

i cry for those around the region whose heads will be used as sacrifice, only God knows best.

• Anokwa 7 years ago

No human sacrifice. You can bury her in midnight in unmarked grave; no one cares but please no ritual murders for her burial

• Dr Adams 7 years ago

Wjy not to use this gold and help those ashantis shoeshineboys?

• Uknown 7 years ago

Great suggestion! The fools are behind times and will continue to be till thy kingdom come.

• kwaku 7 years ago

Be a man and use your name.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Those shoeshine boys are able to put up homes for you non-Akans to rent or squatter in,

And you carry the shit of the shoe shine lot on your heads.

The trokosis squat in uncompleted buildings of Akans.

• Bernard 7 years ago

Grave looters will soon exhume her and take the gold. What unwise way to use resources

• LEE 7 years ago

KWASIATO SHE IS A ROYAL SHE WILL NOT BE BURIED IN ANY ORDINARY PLACE KWASIA U THINK IS LIKE YOUR PRIMITIVE TRIBE

• Uknown 7 years ago

What tribe is more primitive than these Asantes and their stone age practices?

• nyasa bua Kwa 7 years ago

So wat here we talk the gold don't you no living dog is better than dead lion?

• JAY 7 years ago

Why make such an announcement? Gold looters now know this

• Kojo I 7 years ago

Hell is where you'll find her to be welcomed. With such backward mentality no wonder the abject poverty and suffering we see in the midst of wealth. Cursed people for real.

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 7 years ago

We will keep cherishing the beautiful culture and the tradition of the Great Asante Kingdom just as the Jews, Romans and the Arabs respect theirs.If these people believe in life after death then we Akans are right to have su ...

• Uknown 7 years ago

Life after death is your death on earth. You folks are very poor and uneducated and you are singing praises on such buffoonery.

• Asmah 7 years ago

Well spoken. I wish to see wise people like u on earth. They just don't know what tradition is and as a matter of fact they have no good family background.

• nimdee2k 7 years ago

Very good posting!!!!

What kind of hell? Your massa the Obroni hell?

All the above comments were made by one person. He keeps changing names to make different comments on one article. Mr idiot, stop using different type of names to make comments.

• skippy 7 years ago

Oh africa.
    What archaic reasoning when this can be turned into wealth for the citizens she is queenmother of.

• Kojo I 7 years ago

This is what happens to your brain cells when you cherish eating the dung of animals and dried bats.Your people are hungry and suffering deeply, most of them are selling their bodies and drugs all over to survive and some are ...

• Uknown 7 years ago

Thank you for been thoughtful.

• Buju B 7 years ago

Buried will Gold ornaments indeed!whiles most of her great grandchildren are suffering from daily ends meet .No wonder we still belong to the past.

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

What kind of news is this? Any royal is buried with gold ornaments.

• nana kwame 7 years ago

has not the queen mother reached the other side yet? eventhough we know that after a hundred years her body and ornament will still be in her grave, we have this idiot telling us that the queen mother will be meeting others i ...

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 7 years ago

We will keep cherishing and respect the beautiful culture and the tradition of the Asante Kingdom just as the Romans, Arabs and the Jews cherish and respect theirs. Dammrifa Due, Asante Hemaa!

• amoah w. 7 years ago

no wonder we still lagging behind

do we need "recognition" on the other side?

if those ornament are supposed to be the signs of "position" on this side, it means all what need to acquire is gold in other to get a royal ...

• Uknown 7 years ago

Indeed with this guy as your chief or self imposed King. Asanates are doomed with crooks at the helm of things.

• AM AKAN AND PROUD 7 years ago

hahaha for real i dont know why other tribe of Ghana hates the ashanties like that ,,..because all the people saying the negative things are not ashanties ....shoe shine boys who cares they want to be shoe shine boys

• Uknown 7 years ago

Despise you for being primitive? Get real. You are a laughing stock.

A trokosi chief is there too.

• akua 7 years ago

Nkwasiakeka

• xxyz 7 years ago

this is an Asante tradition

• Alma 7 years ago

Hahahahaha where are all the gold at the valley of the kings in Egypt? STOLEN! If there are people in Ashanti dying from basic amenities of life yet in this 21st century, some backward looking tribe is still burying their dea ...

• Uknown 7 years ago

They don't have a life?

• Kobina O. 7 years ago

Ei this spirit and soul too wear such ornaments?
    The body will be rotten. May she rest in peace anyway. We mourn with all.

• hippi 7 years ago

Aaaaaaba! upon all your background you still believe in this untruthfulness?

• AYERTEYE JOSEPH FROM ADA 7 years ago

The ornaments should be sold to help the needy and students in the Ashanti Region.
    In other than using it to bury some body that has passed away.

• nyasa bua Kwa 7 years ago

Sorry ooo just ask can the gold send her soul to heaven,after all you will get some old roman father who will and say dust to dust means we are all the same don't you believe she will go to heaven heaven is full of gold

• KYEBI 7 years ago

''It is believed that a royal attire will make her recognisable when she reaches the other world''I RESPECT CULTURE BUT GOD ALMIGHTY DONT NEED ANY ATTIRE TO RECOGNISED YOU.HIGH TIME WE START TO BURY DEAD BODY SAME DAY,IT MAKE ...

• hasir 7 years ago

In the second world everybody is the same before the law. This kind of tradition is acake.

• Efua 7 years ago

I hope her name is secured in heaven too

• MIKE AGYEKUM 7 years ago

Dear Fellow Ghanaians,
    When are we going to grow up - whether educated or not? When are we going to do away with some of these primitive and outmoded customs and traditions? Are we not creating the said "enabling or conduciv ...

• albert sa 7 years ago

rubish

• DK 7 years ago

Black man , black sense , while majority of Ghanaians are wallowing in poverty , corpse of asantehemaa is going to be buried with gold ornaments.

• NANA USA 7 years ago

Can l ask this,if l set fire into money in Ghana what will the laws of Ghana say?lf l will be arrested,then the Royal clan of the Asantehene be arrest .where are the so called book long lawyers in the country?have they heard ...

Nana USA, that is an infantile question. Cash is perishable whereas gold not. Gold comes from the ground.

• kofi jnr 7 years ago

whether you are buried with Gold or empty casket you are dead and after dead judgement we will meet the king of kings and give an accounts of what we did on earth.
    Saudi king was the richest mornach but was buried as simple ...

• Anomy 7 years ago

The gold will not vanish to the other world and will remain In the coffin for years,think!!

• Adjah 7 years ago

When the civilized world use endowments from the rich to develop and enhance the living we waste money and time on the dead. Use money to develop the region instead of this bullshit.

• Kojo Forson 7 years ago

immagine Akuffo-Addo goes to Donald Trump to ask for aid, whilst Trump has heard that in Ghana we buried one of our queen mothers with ornaments. what do you think Trump say to Nana Addo?
    the Ashantis will forever remain pr ...

Kojo Forson your trokosi chief or Ya Na is also there to pay the last respect.

• nimdee2k 7 years ago

Why?

• Loyis 7 years ago

Many pple are ignorant in life irrespective of degree. The queen mother us facing God's judgment rader not royal recognition in the great beyond,either she is in Heaven or Hell fire.it is judgement dat follows after one dies. ...

• Kojo Forson 7 years ago

immagine Akuffo-Addo goes to Donald Trump to ask for aid, whilst Trump has heard that in Ghana we buried one of our queen mothers with ornaments. what do you think Trump will say to Nana Addo?
    the Ashantis will forever rema ...

• Sly 7 years ago

Oh Africa when again,did u say those in the other world will recognise her by her dressing.massa it's only God who can help her not that dressing.when are we going to tell ourselves the truth

• Bernard Cudjoe 7 years ago

Why the insults.

This is about our culture and identity. Performing the rituals does not mean literal belief in them, they symbolic. Just like funeral rites, birth rites and marriage rites of any Ghanaian, they must be per ...

• Santo 7 years ago

DONALD TRUMP'S FULL SPEECH ON WHY HE HATES AFRICANS & ARABS.

We are not obliged, even for a second, to try to prove to anybody and especially to blacks and Arabs that we are superior people - we have demonstrated that to ...

Do you believe in the modern day Hitler?

• JIM 7 years ago

WE ARE NOW IN A CIVILIZED WORLD

• NANA USA 7 years ago

Thisi is a waste of money .This can be sold to cater for the poor in the family lm sure not all the royal clan are rich by now someone from the clan is sleeping without food why waste it.Do they still think she can use it in ...

• Mamuna Nkwantabisa 7 years ago

Dr Donkor n followers: I hope you are going to use fake gold ornaments aka "paint ma me nt?" for the burial otherwise you are deceiving yourselves born just day dreaming. Also her so-called journey started and or ended the da ...

• Sir. Garth oppong Kwakye 7 years ago

Aaaaaaaaaba so when will Ghanaians wise up,instead of pushing all these Precious ornaments into the economy of the economy of Ghana to see it boom, we just following this unimportant tradition of ours at desepence of our futu ...

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

If all the commentators on this platform regarding the burial of the Asantehmaa will just calm down! The originator of the news item - Wilhemina Donkor, was just putting out there what she thinks will or must happen with rega ...

• gogo man 7 years ago

waste of resouces and time.dead person is a dead.

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

Who cares if you bury her with matches sticks.use those gold to build schools.backward idiots.Grow up,we are in a modern world but I am not surprised that modernisation has still not found its way into my own people's head.My ...

• cuuh!. 7 years ago

Naked we came & naked we shall returned. This is the end of man. Otumfuo, used the gold to build Ashanti kingdom to a class. Add that gold ornaments to beautify ashanti kingdom. When is black man going to be transformed. If w ...

• Loneranger 7 years ago

It's all imagination. She will be as miserable as any normal person if she was not saved.

• Loneranger 7 years ago

You put gold back in the soil and start going to prayer camps for a visa to go find money at Abrokyire? Wise up.

• Kwamoko USA 7 years ago

Kumasi is in ruins, and yet they brag about burial with gold ornament. Very sad. No wonder this thieving Asantehene is shamelessly piling up wealth.

• steve 7 years ago

don't blame the grave looters please, i thought the asantehene is a litreat but i didn't he also an asshole

• Jah Bless 7 years ago

Foolish asantes, burying the fool with gold ornaments while the youth go to bed hungry.

• Odikro 7 years ago

Just show me where she is buried.

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The some of the rigth of the tradiction and culture of it should always being in good move and how it use of it ,very good anverssary celemone of you we hope every thing there must to be peaceful without being harm no person, ...

• Fox 7 years ago

Burying an ape with gold makes no sense. Think better.

• Yaw k 7 years ago

U wa'na buried d dead with gold and d poor go hungry . What kind nonsense b that? Fools

Dr., God is no respecter of persons.
    The concept of burying wealth and not investing it to yield dividends is stupid and contributes to our backwardness

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Bullshit. Waste of money. Grave diggers. Go dig that grave. Boys are hungry. Waste of resources

• Prince Tagoe 7 years ago

Why refusing to show the video?

• Prince Tagoe 7 years ago

Why failing to displace video.

• Collins Aseye 7 years ago

A backward looking region so far in Ghana for that much Africa is a the Ashanti region, I mean for real. Could you imagine? So so stupid but always bragging, bragging for nothing. Pls never use any poor and innocent soul for ...

• junior k 7 years ago

All those talking about senseless so called modernization are nitwits.Which modernization are you referring to?Am not sure you talking about computer world where we used smartphones,wear fake hair,wear fake eyelashes,scamming ...

• GPS 7 years ago

Your people have nothing to eat and you bury the dead with gold? I feel sorry for these my african brothers and sisters

• DAVID 7 years ago

the white guy thinks after de gold dugged from the soil to be for businesswhy should this buffoons apes africa ashantis taking it back to de soil,whitemaga:"then let me travel back to africa they are still fools after all whe ...

• jatta bi bao 7 years ago

oh yea i knew it pride pride after they have been elected into power

• Efo Red 7 years ago

The ornaments will not send her to heaven.It is her good deeds that will gurantee her a place in heaven. Let's pray for her departed soul to find favour from the almighty.

• Ciibaway 7 years ago

If it's true then they are BIG FOOLS !!!

• Sarfo kanta 7 years ago

Each tribe in Ghana has got their own cultural practices....BUT CUS THAT OF ASHANTIS IS SO SO AND RICH, others keep jealousing and talking shit.....JUST LOOK AT DE BIG DIGNITARIES FROM ALL WALKS OF LIFE PAYING TRIBUTE..u name ...

• Sarfo kanta 7 years ago

Wat's ur problem with de queens GOLDEN ORNAMENTAL BURIAL? Who has invited u to even comment on our culture,,,,Non ashantis and other big dignitries who ar important to MANHYIA ar paying their tributes,,,,So u can go to hell ...