You are here: HomeNews2016 10 07Article 475683

Ghana held to goalless draw by Uganda

Read Comments Comments (159)

• Jetmoney 7 years ago

Ghana Black star please be serious in games

• Mr ROMANO 7 years ago

THE BAD LUCK OF THE TAMALE WILL NEVER LET GHANA WIN,BLACK STAR PLAY GOOD IN THE WRONG PLACE,TAMALE IS EVIL CITY WHERE SATAN LIVES.

• AMUZU 7 years ago

THANK GOD AKWASI APPIAH IS NOT HE COACH OF THE BLACK STARS TO BE INSULT BY NDC THUGS AND MOBS.HOPE AYRIGA AND GANG ARE HAPPY.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Blame those who killed Atta Mills.

• Paapa 7 years ago

The choice of Tamale was not a smart move as the sun was at a scorching high at 108 degrees. How did incompetent Mahama and his sports ministers not see that the comfort of our players (who mostly play at the freezing tempera ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Akwasi appiah beat Uganda,.right? Now grant cant beat this bunch of local ugandan players? Muahahahahaaaaaaa ...are these Ghana's BEST players? No...John antwi, kpb, nii Adjei, Adomah, assifuah, are all not on the squad. How ...

• STUPID GHANAIANS 7 years ago

NOW ARE YOU IDIOTS GOING TO LISTEN OR WAIT TILL ETHIOPIA COME AND BEAT US 3NIL IN ACCRA?

• Paa Pee 7 years ago

But they have to use only 14plyer. But the best apart from Andre Ayew played. Maybe they get Muntari now

• saha NYC. 7 years ago

well what is better in the south than north?. you probable over there begging for food that is why you don't think right. you can comment or speak out your mind. but do not try to insult people there. I will tell you what is ...

• NOTHING GOOD COMES FROM THE NORTH 7 years ago

HAHAHAH NOTHING GOOD COMES TO NORTH ONLY MANUAL MAN POWER AND HARD LABOUR...

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!!! 7 years ago

TRY A FAT JUICY GUINEA ROASTED GUINEA FOWL AND FRESS PITO,,,MY GOODNESS,,Atleast,,i found something better from the north,,c

• fire 7 years ago

may God forgive you 4 saying Tamale is evil city . you don't know what you are saying.

• Brian Williams 7 years ago

The president of the country and the captain of the team are both useless and must be removed from their respective positions. Ghana needs strong, smart leaders to lift high the flag of Ghana.

• yaw 7 years ago

the most useless person in Ghana is akofo addo,he is cursed not be president by his biological father.

• Owusu Thomas 7 years ago

Stupid comment , it is your Akuffo Addo supporter ,asamoah gyan ,who should be removed as captain. Mahama has got nothing to do with these useless players.

• Hakeem 7 years ago

Miserable fella....animal, go take ur papa wey be stronger animal come lead ghana. Fuck off

• medzira 7 years ago

Only fools will make this statement ghan

• AMUZU 7 years ago

OYIWA!

• Hakeem 7 years ago

Amuzu pig.....are u proud of ur cimments?

• Kisame Umaru Uganda 7 years ago

Uganda Cranes is a every serious team stay warned aty nambole

• Quiet surprise! 7 years ago

I will admonish black star players to just win one African cup but it won;t happen this time as the current coach is not a good one.He has the name certainly not the acumen to produce goals.
    To the players we need no more em ...

Prez Mahama pls release the Reverse gear

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

I have watched many Black Star, Black Satellites, Black Starlets matches and my biggest problem is that they are too slow or hang on the ball too much. Watch all matches in Europe and you see how they do crisp and quick passe ...

• Nii Lante 7 years ago

Blame Nii Lante Vanderpuye. It is only in Mahama's government a Minister will display such a stand towards the national team.

• Boss nan 7 years ago

The minister wants best for u and gh

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

A 0 - 0 RESULT IS VICTORY FOR NII LANTEY, THE KWASHIOKOR-INFESTED MINISTER FOR SPORTS. TODAY, HE WOULD BE LAUGHING, BUT HE WILL SMELL PEPPER WHEN IN THE END WE FAIL TO QUALIFY FOR 2018. NII LANYEY BUULU, NII LANTEY, ONYE AH ...

SOME PEOPLE WILL BLAME THE SPORTS MINISTER EVEN IF THEY GO HOME, AFTER THE GAME, AND FOUND THEIR MOTHERS DEAD.
    MUCHO DUMBOS!

• jagadu 7 years ago

Don't blame the Blackstars blame the stupid Sports Minister. The boys were already demoralized if they had to buy their own tickets to Ghana to participate. Meanwhile, the Sports Minister and the Govt keeps telling us the nat ...

• Edzorna 7 years ago

Why blame minister, God should rather bless him for not fixing the match for Ghana to win and paying huge sums of money for this greedy few players.

• china 7 years ago

Stupid boy

• KK Dumfries US 7 years ago

Is he a coach or a player.dontvpoliticing thier lose Grant is not a good coach get AKwasi Appiah

• Taliban 7 years ago

Did he play today and what position nonsense.tell ur players to think rather blaming the minister

• Mogul 7 years ago

Blame who??? What stand are you talking about?- not paying $50k as ways n means?, not paying $10k as winning bonuses? Come on bro. The minister should be firm n strong. If black stars lose or win does it change our economic f ...

• Taliban 7 years ago

Did he play today and what position nonsense.tell ur players to think rather blaming the minister

• PUTIN 7 years ago

they will loose all

• K K 7 years ago

PUTIN u will rather loose all ur chances of good jobs. STUPID!!p

• kabobo 7 years ago

a

• ADANKO 7 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM A SUBDUED BLACK STARS BEING HARASSED BY A POMPOUS SPORTS MINISTER. LET HIM GO AND PLAY. IF BLACK STARS ARE NOT GIVEN THE RIGHT MOTIVATION , THEY WILL LOSE THEIR NEXT MATCH.

• don't change a winning venue BABA YAR 7 years ago

don't change a winning venue BABA YARA SPORTS STADIUM
    WE HAVE TO BE STRATEGIC AND NOT BE TOO MUCH POLITICAL IN OUR APPROACH
    ANYWAY THERE IS HOPE

• Mogul 7 years ago

What motivation do they need? Should he go and sing for them or lead them in gyama? Or give them 15000 dollars? ,bribe referees to give us penalty? Hw3 ! u want Afriyie ankra n Ayariga kind of leadership, ryt? Hahahaha. We ...

• Alhaji USA 7 years ago

Songo you are right, the call to the Natinal team should be on merit not on co-efficient

• ADANKO 7 years ago

THERE IS NO WAY BLACK STARS WILL WIN UNDER MAHAMA. NEXT YEAR WHEN NANA COMES, THE WINNING WILL STSRT AGAIN!!!

• Adamu 7 years ago

Why do some Ghanaians see everything as political? Haba can a minister decide what goes on in the field of play if players are eager to win? Who benefits the most when they feature in the World Cup games? Players or ministers ...

• Jt 7 years ago

The were under performed,they lack confidence,they need to step up if they realy want to qualify and i blame also the minister of sports with all troubles

• ganyo bi kwartei 7 years ago

Better luck next time

• Alhaji USA 7 years ago

The problem is not the Sports minister ,the problem is the call up. These players most of them are not regular oe not even playing.....How can we win?

• Merci 7 years ago

So can you mentioned any good player who was not called for the match apart from what we had today.

• Boss nan 7 years ago

Minister wants best for u and gh ,they chop money for nothing

• PITO 7 years ago

Today he will say he wants local players in the football team, Tomorrow he will say Avram Grant is not doing this or that, yesterday he say the players bonuses must be cut, next week he say the teams friendly match against so ...

• Robert 7 years ago

Useless Stars

• Man Of God .....USA 7 years ago

BAD LUCK NDC

• AKPALU EBENEZER -Dzorwulu 7 years ago

WHEN SELFISH MINISTER'S TAKE DECISION IN FAVOUR OF NDC. THESE STUPID NDC MINISTERS DON'T THINK ABOUT THE FUTURE ,They tjink only about today..How can ghana foriegn players be taken to hot Tamale Stadium to play with opponents ...

• mann 7 years ago

this ayigbe fool wish it was played in their rotten Ho village.jealousy will kill you. next when we are playing against Greenland, we will bring the match to the trokosi land.that is if you have a stadium like Tamale.

• EL 7 years ago

you are fool.useless ugly head. why must you insult? is your smelling monkey village nicer than Ho? okwasia

• mann 7 years ago

foolish superstitious bastard called EL must know that Ho is no near Tamale in terms of development. hide yourself you idiot. danduruwa.

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Ghana should forget about world cup .they can't make it even to play Egypt shame on them .

• nob nob oxygen 7 years ago

is the work of lord. you lied to NPP about out manifesto that the match is on the 8th and we have postponed to Sunday. useless Mahama and his NDC

• Padi Partey 7 years ago

If this sports minister is not sack, we will all be laughing at the wrong side of our mouths. Naniama

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

Because NPP was going to use the Tamale stadium, government scuttled that by playing the game today. Now, here's your folly. Disgraceful NDC propagandists!

• Daakyehene Bimpong 7 years ago

Nii Lantey: U have gotten what u want .Never think u can disgrace UNCLE KWASI NYANTAKYI.GOD IS ALWAYS WITH FIFA NYANTAKYI

• .... 7 years ago

useless team. full of old bones!

• Kuntu Blanket 7 years ago

The match venue was a very bad idea!! It was apparent from the get go that even the Ugandans were better adapted to the heat than our boys. They were simply struggling! That aside they better lift their game up. No joke!

• Boss nan 7 years ago

They play as if its friendly and not qualify ,only Dede is always serious but he wasn't in

• Bernard Nkansah 7 years ago

Mr minister don't mind anyone keep on ur good job for mother land God

• Asjantwi 7 years ago

Nkansa woye otwee.

• Foster Bob 7 years ago

With out sulley our team has a lot problem. Ghana need this guy back this is not the way to go otherwise no world cup for Ghana.

• hard man 7 years ago

Nii Lante is happy now, he has achieved one of his goals.

• bongo man 7 years ago

Oh Ghana what a guge mistake have we committed today.To draw in a world cup qualifier in your home soil means you are out of contention.In fact we have just repeated the same mistakes that prevented us from qualifying to the ...

• bongo man 7 years ago

*huge* mistake

• anokwale 7 years ago

Even if Egypt wins on Sunday, we have an opportunity to beat them in November. In fact, even if we draw with Egypt it is not the end of the world. I have said this before, Ghana will have to win the last four games to pull ...

• Freddie 7 years ago

What a disgraceful looking pitch. Even we cannot maintain the grass. Who is in charge of maintenance of the pitch?

• Jack B 7 years ago

The Sports minister involvement in soccer will affect Ghana very badly. Management of soccer has to be left for the GFA and not the ministry. The ministry only need to provide resource for the GFA. In Ghana, everything is now ...

• Ike 7 years ago

Next time Respect Ghanaians. Without our support u can never quality

• Jt 7 years ago

The venue is not issue,playing Tamale is not the first time,many national teams have won in Tamale,to me i will tell you,the players lack confidence,and the motivation is below the standard,they realy have big task if they wa ...

• Taabea 7 years ago

The match was played at a wrong venue, Sanie Diara and Kwasi Nyantakye and all the players should render unqualified apology to all the funs in the Ashanti Kingdom and then play all the rest of the home games in Kumasi otherw ...

• k.k 7 years ago

Blame Kwasi Nyantakyi and the FA,instead of concentration on the Uganda match they were rather interested on South African friendly match that will put money into their pockets to the detriment of the nation.

• mukisa isaac 7 years ago

good for Uganda

• Okwantuni 7 years ago

We qualified to the two previous world cup with most of the games played at the Bba Yara Stadium.Why have we abandone that formulae.It also looks like we have relax too much because I don't see the kind of enthusiasm and conf ...

• Kay dey Kay 7 years ago

How can Ghana win when u have a stupid minister who is distracting the them with his nonsense politics once again ndc is useless

• jarah,South Africa 7 years ago

although i did not watch the game,I think the venue for the match was wrong. players under perform on hot conditions. we must start preparing well not only for the world cup but also the cup of nation. it is well. the Lord is ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

TAMALE IS TOO HOT FOR OUR PLAYERS WHO DONT PLAY IN AFRICA. THE VENUE FOR OTHER MATCHES MUST BE CHANGED. A DRAW IS NOT TOO LATE. WE COULD HAVE LOST. EVEN BRAZIL AND SPAIN DONT WIN ALL MATCHES. PLS DONT UNDERATE UGANDA. THEIR P ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

U have a phd in excuses were these gh players born and raised in igloos? Or were theyborn not raised in hot gh? Did was all stars not win lg trophy in North gh? I cnt think farthest....

• yensiamoa 7 years ago

EVERYTHING DON'T MAKE NYAMAA FOR GHANA, BECAUSE OF NOT-KNOWN-SHAME GOVERNMENT OF NDC. A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS IS RULING GHANA.

• Nenebi 7 years ago

I am very very happy with this scoreline. Ghana will not qualify for Russia, period!!

• hurricane 7 years ago

Heiii are you are a Ghanaian.If not gerrout of here.

• JOHN 7 years ago

WE HAVE A POINT IN THE BAG. GHANAIANS MUST KNOW THAT THERE HAS BEEN IMPROVEMENT OF SOCCER IN EVERY AFRICAN COUNTRY. WHOEVER PLANNED THE MATCH TO BE PLAYED IN TAMALE WAS A VERY BIG MISTAKE. NEXT MATCHES MUST BE PLAYED DOWNSOU ...

• anokwale 7 years ago

I actually thought this would be a 1-1 draw or 1-0 win for Ghana. This result does not surprise me. The Black Stars need to build better chemistry. We had plenty of shots this game but they were all off frame except for th ...

• Emperor Rasheed. 7 years ago

We fielded our big "stars" and drew our first home match that we needed to win, and we failed, and you expect us to be happy? Especially after failing to beat Rwanda in our previous home match? I think we have a lazy and a lo ...

• Anokwale 7 years ago

Whenever we underestimate and insult this team they come through.

• spark 7 years ago

yr father

• oboy sika 7 years ago

Anytime kwadwo asamoah is in good form to help the black stars he will be injured.most of the players are evil and selfish.they don't want the guy to play for Ghana again.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

oboy sika as if you know Wat i was about to say.

• oboy sika 7 years ago

We need a powerful man of God to stop it at once and stop the politics

• solomon dee 7 years ago

i watched the game and from what i have seen ghana does'nt have a team. This team cann't and won't go far in any competition. Watch my words.

• Wofa yaw usa... 7 years ago

Go blame the one who directed u to play international soccer at tamale to please himself.

• Shipah 7 years ago

Nii lantey vanderpauye is a stupid man....December 7 is coming u wait n see

• koku 7 years ago

what happened to the use of baba yara stadium as home for the black stars? this is what happens when we bring politics into football. bring our strs back to kumasi ans see if we wont start winning again.

• CONCERN GHANAIANS 7 years ago

WHAT WAS THE MEANING OF CHEWING COLANUTS BY THE PLAYERS IN TAMALE.OH MY COUNTRY GHANA STILL IN DARKNESS AT 21 CENTURY.ONE OF THE PLAYERS ONE TIME SAID HE REJECTED GOAL SCORING JUJU FROM A JUJUMAN.WHY DID HE CHEWED COLANUT TOD ...

• wiseee 7 years ago

The minister should be blame for all this capabilities in this black stars.

• Ohene Gyan 7 years ago

Why is nobody calling for the coaches head?, instead its the fault of the Minister of sports. What has he got to do with the sad performance of the team. He is not the man handling the team. Had this being a Local coach, you ...

• anokwale 7 years ago

I expect pressure on Grant. My one criticism of him here is that he really needed to give Tetteh a chance. I feel that he could have helped to either create or score a goal.

• Emperor Rasheed. 7 years ago

I am the one who has been attacking Paa Grant all along. I have been shouting from rooftops about how lousy and lazy he is.

• Once Govina KojoLee 7 years ago

Alhaji Rash, coach Grant is not all that we thought he could be, he is just ordinary and I don't see anything special on his side as Black Star coach. We only paid him huge salary to made him extraordinary but he is nothing! ...

• Derrick Asomontsi 7 years ago

Well am not surprised, if they keep up this act, they wont go far, not even close

• nico 7 years ago

No better things from mahama side Or north

• yy6 7 years ago

pls let us wise up,the one who insulted northerners shld bow down his ur her head in shame.It is not good at all.South is South but northerners are part of us.one Ghana ,one people

• ATO KWAMENA, USA 7 years ago

Nii Lantey is the main course of the fall of the black stars. This man don't have any idea about soccer and how to get players to sacrifice for better games. Nii, your mentality is too dull to modern sports. Do you think nati ...

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

if the spirit of the nation is not with u dis is wat can happen to u. they should always rem brazil 2014. they should forget russia cus there are better players in diff countries who are patriotic nd want to go

• zola 7 years ago

Is not about the minister ...if u are earning $8,000 and bcus the minister is not in support of referee buying and that u can win ....then am afraid.
    Ugandans were promised $2,000
    The coach must sit up....even a local playe ...

• Nana Yaw Koram( usa) 7 years ago

The venue for the match was wrong. Imagine these players going to Tamale for only two days before the match. It was too hot for them. Was this Politically motivated? if not why should you punish these players who play in Euro ...

• Alberto 7 years ago

The minister must be happy since he doesn't want to pay winning bonus.

• Alphatime 7 years ago

Why is everybody blaming somebody.Its a game and a draw is not bad .Even big soccer nations like Argentina Brasil etc have draws in their qualifiers so let's hope for the best.Guys stay positive

• anokwale 7 years ago

Some of our people do not like to do mathematics. No team in this group is going to get all their points so let us just move forward and be happy we did not have a silly loss. Games like this have been lost before.

• Adomakoh Froboo 7 years ago

We didn't prepare well because of time constraints. Game should have been played on Sunday but harshly arranged for today because of the useless friendly in S. Africa. Shame

• Kanawu 7 years ago

It's Mahama and nii lante's fault. It's time to kick them out so we can have our country back. Everything is getting worse under Mahama. Incompetent, corrupt and thief...

• Tony B 7 years ago

They will loose the next match

• Kofi Bill Clinton 7 years ago

Forget Russia, when it's coming it's doing. 3b3y3ye huhuu

• normal 7 years ago

nii wo Maame tw3. sia wo ni twaaasini.
    vanderpuye ur mother. foolish man

• Isaac. East London 7 years ago

Nii Lanteh should come and lean from others.He is killing Ghana football .

• Henritt 7 years ago

Thanks Cranes for a spirited away game. Lets go to Kampala and shut them up with their talkative mouths like we did in 2015

• Kwaku gee 7 years ago

Ghana is not going nowhere they will loose all the remaining games i said it before Ghana is leaving on past glory i wish they lost

• Samy 7 years ago

All de know is bonuses

• Sober 7 years ago

warn nii lantey oo! failure of black stars would haunt him, seriously. what's this 'childish' behaviour of his going to do for Ghana football!

• kagamakwesi 7 years ago

This is an old old pic plss ghanaweb be serious update us with the current pic of the stars

• Chris 7 years ago

Shame to Ghana black star

• Joey Boy 7 years ago

Next match: Egypt 2-0 Ghana; next one: Ghana 2-0 Congo: next one: Congo 1-2 Ghana: next one: Uganda 1-0 Ghana: last match: Ghana 1-1 Egypt. Ghana will get 8 points in all and miss the train to Russia 2018.8

Lol

• Kuntogli Ngmen-numbu Sulemani 7 years ago

Black stars needs Sulley Ali Muntari back

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

YERE DI ETWE A WOSE BALL SAID BY
    GHANA PREDIDN'T JFDM

• Kutsii 7 years ago

I thought as much. Ghana ain't getting any where. I watched the match. The Ugandans were not a good side but held the Black Stars at bay. I saw the stadium not full though free tickets were offered by Dede Ayew and co.

Ne ...

• Kenth Edem frm volta Hohoe 7 years ago

kwasiaaa man stop insulting the ewes,ur father we are more popular Dan u kura fooling fool

• Kenth Edem frm volta Hohoe 7 years ago

hehehe Kokuvi or wat they call ,we are not in that tout poor poor most poor country Togo. okay!!! we Ghanaians are talking not u kruasini villager,crazy non nentity guy we dey talk,BAfiraaaaaaaaa kuraaaaaaaaaa. jimiiiiiii

• Raven 7 years ago

If we don't stop this biased selection we won't qualify , it's obvious Samuel Tetteh who is the current inform goal scorer should have started ahead of Jordan Ayew.

• Mc Collins 7 years ago

Guys, lets be objectives on issues n get rid of this provokative speeches. Whether NDC or NPP Ghana is 4 all of us. Lets exercise some kind of professionalisms in the way we tackle issues rather than unrelated speeches com ...

• pastor Samuel osei Antoh 7 years ago

Ghana black star did good but need prayers

• Esther 7 years ago

Whren will Asamoah Djann retire from the international scene?

• Sam, Bern 7 years ago

Better. Who cares! They as a team have lost the spirit and support of the nation. They should go play in their big clubs and make their money

• Man Of God .....USA 7 years ago

TRUE TRUE

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Joran Ayew tactics doesn't merit the black stars. He plays for himself and not agresive like Dede. I did not see any seriousness and commitment in the playing body. Harison Afull has got space but his decisions are very poor ...

• sterling 7 years ago

Instead of playing the match in KumasI or Accra to recieve the full support of our fans, some stupid GFA have directed the match to be played in tamale.we have really paid the price of our poor decisions...STUPID GFA.

I thought the black stars were more adapted to Tamale than the cranes. so the venue is not an issue.

• Denzel 7 years ago

So many superstars but no winning, the next FIFA ranking u dey be 50 or lower. what a joke... you will get kicked out of group in Gabon.

• SLIMMART 7 years ago

Great result for the country. Instead of throwing money at football, it's about time we focused on more beneficial economic areas that will raise the standard of living in the country. How about investing such things as equi ...

• Alphatime 7 years ago

Guys you guys have to be honest.Ghana team has no player rank in the top 100..We have no first class streaker .No defenders to the caliber of John Mensah .No good midfielder.Our team is not better than the rest of Africa.Our ...

• king GEEDORAH 7 years ago

bande d enculer aller vous faire baiser fucking Ghana homo footballers, dick sucking hoesmfooools

• Freddy 7 years ago

Ndc taught the punishing npp and u see the results! That bugabuga sport minister. This is not kobolo !

• Mark 7 years ago

Why is there an old picture attached to this article. That wasn't the jersey the guy wore. It's high time you guys get things done a close to perfection.

• CHRIS 7 years ago

LET THEM WORK HARDER OTHERWISE EVEN SPAIN CAN NOT BEAT US AT NAMBOOLE!

• David 7 years ago

Thank you

• Jo Boy 7 years ago

Ghana can't win games and you think the north did it. lol. you people are funny.

• Douglas 7 years ago

The minister should be shame about his arrogant. He must learn out of his attitude. Why 0 - 0

• medzira 7 years ago

Fool what does the minister did.every Things is politics

• Evergreen 7 years ago

We can still make it

• Emmak 7 years ago

This types of results is what you get when you have a sports minister who talks foolishly. Given the current impasse between the minister and the GFA, I think Stars did well to hold the well motivated Ugandans.

• Ahmed Ali 7 years ago

There was no need firing Coach AKWASI Appiah. When you look at his record, there's no coach in Ghana statistically, who has outperformed him. President Nyantakyi fired the coach for no reason. Coach Appiah was in trouble with ...

• Chicago Guy 7 years ago

Tamale is cow city why do you pray Marches there

• Ananyun Moses 7 years ago

Nan akufo ado

• Mulumba lubambula 7 years ago

I guess Ghana will still send the same old legs to Uganda come the return leg.well they will even be older than they are now.we shall teach them a very good lesson they will never forget.You are very welcome with your so call ...

• Mulumba lubambula 7 years ago

We shall send u back packing with your old ageing stars come to uganda